Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Become A Legend / Be A Pro - The Pie Shop

• (21 Pages) +
  • Last »

Become A Legend / Be A Pro Your stories..

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
As both FIFA and PES now have a Legend/Pro mode, let's have a thread for your stories.

Not sure how you start a Pro game in FIFA, but in PES once you set up your player you play in a bounce game that has scouts at it, if you play well the offers come in.

I selected RMF for my position (although the computer seems to deploy me anywhere on the right side and even in DMF once) and in the bounce game I got down the wings, crossed in a peach and the computer headed home. I ended the game on a 6.5 rating (decent enough for the first game) and had the selection of 3 clubs (all from the French league) making an offer. I chose Toulouse as they seemed the strongest side, however that wasn't true at all. While I was struggling in training to get even onto the bench the first team went on to an 10 game beaten run. Training is bloody hard in PES, you get two teams; the first and second squads. If you do well in a training game you can get picked for the first squad in the next training. Do well with that and you can find yourself on the bench, do well there and you are a starter, although obviously poor performances are dealt with in the reverse way.

Anyway, for Toulouse I finally got into the team after I managed a fluke goal in training and was given a place on the bench. While being on the bench means you are not forced to play in training matches (although training matches help improve your players stats) it does tend to involve lots of watching the team play and waiting for the last quarter of the game to get a call to go on. Luckily there is a speed setting so this isn't as bad as it sounds.

My performances for Toulouse were not bad, averageing 6, but a lot depends on the formation and position I am given, and the players around you. I found that one particular player at RB almost refused to pass me the ball. Even if I am in space, he will back track and pass elsewhere. Very odd, yet I had an attacker who was always willing to give me the ball so you could do a 1-2.

Anyway, after 6 months at Toulouse and about 4 appearances from the bench, Grenoble come in with an offer (double the wages! 150 -> 300! woot!) so I took it as they were both in the UEFA but also in 8th place in the league. Sadly it meant back to the training games to break into the first team. And for the last 8 games I've stuck there. The Grenoble side is better than the Toulouse one and I'm finding it harder to break into the team as my stats are still really low.

And that's my story so far. No Scotland call up yet, either... ;)
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

User is offline   KnightswoodBear 

• DROKK!
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:Currencyb0y
FIFA seems a wee bit easier. I created a player, ST, and chose the Rangers (obviously). You start off in the reserves and are given a rating on your performances. First game I set up the opening goal and scored the third in a 3-0 win. I was voted man of the match. After a few more games in the reserves and a few more goals, I was given a start in the first team (which I found strange as I had not even had a game on the bench) against Aberdeen. Didn't play particularly well, as I was deployed on the right side of a front three and in the reserves I had been left side of a two.

After a few more games in the reserves with increasing improvement in all, I was back in the first team and my status had changed to a squad member. A few more games and a hatful of goals later and the national side came calling and I was given a start in a friendly against China. I scored a hattrick (there was tears :D ). I'm now a first choice pick for both club and country after around 20 games of the season.
Posted Image

User is offline   Raving On 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
I'm bawz at it. Playing ALM for Saint-Étienne but sometimes the game changes your position mid-game from left-wing to right-wing to up top, leaving you losing points all over the shop for not being in position, which is hugely frustrating. Not the biggest fan of the camera angles it gives you either.

Other than that, good fun though.
The Greek!

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostRaving On, on Oct 21 2008, 15:12, said:

I'm bawz at it. Playing ALM for Saint-Étienne but sometimes the game changes your position mid-game from left-wing to right-wing to up top, leaving you losing points all over the shop for not being in position, which is hugely frustrating. Not the biggest fan of the camera angles it gives you either.

Other than that, good fun though.

Is that in PES?

Obviously I want the thread to be open to both FIFA and PES as it's the stories I want to hear not about the actual platform. However the reason I mention it is I had to change the camera type back to "normal" in Legend mode in PES.

Also when the computer changes formation in PES you see a set of stars at the bottom left hand corner (like loading or substituting) and when the formation is changed the position displayed next to your name changes and the radar shows the formation change too (ie: 4-3-1-1).
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostKnightswoodBear, on Oct 21 2008, 15:06, said:

FIFA seems a wee bit easier. I created a player, ST, and chose the Rangers (obviously). You start off in the reserves and are given a rating on your performances. First game I set up the opening goal and scored the third in a 3-0 win. I was voted man of the match. After a few more games in the reserves and a few more goals, I was given a start in the first team (which I found strange as I had not even had a game on the bench) against Aberdeen. Didn't play particularly well, as I was deployed on the right side of a front three and in the reserves I had been left side of a two.

After a few more games in the reserves with increasing improvement in all, I was back in the first team and my status had changed to a squad member. A few more games and a hatful of goals later and the national side came calling and I was given a start in a friendly against China. I scored a hattrick (there was tears :D ). I'm now a first choice pick for both club and country after around 20 games of the season.

That's madness, have you seriously gone from being unknown to playing for your national side in less than a season? :blink:

What level are you playing it at? I have mine set to the hardest.

And, yes, PES is considerably harder by all accounts then.

User is offline   KnightswoodBear 

• DROKK!
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:Currencyb0y

View PostRic, on Oct 21 2008, 15:21, said:

That's madness, have you seriously gone from being unknown to playing for your national side in less than a season? :blink:

I'm assuming that it's set to the same difficulty as I set the main game to, which is the medium difficulty.

I had to set the camera back to the normal "tele" mode as the default one for BAP is really annoying.
Posted Image

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostKnightswoodBear, on Oct 21 2008, 15:31, said:

I'm assuming that it's set to the same difficulty as I set the main game to, which is the medium difficulty.

Lightweight.. :P

Being the fine specimen of man I am, I only play things on the hardest level.

User is online   palmy_cammy 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Queen of the South
  • Gamertag:CammyQOS
I'm currently plying my trade for Vitesse in the D League in Pro Evo Become A Legend.

It took me ages to get from the 2nd training team, to the 1st training team, but once I did this I was almost instantly called up to the bench, and started starting games after 3 or 4 substitute appearances. Overall Vitesse are pretty pish, but I am two games into my second season and we (:D) have won both so far, so it is boding well

I selected my position as AMF but as Vitesse play a midfield three I usually play CMF, or occasionally DMF. As my team-mates are pretty poor I find myself pushing further forward than I perhaps should but I usually have a good couple of chances per-match and also quite a few assists to my name so hopefully that doesn't affect my skill points too much. In hindsight perhaps it would've been better to be a striker as the role is much more clearly defined, and you don't need to track back!

This post has been edited by palmy_cammy: 21 October 2008 - 15:57

User is offline   berwick-the-unbeatable 

• Thommo would get it
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Gamertag:Dale BRFC
The PES 'Become a Legend' does sound better than Be a Pro to be fair. May consider getting it at Christmas or rent it or something, test it out.

Edit: I played a full season as Newcastle firstly. In that season I became a squad and international regular. Second season, shite offers came in, so I decided i'ld stay with Newcastle. Got bored (Sick of playing on right when I set it as CF) and so simmed most of the season. Became a Key player (or whatever the next up is from squad member for England, stayed the same at Newcastle). Third Season, Barca came in for me. I went there and they, unsuprisingly played me on the right, sim away. Onto my fourth and final season then, and a small danish (I think) club were on the list among Chelsea, Liverpool, Man U. I went to them and am the captain, and key player at England. Dont think I can be arsed finishing it when I get my 360 back.

This post has been edited by berwick-the-unbeatable: 21 October 2008 - 16:34

Officially Paul McKane's agent. Berwick Rangers FC Blog

Guest_CalderwoodRFC_*

• Group: Surfer

View Postberwick-the- unbeatable, on Oct 21 2008, 17:28, said:

The PES 'Become a Legend' does sound better than Be a Pro to be fair. May consider getting it at Christmas or rent it or something, test it out.

Agreed

User is online   Kris. 

• Damnesia.
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:krisFFC
Just played my first game in the Be A Pro season for Falkirk Reserves (and only my 2nd ever Be A Pro game), Scored all 3 goals in a 3-0 win against Caley Thistle Reserves. Got played at RCM, even though I chose LAM as my position, quite enjoying it tbh. The only other Be A Pro match I played was on 08, and it was shite, put me off trying it on 09 until now.
Falkirk FC Scorers 2011/2012:
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postpalmy_cammy, on Oct 21 2008, 16:57, said:

In hindsight perhaps it would've been better to be a striker as the role is much more clearly defined, and you don't need to track back!

Interesting comment as I chose RMF as my starting position (as normally I would play RMF or RB on a football pitch) and the club plays me in a mix of RWF, RMF, CMF and DMF. When I am playing in the second training team I find myself drifting into central midfield and spending most of the time playing short link up passes in order to up my rating.

Sadly the stats my player has, I can't take on defenders so when the training puts me at RWF I find myself lost a little and getting a low rating (normally 5.5) yet playing me in DMF means I can get involved in the play making but I feel I am missing out on the goal scoring. I tend to rate well in DMF though (usual 6.5/7.0) but I don't "like" playing there.

User is offline   Scotty Tunbridge 

• It's me, It's me, It's ...
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
  • Gamertag:Beanie The Dog
I started off with Hamilton ST scored a shit load spend two seasons there. Got a Scotland cap in a friendly against Portugal won 2-0, Then as time went on I made Accies and Scotland Captain we came second and first in my two season, I moved to Torino for a season we came 2nd currently at Barca and we are first just now.
REID MUST GO!

User is offline   Weekender 

• Greenock Is, So Wonderful
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
I hate it, that and online clubs if your playing with more than 2 people.

This post has been edited by BluebirdTon: 21 October 2008 - 20:16

Posted Image

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostBluebirdTon, on Oct 21 2008, 21:14, said:

I hate it, that and online clubs if your playing with more than 2 people.

pour quoi?

User is offline   Weekender 

• Greenock Is, So Wonderful
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

View PostRic, on Oct 21 2008, 21:17, said:

pour quoi?

The 360.
Posted Image

Guest_Future-SM-Keeper-Ere_*

• Group: Surfer
Got FIFA09 for PS2. You are automatically in First Team, and get to pick the team. I chose LM with St Mirren, good fun as you need to watch your wing. Not something I do, half the time I end up in a 4-3-3 trying to make runs with the strikers :lol:

Results so far:
St Mirren 1-3 Aberdeen.
Celtic 0-2 St Mirren
St Mirren 1-2 Falkirk
Hearts 0-4 St Mirren < First Goal + First Assist
St Mirren 1-2 Hibernian
Kilmarnock 1-4 St Mirren
St Mirren 5-0 Motherwell < First Hat Trick
Rangers 0-4 St Mirren
St Mirren 3-2 Dundee United < Last minute winner by me
Hamilton 3-3 St Mirren

Got like 5 Goals and 5 Assists so far, video'd all the goals by phone, I can put links for them later. Dargo and Wyness formed a decent partnership :blink: but I'm replacing Dargo with Mehmet after Billy scored two goals in two games as a sub in both.

Next up, home to Inverness :P

User is offline   Grant228 

• Person.
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Gamertag:PSN: Gparsfan2
I started of with Celtic(with the views start of in shite league get good stats go to good team)
I made my guy a CF
Made 11 apperances for the reserves scoring 38 and have so far made 7 with the first team scoring 33. This has led mr to have 1 game with Scotland reserves(scored 4) and one game for the first team (scored 5) overall that is 20 matches and 80 goals.
So far my guy has a rating of 88
Aye, Good luck in life.

User is online   Kris. 

• Damnesia.
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:krisFFC

View PostGrant228, on Oct 21 2008, 22:36, said:

I started of with Celtic(with the views start of in shite league get good stats go to good team)
I made my guy a CF
Made 11 apperances for the reserves scoring 38 and have so far made 7 with the first team scoring 33. This has led mr to have 1 game with Scotland reserves(scored 4) and one game for the first team (scored 5) overall that is 20 matches and 80 goals.
So far my guy has a rating of 88

Might want to move the difficulty up from Amateur :P

Oooh...my 1000th post :D
Falkirk FC Scorers 2011/2012:
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postkris_FFC, on Oct 21 2008, 23:23, said:

My thoughts exactly!

Made 11 apperances for the reserves scoring 38 and have so far made 7 with the first team scoring 33.

:blink:

User is offline   Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Gamertag:twotonethacker
I dont like the Pro one at all. Its bloody hard.

The Fifa one I am quite good at. I am Fletcher at Man Utd. I find it easier if you switch the camera to Tele. Its easier to see a pass and far easier to score. I am doing quite well. Half way through the season,were top and ive scored a few.

Fudge, on 04 October 2010 - 23:13, said:

Kev Thacker was like a whippet on speed and the rest of us put in a right good shift as well.

User is offline   Grant228 

• Person.
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Gamertag:PSN: Gparsfan2

View Postkris_FFC, on Oct 21 2008, 23:23, said:

Oooh...my 1000th post :D

It's on professional :P

View PostRic, on Oct 21 2008, 23:31, said:

My thoughts exactly!

:blink:

See above ;)
Aye, Good luck in life.

User is offline   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Metalface Mark

View PostRic, on Oct 21 2008, 15:21, said:

With Fifa you can change the difficulty level as you go on, if you play even at world class in the reserves, its hard not to score at least a couple of goals.

The be a legend is far tougher, ive only started it (on the pc), still in the reserves. Frustrates me that they dont pass unlike in fifa where you call for the ball they give you it.
"ST MIRREN have adopted a new image. The Paisley side resemble the kid at school who returned from the summer holidays with a new school bag and a sun tan that refused to subside."

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Post., on Oct 22 2008, 09:41, said:

With Fifa you can change the difficulty level as you go on, if you play even at world class in the reserves, its hard not to score at least a couple of goals.

Got to say I prefer the sound of the PES one, even if it's taking longer to get into the first team. The idea you can start a season and by the end of it score 30 odd goals and earn a Scotland call up is pretty pish imo. Where is the challenge in that?

View Post., on Oct 22 2008, 09:41, said:

The be a legend is far tougher, ive only started it (on the pc), still in the reserves. Frustrates me that they dont pass unlike in fifa where you call for the ball they give you it.

Frustrating it is, but your reward of being on the bench or even playing in the first team is better for it. As I said in my other post, the passing is based on the players around you (and your position of course). As your stats grow and your teamwork improves they should start to pass more to you.

btw, a question to everyone, have you all gone strikers? I've selected RMF.

User is offline   Hank Scorpio 

• Strike
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
Fifa Be A Pro is pretty shite, tbh. Instead of crating a new player, i just went Robinho with Man City, I scored 42 goals in 32 games, became National Captain and won the league all in my first season. I've signed back for Real madrid, scored 8 goals in my first 2 games, this is on Professional, by the way.

Be A Legend sounds much better. It's a real pity that PES is shite overall.
Posted Image

• (21 Pages) +
  • Last »