Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Signing On Fee To Come In Handy For Local Racist.... - The Pie Shop

Page 1 of 1

Signing On Fee To Come In Handy For Local Racist....

User is offline   Caddon 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/ latestne...cial.4349000.jp

Wonder if Arniston will get their money back if he's then banned by the SFA?

Guest_WJR_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostCaddon, on Aug 1 2008, 14:29, said:

http://edinburghnews.scotsman. com/latestne...cial.4349000.jp

Wonder if Arniston will get their money back if he's then banned by the SFA?

The SFA don't have jurisdiction over the Juniors do they?

In any case, the conduct complained of has, eventually, been thoroughly investigated and proved beyond reasonable doubt. Punishment has been handed down, time to move on.

User is offline   Simplistic 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Spartans
why does the evening news refer to us as a junior side?

Guest_captainamerica_*

View PostSimplistic, on Aug 1 2008, 17:59, said:

why does the evening news refer to us as a junior side?

I dont think it was in the sports section Simplistic which makes me think the person reporting doesnt know the diffirence between EOS Senior and junior. Thats my take on it anyway!

The player that was found guilty should definately have some sort of ban as its disgusting behaviour!

User is offline   Cabbage 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Hibernian

View Postcaptainamerica, on Aug 1 2008, 18:20, said:

I dont think it was in the sports section Simplistic which makes me think the person reporting doesnt know the diffirence between EOS Senior and junior. Thats my take on it anyway!

The player that was found guilty should definately have some sort of ban as its disgusting behaviour!

He's been banned already iirc.

User is offline   Tams bird 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Had a 15 match ban already. Even tho SFA had no evidence. So how did the court?

Why didnt Spartans complain when it happened the first time.?
IT'S NOT THE WAY YOU PLAY THE GAME BUT WETHER YOU WIN OT LOSE..

Guest_captainamerica_*

View PostTams bird, on Aug 1 2008, 18:49, said:

Gerrard probably felt that the guy was an idiot and it wouldnt be worth his while makeing a big issue about the whole thing then it happened a second time within the space of a few months and maybe felt that action had to be taken.

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Edinburgh City
A big thing was made of it in the media at the time as I recall, and perhaps rightly so. Kick Racism out of Football.
The papers quite often fail to determine the status of clubs outwith the SFL/SPL (and sometimes even clubs within the SFL). Edinburgh City have often been called amateurs in the press, which the club were originally, but City's treasurer would tell you (to great length no doubt!) that the club pays the players. It is indicative of 1) the obscurity of the EOSL as presently advised 2) the failure of the Scottish sports media to report anything properly outwith the Old Firm.
Lionel Hutz writes on the question of evidence: The learned Sheriff would have heard evidence in court (without a jury, this being a summary trial) from witnesses called by the crown and any defence witnesses called by the solicitor for the accused and such witnesses (the referee or players on the pitch for example) would have been cross examined by either side during the length of the trial. At close of evidence both sides make summations on the evidence and the Sheriff makes his decision on who to believe. I dare say a SFA inquiry is probably not quite so detailed although the witnesses may be the same.
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

Guest_WJR_*

View PostTams bird, on Aug 1 2008, 18:49, said:

TB, let me begin with a point I posted on the EEN (to put the hand wringers right),

Wayne made some mistakes and has now been punished.

Wayne's lengthy suspension was for conduct entirely unrelated to the Dan misdemeanours. Two seasons ago he was a complete nut job.

He had to sit out half of last season because of suspensions (assaulting a referee?) but when he came back his record was OK.

Two years ago I heard his plan wa always to go Junior after EoS.

Frankly, if Wayne could admit he made a couple of bad mistakes I would be happy to see him at Spartans

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Edinburgh City
good player... but an eejit.
How many times could you say that about players? If I had a pound for every time I could have said it I'd have... ooh, enough for a Robbie Ross transfer fee at least.

But if people are prepared to rehabilitate Joey Barton then perhaps Wayne can keep his nose clean and become a model footballer.
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

Guest_WJR_*

View Posttamthebam, on Aug 1 2008, 21:52, said:

good player... but an eejit.
How many times could you say that about players? If I had a pound for every time I could have said it I'd have... ooh, enough for a Robbie Ross transfer fee at least.

But if people are prepared to rehabilitate Joey Barton then perhaps Wayne can keep his nose clean and become a model footballer.

That's quite a good comparison Tam but it's really up to Wayne. 23 yrs old! I read tonight that the joint top scorer in the Scottish FA Cup (2005) has, at the age of 32, signed for EoS Premiership favourites Preston Doos (nae pies) so Wayne has a few years in front of him.

Guest_captainamerica_*

View PostWJR, on Aug 1 2008, 21:47, said:

TB, let me begin with a point I posted on the EEN (to put the hand wringers right),

Wayne made some mistakes and has now been punished.

Wayne's lengthy suspension was for conduct entirely unrelated to the Dan misdemeanours. Two seasons ago he was a complete nut job.

He had to sit out half of last season because of suspensions (assaulting a referee?) but when he came back his record was OK.

Two years ago I heard his plan wa always to go Junior after EoS.

Frankly, if Wayne could admit he made a couple of bad mistakes I would be happy to see him at Spartans

WJR as long as he admits he made a couple of bad mistakes you would be happy to see him at Spartans??

After racially abusing a player and missing out half the season because of assaulting a referee...........surely you wouldnt want someone like that at Spartans?? Spartans have worked tirelessly to make the club what it is (a family community club), so i ask again why would you want someone like that playing for your team??

Guest_WJR_*

View Postcaptainamerica, on Aug 1 2008, 22:35, said:

WJR as long as he admits he made a couple of bad mistakes you would be happy to see him at Spartans??

After racially abusing a player and missing out half the season because of assaulting a referee...........surely you wouldnt want someone like that at Spartans?? Spartans have worked tirelessly to make the club what it is (a family community club), so i ask again why would you want someone like that playing for your team??

That's easy CA. It is the whole point of our Community Academy.

People in life deserve futher opportunities if they recognise what they have done wrong. Spartans as a club recognise that - we're not just Uni old boys as everyone seems to think (altho Uni boys can be a bit radge too)

n terms of the ref incident Wayne has served his supension. End of.

Regarding Dan, the players would have to be comfortable with that. Wayne probably does not want to play for the EoS champione elect anyway and willl be hoping to win the Junior Super Cup.

Guest_captainamerica_*

View PostWJR, on Aug 1 2008, 22:53, said:

That's easy CA. It is the whole point of our Community Academy.

People in life deserve futher opportunities if they recognise what they have done wrong. Spartans as a club recognise that - we're not just Uni old boys as everyone seems to think (altho Uni boys can be a bit radge too)

n terms of the ref incident Wayne has served his supension. End of.

Regarding Dan, the players would have to be comfortable with that. Wayne probably does not want to play for the EoS champione elect anyway and willl be hoping to win the Junior Super Cup.

Couldnt agree more with your point about the community academy WJR but surely the line has to be drawn somewhere? Yes i agree that he served his suspension and everyone does deserve a second chance, but how many chances do you give?

Hypotheticaly if he did sign for Spartans and behaved in a manner which was deemed unacceptable like his recent visit to court that would have a massive detrimental affect on Spartans........parents would be choosing other grass roots clubs to send their kids to and the club would be seen in very bad light indeed!

Apologise for the poor spelling WJR....not my strong point!

Guest_WJR_*

View Postcaptainamerica, on Aug 1 2008, 23:09, said:

Couldnt agree more with your point about the community academy WJR but surely the line has to be drawn somewhere? Yes i agree that he served his suspension and everyone does deserve a second chance, but how many chances do you give?

Hypotheticaly if he did sign for Spartans and behaved in a manner which was deemed unacceptable like his recent visit to court that would have a massive detrimental affect on Spartans........parents would be choosing other grass roots clubs to send their kids to and the club would be seen in very bad light indeed!

In a way it's a bit of a non point CA because he won't ever sign for Spartans. But we have exceptional players on the books who had previous poor disciplinary records and now don't.

Although I have Spartans as my team on my profile I don't speak for the club.

Personally, I don't think Wayne is inherently racist. What he said on two consecutive games was racist and aggresive and the Sheriff found him guilty but I think he is probably just what we describe as a daft laddie who could do with playing with guys like Dan,Stewart Fowlie etc

Guest_WJR_*

View Postcaptainamerica, on Aug 1 2008, 23:09, said:

Bit late but this means a lot to me. If any Spartans player was in the same position their feet wouldn't touch the ground - bye bye!.

Page 1 of 1