April Fools You Have Been Daft Enough To Fall For Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   BadgersNadgers 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Scotland
Me in 2006. Taking no notice of what day it was I read in the paper that Fifa were going to introduce footballs with microchips in them for the World Cup, there was diagrams of how the whole thing would work so that they'd automatically know if the ball went over the line or not. I did question how they would put the chips into the ball, but thought it was a great idea. To the extent that I brought it up over dinner with my Uncle, explaining word for word what I'd read in the paper. When I bought the paper the next day and read their apology I felt like a fud. Don't know whether my Uncle still thinks footballs have microchips in them either.

That's probably not my worst either. Everyone else?
"There’s an army around the country, we’re all stuck in our rooms"

User is offline   Raith Against The Machine 

• The Omen
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View PostBadgersNadgers, on Mar 31 2008, 21:57, said:

Me in 2006. Taking no notice of what day it was I read in the paper that Fifa were going to introduce footballs with microchips in them for the World Cup, there was diagrams of how the whole thing would work so that they'd automatically know if the ball went over the line or not. I did question how they would put the chips into the ball, but thought it was a great idea. To the extent that I brought it up over dinner with my Uncle, explaining word for word what I'd read in the paper. When I bought the paper the next day and read their apology I felt like a fud. Don't know whether my Uncle still thinks footballs have microchips in them either.

That's probably not my worst either. Everyone else?

There was a story on the Raith website a couple of years ago about using Stark's Park as a pigeon-shooting venue in the close season, firing at the birds which nested in the Railway Stand.

I was halfway through reading the story to my Dad before I realised. :lol:

User is offline   Milevskiy 

• Please don't leave me
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine
Remember the green V Airdrie strip? :lol:

Posted Image

This post has been edited by Mon The Clyde: 31 March 2008 - 21:05

View PostPaul Cicero, on 16 April 2012 - 21:26, said:

Caldwell is actually a great centre half however consistency can be an issue for him, technically his distribution of the ball for a defender is as good as Pique or Puyol.
Feel free to bookmark

User is offline   Rowan 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ross County
The Jailender posted a story about viking remains being found at Vicky Park a few years ago, around the time they were building the HFA and how County would have to ground share with Caley................I fell for it hook line and sinker......doh!
Children soon forget your presents. They never forget your presence.

Guest_Ron Burgundy_*

• Group: Surfer
there was a front page story about a Sheik Ma-Handie ploughing money into airdrie....so long ago nae idea if I fell for it.

User is offline   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:MacZidane
When I was wee, I fell for the story about Scotland hosting the World Cup Finals. I can still remember Arthur Montford with a wee diagram showing the stadiums that were to be used.

Firs Park was one. :lol:

User is offline   gav-ffc 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostMon The Clyde, on Mar 31 2008, 22:02, said:

Posted Image

@FFCGAV

Guest_Scofield_*

• Group: Surfer
A few years ago dafc.net ran a story telling us that they would be following Jimmy Calderwood to Aberdeen..... :o <_< :lol:

User is offline   The Minertaur 

• Bring on the 1st Division
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
Couple of years ago Cowden reported signing Olaf Lapri :lol:

Think it ended it up being reported in the sun or the record :lol:

I would like to point out I didnt fall for it cause God knows how anybody would fall for that :lol:
Blue Brazil Scorers 2011/12 - Marc McKenzie - 18 Lewis Coult - 15 Mark Ramsay - 8 Jon Robertson - 7 Greg Stewart - 7 Jordan Morton - 6 Scott Linton - 5 Joe Mbu - 2 Kal Naismith - 2 Kenny Adamson - 1 John Armstrong - 1 Colin Cameron - 1 Derek Lyle - 1 Thomas O'Brien - 1 Own Goal - 1
Cowdenbeath FC Twitter Cowdenbeath FC Facebook

User is offline   Mrs M 

• It's not Lupus
  • My Team:Clyde
Anyone that tries to fool me shall find that their reproductive organs are redundant or missing. :D

User is offline   DJP 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Scotland
  • Euro 2012:France

View PostMon The Clyde, on Mar 31 2008, 22:02, said:

No
Di Canio, what a Legend on JPT Final and Swindon "It is the best trophy I can win. Even in 10 years’ time when we win the Champions League I will remember this as the start of my career.”

User is offline   Broccoli Dog 

• Bitches aint shit.
  • My Team:St.Mirren
there was a good one in the guardian about coldplay rerecording their song 'talk' to be used in the conservative party election campaign.

the song was called 'talk to david' and they even had a link to the website where you could hear it.

i believed it for the entire day.

User is offline   Broccoli Dog 

• Bitches aint shit.
  • My Team:St.Mirren
in fact here it is

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2006/apr/ 01/m...ion.topstories2

User is offline   staggy4life 

• Highland League Reserve
cantona joins county

This was in the local paper on April Fools day 1995 and there must of been 1 or 2 that believed it. :lol:
Hello down there!

User is offline   ZCARS 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Ayr United
as i have posted on another thread
before i saw this one, there is a great
story in todays daily sport which says
peter reid has qualified as an english
football referee and will work in the
english prem brilliant

User is offline   xbl 

• Forward, together.
  • My Team:Arbroath
I fell for the BBC website one last year...It had an article about how smell screen technology was being previewed, and like a numpty, the first thing I did was get up close to the screen and give it a sniff.

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dumbarton
A couple of years ago the local radio...Your Radio... Announced that Henrik Larsson would be training and playing as a trialist for Dumbarton whilst waiting for his move to Barcelona as the spannish season kicks off later. Didn't fall for it myself.
The one on the BBC news website today was quite funny and I can see a few people falling for it.

This post has been edited by the snudge: 01 April 2008 - 08:21

User is offline   pollymac 

• Good guy
  • My Team:Celtic

View Postthe snudge, on Apr 1 2008, 09:20, said:

A couple of years ago the local radio...Your Radio... Announced that Henrik Larsson would be training and playing as a trialist for Dumbarton whilst waiting for his move to Barcelona as the spannish season kicks off later. Didn't fall for it myself.
The one on the BBC news website today was quite funny and I can see a few people falling for it.

That's absolutely classic - the bit where they start flapping their wings :lol:

Sally@Feb,1994 said:

That’s their problem, although I cannot say i’m not enjoying what’s happening to them.

Sally@Mar,2012 said:

There are probably one or two people out there enjoying it

wawp-wawp-wawp-waaaawwwwwwwpppppp!

User is offline   Jamie_Beatson 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Link to BBC one?
We Are Perth Forum - Unofficial St Johnstone F.C. Fans forum
We Are Perth Fanzine - St Johnstone F.C. Fanzine online

User is offline   thejailender 

• SPL Sub

View PostJamie_Beatson, on Apr 1 2008, 10:07, said:

Link to BBC one?

BBC Iplayer Link

They have been running this on BBC1 all morning so far too. They even had Sir David Atenborough (sp?) on Breakfast this morning talking about it.
C'mon McMenamin Mun !

User is offline   Thundermonkey 

• Pre-Badger
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Falkirk
I fell for the BMW/dog piss one in the metro today :rolleyes:

User is offline   thejailender 

• SPL Sub

View PostRowan, on Mar 31 2008, 22:02, said:

The Jailender posted a story about viking remains being found at Vicky Park a few years ago, around the time they were building the HFA and how County would have to ground share with Caley................I fell for it hook line and sinker......doh!

Just for Rowan, this was that story ! Was on 1st April 2003

It has been revealed that Victoria park could be out of bounds for the rest of the season, and County could be forced to play their remaining three home league matches at Inverness’ Caledonian Stadium.

The problem came about as work started on the new indoor arena (for the Highland Football Academy) behind the away terrace. The contractors have started to dig the foundations at the end of last week, but during the digging they came across an ancient building and some rubble.

Seismologists have conducted initial tests on the finding and surrounding area and have indicated that the structure could stretch from the coast of the Cromarty Firth at the far end of the Jubilee Pitches all the way under the Victoria Park playing surface, reaching just beyond the centre circle.

The building is thought to be part of an 11th century Viking seaport.

Icelandic professor of Viking movements, Ralf Po-Lio, has been called into verify the finding, but part of this verification process will require sections of the Victoria Park surface to be dug up to reveal if the structure is that of Viking origin.

The entire site – Victoria Park and Jubilee Pitches - has been handed over to the Scottish Heritage Society until the archeologically work is finished. This could take up to eight weeks in which time the entire staff at Ross County will have to find alternative offices in which to work from. Most of the clerical staff will be housed available office space which the chairman, Roy MacGregor owns through other business activities. The playing staff will train on various council owned football fields, but because the stadium is out of use no games can take part there.

Ross County made a special application to play all their home games at Clachnacuddin’s Grant Street Park in Inverness, but this was turned down by the SFL as it did not meet the Division One safety criteria, however they were understanding about the situation and suggested that Inverness CT’s Caledonian Stadium was the only suitable stadium in the area. It has been now agreed between Ross County and ICT that County can rent the stadium for the three remaining home matches starting with the next home match against St. Mirren on 19th April.

At the moment it is still unclear what will happen if the new found structure turns out to be of scientific interest but it is hoped that that Stadium will be available for use in time for the new season starting in August.

C'mon McMenamin Mun !

User is offline   MarvMarvSuperMarv 

• "17 year old Wayne Rooney"
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
At primary school the teachers told us that the school was closing and we had to go home. They even made us get our jackets on and wait outside till our parents came to pick us up. No parents came. ;)
I'm out and about, i'm in with a shout.

User is offline   Larsson. 

• SPL Superstar
  • My Team:Celtic
Many moons ago my sister got me with the oldest april fools joke ever..
said a Mr C.Lyons had phoned and could i give him a phone back the number
she gave me turned out to be Edinbrugh zoo..how very droll.

This post has been edited by Larsson.: 01 April 2008 - 09:44

stennyhibee Posted Image
27 Nov 2007 - 14:43 I'm going to shit all over your breakfast

User is offline   caleycasual 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Inverness City
I don't know if it was an April fool but some Ross County fan, quite possibly one who posts on here, pretended to be from Soccer AM and posted on the old ICT forum about flying ICT fans down to London for an appearance as fans of the week. I think almost everyone on the ICT site fell for it.

• (3 Pages) +