The Pie Shop: Gaa - The Pie Shop

• (6 Pages) +
  • Last »

Gaa Anyone watch it?

Guest_EWS_*

• Group: Surfer
Currently watching Dublin vs Westmeath in the GAA Football All-Ireland Leinster Semi-Final. With my girlfriend being Irish, her brother watches it and I've been following Down recently. Seems quite interesting and suprisingly entertaining. Got Down vs Armagh later on.

So anyone else?

This post has been edited by EWS: 30 June 2008 - 18:52

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View PostEWS, on Jun 29 2008, 15:13, said:

Currently watching Dublin vs Westmeath in the GAA Football All-Ireland Leinster Semi-Final. With my girlfriend being Irish, her brother watches it and I've been following Down recently. Seems quite interesting and suprisingly entertaining. Got Down vs Armagh later on.

So anyone else?

Ive been following GAA for years and used to play a bit as well. The football championship in the summer is superb and there are always some fantastic matches, the Down v. Tyrone replay a couple of weeks ago was a great game. Hopefully Down stick it on Armagh this afternoon as well.

With players representing the county of their birth there is great local pride you dont really get in many other other sports.

Hurling is good too but spoiled a bit of late by the same teams dominating year in year out.

Guest_EWS_*

God damn Armagh.

Up by 3 after 20 minutes.

User is offline   houston_bud 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:St.Mirren
it strikes me as the type of sport you'd invent with your pals when you were about 8yrs old.

Guest_FCB_*

View Posthouston_bud, on Jun 30 2008, 02:10, said:

it strikes me as the type of sport you'd invent with your pals when you were about 8yrs old.

Maybe so, they take it very seriously though. Never tried watching it yet.

User is offline   bobbykdy 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

View Posthouston_bud, on Jun 30 2008, 02:10, said:

That reminds of when I was about 7 myself and ma pals inventing the rule at fitba "if the keeper gets a hand to the ball and it still goes in its no a goal" :huh:

Christ knows what we were on :unsure:

User is offline   pollymac 

• Good guy
  • My Team:Celtic
Does GAA football count as 'Other Fitba'? :unsure:

If not, get it off tae f*ck. General nonsense for this pish. :angry: ;)

Sally@Feb,1994 said:

That’s their problem, although I cannot say i’m not enjoying what’s happening to them.

Sally@Mar,2012 said:

There are probably one or two people out there enjoying it

wawp-wawp-wawp-waaaawwwwwwwpppppp!

User is offline   djn 

• Second Toughest In The Third Division
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Gamertag:Horace Goes Skiing

View Postcow-bite. moo, on Jun 30 2008, 12:59, said:

Dunno. But when Beyemystic sees the topic is "Gaa" and not "GAA" he'll have a hissy fit :D

View PostBlack and Gold, on Dec 21 2009, 21:22, said:

We MUST get 3 points and get this horrible looking Berwick monkey off our backs.

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain

As its another code of football I think you can just about get away with it :P .

User is offline   PrestwickKillie 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilmarnock

I thought tims pyoor luvvd Irish culchur? :rolleyes:
"Jocky Wilson... what an athlete."

User is offline   Beyemystic 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postdjn, on Jun 30 2008, 13:28, said:

Dunno. But when Beyemystic sees the topic is "Gaa" and not "GAA" he'll have a hissy fit :D

Actually I have memories of watching the RTE coverage of Gaelic stuff on a grainy wee telly during annual long summer holidays in the south. Although I built up a sort of admiration for the 'Lillywhites' of Kildare (can't remember why) it was essentially quite boring. Primarily because I never understood the rules or, by extension, what was going on.

Still, when one's 'holidays' consisted of a month driving round rainy Ireland in an Austin Montego and meeting progressively more eccentric relatives, you had to take your entertainment where you found it :(

Guest_EWS_*

View Postdjn, on Jun 30 2008, 13:28, said:

Posted Image

I actually quite enjoyed watching it, it gives an interesting slant to the game and although not quite as violent as Aussie rules still has it's merits. The fact that the All Ireland final attracts tens of thousands of fans is ridiculous - it's a shame that the players get shafted a bit.

Guest_Bart Simpson_*

Gaelic Football is an incredible sport. The fitness involved is phenomenal. Hurley is better in my eyes, but I'm biased as a Shinty man. One of the aspects of the Irish way of things that I am envious of is the prevalence of the two sports in terms of participation, following and above all their amateur basis. With Shinty blood it really is something to see, the All Ireland at Croke Park in either dicipline, really puts the interest, coverage and attendances of Shinty in perspective. However, good to see a mention on the site without the normal dross attached to posts slightly related to Ireland.

NB... Attendances fill Croke Park in the finals, must be 70,000-80,0000 without the full stadium upgraded.

Guest_EWS_*

I'm going to try my best to follow it in the future. Watched the Dublin match before the Down match, and it beggars belief sometimes with the way the game goes.

Very much enjoyed the match against Armagh even if Down lost.

User is offline   djn 

View PostBart Simpson, on Jun 30 2008, 21:14, said:

Attendances fill Croke Park in the finals, must be 70,000-80,0000 without the full stadium upgraded.

Last time I was in Dublin it was full of people in shirts for teams, I think there were two games at Croke Park that day, really good to see rival fans mix with no trouble, and some local pride. Would never happen in Scotland :(

We MUST get 3 points and get this horrible looking Berwick monkey off our backs.

User is offline   pollymac 

• Good guy

View PostPrestwickKillie, on Jun 30 2008, 15:06, said:

I thought tims pyoor luvvd Irish culchur? :rolleyes:

Why don't you have your r*ngers crest as your avatar?

Sally@Feb,1994 said:

That’s their problem, although I cannot say i’m not enjoying what’s happening to them.

Sally@Mar,2012 said:

There are probably one or two people out there enjoying it

wawp-wawp-wawp-waaaawwwwwwwpppppp!

User is offline   louisxiv 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View Postdjn, on Jun 30 2008, 22:15, said:

Last time I was in Dublin it was full of people in shirts for teams, I think there were two games at Croke Park that day, really good to see rival fans mix with no trouble, and some local pride. Would never happen in Scotland :(

I went to the Finals at Croke park years ago. Two games (?) which I seem to remember being fairly entertained byconsidering I bought the tickets because I thought it was football, not GAA.
We're doomed. No, really.

User is offline   PrestwickKillie 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilmarnock

View Postcow-bite. moo, on Jun 30 2008, 23:09, said:

Why don't you have your r*ngers crest as your avatar?

Because I'm not a Rangers fan :huh:
"Jocky Wilson... what an athlete."

User is offline   Cardinal Richelieu 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Stranraer

View PostEWS, on Jun 29 2008, 15:13, said:

Got Down vs Armagh later on.

Oooooh. How exciting. An all-British semi-final.

:P

User is offline   djn 

View PostCardinal Richelieu, on Jul 1 2008, 08:37, said:

Oooooh. How exciting. An all-British semi-final.

:P

:D

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
Owen Mulligan downs the Dubs in 2005..

http://youtube.com/w...feature=related

And a wee scuffle between the few teams a few months later..

http://youtube.com/w...feature=related

This post has been edited by Waspie: 01 July 2008 - 14:06

User is offline   Mocko 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Falkirk
I motherf'king love Gaelic football. It is a brilliant sport. It's got all the fundamental skills of ball sport while still being an absolute bitch to master and perfect. I've been playing at University and also for a club and it's just great.

If you're struggling to understand it, Wikipedia it for the basic rules cos it's a perfectly logical sport and challenging sport to take part in. Easy to learn, bitch-ass difficult to master (like any great sport). It's just a shame that it's restricted to the Irish and Irish diaspora tho. Any club makes new players feel welcome however.

As for the Championship, I've been told that I shouldn't be supporting Dublin as no-one outside Dublin likes them! Being from the Borders, a relatively diddy part in Scotland sports-wise - even at rugby - I have a soft spot for the efforts of Carlow but they'll never win ANYTHING. I think Meath beat them 1-25 0-08 a while back! Growing affections for Wexford (in the final of the Leinster I think) and Westmeath just now and Tipperary in the hurling but I'm willing to lean towards any county that I visit or meet a brilliant person from a particular place. I tend to support counties on who I meet from wherever they are. If an ar'hole comes from Clare, I'll want them to gat hammered unlike if I beat an awesome lad from Sligo sort of thing.

Look up your local GAA club if you're from the cities:

Glasgow - Tir Conail Harps; Glaschu Gaels; Sands McSwinneys
Edinburgh - Dunedin Connollys
Dundee - Dundee Dalriada (my team)

Great way to keep fit and an awesome social scene!

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
Famous win by Tyrone today to clinch their 3rd All-Ireland title :thumsup2 . After all the injury problems they have suffered over the last 3 years then going out to Down in Ulster back in June I would never have predicted they would come back and win Sam this year, a great achievement by a great team.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_i. ..mes/7628281.stm

User is offline   caoimhin 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Other

View PostWaspie, on Jun 29 2008, 15:32, said:

Ive been following GAA for years and used to play a bit as well. The football championship in the summer is superb and there are always some fantastic matches, the Down v. Tyrone replay a couple of weeks ago was a great game. Hopefully Down stick it on Armagh this afternoon as well.

With players representing the county of their birth there is great local pride you dont really get in many other other sports.

Hurling is good too but spoiled a bit of late by the same teams dominating year in year out.

hurling is good too?buddy ,hurlings exceptional,football can't hold a candle to it!i take your point that ,with kilkenny being so far in front of the rest,the outcome of the championship is hardly in doubt over the next few years but it doesn't detract from the overall state of the game.

User is offline   caoimhin 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Other

View PostWaspie, on Sep 21 2008, 19:49, said:

Famous win by Tyrone today to clinch their 3rd All-Ireland title :thumsup2 . After all the injury problems they have suffered over the last 3 years then going out to Down in Ulster back in June I would never have predicted they would come back and win Sam this year, a great achievement by a great team.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_i. ..mes/7628281.stm

while fancied slightly beforehand,after their performances in the ulster championship i don't think anyone would have predicted that they could recover and go on to win sam.and to think ,tyrone fans were calling for mickey hartes head after the defeat to down.fair play to them

• (6 Pages) +
  • Last »