A LIL SUHIN SUHIN SUHIN LIKE

User is offline   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys

View Postcentralparker, on Mar 18 2008, 23:50, said:

I've been going to football matches all my life and it's the first time I've seen a goal scored direct from the kick-off.

Me too. I've never seen anything like it. Just a wee tap to Kettlewell who blasted it over the keeper. Incredible.

On Byle - I can't remember a more incompetent performance by a referee. It's all been covered above - the man just doesn't have the temperament for senior football. There was one bad tackle last night, and the QP player got away with it when he should have been booked, but he just lost the plot when it came to dissent. The sending off was downright wrong.

Two of the three penalties weren't, to my mind, justified. Some of the other decisions on corners etc. just defied belief.

I think that we should lodge a potest and get the game replayed.
QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

User is offline   NELLY 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Cowdenbeath
me 2 :D

Guest_Highland Spider_*

• Group: Surfer
Heard that Kettlewell scored from just outside the pub on the High Street.

HS

User is offline   Aberdeen Cowden 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostHighland Spider, on Mar 19 2008, 18:33, said:

Heard that Kettlewell scored from just outside the pub on the High Street.

HS

History - it's East End Park now! It was a cracker though, had it been one of the old firm we would be watching it for the next ten years. It doesn't get much better than that - I hope someone filmed it.

User is offline   BlooCoo 

• Third Division Apprentice

View PostAberdeen Cowden, on Mar 19 2008, 18:46, said:

History - it's East End Park now! It was a cracker though, had it been one of the old firm we would be watching it for the next ten years. It doesn't get much better than that - I hope someone filmed it.

Have a wee word with Ernie, might be on youtube if he got it.
Posted Image

User is offline   Fraser_QPFC 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Delighted with that. I can't remember us playing that well with 11 men, let alone 10.

Kettlewell's goal was a peach. Ketts saw the 'keeper off his line and just smacked it. Brilliant

The ref ruined the game for both sides. Some bizarre decisions. As people mentioned, Mark Ferry gave away the worst tackle in the game and got warned for it-it was a clear booking, but he can go and book players for dissent with no issue. Kettlewell will have a hefty ban after that red as well. For most refs it would have been a warning or a second booking, but the straight red gives him a far bigger ban. Chris Boyle is just a joke of a referee.

The second half was brilliant from QP. We kept the ball brilliantly and the defence was solid. Both penalties were stonewallers and Trouts stuck them away easily. Cowden weren't up to much and every time we went forward we looked like we could have scored. The counter attacks were brilliant. Could be a huge win.

User is offline   McFarlane 

Think i might gate-crash the SFA offices before the Alloa game on saturday to get them to get Chris Boyle too f**k!!!!! never seen a ref like it in my life.

bring back Colin Hardie.
McFarlane_90 for all you Twitter Fritters!

User is offline   McFarlane 

View Postdavidy233, on Mar 18 2008, 23:52, said:

I too missed Queens first goal - was late getting in and didn't get a team sheet and was asking the ballboy behind the goal the name of Cowden's scorer so I could send a pic to a paper when the cheer went up for the equaliser.

Very impressed with QP, they didn't look like a side in relegation trouble at all, passed the ball well and were quicker and stronger than their opponents. I saw three of their play-off games at the end of last season and loved the football they played, this wasn't quite as stylish but still impressive.

Queens fans were again in impressive voice too, bit like a posh East Stirling support ;)

Here's a few images from the game, Cowden and Queens are welcome to use them on their websites if they'd like to.

Bloody cold though.

Brilliant pics again David only thing is were the pics of the Away Support? :P
McFarlane_90 for all you Twitter Fritters!

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Brechin City
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc

View PostConvenor, on Mar 19 2008, 12:57, said:

The guy is a class above any player at Brechin and will be off to a higher level next season

Rightyo then... :rolleyes:
Posted Image

Brechin City FC - Pride Of Angus

User is offline   R.R.FC 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • Team:Raith Rovers
Seen in one of the papers the other day Dunlop and canning (i think) are supposed to be going to Brechin

User is offline   an86 

• Third Division Reserve
Boyle was a teacher when I was at school, really decent guy, but a really pish ref.

User is offline   Cowden Cowboy 

• Third Division Sub
I'm a pro-Cowden fan never really been a pro-Welsh or anti-Welsh man. That was a shambles though on Tuesday. QP fans are mistaken though if they think it was mainly the quality of their play which won them the game. It was Cowden's demoralised side that gave them the game. Man for man Cowden have a better squad and some talented players (not all were playing). Up to early December we were looking good since then morale has slumped and the players are no longer responding to the management as far as I can see. I've seen Queens play a number of times over last 2 seasons and they are a good footballing side - but are the 2nd worst squad in the league - they were only 3rd in Division 3 last year and their team was weakened by the loss of star man Weatherston. However, it looks like we have self destructed and put ourself in the play offs. We also have the mark of failure - when all the 'luck' seems against you - own goals galore, letting QP score from halfway, conceding seconds after we score, losing to late goals.

We have used 39 different players now - that's crazy. You could see that QP had a much more cohesive unit. We have no idea what our strongest line up is. Only once have we fielded the same team in two consecutive matches (I know we have had terrible injury problems). Tuesday was critical and I understand Scullion was out injured but selecting a veteran Lennon (1 start all season) and youngster Jon Robertson (2nd start) was always a high risk strategy in midfield.

I previously said I would judge Brian Welsh on if he kept us up or not so difficult to go back on that. He said that's what we should judge him on. Gravely worried now though as to how he can possibly turn things around and motivate the players from this low point. The sentiment of the fans is clear and they have justification for their views. Something's got to change.

I don't buy the wild conspiracy theories but football managers must stand or fall by results - we have lost 13 of our last 16 games and conceded 4 goals in 7 of those fixtures (again our injuries have played a part in this). Getting away from Central Park to Ayr may help as its not a good environment at the moment with the crowd baying for blood and the players treating the ball like a hot tattie.

Other random thoughts - Referee Boyle was atrocious but the penalty decisions all seemed OK to me and he didn't give Kettlewell a straight red - it was 2nd yellow, he was already booked for dissent. Another similar fact that has been touted is that Welshy despite his various bans was on the pitch speaking to the Ref afer the Peterhead game - he wasn't cause I was in the stand and saw him go straight down the tunnel - it was the similarly clad Austin 'Powers' McPhee who was out there arguing with ref. Those who say this is the worst time ever as a Cowden fan have short memories - things have been much, much worse - the pain of the present though is always more sharp than that which has healed a bit from years ago. Every season someone will loudly tell me that's the worst Cowden display ever! After the optimism of the Mixu years though such a rapid turnaround in things is really hurting the fans. Some fearful abuse handed out by the vociferous few. Can the loudmouth who kept shouting about 'blinkers!' give it a rest though my hied was nipping from it with about 10 minutes to go! The boo-boy debate is an ongoing one - I don't think there is any doubt Cowden has its share of boo-boys - the sort that decided Welshy was useless before his first game (or that Scullion's crap). However, you can now see many of the more reasonable fans joining the chorus. I won't ever shout (much) abuse at my team during a match as I just think it is a godsend to the opposition and I am not about to give legends like Baxter, Hay, Gilfillan and Hill the impression that the fans no longer back them.

Glad to see Phil you have thought again about joining us at Ayr. Turning your back on your club I don't think is ever an appropriate response when times turn bad. As you say, we have guys like Dougie, the Cat, Gilly, Beaky, Ramsay, and others who have proven their ability and commitment to Cowdenbeath FC. They still deserve our help and encouragement. Giving up supporting the team always seems to me more or less the other side of gloryhunting. Others of course may disagree.

We have a nucleus of talented players. My worry is Hill and Hay for all their loyalty might be targeted by the Methil broon envelope gang or others if we go down. We already have Ramsay, Gilfillan, Shields, Dempster, Baxter, McQuade contracted for next season with Davie and Dougie there's plenty to build a team around. (PS Steph's signed for next year as well!!).

User is offline   Spiders For Life 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:QPcg

View PostCowden Cowboy, on Mar 19 2008, 22:29, said:

I'm a pro-Cowden fan never really been a pro-Welsh or anti-Welsh man. That was a shambles though on Tuesday. QP fans are mistaken though if they think it was mainly the quality of their play which won them the game. It was Cowden's demoralised side that gave them the game. Man for man Cowden have a better squad and some talented players (not all were playing). Up to early December we were looking good since then morale has slumped and the players are no longer responding to the management as far as I can see. I've seen Queens play a number of times over last 2 seasons and they are a good footballing side - but are the 2nd worst squad in the league - they were only 3rd in Division 3 last year and their team was weakened by the loss of star man Weatherston. However, it looks like we have self destructed and put ourself in the play offs. We also have the mark of failure - when all the 'luck' seems against you - own goals galore, letting QP score from halfway, conceding seconds after we score, losing to late goals.

We have used 39 different players now - that's crazy. You could see that QP had a much more cohesive unit. We have no idea what our strongest line up is. Only once have we fielded the same team in two consecutive matches (I know we have had terrible injury problems). Tuesday was critical and I understand Scullion was out injured but selecting a veteran Lennon (1 start all season) and youngster Jon Robertson (2nd start) was always a high risk strategy in midfield.

I previously said I would judge Brian Welsh on if he kept us up or not so difficult to go back on that. He said that's what we should judge him on. Gravely worried now though as to how he can possibly turn things around and motivate the players from this low point. The sentiment of the fans is clear and they have justification for their views. Something's got to change.

I don't buy the wild conspiracy theories but football managers must stand or fall by results - we have lost 13 of our last 16 games and conceded 4 goals in 7 of those fixtures (again our injuries have played a part in this). Getting away from Central Park to Ayr may help as its not a good environment at the moment with the crowd baying for blood and the players treating the ball like a hot tattie.

Other random thoughts - Referee Boyle was atrocious but the penalty decisions all seemed OK to me and he didn't give Kettlewell a straight red - it was 2nd yellow, he was already booked for dissent. Another similar fact that has been touted is that Welshy despite his various bans was on the pitch speaking to the Ref afer the Peterhead game - he wasn't cause I was in the stand and saw him go straight down the tunnel - it was the similarly clad Austin 'Powers' McPhee who was out there arguing with ref. Those who say this is the worst time ever as a Cowden fan have short memories - things have been much, much worse - the pain of the present though is always more sharp than that which has healed a bit from years ago. Every season someone will loudly tell me that's the worst Cowden display ever! After the optimism of the Mixu years though such a rapid turnaround in things is really hurting the fans. Some fearful abuse handed out by the vociferous few. Can the loudmouth who kept shouting about 'blinkers!' give it a rest though my hied was nipping from it with about 10 minutes to go! The boo-boy debate is an ongoing one - I don't think there is any doubt Cowden has its share of boo-boys - the sort that decided Welshy was useless before his first game (or that Scullion's crap). However, you can now see many of the more reasonable fans joining the chorus. I won't ever shout (much) abuse at my team during a match as I just think it is a godsend to the opposition and I am not about to give legends like Baxter, Hay, Gilfillan and Hill the impression that the fans no longer back them.

Glad to see Phil you have thought again about joining us at Ayr. Turning your back on your club I don't think is ever an appropriate response when times turn bad. As you say, we have guys like Dougie, the Cat, Gilly, Beaky, Ramsay, and others who have proven their ability and commitment to Cowdenbeath FC. They still deserve our help and encouragement. Giving up supporting the team always seems to me more or less the other side of gloryhunting. Others of course may disagree.

We have a nucleus of talented players. My worry is Hill and Hay for all their loyalty might be targeted by the Methil broon envelope gang or others if we go down. We already have Ramsay, Gilfillan, Shields, Dempster, Baxter, McQuade contracted for next season with Davie and Dougie there's plenty to build a team around. (PS Steph's signed for next year as well!!).

I got to the 4th line before the boredom won.

This post has been edited by Spiders For Life: 19 March 2008 - 22:34

3rd Division. Fantastic

User is offline   qpsnapper 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Other random thoughts - Referee Boyle was atrocious but the penalty decisions all seemed OK to me and he didn't give Kettlewell a straight red - it was 2nd yellow, he was already booked for dissent.

CC, I know he had already been booked, but Kettlewell was shown a straight red - there was no second yellow card.

User is offline   Cowden Cowboy 

• Third Division Sub

View PostSpiders For Life, on Mar 19 2008, 22:33, said:

I got to the 4th line before the boredom won.

Ah well like most young students you will have a short attention span.

User is offline   davidy233 

• Team:Dundee

View PostMcFarlane, on Mar 19 2008, 19:37, said:

Brilliant pics again David only thing is were the pics of the Away Support? :P

Sorry, didn't get any of the crowd at all this time - I could barely see you, though I could hear you OK.

In case things take a turn for the worst again - if you end up in the play offs I'll come along and take some crowd shots :D I'd actually love to be at Hampden for the reverse fixture between the Spiders and Blue Brazil but I'll be shooting Dundee at Firhill that evening.

Getting off topic - anyone know what chance there is of getting into the QP social club for a beer before Scotland v Crotia next Wednesday? Been wanting to visit ever since meeting the Queens fans in Tutties before the play off semi second leg last season.

This post has been edited by davidy233: 20 March 2008 - 00:18

User is offline   BlooCoo 

we have lost 13 of our last 16 games and conceded 4 goals in 7 of those fixtures

We've conceded 43 goals in those 16 games, you may be a pro-Cowden fan but regardless the facts state that we are absolutely brutal.

As far as the fan shouting 'blinkers', are we meant to just read the pish that Welsh spouts to the paper and just accept it. You know, as well as I do, that there are no blinkered fans at Central Park. Good things get cheered (except when Gillie scored our second on Tuesday as the heart had been ripped out of the support by then), poor play or obvious problems gets loudly criticised.

I have held back from criticising Welsh as I wanted to give the guy a fair crack of the whip, but he has now had his chance and outstayed his welcome. I wouldn't even give him a job selling programmes at the ground, never mind pick the team.

The Ayr game will be the last chance saloon(no stock car pun intended) for a lot of the supporters. Another inept display will see a very, very low turnout for the next home match on 29th March versus Brechin.
Posted Image

User is offline   Convenor 

• First Division Sub

View Postdavidy233, on Mar 20 2008, 00:18, said:

Getting off topic - anyone know what chance there is of getting into the QP social club for a beer before Scotland v Crotia next Wednesday? Been wanting to visit ever since meeting the Queens fans in Tutties before the play off semi second leg last season.

Shouldnae be a problem..both downstairs and upstairs bars will be open and, given the fact it's a midweek friendly, cannae see it being as busy as before

This post has been edited by Convenor: 20 March 2008 - 12:57

User is offline   AndyM 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Hibernian

View PostBlooCoo, on Mar 20 2008, 00:27, said:

We've conceded 43 goals in those 16 games, you may be a pro-Cowden fan but regardless the facts state that we are absolutely brutal.

I have held back from criticising Welsh as I wanted to give the guy a fair crack of the whip, but he has now had his chance and outstayed his welcome. I wouldn't even give him a job selling programmes at the ground, never mind pick the team.

The Ayr game will be the last chance saloon(no stock car pun intended) for a lot of the supporters. Another inept display will see a very, very low turnout for the next home match on 29th March versus Brechin.

Those statistics tell their own story.

Agree with you on Welsh - he's just not got it and the support on Tuesday night , well lets just say I've seen that sort of anger before at HFC and it usually results in the manager getting his jotters. Who would you want to take over if a P45 is forthcoming and Welsh is back on the taxis.

Good luck on Saturday at Somerset - I'll look out for the result and read the reports but have a previous appointment in the dark lands of Govan that I've shelled out 26 notes for.

"Whit wis that rash Fernando Torres had all over him the other night? Aw wait, that wis Gary Caldwell. Here Fernando! Pocket! Dickhead."

User is offline   davidy233 

• Team:Dundee

View PostConvenor, on Mar 20 2008, 12:56, said:

Shouldnae be a problem..both downstairs and upstairs bars will be open and, given the fact it's a midweek friendly, cannae see it being as busy as before

Cheers

User is offline   Only coo in the village 

• First Division Regular

View Postqpsnapper, on Mar 19 2008, 22:34, said:

CC, I know he had already been booked, but Kettlewell was shown a straight red - there was no second yellow card.

Only Queens Park could have a player named Kettlewell :P . Did'nt they have a player in the 70's called illpot? ;) .

• (5 Pages) +
  • « First