User is offline   scrooge1928 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Edinburgh City

View Postjuniornews, on Jul 28 2008, 14:47, said:

Good story on the Robbie Ross saga in tonights Edinburgh News

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/ Pr...-all.4330461.jp

It's certainly good to see Shaun pulling no punches. City aren't going to get blustered into parting with one of our best players for sweetie money, because someone claims a move to a junior club is a "step up". A step sideways is a fair description, admittedly with higher wages. A step up is the Scottish Football League, and that's why we applied to join them rather than the juniors.

I have no idea what discussions went on about the fee asked for Robbie - these sort of things are decided by the manager and one, maybe two, specific committee members. I don't even know officially how much the transfer fee was. The "Evening News learned" it was £10,000, eh? I wonder who gave them that figure. Or why they didn't bother mentioning how much Rose offered.

User is offline   juniornews 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Scotland
I can tell you it was £10,000 and I beleive Rose offered £3000

and you are surely kidding when you think going from playing on public parks every other week
to the East Superleague in front if 500/600 fans is a step sideways
Boness Utd - Forever Living in Linlithgow's shadow

Guest_WJR_*

• Group: Surfer

View Postjuniornews, on Jul 28 2008, 18:42, said:

I can tell you it was £10,000 and I beleive Rose offered £3000

and you are surely kidding when you think going from playing on public parks every other week
to the East Superleague in front if 500/600 fans is a step sideways

Juniornews/Scrooge, this story is interesting to us neutrals but we don't know for sure how much was asked or offered.

So what can we say as neutrals? Is Junior football a step up from EoS? Yes of course in terms of overall playing standards at the respective upper levels but maybe not so much in terms of longer term career progression?

Do a greater proportion of EoS players who move to Juniors (rather than stay at their EoS team for another season) go on to SFL? Spartans alone have 3 who have made the move to SFL in the close season - that's not "bigging up" Spartans - it's a credit to the 3 guys.

(I don't want to get into a discussion of whether SFL3 is better than the Junior Super Leagues)

Assuming City don't have Robbie on a Jim MacLean contract can he not see out his contract this year, leave content with an EoS Prem Div runners' up medal (to Edin Uni) and 4 losing cup final medals (all to Spartans) and let a tribunal decide?

Final point, I don't know if Shaun was accurately (or fully) reported in saying Robbie had better options than Rose. They look to me to be a very good, well organised and successful club - if a bit lucky to catch Spartans on an off day in last year's Scottish Cup. Does Mr Carrigan's move not show that if you want to move to a different league then playing for Rose can give you that platform.

Anyway, final, final word which is where I should have started and finished - Robbie Ross is a goal scoring pest! I hope he disappears.

Guest_lifetime fan_*

With regards to the comments made on this website. Robbie Duncanson who plays with Clach and was an understudy to Robbie Ross in the Scotland squad last year signed for Deveronvale at the weekend for a fee in excess of £10,000. Given that RR has a better goalscoring record for club and country, then City could probably have commanded a far bigger fee. City probably felt that to replace a player with his record AND potential would have meant shelling out a lot of cash- both in transfer fees and wages, since the approach wasn't made until most transfer targets would probably be contracted.

Guest_WJR_*

View Postlifetime fan, on Jul 28 2008, 22:44, said:

With regards to the comments made on this website. Robbie Duncanson who plays with Clach and was an understudy to Robbie Ross in the Scotland squad last year signed for Deveronvale at the weekend for a fee in excess of £10,000. Given that RR has a better goalscoring record for club and country, then City could probably have commanded a far bigger fee. City probably felt that to replace a player with his record AND potential would have meant shelling out a lot of cash- both in transfer fees and wages, since the approach wasn't made until most transfer targets would probably be contracted.

I don't know RD and we all have to take posters on faith re fees paid/requested but one fee I would be keen to know is what WW got for Wayne who is a proven goal scorer. Maybe not a good comparison as he may have been out of contract in which case my point remains re Robbie - to put it longer hand, how lomg is is his contract?

Guest_WJR_*

[quote name='WJR' date='Jul 28 2008, 22:59' post='2644925']
I don't know RD and we all have to take posters on faith re fees paid/requested but one fee I would be keen to know is what WW got for Wayne who is a proven goal scorer. Maybe not a good comparison as he may have been out of contract in which case my point remains re Robbie - to put it longer hand, how lomg is is his contract?
[/quote

Who are we all to decide what is best for Robbie? Is that not up to him and those he has trust in?

User is offline   FuzzyBear 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical

View Postscrooge1928, on Jul 28 2008, 18:39, said:

It's certainly good to see Shaun pulling no punches. City aren't going to get blustered into parting with one of our best players for sweetie money, because someone claims a move to a junior club is a "step up". A step sideways is a fair description, admittedly with higher wages. A step up is the Scottish Football League, and that's why we applied to join them rather than the juniors.

I have no idea what discussions went on about the fee asked for Robbie - these sort of things are decided by the manager and one, maybe two, specific committee members. I don't even know officially how much the transfer fee was. The "Evening News learned" it was £10,000, eh? I wonder who gave them that figure. Or why they didn't bother mentioning how much Rose offered.

A sideways step - you are having a laugh. It is a big step up to the East Super League. Edinburgh City did ask for £10k which would have made him Linlithgow Rose's most expensive signing ever and by quite a long way and for that reason they were told to bolt. I don't know how much the Rose did offer but I would imagine the £3k quoted by juniornews will not be far off the mark. The boy did want to sign for the Rose but his club priced him out of the move and it looks like it is dead and buried after the Rose bought or are buying Chris Geddes.

User is offline   Burnie_man 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Blackburn United

View Postscrooge1928, on Jul 28 2008, 18:39, said:

If you think moving from Edinburgh City to Linlithgow Rose is a sideways step you're living in dreamland, and applying to join the SFL rather than the Juniors and using this as some sort of evidence of this is a very big and a very red herring :rolleyes: but let's not get into that again.
"We are the Burnie boys, we make a lot of noise, we wear our trousers to our knees"

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok

View Postlifetime fan, on Jul 28 2008, 22:44, said:

Robbie Duncanson's fee is absolutely ridiculous but there is a fair bit of money sloshing around the Highland League - too many SFA handouts it seems. Why don't Vale spend a bit of cash adding some terracing to their ground?

As for Duncanson v Ross - Robbie D has the benefit of a Senior apprenticeship with Ross County as well as Senior non-league experience with Nairn, Brora, Lossie and Clach. He's also 3 years older.

Ross has been floating around at first team level for Edinburgh City for 3 seasons.

A wee bit of a difference in pedigree.

Guest_WJR_*

View Postcmontheloknow, on Jul 29 2008, 19:29, said:

Robbie Duncanson's fee is absolutely ridiculous but there is a fair bit of money sloshing around the Highland League - too many SFA handouts it seems. Why don't Vale spend a bit of cash adding some terracing to their ground?

As for Duncanson v Ross - Robbie D has the benefit of a Senior apprenticeship with Ross County as well as Senior non-league experience with Nairn, Brora, Lossie and Clach. He's also 3 years older.

Ross has been floating around at first team level for Edinburgh City for 3 seasons.

Hi Jamie, I'd have Robbie Ross in a minute but first we would need to convince Mickey to drop Lampard from his wish list (to replace Ross Campbell obviously) to free up the cash.

Any idea of what the record transfer fee is for the EoS and the Junior Super Leagues respectively?

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
Maybe the mighty Blackburn United should have offered 10k then, Mr Burnieman?
Aye well, if you don't have the money then put your own club in order before sticking yer oar in.
I bet the EOSL teams Whitehill, Spartans, City, Edinburgh Uni etc could give the Murray Park Magyars a run for their money. I wouldn't want to take anything out of a friendly result but City got a draw half way through the season against Junior Cup Finalists Bathgate Thistle.
And the "weaker" EOSL now has a fixture list to the end of the season now, which is more than the Juniors have right now.
I have heard of transfer fees of rather run of the mill players between Junior clubs of £3-4000 so just because City are an East of Scotland League Club doesn't mean they should be taken for mugs. I don't know if Wayne "No Brain" McIntosh commanded a transfer fee but I would imagine Welfare grabbed every penny they could and good luck to them.
(WJR: Keith McLeod is also a goal scoring pest, somebody please sign him!!)
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostWJR, on Jul 29 2008, 20:43, said:

Any idea of what the record transfer fee is for the EoS and the Junior Super Leagues respectively?

It's difficult to say - you hear figures quoted but who knows how true they are. I do know that Lok's record fee paid was £7000, set 3 or 4 years ago. We paid a similar amount for two players at a relatively similar time, I can't recall whose was higher.

I recall Bathgate being suggested as having paid £12,000 for Eddie Annand from Raith Rovers in 2006, but that's one man spending his own money.

User is offline   Burnie_man 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Blackburn United

View Posttamthebam, on Jul 29 2008, 20:49, said:

Maybe the mighty Blackburn United should have offered 10k then, Mr Burnieman? Aye well, if you don't have the money then put your own club in order before sticking yer oar in.

Nae idea what you're on about :huh:

I bet the EOSL teams Whitehill, Spartans, City, Edinburgh Uni etc could give the Murray Park Magyars a run for their money. I wouldn't want to take anything out of a friendly result but City got a draw half way through the season against Junior Cup Finalists Bathgate Thistle.

Most Superleague teams did :lol: Bathgate hardly set the heather on fire last season - Junior Cup win apart.

And the "weaker" EOSL now has a fixture list to the end of the season now, which is more than the Juniors have right now.

Does a fixture list make a league "stronger"? :rolleyes:

I have heard of transfer fees of rather run of the mill players between Junior clubs of £3-4000 so just because City are an East of Scotland League Club doesn't mean they should be taken for mugs. I don't know if Wayne "No Brain" McIntosh commanded a transfer fee but I would imagine Welfare grabbed every penny they could and good luck to them.

You may have missed it TamBam, but I didn't pass any comment on the alleged transfer fees being asked/offered, if City want £10k then good luck to them.
"We are the Burnie boys, we make a lot of noise, we wear our trousers to our knees"

Guest_WJR_*

View Posttamthebam, on Jul 29 2008, 20:49, said:

Maybe the mighty Blackburn United should have offered 10k then, Mr Burnieman?
Aye well, if you don't have the money then put your own club in order before sticking yer oar in.

Cloudie is indeed a goal scoring maestro Tam but he is having a bit of an early season break to give Robbie/Steven/Nicky Walker/Daryl Devlin and Scott G and Hazy a head start before he gets off his backside and powers to the top of the goal scoring charts. If Sir Alan is still browsing he can read that as diving his way to the top if he likes.

I don't knpw if Sam and Mike are going to play a back 3 or 4 by preference, I suspect a back 4 and Robbie will have his work cut out against the 4 likely suspects and he'll have a class act in Chris Flockhart to get past after them.

Look forward to seeing you boys at Sinatra Park for the "last" game at the mother ground.

User is offline   City Fan 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postcmontheloknow, on Jul 29 2008, 19:29, said:

As i doubt you have been to a Clachnacuddin or City game recently i fell you have very little right to be comparing the 2.

Also would like to point out that i think both Ross and Duncanson started against England in the 4 nations tournament (Duncanson in an attacking midfield role)

Back to the Ross Vs Duncanson thing

How you can say that a guy who was bombed out of a senior team and is (according to you) playing for his 5th Highland league club (some what of a journeyman) at the age of 23 has a better profile than someone who has played for Edinburgh City since he was 18 and is nearing 100 apps. I personally believe it is unfair to compare them and if you are. Look at last years goals to games ratio of last year....i know who's is better.

Back to my point....we can ask for whatever transfer fee we deem to be acceptable (as Clach did) and if no-one is prepared to pay it...then tough!!!

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostCity Fan, on Jul 30 2008, 08:23, said:

As i doubt you have been to a Clachnacuddin or City game recently i fell you have very little right to be comparing the 2.

Also would like to point out that i think both Ross and Duncanson started against England in the 4 nations tournament (Duncanson in an attacking midfield role)

Back to the Ross Vs Duncanson thing

How you can say that a guy who was bombed out of a senior team and is (according to you) playing for his 5th Highland league club (some what of a journeyman) at the age of 23 has a better profile than someone who has played for Edinburgh City since he was 18 and is nearing 100 apps. I personally believe it is unfair to compare them and if you are. Look at last years goals to games ratio of last year....i know who's is better.

Back to my point....we can ask for whatever transfer fee we deem to be acceptable (as Clach did) and if no-one is prepared to pay it...then tough!!!

The comparison wasn't made by me - someone else suggested that if Duncanson is worth 10k then Ross is worth more. Overall the Highland League is a higher standard of football than the East of Scotland League.

Not quite sure what the relevance of a Representative squad is when setting this lad's value? Maybe the SFA semi-pro squad is a load of tosh? There are guys in that squad that wouldn't get anywhere near the Junior Representative side, and I'm sure it works both ways. Neither side accurately reflect the overall best playing in the non-league game.

If you ask a sky high fee for a player to stop him moving it's bad sport.

Can you provide some video evidence of this young Pele in action? Here's a link of Lok's Bryan Dingwall firing in goal after goal after goal... we'd be laughed out of town if we tried to get £10,000 for him, and that for a player who's scored over 160 goals in the last 5 seasons and at least 200 since 2000.

Bryan Dingwall Goal Machine

This post has been edited by cmontheloknow: 30 July 2008 - 08:14

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postcmontheloknow, on Jul 30 2008, 09:12, said:

The comparison wasn't made by me - someone else suggested that if Duncanson is worth 10k then Ross is worth more. Overall the Highland League is a higher standard of football than the East of Scotland League.

Not quite sure what the relevance of a Representative squad is when setting this lad's value? Maybe the SFA semi-pro squad is a load of tosh? There are guys in that squad that wouldn't get anywhere near the Junior Representative side, and I'm sure it works both ways. Neither side accurately reflect the overall best playing in the non-league game.

If you ask a sky high fee for a player to stop him moving it's bad sport.

Can you provide some video evidence of this young Pele in action? Here's a link of Lok's Bryan Dingwall firing in goal after goal after goal... we'd be laughed out of town if we tried to get £10,000 for him, and that for a player who's scored over 160 goals in the last 5 seasons and at least 200 since 2000.

Bryan Dingwall Goal Machine

cmontheloknow, i may have come across unclear in my last point (if so many apologies) i am not trying to justify the 10k value. If my club had 10k to spend and they spent it on a 20 year old who's had one good season then i'd expect heads to roll. My point was that when a player is under contract (which no-one forced him to sign) then the club involved has the right to demand any transfer fee.

EG. Riordan at Celtic, was bought for £150,000 from hibs as a 23 year old player with bags of potential, an international cap and on form, scoring goals for Hibs. Now 2 years down the line. £1,000,000 is being asked for depite him have played about 10 games in 2 years..why? Well IMO because he's under contract (and cause he plays for the OF now) and Celtic can ask for what they want.

So that is my point mate, not that a 20 year old, EOS striker is worth 10k (which he's not BTW)

But if you fancy a swap, Ross for Dingy sure we could come to some arrangement :P

As for the Highland league being a higher standard than EOS, think you'll find the most recent competative games between EOS and Highland leagues top teams have been pretty even, if not more EOS victorys (but thats for another day i feel)

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostCity Fan, on Jul 30 2008, 10:08, said:

cmontheloknow, i may have come across unclear in my last point (if so many apologies) i am not trying to justify the 10k value. If my club had 10k to spend and they spent it on a 20 year old who's had one good season then i'd expect heads to roll. My point was that when a player is under contract (which no-one forced him to sign) then the club involved has the right to demand any transfer fee.

EG. Riordan at Celtic, was bought for £150,000 from hibs as a 23 year old player with bags of potential, an international cap and on form, scoring goals for Hibs. Now 2 years down the line. £1,000,000 is being asked for depite him have played about 10 games in 2 years..why? Well IMO because he's under contract (and cause he plays for the OF now) and Celtic can ask for what they want.

So that is my point mate, not that a 20 year old, EOS striker is worth 10k (which he's not BTW)

But if you fancy a swap, Ross for Dingy sure we could come to some arrangement :P

As for the Highland league being a higher standard than EOS, think you'll find the most recent competative games between EOS and Highland leagues top teams have been pretty even, if not more EOS victorys (but thats for another day i feel)

Yeah a contentious point perhaps regarding EOS v HFL - I suppose ultimately it depends on who is paired against who. Edinburgh University knocking out Keith recently being a case in point.

You're right that any player under contract is worth whatever is asked, the only issue becomes whether the fee being asked is reasonable. HFL sides have a bit of money, but they're not going to be in the market for a player in Edinburgh. There are virtually no clubs in Scotland who would want Ross that could afford that sort of money, therefore such a fee has to be seen as being a firm 'hands off' which is fair enough I suppose, except to the boy himself. What would Sepp Blatter say about this if he heard!? :lol:

This post has been edited by cmontheloknow: 30 July 2008 - 09:25

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postcmontheloknow, on Jul 30 2008, 10:24, said:

Yeah a contentious point perhaps regarding EOS v HFL - I suppose ultimately it depends on who is paired against who. Edinburgh University knocking out Keith recently being a case in point.

You're right that any player under contract is worth whatever is asked, the only issue becomes whether the fee being asked is reasonable. HFL sides have a bit of money, but they're not going to be in the market for a player in Edinburgh. There are virtually no clubs in Scotland who would want Ross that could afford that sort of money, therefore such a fee has to be seen as being a firm 'hands off' which is fair enough I suppose, except to the boy himself. What would Sepp Blatter say about this if he heard!? :lol:

I agree its a hands off, they could just as well have said "he's not for sale". And this would never have even happened. I do wonder what he is thinking just now!!

As for our pal Sepp i sure he'd use the words, Slave, day and modern!! (not in that order) :lol:

User is offline   CityCabbage 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Hibernian

View Postcmontheloknow, on Jul 30 2008, 10:24, said:

On your second point, not all clubs in Scotland would have to pay that sort of money, I'm pretty certain if a senior Scottish side came in for any player at Edinburgh City, they would probably be able to reimburse City for the players signing on fee and the player would be allowed to go!

And also, it's not really unfair on the boy as, as pointed out he signed the contract of his own free will (presumably)

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostCityCabbage, on Jul 30 2008, 11:00, said:

On your second point, not all clubs in Scotland would have to pay that sort of money, I'm pretty certain if a senior Scottish side came in for any player at Edinburgh City, they would probably be able to reimburse City for the players signing on fee and the player would be allowed to go!

And also, it's not really unfair on the boy as, as pointed out he signed the contract of his own free will (presumably)

Not sure about that, i have heard of the torture that goes on before you sign for City!! :lol: :lol:

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
...compared to the torture of watching City? :P
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

Page 1 of 1