Rangers Riot In Manchester

User is offline   Coup 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Team:Rangers

View PostGaz, on May 15 2008, 20:14, said:

That's utter pish. It's easy to spot a Rangers top.

Fair enough, i worded it wrong then.

User is offline   jester 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Airdrie Utd
According to last nights news the second screen at the velodrome was a reserve in case one failed.
They didn't expect them to trash the place in the meantime.

I don't see why Manchester Council are getting the blame. They didn't have to put any screens on, it was done as a goodwill gesture and was repaid the only way that mob know how.

Next time, if there is a next time, stay at home and don't fu ck ing embarrass us.
The beautiful game, such a thin line between love and hate...
Posted Image

User is offline   Coup 

View Postjester, on May 15 2008, 20:35, said:

Next time, if there is a next time, stay at home and don't fu ck ing embarrass us.

Do you have a message for the 99.9% that went down and had a great time and a great party?

User is offline   BadgersNadgers 

• Team:Scotland

View Postjester, on May 15 2008, 20:35, said:

According to last nights news the second screen at the velodrome was a reserve in case one failed.
They didn't expect them to trash the place in the meantime.

I was there and I don't think there was more than 2000 at the velodrome. Piccadilly Gardens apparently had 11000. What happened to the other 9000 who were there is beyond me, given that free busses were laid on out to the velodrome.
"There’s an army around the country, we’re all stuck in our rooms"

User is offline   P45 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Team:Partick Thistle

View PostCoup, on May 15 2008, 20:39, said:

Do you have a message for the 99.9% that went down and had a great time and a great party?

I do.

McNamara GTF

User is offline   Casper Rose 

• Team:Scotland

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on May 15 2008, 20:17, said:

Were you there then?

Naw, so shut it and go think what The Sun tells you to think.

Mate, the sun the record and the daily mirror are all under the illusion that is was heavy handed police that caused it and not mindless fuckwits :lol:

User is offline   Coup 

View PostP45, on May 15 2008, 20:49, said:

I do.

:rolleyes:

User is offline   HOMBRE 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • Team:Forfar Athletic
It really is no suprise that they caused so much trouble, as they have perfected the art of hooliganism from following their national side! :)
MELT IN HELL JACKO!!

User is offline   jester 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Airdrie Utd

View PostCoup, on May 15 2008, 20:39, said:

Can't you read?
The beautiful game, such a thin line between love and hate...
Posted Image

User is offline   Monster 

• Live Forever
  • Team:Other

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on May 15 2008, 20:17, said:

Were you there then?

Naw, so shut it and go think what The Sun tells you to think.

The Sun is blaming everyone but Rangers fans.

Best stick with the 'Chelsea Hooligans' excuse you used earlier.
Gonna take that tiger outside for a ride

User is offline   LOL @ Celtic 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMonster, on May 15 2008, 21:08, said:

The Sun is blaming everyone but Rangers fans.

Best stick with the 'Chelsea Hooligans' excuse you used earlier.

You will find the Sun is reporting what the fans are saying.

There were plenty of Chelsea fans there too, not that you would know as you weren't there.

And read the column by Gerry Duffy where he blames boozed up fans and the heavy handed police attacking unarmed people, so you are talking pish.

This post has been edited by IXI THE ONE IXI: 15 May 2008 - 20:13

User is online   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:St.Mirren
  • Gamertag:Metalface Mark

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on May 15 2008, 21:11, said:

There were plenty of Chelsea fans there too, not that you would know as you weren't there.

And read the column by Gerry Duffy where he blames boozed up fans and the heavy handed police attacking unarmed people, so you are talking pish.

Whataboutery and deflection.
"ST MIRREN have adopted a new image. The Paisley side resemble the kid at school who returned from the summer holidays with a new school bag and a sun tan that refused to subside."

• Live Forever
The Scottish Disease in all it's glory.

• Golden Shoe Winner
Yeah it was only Rangers fans doing it :rolleyes:

Look about you can find hooligans attached to Blackpool and other Northern clubs as well a Millwall and Chelsea etc bragging about being involved.

It's not as if they are going to get a chance to cause a ruck this summer in Austria/Switzerland is it?

You lot were 300 miles away typing on here about something you know nothing about.

User is offline   Supras 

• Talentless journeyman
  • Team:St.Mirren
They are reports of rate on an english forum.

And they're tarring them with the 'scots' brush.

View PostNightmare, on 04 September 2011 - 18:09, said:

Population has f**k all to do with it. If San Marino got their house in order they could be the best footballing nation in the world. Easy.

H_B said:

Ibrahimovic is a real talent, albeit moody. Much like Berbatov in fact. He has far far more talent that Wayne Rooney.

• Live Forever

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on May 15 2008, 21:26, said:

Yeah it was only Rangers fans doing it :rolleyes:

No, it was all Chelsea fans, in conjunction with other hooligans/the Police/the council/the screen manufacturers/the Vatican etc etc etc.

As I said, the Scottish Disease. There is no cure.

User is offline   P45 

• Team:Partick Thistle

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on May 15 2008, 21:11, said:

Yeah The Sun always tells the truth :lol:

I do agree with him though that it was fault of the the boozed up Rangers fans looking to start a fight.
The police had to show some authority. If they had to hit some people that weren't causing the direct trouble at that time so be it. I would support them.
Any resonable person that was there and saw a riot was going on would've leave the scene immediately so you can't say they were all The Huns were innocent.
McNamara GTF

User is offline   Musketeer Gripweed 

• We're Safe Tonight
  • Team:Falkirk
To be honest, we all should have seen it coming and to a certain extent some of us on here who go on about the Seville millions are partly to blame.

Rangers fans were always going to try and outdo that, unfortunately all sorts of scum and layabouts who wouldn't have been able to get the game had it been on the continent made their way down south. No-one had any control of the numbers travelling, or if they had any previous.

All of a sudden, the idea of having every European Final in Moscow seems like a good idea.
I wish I was a messenger and all the news was good

Guest_Boydie_*

• Group: Surfer
sky sports just said 11 people arrested still 11 too many but about 20 short of what beyemistic and his fellow morons were had taking it upon themselves to report as "facts"

User is offline   Fife Saint 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:St.Johnstone

View PostBoydie, on May 15 2008, 21:35, said:

sky sports just said 11 people arrested still 11 too many but about 20 short of what beyemistic and his fellow morons were had taking it upon themselves to report as "facts"

Ok so "11" people have been arrested. So who fabricated these fake CCTV images and all the youtube amateur Spielberg efforts if only 11 people misbehaved?
Tell me who's that writin', John the Revelator

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostP45, on May 15 2008, 21:31, said:

Yeah The Sun always tells the truth :lol:

I do agree with him though that it was fault of the the boozed up Rangers fans looking to start a fight.
The police had to show some authority. If they had to hit some people that weren't causing the direct trouble at that time so be it. I would support them.
Any resonable person that was there and saw a riot was going on would've leave the scene immediately so you can't say they were all The Huns were innocent.

So you think it is telling the truth when you agree with what it is saying :lol:

I applaud your logic there, it takes a long time to develop double standards that fucked up.

And hitting innocent folk standing about isn't 'showing authority' you muppet.

User is offline   craigy1977 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
I was in Manchester yesterday and had an absolutely blinding day. The banter was fantastic, I didn't feel the need to have an alcoholic drink and got to see the game in Albert Square, next to Manchester Victoria station.

My friends and I walked up to Piccadilly Gardens during the afternoon to pick up programmes and there seemed like an intimidating atmosphere where the main throng of Rangers congregated. It was a contrast to the more friendly and carnival atmosphere of Albert Square.

After getting our programmes, we headed back to the Albert Square area tp see the game. When Zenit scored their first, the mood seemed to change as the buoyant cheering and singing changed to a seething frustration.

We left just before the final whistle (I didn't realise it finished 2-0 until this morning) to try and return to our digs in Blackpool. The seething frustration had turned to anger. One moron kicked an empty bottle along the ground that hit my friend's leg and into some other rubbish.

Then there was a barney in trying to get on the train to Blackburn, which required a police presence in Victoria Station. We decided to try and get a taxi and as my friend was speaking to a taxi driver, we witnessed a fight between two Rangers "fans" outside the station then as we went to meet our taxi driver, who was taking us back to Blackpool, we saw four police fans flee by with cops in full riot gear.

On the road back we heard there was trouble, with my dad in particular worried about my whereabouts and I didn't see just how bad it was until I saw the footage when I got home.

I am truly ashamed to be a Rangers fan after seeing that and it has taken a massive shine from what was a fabulous experience. The result disappointed me naturally, but other than that it was a perfect day.

However these morons are not football fans, for me, and have ruined the club's reputation in Europe. From what I gather, I don't believe the police were heavy-handed in any way and I think, judging by what I've read and seen, they reacted in the only way possible.

I think had the final been played outwith the UK there wouldn't have been as many problems, but that's not to say there wouldn't have been any at all. There is clearly a hooligan element who masquerade themselves as Rangers fans and I won't be surprised if Rangers are banned from Europe as a result, especially when I heard a Zenit fan was stabbed within the City of Manchester Stadium.

I'm astounded and upset what should have been a massive party has turned into a riot and any decent Rangers fan will condemn this. I'm also disappointed the club themselves have not appeared to make any move to distance themselves from these thugs.

I saw many things that shocked me, such as a child, walking next to his father, swigging Blue WKD from his own bottle. But for the bampot who through his bottle through the big screen that didn't work at Piccadilly Gardens, that was a real mature way of dealing with the frustration in trying to get it fixed. I wonder if he does that if his own telly doesn't work at home, assuming he's heard of a TV licence.

I can understand the frustration of that situation and admit I wouldn't be happy myself, but for it to begin a full scale riot is ridiculous.

I hate to admit it, but we are Scotland's shame indeed!
"Drop your weapons! You're surrounded by armed b*****ds!!"

• Live Forever

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on May 15 2008, 21:51, said:

And hitting innocent folk standing about isn't 'showing authority' you muppet.

But since it was all English hooligans causing the trouble and not the cuddly bears, you'll be quite pleased about it?

Guest_Gallacticos_*

• Group: Surfer
I am still absolutely flabbergasted at the scale of this all. I've refrained from commenting, largely due to the Tommy Burns situation which has dominated my thoughts all day, but going onto the BBC website and watching the videos is like watching something out of a zombie movie, with trashed streets filled with charging skinheads screaming at the top of their voice.

The video with the car is astonishing, but not as astonishing as the CCTV footage which shows Rangers fans actually tripping a cop and piling into him on the floor.

I really don't know what to say. I can't even gloat about Seville. It's just shocking, stunning stuff.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMonster, on May 15 2008, 21:55, said:

But since it was all English hooligans causing the trouble and not the cuddly bears, you'll be quite pleased about it?

Where did I say it was all English hooligans?

And the only disease you should be worrying about is heart disease you silly fat fucker.

• (35 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »