Dublin In A Day What to do? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Günther 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Xbox's are for spotty teens and c***s who cannae get their hole!
Me and the misses are going to Dublin for the day tomorrow. Fly out early doors, back late at night. One of those Ryanair 1p each way, no tax things.

We went twice last year and saw good bits of the City Centre. But this time we've hired a car so we can do something a bit different rather than walk about looking for decent things to do.

Can anyone suggest where decent to go? Just so I'm not driving about tomorrow wondering what the fuck to do with the misses nipping my ear off :lol:
The Shagger is back and pumping for Scotland!!

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostIFK Yer Maw, on Apr 1 2008, 19:56, said:

Me and the misses are going to Dublin for the day tomorrow. Fly out early doors, back late at night. One of those Ryanair 1p each way, no tax things.

We went twice last year and saw good bits of the City Centre. But this time we've hired a car so we can do something a bit different rather than walk about looking for decent things to do.

Can anyone suggest where decent to go? Just so I'm not driving about tomorrow wondering what the f**k to do with the misses nipping my ear off :lol:

You can go putting.

Or you could weight yourself on one of those machines outside shop doorways.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   Günther 

• First Division Superstar
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Xbox's are for spotty teens and c***s who cannae get their hole!

View PostReynard, on Apr 1 2008, 19:59, said:

You can go putting.

Or you could weight yourself on one of those machines outside shop doorways.

Done the latter last time :lol:
The Shagger is back and pumping for Scotland!!

User is offline   MIFTHEBINO 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
Kilmanonon Jail (sp?) is pretty good and is located just 2 miles from the city centre.
Giving Alloa a 12 point lead and pipping them to the title on the last day of the season- PRICELESS!!

User is offline   doulikefish 

• this isnt real,its only the internet
  • My Team:Peterhead
  • Gamertag:whats an xbox
could always drive down the coast some lovely wee towns to stop in by
or drive to galway city about 2hrs thats a nice place to visit
yippeeee the season has nearly started

Guest_Ron Burgundy_*

• Group: Surfer
be careful of the boozer "Out on the Liffy"

Myself and another gent and Mrs B piopped in and it took a full ten minutes and Mrs B pointing out the muscle men photos that the out part was highly descriptive.

I just thought the Irish were very clean well turned out gents.

This post has been edited by Ron Burgundy: 01 April 2008 - 19:31

User is offline   The Phoenix 

• Vote for Cold Showers
  • Gamertag:XBL World Champion
I have a certain affinity with Phoenix Park.

This is reputed to be the largest urban enclosed park in Europe...unless, as they say, you know different ! It was originally an area known for its hunting and the park is currently home to a good number of deer that aren't likely to suffer the same fate as Bambi's mum ! The park houses the Dublin Zoo (one of the oldest in Europe) Its old victorian design can still be seen in the older buildings. The Azoo as Dubliners call it is being upgraded all the time and trying to create a better environment for its animals. It's well worth a visit and a high proportion of the entrance fee goes directly back to improvement of the Zoo. The Park houses Aras an Uachtarain - this is the President's residence, the police (Garda) headquarters, a military barracks, Victorian Tea rooms.

The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.

Guest_Raithsaltire_*

The Guinness brewery is a good day out, and you get to enjoy a pint of the black stuff at the top with views over the great city. There is also the Jameson distillery, and if you fancy a walk, you can go through the big Phoenix Park which has plenty to do. I really enjoyed my time in Dublin, and look forward to visiting again.

Guest_Ron Burgundy_*

sinn fein bookshop is always good for a laugh.

User is offline   Mushroom 

• FFS
Guinness Brewery is awesome, I even enjoyed it when I was 12!

Not particularly fond of guinness but that place is awesome.

User is offline   MIFTHEBINO 

• First Division Sub
I've done that as well and didn't think much of it, although the view at the top is cracking on a clear day
Giving Alloa a 12 point lead and pipping them to the title on the last day of the season- PRICELESS!!

• Vote for Cold Showers

View PostMIFTHEBINO, on Apr 1 2008, 20:41, said:

I've done that as well and didn't think much of it, although the view at the top is cracking on a clear day

I with you on that one MIF.

Boring as hell, expensive and the only redeeming feature is the view, especially if you don't like Guinness. :(

User is offline   Ned Nederlander 

• Golden Shower Winner
  • My Team:Falkirk
Anyone spending 24 hours in Dublin will probably spend around 20 of those hours stuck in traffic.
Scottish Football Fans - Sent to Coventry by Doncaster.

Guest_Rinky Sidebottom_*

View PostThe Phoenix, on Apr 1 2008, 20:46, said:

I with you on that one MIF.

Boring as hell, expensive and the only redeeming feature is the view, especially if you don't like Guinness. :(

Go and visit me auntie in Drumcondra. She'll give you a hearty meal with lots of fine Irish water to wash it all down with. Then you can take a 5 minute stroll and visit the former home of Paul Hewson (Bono), I think there is a sign on the house now and if your lucky the present owners allow you to take photo's of his bedroom.
Take a look at The Bram Stoker Museum, Clontarf Rd, Dublin, not sure what he has to do with Dublin, but it's a great museum.

This post has been edited by Rinky Sidebottom: 01 April 2008 - 20:21

• Vote for Cold Showers

View PostRinky Sidebottom, on Apr 1 2008, 21:20, said:

Go and visit me auntie in Drumcondra. She'll give you a hearty meal with lots of fine Irish water to wash it all down with. Then you can take a 5 minute stroll and visit the former home of Paul Hewson (Bono), I think there is a sign on the house now and if your lucky the present owners allow you to take photo's of his bedroom.
Take a look at The Bram Stoker Museum, Clontarf Rd, Dublin, not sure what he has to do with Dublin, but it's a great museum.

Bram Stoker was born in Clontarf. He got a degree at Trinity College Dublin and for a number of years worked as a civil servant at Dublin Castle.

Guest_Rinky Sidebottom_*

View PostThe Phoenix, on Apr 1 2008, 21:25, said:

Bram Stoker was born in Clontarf. He got a degree at Trinity College Dublin and for a number of years worked as a civil servant at Dublin Castle.

Never knew that, excellent research. I see wiki states he was born in Fairview.

This post has been edited by Rinky Sidebottom: 01 April 2008 - 20:42

User is offline   H_B 

• Vamos GB
I'm going to be there next Friday!

User is offline   skinny 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Elgin City
  • Gamertag:Wibble
Kilmainham Gaol, history at its finest. The atmosphere in the place is incredible. And they filmed a bit of 'The Italian Job' there. The bit set in the prison...

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain
I went there for a day trip last year, took in some of the shopping streets and went to the Guinness Brewery. I thought it was excellent. Wanted to go to the Gaol but we ran out of time.

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is offline   DAFC 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Dunfermline
Pay 10 Euros for a pint?

• Vote for Cold Showers

View PostDAFC, on Apr 1 2008, 22:27, said:

Pay 10 Euros for a pint?

I'm glad someone posted that.

I kept looking over my shoulder for Dick Turpin everytime I bought a drink in Temple Bar.

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
The answer is not to have a drink in the Temple Bar area. Go to one of the smaller pubs on the outskirts of the town - quieter, cheaper and more traditional than the ones in the centre geared towards the tourists.

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is offline   Mrs M 

• It's not Lupus

View PostNed Nederlander, on Apr 1 2008, 21:19, said:

Anyone spending 24 hours in Dublin will probably spend around 20 of those hours stuck in traffic.

And 0 hours talking to Irish people. My brother went there a couple of years back, he says all the Irish have left the centre of Dublin because of the tourists. :lol:

User is offline   Nkomo-A-Gogo 

• Third Division Reserve

View PostLyn-Marie, on Apr 1 2008, 23:16, said:

And 0 hours talking to Irish people. My brother went there a couple of years back, he says all the Irish have left the centre of Dublin because of the tourists. :lol:

More like left because of the price of a pint!
There are a few great pubs just outside temple bar.Not as packed and still great atmosphere.
Porterhouse.west side of temple bar.they do beers from all over the world and great food with live music every night.

the arlington/knightsbridge more music and normal priced pint.

The Foggy Dew. central bank square.

youll pay loads of money in oliver st john gogartys,the quays and The temple bar itself

Take a drive out to Newgrange.about an hour away.

traffic is bad though.
Rappin fur the family again.

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
The Arlington is a great pub.

There's a chap I chat to on MSN from here called Alex, I believe he posts as Nkomo-A-Gogo (I'm 99% sure of it) and he gave me a good few tips the last time I was going.

This post has been edited by Gaz: 01 April 2008 - 22:28

• (2 Pages) +