The Squash Thread

User is offline   Ad Lib 

• Being right all the time is ever so exhausting
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
Took it up for S6 games and it's great.

Really tires you out especially if playing against more experienced players. Great fun too.

Anyone else play?
Ad Lib: "drinking deep in the well of moral superiority" (© Willie Bain, MP for Glasgow North East) since 1991.

Nicholas William Peter Clegg said:

I need to say this – you shouldn't trust any government, actually including this one. You should not trust government – full stop. The natural inclination of government is to hoard power and information; to accrue power to itself in the name of the public good.

User is offline   Raving On 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
Me!! I played National League for Bridge of Allan last season. We qualified for the playoffs up in Aberdeen last April time but got pumped into 4th place by Aberdeen, Newlands and some other diddy team.

Aberdeen and Newlands went into overkill mode because they were wanting to qualify for the European Championships in Italy so brought in Simon Parke (used to be world number 3), Alex Gough (world number 20ish) and Daryl Selby (about 35ish), making them the Old Firm of Scottish squad.

It was a great experience to be around guys like that though; the standard's unbelievable.

Cracking night out in Aberdeen afterwards too. If anyone from the Hamilton area knows Kenny Boyle... he's a legend on a night out!
The Greek!

User is offline   The Dog 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
Have played for about 8 years regularly but nothing serious, just bounce games with mates.

It's a magic activity

User is offline   Ad Lib 

We get training from the Aberdeen Squash Raquets Club every Wednesday. The guy who trains us is in some squad who were at a European Comp a couple of weeks ago.
Ad Lib: "drinking deep in the well of moral superiority" (© Willie Bain, MP for Glasgow North East) since 1991.

I need to say this – you shouldn't trust any government, actually including this one. You should not trust government – full stop. The natural inclination of government is to hoard power and information; to accrue power to itself in the name of the public good.

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Started playing this last week. Not the fittest or the fastest, so struggled slightly with the pace required, but I did thoroughly enjoy myself.

User is offline   Radford 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Global Moderators

View PostKyle, on Oct 6 2008, 02:06, said:

Started playing this last week. Not the fittest or the fastest, so struggled slightly with the pace required, but I did thoroughly enjoy myself.

Where are you playing? I used to play but have fallen out of the habit. I'd say my game was a composite of the best parts of Peter Nicol and Jahangir Khan.
Fascists against Beatson.

User is offline   H_B 

• Vamos GB
  • My Team:Falkirk
Played at Bridge of Allan for a while, when it was too cold for tennis.

Didn't get into it. I was quite dangerous to my opponent as well, as my swings were long and swishy.

• First Division Sub

View PostExuberant, on Oct 4 2008, 19:22, said:

We get training from the Aberdeen Squash Raquets Club every Wednesday. The guy who trains us is in some squad who were at a European Comp a couple of weeks ago.

Greg McArthur?

View PostH_B, on Oct 7 2008, 13:38, said:

Played at Bridge of Allan for a while, when it was too cold for tennis.

Didn't get into it. I was quite dangerous to my opponent as well, as my swings were long and swishy.

When did you play? We might have crossed paths some day...
The Greek!

User is offline   Ad Lib 

View PostRaving On, on Oct 7 2008, 13:44, said:

Greg McArthur?

Can't remember his name but I don't think it was Greg.

Edit: I think his name's maybe Ali (as in Alistair) or a Simon?

Edit again: just looked at their website and could well be Greg. We've not really had much reason to say his name as we've been so breathless after playing!

This post has been edited by Exuberant: 07 October 2008 - 19:28

• First Division Sub
It could be Ally Gorrie, I know he's a coach up there. Didn't think he was of the standard to play for Scotland at the European Championships though, not that I'm slagging him - he's out of my league.
The Greek!

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant

View PostRadford, on Oct 7 2008, 13:26, said:

Where are you playing? I used to play but have fallen out of the habit. I'd say my game was a composite of the best parts of Peter Nicol and Jahangir Khan.

I play at bells. I'm pretty baws, but give's a bell if you ever want a game?

User is offline   Ad Lib 

View PostRaving On, on Oct 7 2008, 20:57, said:

It could be Ally Gorrie, I know he's a coach up there. Didn't think he was of the standard to play for Scotland at the European Championships though, not that I'm slagging him - he's out of my league.

Maybe. I just heard a conversation in passing about "being at what's like the Champions' League of squash". I think he mentioned that the Scottish team were knocked out in the semis but would have thrashed the English team if they weren't in the other half of the draw :P

Edit: a bit of research suggests it was the European Squash Club Championships.
http://www.squash.or...pdf/m-PoolB.pdf
http://www.squash.or...08/pdf/m-14.pdf

This post has been edited by Exuberant: 07 October 2008 - 21:30

User is offline   H_B 

• Vamos GB
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostRaving On, on Oct 7 2008, 13:44, said:

When did you play? We might have crossed paths some day...

Mostly with my friend KB who was a squash fiend at that time.

I didn't get to know many of the squash players to be honest, though I did play for the tennis team for a season.

User is offline   guinness 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Sauchie Juniors
Hi guys, i taught myself squash not very good? but been playing for about 14 years any body fancy a game give me a pm.

User is offline   mungo 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Dundee
Just took this up about a couple of months ago. Play about 3 times a week .

To be honest im pretty pish at it - no idea what Im doing , just punt it as hard as I can and take out lifes frustrations on that poor wee ball.I play fellow PnBer Kejan at it. Hes equally as pish , so the games are usually quite exciting. So far we are level on games over all .

I think we are graudually getting a wee bit better, trying to 'dominate the T ' but i have wee legs like a dwarf which i think are a hinderance.

Have to test myself on someone like by brother or old man (they are quite good) , to see if ive made any improvements.

Its addictive too ,a great game - well done whoever invented it. :)

This post has been edited by mungo: 26 January 2010 - 20:10

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View Postmungo, on 26 January 2010 - 20:09, said:

Just took this up about a couple of months ago. Play about 3 times a week .

To be honest im pretty pish at it - no idea what Im doing , just punt it as hard as I can and take out lifes frustrations on that poor wee ball.I play fellow PnBer Kejan at it. Hes equally as pish , so the games are usually quite exciting. So far we are level on games over all .

I think we are graudually getting a wee bit better, trying to 'dominate the T ' but i have wee legs like a dwarf which i think are a hinderance.

Have to test myself on someone like by brother or old man (they are quite good) , to see if ive made any improvements.

Its addictive too ,a great game - well done whoever invented it. :)

One tip for you if you just started out. Play with the fastest, bounciest ball you can get. The blue dunlop one is slightly bigger than a normal ball but it bounces higher. You'll find yourself rallying much better with your playing partner and you'll learn more about the game that way.

I have to use the two dot ball for league games but I use the single dot for hit abouts with mates as the ralies last a lot longer. The ball is easier to warm up and its just that bit bouncier so the rallies can last a long time.

Theres sometimes tournaments covered on sky which can help you to see how the games played by the pros. This site is quite good for helping you with the basics. Some decent video instruction in it.

http://www.squashgame.info/
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   mungo 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Dundee

View PostReynard, on 27 January 2010 - 01:04, said:

One tip for you if you just started out. Play with the fastest, bounciest ball you can get. The blue dunlop one is slightly bigger than a normal ball but it bounces higher. You'll find yourself rallying much better with your playing partner and you'll learn more about the game that way.

I have to use the two dot ball for league games but I use the single dot for hit abouts with mates as the ralies last a lot longer. The ball is easier to warm up and its just that bit bouncier so the rallies can last a long time.

Theres sometimes tournaments covered on sky which can help you to see how the games played by the pros. This site is quite good for helping you with the basics. Some decent video instruction in it.

Cheers Raynard , having a wee read of that forum.

We started of playing with a pro ball , but we just switched to a mid range ball to get more rallies. The first time we played the ball would hit the wall and drop like a stone , but we must have got a wee bit stronger as we're managing to get it right back into the corners now , and getting a few rallies on the go. Rematch against Kejan tonight so im hoping to beat him now.

Thinking about investing in a racket. Any ideas what a good price to pay is ? Nothing too fancy but nothing shite either. Got a mickey mouse racket at the moment which does the job but want something better.

Been watching the champs play on Youtube this morning and they are simply fantastic.

• wholesome and lovely

View Postmungo, on 27 January 2010 - 08:22, said:

We started of playing with a pro ball , but we just switched to a mid range ball to get more rallies. The first time we played the ball would hit the wall and drop like a stone , but we must have got a wee bit stronger as we're managing to get it right back into the corners now , and getting a few rallies on the go. Rematch against Kejan tonight so im hoping to beat him now.

Thinking about investing in a racket. Any ideas what a good price to pay is ? Nothing too fancy but nothing shite either. Got a mickey mouse racket at the moment which does the job but want something better.

Been watching the champs play on Youtube this morning and they are simply fantastic.

Go to sports direct and get a dunlop racquet for about thirty or foty quid. Get a teardrop shaped head if you can with fan shaped string pattern. The sweet spot is bigger on those racquets. But definitely get the dunlop max ball. It will help your game no end to begin with. When you are both cracking it so much that its bouncing off the back wall and half way back down the court then go back to the ball you are using. The two yellow dot ball is hopeless for starting out as you just dont rally enough to get the ball warm.

Dunlop stuff is good for squash. I have a couple of prince ones and five Dunlop efforts.

But a big mistake a lot of new players make is with the ball. The max was specially designed for new players and it helps you rally more and learn the game better.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   guinness 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Sauchie Juniors

View Postmungo, on 27 January 2010 - 08:22, said:

I have just bought a Head liquid metal racket in the sale at pdh sports for £40. my other racket was from there aswell and that was ok. They have plenty of rackets about the price range Reynard said, so you should look them up aswell.

This post has been edited by guinness: 27 January 2010 - 14:57

• wholesome and lovely

View Postguinness, on 27 January 2010 - 14:56, said:

I have just bought a Head liquid metal racket in the sale at pdh sports for £40. my other racket was from there aswell and that was ok. They have plenty of rackets about the price range Reynard said, so you should look them up aswell.

I've got a few Dunlop 4d aerogel racquets. They are pretty decent. Sports direct sell the old range at good prices. You can buy an aerogel ultimate for about fifty or sixty quid. Thats down from about £160 rrp when they were newer stock. The areogel elite is also quite a good price at about fifty quid.

At the end of the day just buy one you like, get used to playing with it and dont get too attached to them because you WILL f**k it off the wall at some stage and break it:lol:

Never played with Head stuff before. You like it? I know their tennis range is well thought of.

This post has been edited by Reynard: 27 January 2010 - 15:12

User is offline   Jamie_Beatson 

• First Division Signing Target
I play at least once a week in Perth. Brilliant game and a great workout as well. Wish I could play in some kind of competitive set up though because I have no idea how good (or not) I am because I play the same guy every week!
We Are Perth Forum - Unofficial St Johnstone F.C. Fans forum
We Are Perth Fanzine - St Johnstone F.C. Fanzine online

• wholesome and lovely

View PostJamie_Beatson, on 27 January 2010 - 15:41, said:

I play at least once a week in Perth. Brilliant game and a great workout as well. Wish I could play in some kind of competitive set up though because I have no idea how good (or not) I am because I play the same guy every week!

Isn't there a league in the town? I'd be surprised if there wasn't a club somewhere. I played in the one at Ayr years ago and briefly recently but I couldn't commit the time to it anymore and just play for fun with some of the guys if they want a game. The leagues are good for seeing where you are. Interclub matches are a better way to judge yourself though as you play against the best players from each club.

User is offline   Jamie_Beatson 

• First Division Signing Target
There is a league - they play around the same time on Thursdays that me and my mate normally play. Some of them appear to be total fuds though.
We Are Perth Forum - Unofficial St Johnstone F.C. Fans forum
We Are Perth Fanzine - St Johnstone F.C. Fanzine online

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:Isthisallthereis.co.uk

View PostReynard, on 27 January 2010 - 01:04, said:

When I was getting into it years ago a friend brought someone who was no.5 in the country, it was an eye opener as I was just someone who was fit and never gave up, the way he broke the court up into segments in which he could get anywhere in a few strides or side steps.

• wholesome and lovely

View Postayrmad, on 28 January 2010 - 12:11, said:

When I was getting into it years ago a friend brought someone who was no.5 in the country, it was an eye opener as I was just someone who was fit and never gave up, the way he broke the court up into segments in which he could get anywhere in a few strides or side steps.

Yeah the top guys make it look like a lot less work than it actually is. Watching the ball racquet to racquet buys you milliseconds but it makes a massive difference as you learn to anticipate shots.

Watching the top women players was a good way I found to learn the game. Their technique is easier to spot because the game pace is just that little bit slower than the mens game.

The top pros are just unbelievably fit athletes. It's a game you can't really play properly anyway unless you are fit enough. But these guys are just machines.

• (2 Pages) +