Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: If The 1980's Was So Good For Music - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

If The 1980's Was So Good For Music Why Do Commercial Radio Stations...... Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   DAFC 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Dunfermline
PLAY THE SAME FUCKING PISH ALL DAY FUCKING LONG!

and relax

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain
If you like music, why do you listen to commercial radio stations!?

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is offline   DAFC 

• Golden Shoe Winner
No choice, work radio Nazi has it on.

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Thing is people are always saying, "oh, the charts have nothing in them I like now, not like when I was young, oh no, loads of good songs then".

Well I grew up in the 70/80's and there was rarely anything good in the charts then too. Ok, in comparison there is, but the sorts of people that would come out with the quote above were the muppets buying Renee and Renato and bloody Mel and (the now dead) Kim.
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

Guest_Raithsaltire_*

• Group: Surfer
Have to agree. Music stopped after the 80's. It turned into computer generated random squealing and noise. Ask anyone who was born after the 80's what an electric guitar, a drum kit, or even a lead singer is, and they will look puzzled.......mainly because they will be jaikeyed oot their tits on alcopops or cheap cider, but also because they will have no recollection what music is. ;)

User is offline   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:MacZidane
People think the 80's were better because they remember their favourite tunes from that era.

There was just as much, if not more, dross during that decade (comparitively speaking) than there is today.

In 20 years time, people will look back at this decade and think it's so much better than the 2020's.

User is offline   DAFC 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Surely there is more to 80's music than Queen and Dolly Parton?

User is offline   GoRdY_b 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Ayr United
I take it the topic originator has listened to Real "middle of the road" Radio recently?

P!sh of the highest order!
www.gordyisadj.co.uk

User is offline   Half A Person 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostDAFC, on Mar 31 2008, 15:36, said:

PLAY THE SAME FUCKING PISH ALL DAY FUCKING LONG!

and relax

I know, Two Tribes was much better.
THEY HIBERNATE IN YOUR COLON

User is offline   dogma 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Scotland
80s was terrible for music. Wasnt till 88 at least before I started to like anything. 90s started off ok before Simon Cowell and the rest of em ruined it. Pah !

User is offline   Ned Nederlander 

• Golden Shower Winner

View PostGoRdY_b, on Mar 31 2008, 16:57, said:

I take it the topic originator has listened to Real "middle of the road" Radio recently?

P!sh of the highest order!

Yep, Yep <_<

Two of my last three workplaces have tortured me with Real Radio ... I fuckin' hate it :angry:

I reckon 2/3'rds of Cher's royalties come from that bunch of bastards!

Nightshifts are the worst <_<
Scottish Football Fans - Sent to Coventry by Doncaster.

• Stay Alive

View Postdogma, on Mar 31 2008, 17:05, said:

80s was terrible for music. Wasnt till 88 at least before I started to like anything.

To be fair, in 1988 you were 15/16.

Before that, it probably would have been the cheesy pop side of the 80's you were listening to, given there wasn't the same kind of exposure to good music then as there is now.

If you were even four years older, I reckon your outlook would be a little different.

User is offline   Dunning1874 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
I agree that music today is utter pish - was the 80s any better though?
Is that not where it started to go wrong? Bloody synthezisers.

View PostNo8., on 01 May 2009 - 17:05, said:

Dunning is by far the most anti Rangers poster on P&B and i include Beyesmystic in that

User is offline   Mrs M 

• It's not Lupus
  • My Team:Clyde

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 31 2008, 19:55, said:

To be fair, in 1988 you were 15/16.

Before that, it probably would have been the cheesy pop side of the 80's you were listening to, given there wasn't the same kind of exposure to good music then as there is now.

If you were even four years older, I reckon your outlook would be a little different.

In 1988, I was 9/10, and I remember the stuff before '88, and I bloody loved it! :D

I'm talking New Romantics, though, I'm guessing you probably aren't. :lol:

User is offline   kiddy 

• Golden Shoe Winner
You could compile a list a mile long of artists that RR never play from the 80's/90's.

You've just got to listen to their "Golden" hour in the morning, to get their distorted view of what was actually going on in those decades.

Between that and thon pish by Nickelback, it's driving me round the bend. You can actually set your watch by the playlist they have. 'At the next playing of Rockstar it will be exactly 1/4 past the hour'.
3x Leagues of 14. ALL with 7/7 Split, 2 up 2 down & 12v3 playoff.

Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.

& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!

User is offline   Ned Nederlander 

• Golden Shower Winner

View Postkiddy, on Mar 31 2008, 20:59, said:

Between that and thon pish by Nickelback, it's driving me round the bend. You can actually set your watch by the playlist they have. 'At the next playing of Rockstar it will be exactly 1/4 past the hour'.

Yep!

what about when they went through their Proclaimers stint :wacko:
Scottish Football Fans - Sent to Coventry by Doncaster.

User is offline   Owsley 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
I've had the misfortune to be in a job where Radio Clyde was on all day. I was a kid in the 80's and back then they endlessly played stuff like "Let's Dance" by David Bowie, "Baby Jane" by Rod Stewart, "Sweet Dreams" by the Eurythmics.....and it seems they still do, they did a few years ago when I was in that job and I happened to hear Clyde in a shop the other week, bloody Baby Jane again.

Nickelback also had that bloody song out and I had to hear it four times at least every day, it got so I just disappeared to the toilet whenever it came on, that and Rock DJ, I was never out of the bog.

• Stay Alive

View PostLyn-Marie, on Mar 31 2008, 19:22, said:

I'm talking New Romantics, though, I'm guessing you probably aren't. :lol:

There was some Gold in that period though. A lot of the wild boys of music were dancing with tears in their eyes.

;)

User is offline   Frank Booth 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren
The 80s is probably my favourite musical decade. All of the bands I like the most were either at their peak or were formed at that time.

New Order, Killing Joke, Cocteau Twins, The Smiths, E&TBM, RYLY, Cabaret Voltaire's move towards mainstream, TJ&MC and many more (as they say in all the best K-Tel adverts)

I bet REal Radio plays none of those...
The best thing about being dead is you no longer have to say "I wish I were dead".

The best thing about being alive is you can still say "I wish I were dead".

User is offline   tongue_tied_danny 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Montrose

View PostFrank Booth, on Mar 31 2008, 22:06, said:

The 80s is probably my favourite musical decade. All of the bands I like the most were either at their peak or were formed at that time.

New Order, Killing Joke, Cocteau Twins, The Smiths, E&TBM, RYLY, Cabaret Voltaire's move towards mainstream, TJ&MC and many more (as they say in all the best K-Tel adverts)

Just what I was thinking.

I was on a long haul flight with Emirates recently. On their in-flight entertainment they have every UK number 1 from the early 50s to the present day. The period from about '79 to '83 had some really credible number 1s. Tracks by the likes of the Specials, Human League, The Jam, Gary Numan, Dexys. After that it just decended into PWL hell.

User is offline   DAFC 

• Golden Shoe Winner

How did you guess?!

Agreed the 80's had some great stuff but Real(ly pish) Radio must have a taste transplant.
I'm glad it's not me who thinks it's an abomination to the eardrums, people actually phone in and ask for Dolly Parton "OI Stevie it's me chantelle gonna put awn sum dolly parton mins"

Imagine working there and pretending you actually liked that shit, it must be like the Stepford Wifes or something.
Scary shit, I wouldn't be surprised if Real Radio was a government plot to turn people into idiots.

This post has been edited by DAFC: 31 March 2008 - 21:24

User is offline   Mrs M 

• It's not Lupus
  • My Team:Clyde

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 31 2008, 21:19, said:

There was some Gold in that period though. A lot of the wild boys of music were dancing with tears in their eyes.

;)

Oh, Stewarty, if we weren't both spoken for :wub: However, as we are, my dreams shall fade to grey.

View PostFrank Booth, on Mar 31 2008, 22:06, said:

Despite my favourite bands being of more recent years, I'd be inclined to agree. I love Oasis, Arctic Monkeys, blah blah blah, they all have their highs and lows, and their highs may be great, but their lows are very low. But Spandau Ballet, as a fairly bad example, only have one bad song in that of She Loved Like A Diamond.

User is offline   DJP 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Scotland
  • Euro 2012:France
Some good powerballads from the 80's

Chris de burgh - lady in red
Cars - Drive
Berlin - Take My Breath away
The list is endless. Wish I was old enough back then to appreciate them! More clubs should play these songs!
Di Canio, what a Legend on JPT Final and Swindon "It is the best trophy I can win. Even in 10 years’ time when we win the Champions League I will remember this as the start of my career.”

User is offline   Dunning1874 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

View PostDJP, on Mar 31 2008, 23:51, said:

Some good powerballads from the 80's

Chris de burgh - lady in red
Cars - Drive
Berlin - Take My Breath away
The list is endless. Wish I was old enough back then to appreciate them! More clubs should play these songs!

:guns

View PostNo8., on 01 May 2009 - 17:05, said:

Dunning is by far the most anti Rangers poster on P&B and i include Beyesmystic in that

User is offline   Owsley 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
The only one I would give house room to would be The Cars. Lady In Red FFS!!!

• (2 Pages) +