Dumfries, a team which came up through the lower ranks and is now finding themselves in very difficult times. Does anyone know what the outcome is going to be!?!
Understand they won't be playing at Glencaple next year, Manager Colin Lennox has resigned and several committee members have retired. Not looking good.
Dumfries...the Final Curtain?!?!?! Will Dumfries be around next season!?!
Posted 21 May 2008 - 11:32
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Aberdeen
- Gamertag:tuckersloan
davie56, on May 21 2008, 00:53, said:
Understand they won't be playing at Glencaple next year
So where would they play? What would happen with the park at Glencaple? Must say I have been expecting Dumfries to turn the corner at some point. I mean they have a good ground down there (better than many) and a overall decent set up. Would have thought a place the size of Dumfries would have been able to provide enough decent players for them to get a half decent side together. Five years ago they were a strong outfit. Any thoughts on why it has went somewhat downhill?
The more years you struggle though the more your reputation takes a knock - bit of a vicious circle really. Know how hard it was to attract any decent players to Newton when we first took over. Players just looked at the fact the club had been rooted at the bottom for so long. Same could be said for the situation at Fleet Star (who also achieved their highest point total for a wee while this season) who even managed to go pointless for a whole season at one point. Hopefully Dumfries don't pack in and can reverse the recent trend at some point.
Guest_This is the one_*
Posted 21 May 2008 - 17:29
- Group: Surfer
The park at Glencaple just isn`t up to it, the slightest bit of rain and the game is off. Think the team might be looking into playing their home games at Max High as they did previously before the move to Glencaple. You may be right about Dumfries being able to supply enough players but you have to remember there is already an amateur league in place on both Saturday and Sunday both of which don`t allow you to sign for Southern Counties teams of which there are three. Plus more importantly none of the teams in Dumfries pay their players any money which results in the good players moving further afield to the likes of CD, Kirkudbright, Annan, Dalbeattie, Creetown and even Sanqhuar. All of which I feel makes the achievment of the Crichton even better.
Posted 21 May 2008 - 22:56
ok dumfries is a big place but you must realise dbt and annan have some 40-50 players each across their 2 teams with a good percentage coming dfs. threave,creetown,saints even nithsdale and mids have dfs boys in their teams.so all your left with is sat amateur n sun amateurs who are not interested in playin at decent level or testing themselves against better players so then you have to turn to kids straight from the under 17's who are just not ready for football at this level.also crichton had about 30 players signed so as you can see its really difficult for abbey vale n dfs to even try n compete now its only going to get worse wae all the money gettin panned about again n nobody nowadays is worth money thats the sad thing!!
Posted 21 May 2008 - 23:03
and for the record dumfries have never played at max high that was max high fps,dumfries used to be called dumfries high fps and played at dumfries high school before the move to glencaple!!
Posted 21 May 2008 - 23:13
- My Team:Queen of the South
It'd be a shame to see them go as they've always struck me as a friendly bunch at Dumfries. Crichton were in a similar mess before Jim Thomson arrived so hopefully Dumfries will be able to turn things round like Crichton have.
Norfolk Park - now that's a different matter. Yes it's an attractive ground, but when a game DOES go ahead there in the winter it's bloody baltic if the winds blowing off the river, and a park in Dumfries itself would be much more convenient in terms of getting people to go and watch. Only thing I'd miss about Norfolk Park is the pies, but I'm sure an oven can be plugged in somehwere else.
Fingers crossed that Stranraer Athletic overcome their problems too.
Norfolk Park - now that's a different matter. Yes it's an attractive ground, but when a game DOES go ahead there in the winter it's bloody baltic if the winds blowing off the river, and a park in Dumfries itself would be much more convenient in terms of getting people to go and watch. Only thing I'd miss about Norfolk Park is the pies, but I'm sure an oven can be plugged in somehwere else.
Fingers crossed that Stranraer Athletic overcome their problems too.
Posted 22 May 2008 - 07:15
- My Team:Aberdeen
- Gamertag:tuckersloan
Aye some fair points there - I guess there is a lot of competition for Dumfries based players. I probably didn't really take a few of they factors into consideration. Although am not sure whether the amateur league should have a great impact on teams like Abbey and Dumfries - I mean surely players shouldn't be playing there in preference to the South. Then again the sad fact is that some players would probably prefer to be at the top of that league than the bottom of the South. Down our way competition for players is exceptionally high too mind - especially now we have an extra team from recent years. You got the Reserves luring players with promises of possible first team chances, Creetown who tend to pay money and it sounds as if Wigtown might be spashing the cash around next season too. Athletic don't pay out money to players but they have a bit of a reputation on the back of a successful few seasons! Newton Stewart did receive the 10 grand from the SFA but it would be foolish to simply use that to hand out a few significant sums to mercenaries with no real desire to play for the club. IMO clubs ought to instead use the money to secure their future and improve the whole club. Folk are correct in saying all this highlights the considerable achievements of Crichton. To lift a team from the lower reaches to Champions without any financial clout is a real coup.
Posted 23 May 2008 - 20:21
Tuckersloan says that the crichton have no financial clout thats not what the grapevine is saying. If the word on the street is true for the season past and what is being offered for next season he might be surprised.
Posted 23 May 2008 - 22:37
aye tuckersloan the sad fact is boys in dumfries would rathar play sat amateur than south fitba,coz this allows them to play sunday swipers,i mean amateurs, as well,how they do it or how they can be bothered to do it i dont know!in fact there's one sunday team full of ex south players and an east player who would give most south teams tough game, so thats what your up against in the big city of dumfries.in my day i was always sore on the sun after the sat game let alone play a game on sun wae a hangover!!!
Posted 24 May 2008 - 07:34
- My Team:Other
oldboy, on May 23 2008, 21:21, said:
Tuckersloan says that the crichton have no financial clout thats not what the grapevine is saying. If the word on the street is true for the season past and what is being offered for next season he might be surprised.
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOhhhhhhhh do the Crichton have an Abramovich????????
Posted 26 May 2008 - 12:28
Hoss, on May 24 2008, 08:34, said:
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOhhhhhhhh do the Crichton have an Abramovich????????
i wouldn't say they have an abramovich as such, but there is a main sponsor at the crichton in AFL financial planning who supply them with plenty o strips,training gear and the likes.never heard of anybody being paid any money for playing wi the crichton, maybe just boys implying they get something,when they don't!
Posted 26 May 2008 - 12:54
- Gamertag:maldo123
HHH, on May 26 2008, 13:28, said:
i wouldn't say they have an abramovich as such, but there is a main sponsor at the crichton in AFL financial planning who supply them with plenty o strips,training gear and the likes.never heard of anybody being paid any money for playing wi the crichton, maybe just boys implying they get something,when they don't!
Correct.. AFL sponsor the club in terms of strips etc, thats all. If any money is paid to players, which im almost certain there isnt bar 1 or 2 maybe's its through other sources.
Guest_Twynholm_*
Posted 28 May 2008 - 20:47
Hearin Dumfries are going to be Heston Rovers next year but still in the Southern Counties
Posted 28 May 2008 - 21:47
Posted 29 May 2008 - 19:48
Posted 29 May 2008 - 19:52
Posted 29 May 2008 - 21:07
P.A.F.C, on May 29 2008, 20:48, said:
I DONT THINK ITS AS EASY AS CHANGING YOUR NAME AND WALKING STRAIGHT INTO THE LEAGUE.YOU HAVE TO BE VOTED IN SURELY.
Name changes aren't that difficult surely? It's of no business to other clubs if a member changes its name? Did Crichton need permission to ditch Blackwood Dynamos (a far better name imho)?
Posted 29 May 2008 - 21:13
cmontheloknow, on May 29 2008, 22:07, said:
Name changes aren't that difficult surely? It's of no business to other clubs if a member changes its name? Did Crichton need permission to ditch Blackwood Dynamos (a far better name imho)?
The guy at my work who is on the commitee says its a load of shit! There will be no name change!
Woooooooof
Posted 30 May 2008 - 10:33
Woooooooof
Posted 30 May 2008 - 21:28
who'll be the management team at heston rovers then,heard colin lennox and frank kirk aren't doing it any more?hope heston have someone who can deal with the pitch to reduce the games called off,although there were a few in the same boat [pardon the pun] if not worse!
Guest_Twynholm_*
Posted 31 May 2008 - 10:43
what i heard was it was a few under 17s and signing new players. take it young heston will be the feeder team for them. dunno about the name change nothing was said on that front!
Posted 31 May 2008 - 12:30
As far as am aware.... Dumfries will be amalgamating with and changing their name to Heston Rovers. They will continue to play their home games at Glencaple this year as its been too late to seal a deal to play their games at any other back due to the short period of time in which the amalgamation was proposed and when the AGM is.
As far as name changing goes... there isnt any problem with it as your name, strip colour and home ground have all to be forwarded at the AGM as far as am aware.
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 27 2012 09:22
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd