Memories Of City Park

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Edinburgh City
Was it possibly the last game at El Stadio del Ferry Road last night?

My first trip to City Park was about 20 years ago to see a charity match between Dean Hibs Supporters and a Hibs Legends team. Hibs Chairman David Duff squeezed into a shirt and disgraced the pitch for about ten minutes- he made John Clark look like Omar Kader! (not sure if Mr Rodier played- it did say Hibs LEGENDS :P )

There were various trips to City Park after that for EOSL matches later on. You got 2 trips a season as Craigie also played there but City tended to draw 0-0 with Craigie in dull games and the Spartans encounters were better affairs. I remember Chris Seeley popping in a delightful free kick at the Ferry Road end one season to give City a rare win at City Park and I always enjoyed Brian's (or were they made by Mrs Burns?!) sandwiches in the tea room in the old stand at half time!

I also saw Steve Archibald get booked playing for East Fife there in a Cup game and I was also at the Livvy game, which attracted a good crowd (rare for Livvy, I know!).

Anybody got any special memories of the old place?
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

Guest_WJR_*

• Group: Surfer

View Posttamthebam, on May 29 2008, 17:20, said:

Was it possibly the last game at El Stadio del Ferry Road last night?

My first trip to City Park was about 20 years ago to see a charity match between Dean Hibs Supporters and a Hibs Legends team. Hibs Chairman David Duff squeezed into a shirt and disgraced the pitch for about ten minutes- he made John Clark look like Omar Kader! (not sure if Mr Rodier played- it did say Hibs LEGENDS :P )

There were various trips to City Park after that for EOSL matches later on. You got 2 trips a season as Craigie also played there but City tended to draw 0-0 with Craigie in dull games and the Spartans encounters were better affairs. I remember Chris Seeley popping in a delightful free kick at the Ferry Road end one season to give City a rare win at City Park and I always enjoyed Brian's (or were they made by Mrs Burns?!) sandwiches in the tea room in the old stand at half time!

I also saw Steve Archibald get booked playing for East Fife there in a Cup game and I was also at the Livvy game, which attracted a good crowd (rare for Livvy, I know!).

Anybody got any special memories of the old place?

Manny Dorado going face down in the dubs and coming up blacker than Marvin Andrews - "There's only two Marvin Andrews"

Stewart Gilmour being caught rehanded climbing over the fence to try and find some excuse to get the St. Mirren game moved.

The ball falling to Jonny Seeley 5 yds out in the dying seconds when the game did go ahead at CP.

and

THAT soft foul outside the box that was never a penalty against the Uni this season and Sammy continually moaning that the wee teams never get any decisions against Spartans at CP

and not fogetting the Mickey moments, in particular, "F*ck going to Paisley on a wet Tuesday night" minutes before the ball fell to Jonnny!

User is offline   caledoniaman 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Spartans

View PostWJR, on May 29 2008, 17:50, said:

Manny Dorado going face down in the dubs and coming up blacker than Marvin Andrews - "There's only two Marvin Andrews"

Stewart Gilmour being caught rehanded climbing over the fence to try and find some excuse to get the St. Mirren game moved.

The ball falling to Jonny Seeley 5 yds out in the dying seconds when the game did go ahead at CP.

and

THAT soft foul outside the box that was never a penalty against the Uni this season and Sammy continually moaning that the wee teams never get any decisions against Spartans at CP

and not fogetting the Mickey moments, in particular, "F*ck going to Paisley on a wet Tuesday night" minutes before the ball fell to Jonnny!

I've only been following Spartans since 2006 but I'd say "all of it". Even the pishing rain and sleet. The lot. Whilst the new academy will be brilliant, I daresay in a few years we'll all be nostalgic for old flawed grounds like City Park. I fondly remember some of the old junior grounds from when I was a teenager. Particularly Forresters Park in Tranent. Get a few hundred in that ground and the place was buzzing.
Follow The Spartans on Twitter:- http://twitter.com/spartansfc

User is offline   Milevskiy 

• Please don't leave me
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine
Aye, Clyde played Spartans in the Scottish Cup, late 90's and it was a 1-1 draw IIRC. We won the replay 5-0.

Can remember it being a tidy wee ground.

View PostPaul Cicero, on 16 April 2012 - 21:26, said:

Caldwell is actually a great centre half however consistency can be an issue for him, technically his distribution of the ball for a defender is as good as Pique or Puyol.
Feel free to bookmark

User is online   chico 

• Dry.
  • Euro 2012:Germany
shite hole. thank f**k the ground wasn't wetter on the banking the day of that cup tie.
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postchico, on May 29 2008, 21:11, said:

shite hole. thank f**k the ground wasn't wetter on the banking the day of that cup tie.

Aye. Wouldnae have wanted you slipping once you'd jumped over the fence, would we.....

User is online   chico 

• Dry.
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postcaledoniaman, on May 29 2008, 21:15, said:

Aye. Wouldnae have wanted you slipping once you'd jumped over the fence, would we.....

aye very good. <_< myself and many other St Mirren fans were fleeced for the ticket price for that god forsaken pit that wasn't remotely suitable for a scottish cup tie.
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

User is offline   Simplistic 

• Third Division Sub
well I never saw Spartans lose at CP so ill be holding onto that!!

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Edinburgh City
Talking of holes...My memories of Love Street aren't exactly fond... getting stones and coins thrown at us by wee neds with a polis watching it all and doing hee-haw.
Meadowbank won though................................... ...................
......................................... ..

......................................... ...................
......................................... ....................

............................and I got a comp so didn't give St Mirren any money :P
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
A great old ground with a proud history. Hosted league football with Edinburgh City circa 1935-47 then the link with Ferranti before they got into the SFL. Plenty of big Scottish Cup occasions there with Spartans in more recent times and a few generations of Edinburgh amateur footballers will miss it having played cup finals there. It even made it into an Irvine Welsh novel for that :lol: . It was a shame the old stand was condemned for so long then knocked down, that was a real piece of history as well.
My only bad memory of the place was Alloa's shambolic defeat there in the cup a few years ago, a disaster. Outweighed by the good memories though. RIP City Park.

Guest_WJR_*

• Group: Surfer
A few I "forgot"

Playing the Uni last year - Bunnett and Zorro (combined age c.240) squaring up to and snarling at each each other in midfield while the "young team" shook their heads at the fine example and tried to squeeze the old boys back into their zimmers. (Bunnett's in Canada but I wonder if I can wheel faster than Zorro can run?)

Too many good goals to mention but special mention for Dan's 40 yd "cultured chip" tipped over the bar against WW the other week and Rossi's lob last night to show Dan how it is done!

Too many good stops from Kevin to pick out any one. If we really are saying au revoir to two old relics this year, don't be a stranger Kevin.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
I posted a thread about the end of CP yesterday on Hearts Kickback.

Some great nostalgic posts about the old ground.
http://www.hmfckickb...ead.php?t=16375

Page 1 of 1