Hello Gretna ?

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
That auld goat Ron McGregor was havering as he does in the paper today and one particular quote caught my eye. In looking to the future he mentioned that he has friends in the South of Scotland FA. The implication is that once they've officially kicked the bucket a new team ie AFC Gretna would be formed and join the SSL.

Must say it would be a hell of a comedown for Gretna to be competing against Annan Reserves but in reality it's probably where they belong. Would they be welcomed with open arms ?

User is offline   The Phoenix 

• Vote for Cold Showers
  • Gamertag:XBL World Champion

View PostRedWeb, on Jun 2 2008, 22:44, said:

That auld goat Ron McGregor was havering as he does in the paper today and one particular quote caught my eye. In looking to the future he mentioned that he has friends in the South of Scotland FA. The implication is that once they've officially kicked the bucket a new team ie AFC Gretna would be formed and join the SSL.

Must say it would be a hell of a comedown for Gretna to be competing against Annan Reserves but in reality it's probably where they belong. Would they be welcomed with open arms ?

Careful RedWeb, we might be only a short step away from seeking a slot in the Forth Valley & District Sunday Welfare League. :(

The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.

User is offline   smithybby 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South
gretna is dead! the south of scotland league is miles too far above them!
Qos Goal counter 2009-2010(all competitions)Holmes 12Weatherston 10Kean 8Burns 7McLaren 6Harris 5Quinn 5Wilson 4Tosh 2Wyness 2Lilley 1McKenna 1Total 63last Season's Total 69

User is offline   Jimmy MCcabe 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Stranraer
It would be great for the few loyal fans who have followed them for years if they had at least a team in any league to support I for one hope they can achieve this in any shape or form, very few of us bought in to the living the dream crap but a Gretna team in the Sooth, why not ? It's not like it would cost that much to comply, just because they were top heavy with %&8Ks does not mean everyone with feelings for THEIR club is one, give them a break.

User is offline   The Fonze 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostJimmy MCcabe, on Jun 2 2008, 23:47, said:

It would be great for the few loyal fans who have followed them for years if they had at least a team in any league to support I for one hope they can achieve this in any shape or form, very few of us bought in to the living the dream crap but a Gretna team in the Sooth, why not ? It's not like it would cost that much to comply, just because they were top heavy with %&8Ks does not mean everyone with feelings for THEIR club is one, give them a break.

I agree totally.i have a friend who has supported GretnaFC since they were in the 3rd.he cant suddenly turn round and say ok then I'll become a queens fan.so a team to support and follow in whatever league is still better than none at all. also think that if Mr Alexander had still been at the realm things might have been different.no disrespect to Davie irons.but for whatever happened(few good stories going about) it was all done behind closed doors and would not really have done the players nor the fans any good whatsoever! So every luck to GrentaFC

User is offline   vale legend 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostThe Fonze, on Jun 3 2008, 10:40, said:

I agree totally.i have a friend who has supported GretnaFC since they were in the 3rd.he cant suddenly turn round and say ok then I'll become a queens fan.so a team to support and follow in whatever league is still better than none at all. also think that if Mr Alexander had still been at the realm things might have been different.no disrespect to Davie irons.but for whatever happened(few good stories going about) it was all done behind closed doors and would not really have done the players nor the fans any good whatsoever! So every luck to GrentaFC

if i remember correctly it was mr alexander who started the trouble at raydale, and he didnt make things any better for them after his stunt on there spl debut. davie irons done what any1 would have done and left them for a better job after all he must have known what was goin to happen to them. cant see them gettin in the south which is a pity for there true fans not the glory hunters. :blink: :blink: :blink:

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
The SOSFL AGM is past, and it would take astonishingly co-ordinated activity to found a new AFC Gretna, get ground, players, management, funds etc. in couple of weeks to try and get late entry.

Then again, waiting until season 2009-10 might see interest wane, and no new club might emerge.

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up

View PostHibeeJibee, on Jun 3 2008, 15:31, said:

The SOSFL AGM is past, and it would take astonishingly co-ordinated activity to found a new AFC Gretna, get ground, players, management, funds etc. in couple of weeks to try and get late entry.

What are the ground criteria for the South ? Looking at pictures it would appear that the current champions play in what looks like a public park. Other than changing rooms, what else would a club need ? Perhaps any new Gretna could groundshare with Annan until some basic facilities emerge in the Wedding city :huh:

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostRedWeb, on Jun 3 2008, 16:34, said:

What are the ground criteria for the South ? Looking at pictures it would appear that the current champions play in what looks like a public park. Other than changing rooms, what else would a club need ? Perhaps any new Gretna could groundshare with Annan until some basic facilities emerge in the Wedding city :huh:

I think the criteria may be slightly stricter - a barrier round the pitch, fence around the ground?

Annan's pitch is used every weekend by their First XI or Reserve XI, so that rules them out IMO.

User is offline   Hugo Biano 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostHibeeJibee, on Jun 3 2008, 16:44, said:

I think the criteria may be slightly stricter - a barrier round the pitch, fence around the ground?

Annan's pitch is used every weekend by their First XI or Reserve XI, so that rules them out IMO.

We want Gretnas place in the league, so any ill conceived thoughts that Annan could ground share are well off the mark.

As for Gretna, they've shit on everyone thats came in contact with them for the past 5 years. Ask anyone from Gretna and they'll tell you exacly the same as they've done it to them pre SFL.

The only thing that i want to see rising from the flames is the Ashes of the clubhouse.
www.annanathletic-mad.co.uk
He shoots he scores, Harty's coming to get ya.

User is offline   ziggs ball 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
the last time gretna were in the league wae their reserve side, all they did was moan about how bad the standard was,but the problem for them was they expected to win every game and for all us boys to stand back and admire their talented players and let them win,no chance,you had to get fired in about them and they didn't like it!! bring them back and the same will happen again,am sure they'll get loads o sympathy fae sos teams,not!!!!! in fact no let them rot seem to remember their coach at the time mr frye referring to the sos as pub league,so seeing as they couldn't win the sos pub league they'd be better trying carlisle sunday league where they belong!! good luck annan wae sfl app,should have got it last time anyway!!!

User is offline   southman08 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostThe Fonze, on Jun 3 2008, 10:40, said:

If a Gretna team could find a good pitch and facilities then they would be a benefit to the South League. And would be good for all the true fans who have been with them right from the beginning and havent just jumped on the bandwagon ! I wonder where all the gloryhunters will go now ?

Guest_marf-1870_*

• Group: Surfer

View Postsouthman08, on Jun 3 2008, 21:56, said:

If a Gretna team could find a good pitch and facilities then they would be a benefit to the South League. And would be good for all the true fans who have been with them right from the beginning and havent just jumped on the bandwagon ! I wonder where all the gloryhunters will go now ?

Is there anywhere in Gretna that can be used?

Or ground sharing Mid Annandale for a season utill something happens or the pitch just down from Galabank were they used to train?

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postsouthman08, on Jun 3 2008, 21:56, said:

Could someone just buy the ground and apply to play in the South?it was a good pitch(lots better than some of the shit grounds other south league have when first sign of rain game called off!!)has facilties for players and fans.And yes, where are the Gretna gloryhunters,Queens have a few of them now too, probably Gretna cast :rolleyes: offs.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostThe Fonze, on Jun 4 2008, 09:18, said:

Could someone just buy the ground and apply to play in the South?it was a good pitch(lots better than some of the shit grounds other south league have when first sign of rain game called off!!)has facilties for players and fans.And yes, where are the Gretna gloryhunters,Queens have a few of them now too, probably Gretna cast :rolleyes: offs.

Raydale is valued at £850,000 - who in their right mind would pay even 10% of that to join SOS?

As regards sharing with a current SOS club - surely that risks even more pitch postponements?

User is offline   boyfaethetoon 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

View Postmarf-1870, on Jun 3 2008, 23:03, said:

Is there anywhere in Gretna that can be used?

Or ground sharing Mid Annandale for a season utill something happens or the pitch just down from Galabank were they used to train?

Mids pitch must be one of if not the worst in the south imagine 2 teams on it no thanks :huh:

User is offline   Ultra Sud 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
As said before the AGM for the SoSL was last week and there was no contact from any representative of any sort of a new gretna. They are though in the Southern Counties Cup 1st round draw and are due to host Stranraer - cant see them fullfilling that fixture though.

Re venues if Raydale isnt in use - what about the dog track that would do would it not?

Re what a few have said given the high and mighty attitude many at gretna have had i dont see many going out of their way to help them out round here - what goes around has definitely come around. I wonder how many of the loyal fans would be at a SoSL game at Fleet Star as well?
Tell PC McGarry to get himself a mate and arm themselves with CS gas!

They're gonna be out late cause there's gonna be a riot down in Trumpton tonight.

Guest_This is the one_*

• Group: Surfer
I`d be amased if anything happened not only do they not have a ground but remember they have no players, no sponsor and I`d be surprised if they even have any equipment left.

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok
Regards the AGM, Nithsdale joined the SOSFL after the season started in 2001-02 so late entry has a precedent.

This post has been edited by cmontheloknow: 05 June 2008 - 05:37

User is offline   Hoss 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Other

View Postcmontheloknow, on Jun 5 2008, 06:35, said:

Regards the AGM, Nithsdale joined the SOSFL after the season started in 2001-02 so late entry has a precedent.

Lok you are right,heard today Gretna are going to be applying ASAP to join the South league under AFC Gretna or some such title and playing games at the dog track.....the precedence was set and they plan to exploit that! Take it they didnt get into the East league as they were meant to be applying there first as the AGM was after the South league one

User is offline   KingfaetheSooth 

http://www.newsandst...k/news/1. 122721

GRETNA SUPPORTERS PICK UP THE PIECES
By Linzi Watson

Last updated 11:40, Thursday, 12 June 2008

SUPPORTERS of stricken Gretna Football Club have arranged a pre-season friendly in a few weeks – despite not having a team, ground, name, strip or sponsors.

View more pictures...

Anton Hodge: ’Have to do something now, we have weeks not months’
At a public meeting last night they revealed ambitious plans to resurrect the club in the town and revealed that they had already begun the application process to join the South of Scotland League.

The Gretna Supporters Society has arranged a pre-season friendly with Whitby Town and say the outstanding arrangements – such as not having a team – could be sorted within a week.

More than 100 fans packed into the town’s Richard Greenhow Hall to show their support.

Secretary of the 400-strong society Anton Hodge said that it had already begun the application process for the South of Scotland senior league, and was “hopeful” that the team could be accepted by the board, adding: “We are confident we can succeed.”

If accepted, the society say the annual running costs would be £15,000.

Mr Hodge, said that the supporters had been “in mourning” following the downfall of the club, which resigned from the Scottish Premier League after being taken over by administrators.

He said: “We want to ensure it is a club for fans to be run by fans.

“We have to do something now, we have weeks not months, otherwise the people and the community will forget about us.”

“We want a new football club but there are a lot of the traditions of Gretna FC that we want to carry on – and some we would rather leave behind.”

Mr Hodge added that the long-term aim is to see the new club play at Raydale Park, which is under the control of the administrators and up for sale to clear £4m debts.

In the short term the supporters trust say they have been in talks to secure an alternative ground and said news on this was expected “within days”.

Local councillor Archie Dryburgh told fans that he is meeting with the chief executive of Dumfries and Galloway Council next week in a bid to encourage the council to buy the ground.

One supporter urged the supporters society to approach former manager, Rowan Alexander, adding: “If you want to get bums on seats then Rowan is the way to do it. He was well liked in the town and we feel he was treated badly.”

Another campaign group, Fighting 46, is trying to prove that Gretna FC belongs to the community and that its transfer to Gretna FC Ltd was not legally valid.

The group, spearheaded by retired teacher Grace Hind, says it has historic documents to prove that the administrators, who now own the club, do not have the right to sell off the park.

Good luck to "AFC Gretna" in the South of scotland league. For the fans, by the fans. They'll have my full support whether they end op playing in Lockerbie, the dog track or back at Raydale. :)
Franchise Football...NEVER forget...NEVER forgive... © Grimbsy Town fans.

AFC Wimbledon - NEXT STOP THE FOOTBALL LEAGUE - THE RISE CONTINUES!

Glesga Rangers - Simply Depressed!

User is offline   Jimmy MCcabe 

• My Team:Stranraer
Aye fair play to the true Gretna fans for giving it a go, best of luck to them.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostJimmy MCcabe, on Jun 12 2008, 22:59, said:

Aye fair play to the true Gretna fans for giving it a go, best of luck to them.

Good luck to all who are trying to get "Gretna" football back! And two fingers to all those who said Gretna Supporters were just glory hunters.... need I say more. B)

User is offline   KingfaetheSooth 

View PostThe Fonze, on Jun 13 2008, 09:21, said:

Good luck to all who are trying to get "Gretna" football back! And two fingers to all those who said Gretna Supporters were just glory hunters.... need I say more. B)

Not all of them. Just a fair proportion of them. The reality is that some of those who jumped aboard the Gretna express can now be involved in "running" a football club. They are living another dream. ;)

This post has been edited by KingfaetheSooth: 13 June 2008 - 09:10

Franchise Football...NEVER forget...NEVER forgive... © Grimbsy Town fans.

AFC Wimbledon - NEXT STOP THE FOOTBALL LEAGUE - THE RISE CONTINUES!

Glesga Rangers - Simply Depressed!

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up
Aye, good luck to the new Gretna....unless they start getting stupid ideas again ;)

• (3 Pages) +