Charlie And The Chocolate Factory Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   MattBairn 

• Come crawling faster...Obey your Master
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostSaltyTON, on Mar 30 2008, 10:39, said:

Do you have an acceptable level of paedophilia that films have to stay under???

Maybe a Jerry Lee Lewis video. :P

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Posted Image

User is offline   Zanetti 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen's Park

View Postxbl, on Mar 30 2008, 01:22, said:

Apparently Roald Dahl despised the original, thought they had basterdised his story!

I've heard that too. The new version is supposed to be much more like the original story.

User is offline   Nizzy 

• Street tuff
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

View Postcowboy, on Mar 30 2008, 00:11, said:

they dropped a lot of the best bits from the original, the scarey bloke offering to buy the secrets, the burping scene, the oompa loompa song.

The scary bloke and the burping scene weren't in the book, they were created for the Gene Wilder version, which was called Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The oompah loompah songs in the most recent adaptation were also those used in the book.

As far as I can see, they only way Burton's version differed from the book was the creation of Willy's back story, which I thought was a bit unnecessary.
MAKE ONE FAMOUS

User is offline   BishyTON 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

View PostNiz, on Mar 30 2008, 12:43, said:

The scary bloke and the burping scene weren't in the book, they were created for the Gene Wilder version, which was called Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The oompah loompah songs in the most recent adaptation were also those used in the book.

As far as I can see, they only way Burton's version differed from the book was the creation of Willy's back story, which I thought was a bit unnecessary.

Yeah that was bloody stupid. It totally ruined the mistique behind Willie Wonka's character and portrayed him as a bit of a fool.

The re-make is ok - but the original is a LOT better imo (regardless of what Dahl thinks).
Mon the Ton

Posted Image

User is offline   KnightswoodBear 

• DROKK!
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:Currencyb0y
I found the remake to be a bit creepy. It just felt a bit wrong
Posted Image

User is offline   Nizzy 

• Street tuff

View PostKnightswoodBear, on Mar 30 2008, 14:29, said:

I always thought that was the essence of Dahl's tales. They were always that little bit darker than other kids' stories.
MAKE ONE FAMOUS

User is offline   KnightswoodBear 

• DROKK!
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:Currencyb0y

View PostNiz, on Mar 30 2008, 15:03, said:

I always thought that was the essence of Dahl's tales. They were always that little bit darker than other kids' stories.

I agree. I love reading hisbooks when I was a wean, but I just thought that Burton's movie didn't quite pull it off. It wasn't really creepy funny, just creepy.
Posted Image

User is offline   centralparker 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
Augustus Gloop was a great charcacter in the book. It's a pity that Roald Dahl killed him off first.

User is offline   Nizzy 

• Street tuff

View Postcentralparker, on Mar 30 2008, 15:26, said:

Augustus Gloop was a great charcacter in the book. It's a pity that Roald Dahl killed him off first.

No one died.
MAKE ONE FAMOUS

User is offline   Reina 

• Falkirk Mafia
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostKnightswoodBear, on Mar 30 2008, 14:06, said:

I agree. I love reading hisbooks when I was a wean

I still love them now. George's Marvellous Medicine is my favourite. I saw that some of Roald Dahl's books have been translated into Scots. Geordie's Mingin Medicine. :lol:
Join our Flickr group here - Find our *NEW* photography 'assignment' here

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostReina, on Mar 30 2008, 23:33, said:

I saw that some of Roald Dahl's books have been translated into Scots. Geordie's Mingin Medicine. :lol:

What else? Chick fae the Chochlit wirks? Jimmy n' his fuckin ginormous peach?

This post has been edited by centralparker: 30 March 2008 - 22:36

User is offline   Reina 

• Falkirk Mafia
Geordie's Mingin Medicine

The Eejits

The Sleekit Mr Tod

I'm sure there were others in Waterstones though.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostReina, on Mar 30 2008, 23:39, said:

Geordie's Mingin Medicine

The Eejits

The Sleekit Mr Tod

I'm sure there were others in Waterstones though.

I've never actually read a book in Scots, although Trainspotting maybe qualifies on this front.

User is offline   Reina 

• Falkirk Mafia
I've read a couple and I tend to read Robbie Shepherd's (sp?) bit in Doric in the P&J. It's difficult to get into it, but I'm used to reading books written in a foreign language anyway :lol:

User is offline   Shawfield Stallion 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde
Apparently the original Oompa Loompas were pygmy slaves caught and shipped over from Africa
"This is a team with a great history and I want to play a lot for them"
- Filip Mentel

User is offline   Thundermonkey 

• Pre-Badger

View PostAirdrie Jag, on Mar 29 2008, 19:58, said:

not a patch on the Gene Wilder original

WRONG!

View Postsergie's no1 fan, on Mar 29 2008, 21:44, said:

its nothing compared to the original

WRONG!

View Postorlandoblue, on Mar 29 2008, 21:51, said:

Watch the original then.

It is far superior

WRONG!

View Postuberman, on Mar 29 2008, 22:14, said:

The original is far better, the oompah-loompah songs in it were much superior :)

WRONG!

View PostMattBairn, on Mar 29 2008, 22:48, said:

But the first movie is far better. Better songs, better progression, just better.

WRONG!

View Postcowboy, on Mar 29 2008, 23:11, said:

yep, the original was a million miles better. very disapointed in that remake. they dropped a lot of the best bits from the original, the scarey bloke offering to buy the secrets, the burping scene, the oompa loompa song. in fact everything in the original was better

VERY WRONG! You don't actually like Charlie and teh Chocolate Factory, do you? :)

View Postxbl, on Mar 30 2008, 01:22, said:

Apparently Roald Dahl despised the original, thought they had basterdised his story!

His widow has stated that Dahl would have loved the new movie.

View PostBishyTON, on Mar 30 2008, 12:34, said:

The re-make is ok - but the original is a LOT better imo (regardless of what Dahl thinks).

WRONG!WRONG!WRONG!

View PostKnightswoodBear, on Mar 30 2008, 13:29, said:

WRONG!

View PostReina, on Mar 30 2008, 22:33, said:

I still love them now. George's Marvellous Medicine is my favourite. I saw that some of Roald Dahl's books have been translated into Scots. Geordie's Mingin Medicine. :lol:

I didn't like Geordie's Mingin Medicine. To me it wasn't so much Scots as slang. A nice idea poorly executed in my far from authoritive opinion.

I appreciate that the above views are opinions and that everyone's opinions are valid. In this instance, however valid they may be, they are WRONG! WRONG! WRONG! :P

User is offline   Raith Against The Machine 

• The Omen
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
I'm just watching the remake now, and its just struck me.

This is effectively Saw for children.

User is offline   Thundermonkey 

• Pre-Badger

View PostDunc, on Apr 1 2008, 21:42, said:

I'm just watching the remake now, and its just struck me.

This is effectively Saw for children.

Absolutely :lol:

View PostReina, on Mar 30 2008, 23:33, said:

I downloaded Rik Mayall reading that on the jackanory style kids BBC show. Brilliant! :)
Posted Image

Guest_Chico30987_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostMattBairn, on Apr 2 2008, 09:54, said:

I downloaded Rik Mayall reading that on the jackanory style kids BBC show. Brilliant! :)

Where from? I'd love to hear that

User is offline   Colin M 

• Bass Cadet
  • My Team:St.Mirren
I liked the remake, but I did find Depp overly kooky at times. I also thought the dentist-father flashbacks and reunion added on were quite cringeworthy.
"Well I've had enough of morons and half-wits, dolts, dunces, dullards and dumbbells, and you chowderhead yokel, you blithering hayseed, you've had enough of me?"

View PostChico30987, on Apr 3 2008, 09:39, said:

Where from? I'd love to hear that

It was from www.uknova.com I think.
I doubt itll be on there now though to be honest, it was a while ago.
Posted Image

User is offline   Reina 

• Falkirk Mafia

View PostMattBairn, on Apr 3 2008, 08:56, said:

It was from www.uknova.com I think.
I doubt itll be on there now though to be honest, it was a while ago.

Do you still have a copy of it that you'd like to send me? ;)

User is offline   Half A Person 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
I really dislike both films. They just seem to lack a certain something..

It's a total cliche, but the book was so much better. Having said that, the sequel 'Charlie and The Great Glass Elevator' is rotten.
THEY HIBERNATE IN YOUR COLON

• (2 Pages) +