Just In Thoughts Spartans Vs Edin City

User is offline   Simplistic 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Spartans
You know I sat down to write this and rubbed my hands together with anticipation....however ive decided not to rise to the bait so here are my thoughts

Very much a game of two halves however it seemed playing up the hill was easier than heading down. I think with a lot of rain today the park was very slippy - demonstrated perfectly by the players slipping about all over.

City took the lead early on - a fantastic move that started with some very composed play at the back - it really was a superb goal and in my opinion the best goal of the night.

The games 2nd best goal followed right after - I think it was Noon? chipping the keeper from the edge of the box to get back in the game. This was only about 15 mins in.

City then took the lead again and to be fair they deserved it. They were the better team in the first half - looked strong in defence and the midfield seemed to be running well at Spartans.

Young King looked like he was having a bit of a mare and on another day he could have seen a red, personally it would have been harsh. A couple of times he just went in committed, got the ball but the ref game a free kick. Either way he didn't appear for the second half, neither did Motion who was clearly effected with all the speculation surrounding his future!!!

In the second half Spartans really took control of the game - Kenny Young parhaps had a point to prove and set about it. 2nd goal came from nice work on the wing, a whipped cross and a nice strong header to tie the game at 2-2

Then a bit of madness from the City number 2. Ball again swung into the box and he decided to try and stop it going in with his hands - red card and a penalty. You could see the boy knew he had made a mistake when he came off. He looked a little sheepish.

Spartans put the penalty away and made it 3-2. After that City never threatened really. A couple of nice bits of play on the edge of the box but the Spartans defence stood strong. I've seen Gerrard play a few times now and I have to say I think he is a real class act.

Kadar tapped in a 4th late in the game, during a goalmouth scramble to end the game 4-2 Spartans.

A very good game, I enjoyed this more than most ive been to.

A really nice way to finish of a history at city park - a 4-2 over a very good Edin City team and a place in the final....last I heard Vale were winning 2-1 so I think we will be meeting them

Couple of humour points for me. I think the Edin City manager's dad was standing behind him. At one stage told the linesman not to get involved as it had nothing to do with him, which I thought was a classic. Also shouting at the Spartans bench that one of Kings tackles was worse than GBH...........how ironic!! :huh:

This post has been edited by Simplistic: 28 May 2008 - 20:41

User is offline   the midfield general 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Coldstream
only caught the last 10 mins of the first half, so missed the first 3 goals. spartans were much the better side in the 2nd half IMHO, they carried a much bigger threat going forward. don't think city can really complain about the result.

for the red card/penalty incident, although the city player tried to stop the ball, he actually failed. it ended up in the back of the net anyway. so he got sent off for nothing, really. would have been interesting to see what would have happened if the penalty had been missed...

as an aside, i saw dick campbell in the crowd. or was it his twin brother...? :huh: :unsure:

This post has been edited by the midfield general: 28 May 2008 - 21:49

if spilt, this product may stain

User is offline   scrooge1928 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Edinburgh City
Fair do's. City shooting uphill were superb, and Karim Ksia (#10) had one of his best games for the club. I was surprised how permeable the Spartans' defence was, and how little impact they were having in midfield.

If King was the wee #7 he might have been considered lucky to stay on the park; he got booked for his 2nd or 3rd foul on Jamie Speed, and then went on to commit two more on the same player. On the other hand, it might have been the slippy pitch. In any case, it was probably a good decision by Sam to replace him at half-time. Any Spartans' fan could also point out that Jordan Hall was lucky to avoid a yellow card when he booted the ball away in the second half.

Jordan's brother John was not so lucky when he got a straight red for handball on the line when the ball went into the net anyway. It would have been nice if the ref had waited a couple of seconds and given us the benefit of the doubt, but what the hell. Andrew Waddell was behind us, and he told us that legally speaking the ref was perfectly correct. Over the piece, the match officials were very good, and let the game flow.

City could have got back into it when Jordan Caddow's brilliant turn and volley left Kevin B standing but bounced off the bar; but to be honest Spartans came out for the second half a new team, and deserved to win the way they did.

I'd wish you well in the final, but I'd be lying. :P

This post has been edited by scrooge1928: 28 May 2008 - 22:35

User is offline   Sir Alan 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Ah well, season done. Cheerio everyone.

User is offline   spartans regular 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Other

View PostSimplistic, on May 28 2008, 21:37, said:

You know I sat down to write this and rubbed my hands together with anticipation....however ive decided not to rise to the bait so here are my thoughts

Very much a game of two halves however it seemed playing up the hill was easier than heading down. I think with a lot of rain today the park was very slippy - demonstrated perfectly by the players slipping about all over.

City took the lead early on - a fantastic move that started with some very composed play at the back - it really was a superb goal and in my opinion the best goal of the night.

The games 2nd best goal followed right after - I think it was Noon? chipping the keeper from the edge of the box to get back in the game. This was only about 15 mins in.

City then took the lead again and to be fair they deserved it. They were the better team in the first half - looked strong in defence and the midfield seemed to be running well at Spartans.

Young King looked like he was having a bit of a mare and on another day he could have seen a red, personally it would have been harsh. A couple of times he just went in committed, got the ball but the ref game a free kick. Either way he didn't appear for the second half, neither did Motion who was clearly effected with all the speculation surrounding his future!!!

In the second half Spartans really took control of the game - Kenny Young parhaps had a point to prove and set about it. 2nd goal came from nice work on the wing, a whipped cross and a nice strong header to tie the game at 2-2

Then a bit of madness from the City number 2. Ball again swung into the box and he decided to try and stop it going in with his hands - red card and a penalty. You could see the boy knew he had made a mistake when he came off. He looked a little sheepish.

Spartans put the penalty away and made it 3-2. After that City never threatened really. A couple of nice bits of play on the edge of the box but the Spartans defence stood strong. I've seen Gerrard play a few times now and I have to say I think he is a real class act.

Kadar tapped in a 4th late in the game, during a goalmouth scramble to end the game 4-2 Spartans.

A very good game, I enjoyed this more than most ive been to.

A really nice way to finish of a history at city park - a 4-2 over a very good Edin City team and a place in the final....last I heard Vale were winning 2-1 so I think we will be meeting them

Couple of humour points for me. I think the Edin City manager's dad was standing behind him. At one stage told the linesman not to get involved as it had nothing to do with him, which I thought was a classic. Also shouting at the Spartans bench that one of Kings tackles was worse than GBH...........how ironic!! :huh:

User is offline   spartans regular 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Other
I thought the game was an excellent advert for EOS.City were well on top in the 1st half & the Spartans defence were given a torrid time by the City attack.Ak was very fortunate to stay on the park as he had 3 dodgy tackles after being booked & it was a good decision to sub him at H.T.Kevin M was injured & did not appear in the 2nd half but Spartans definitely stepped up a gear & ran out convincing winners.I felt the Ref was a bit harsh in sending off the City full back, given that ross Archibalds shot ended up in the net.A little common sense would have seen the goal given & city playing on with 10 men.I look forward to the final v vale & hope its as good as the semi.

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
Aye, not a bad game and I dare say Spartans deserved the win, although I didn't think there was 4 goals in it. I actually applauded the cross from Kenny Young and Kader's diving header as I thought that was a very good goal. Some of our young lads acquitted themselves well... I'm not too downhearted as we would have lost to VOL/LT in the Final anyway!
Incidentally if some of the wee neds gathered in one corner are the sort of fans Spartans are going to be attracting at the new place then good luck to the nice, decent Spartans fans that watch the team- or equip Jimmy Murray with an electric cattle prod. I can't see them turning up to matches though seeing as they disappeared in the 2nd half.
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

• Third Division Sub

View Posttamthebam, on May 29 2008, 13:15, said:

Incidentally if some of the wee neds gathered in one corner are the sort of fans Spartans are going to be attracting at the new place then good luck to the nice, decent Spartans fans that watch the team- or equip Jimmy Murray with an electric cattle prod. I can't see them turning up to matches though seeing as they disappeared in the 2nd half.

Are you meaning the young guys with the horns and a flag? I dont think they didn't anything wrong - they tried to sing a few songs and got involved - chances are they came through the fence which is a shame but I thought they were funny.

As a club you need to accept all fans - everyone is different - personally I like to stand near the managers and laugh at some of the goings on - but were all different

Each to their own!!

Guest_WJR_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostSimplistic, on May 29 2008, 14:28, said:

Are you meaning the young guys with the horns and a flag? I dont think they didn't anything wrong - they tried to sing a few songs and got involved - chances are they came through the fence which is a shame but I thought they were funny.

As a club you need to accept all fans - everyone is different - personally I like to stand near the managers and laugh at some of the goings on - but were all different

Each to their own!!

I think Tam was probably meaning the small group in the corner behind the goals but I understand the little cherubs moved on without a murmur when asked to do so by Jim.

PS Ross C not Danny lobbed the keeper. Think he has played every position bar keeper this year.

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
The guys with the flags and sombreros were fine by me, just to clear up any misunderstanding. We could do with more of that kind of spectacle at EOSL games!
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

Guest_WJR_*

View Posttamthebam, on May 29 2008, 17:11, said:

The guys with the flags and sombreros were fine by me, just to clear up any misunderstanding. We could do with more of that kind of spectacle at EOSL games!

We were trying to work out what the flag was all about, a Croatia one or a tablecloth nicked from Giulianos?

• Third Division Sub

View Posttamthebam, on May 29 2008, 17:11, said:

Then im due you a sorry mate. Didn't notice them to be honest :unsure:

As for getting the scorers wrong.......oops

when we going to get a tannoy announcer? :P

Guest_WJR_*

View PostSimplistic, on May 29 2008, 19:20, said:

when we going to get a tannoy announcer?

Sounds like a job for Red Dot Radio Man!

Guest_WJR_*

Guest_WJR_*

View PostWJR, on May 29 2008, 21:07, said:

Sorry - our "new" PA system won't have such an echo, echo, echo ...

User is offline   caledoniaman 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Presumably when we get a tannoy.... :P
Follow The Spartans on Twitter:- http://twitter.com/spartansfc

• Third Division Sub

View PostWJR, on May 29 2008, 21:07, said:

Ill do it!!.......as long as someone tells me who the scorers are!!

Page 1 of 1