• « First
  • Last »

Ayr United V Airdrie United 7.45 Ko wednesday night Rate Topic: -----

Guest_FCB_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostSeverus Snape, on Feb 27 2008, 17:36, said:

I'll likely see you at the game if you're going.

Yeah I'll be there.

I've got a feeling Ayr will win but it's unlikely.

User is offline   Ginger ninja 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Clydebank
Would someone like to replace our proud name at the start of the thread. Not funny :angry:
OWNED BY THE FANS. FOR THE FANS.

User is offline   Severus Snape 

• Third Division Regular
  • Team:Ayr United

View PostGinger ninja, on Feb 27 2008, 17:56, said:

Would someone like to replace our proud name at the start of the thread. Not funny :angry:

Changed. Apologies to Clydebank fans.
And the man from the magazine, wants another shot of you all curled up
'Cos you look like an actor in a movie shot.
But you're feeling like a wino in a parking lot
How did I get in here anyway?
Do we really need a playback of the show?
'Cos the wideboys want to head for the watering holes
Let's go
And the man in the mirror has sad eyes

User is offline   Ginger ninja 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Clydebank

View PostSeverus Snape, on Feb 27 2008, 18:00, said:

Changed. Apologies to Clydebank fans.

Thankyou my friend. Now go out and kick thier erse ;)
OWNED BY THE FANS. FOR THE FANS.

User is offline   Cliche Guevara 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
1-0 to Airdrie at half-time.

McDonald scores after 44 minutes Robertson (Ayr) sent off after 45!
If you've got to be told by someone then it's got to be me

User is offline   Cliche Guevara 

• SPL Superstar
1-1 Forest 67 mins
If you've got to be told by someone then it's got to be me

User is offline   Nocturnal Groove 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
Brilliant performance from all in white tops tonight. Really did not deserve to go away with only 1 point. Better team with 11 men, and still the better team with 10 men.

Referee done his best to try spoil the game, piss poor display yet again from the luminous clowns.

Airdrie scored totally against the run of the play, and really only had a decent spell for a short time after we had a man send off (not quite sure what for, looked like a slide tackle from an airdrie player and our man got sent off for it :angry: )
SPL - Killing Scottish Football Since 1998

User is offline   Monster 

• Live Forever
  • Team:Other

View PostAUFC_Dave, on Feb 27 2008, 22:11, said:

Brilliant performance from all in white tops tonight. Really did not deserve to go away with only 1 point. Better team with 11 men, and still the better team with 10 men.

Referee done his best to try spoil the game, piss poor display yet again from the luminous clowns.

Airdrie scored totally against the run of the play, and really only had a decent spell for a short time after we had a man send off (not quite sure what for, looked like a slide tackle from an airdrie player and our man got sent off for it :angry: )

Pretty much agree with all of that. Robertson should be fined a fortnights wages for kicking out for no reason - so stupid.
Gonna take that tiger outside for a ride

User is offline   Brechin City FC 

• First Division Superstar
  • Team:Brechin City
Cheers, Ayr. Nice to see Airdrie, Peterhead and Alloa all dropping points this week along with ourselves.
Posted Image

Guest_Black & White Dynamite_*

Decent performance tonight, the players really showed they wanted to win and were definetly up for the game. Why was Chris Robertson sent off though? Pleased with a point!

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMonster, on Feb 27 2008, 22:18, said:

Pretty much agree with all of that. Robertson should be fined a fortnights wages for kicking out for no reason - so stupid.

Is that what he was sent off for? If so then he can share the same taxi as Lowing. Last thing we need is players who are not giving thier all for the cause when the rest of the team is working hard.

Guest_Scott_AUFC_*

The referee seemed to indicate a stamp when he sent him off.

• Live Forever

View PostAUFC_Dave, on Feb 27 2008, 22:25, said:

Is that what he was sent off for? If so then he can share the same taxi as Lowing. Last thing we need is players who are not giving thier all for the cause when the rest of the team is working hard.

Aye, Ally Sargent spoke to his faither at half-time and he confirmed Robertson kicked the Airdrie player petulantly after the ball was gone.

I suspect the club will recieve a fine for disciplinary conduct at the end of the season.

Guest_Black & White Dynamite_*

I'm not a fan of Robertson but he was having a good game tonight. Why do something like that? Personally what I seen was the Airdrie player kicked him and should have been a freekick to Ayr.

Guest_AyrClaire_*

Cracking game tonight spoilt only by yet another card happy ref. Great to see some determination from Ayr for a change.
Didn't get a good look at the Robbo sending off, but if AUTV caught it we will soon see if he did kick out at the guy. I dread to think how much of a fine we're going to end up with if the disciplinary problems continue though. Even Reid was sent to the stand tonight.
First Ayr game I've really enjoyed for a while.

• Golden Shoe Winner
ah thats a shame, takes the shine of an otherwise pleasing performance.

Despite Reid being sent to the stand, i think it was pleasing to see him reacting as it shows he does care, something a few of our recent managers cant claim to have done.

User is offline   Ally G 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Gamertag:PSN: AllyG1910 XBox: ElPresaBEAST

View PostAUFC_Dave, on Feb 27 2008, 23:36, said:

ah thats a shame, takes the shine of an otherwise pleasing performance.

Despite Reid being sent to the stand, i think it was pleasing to see him reacting as it shows he does care, something a few of our recent managers cant claim to have done.

I just wish our substitutes had the same desire and determination. They couldnt even be bothered to warm up at half time. Sorry, but its not acceptable to just sit in the dug out guys. Just shows what a real lack of discipline we have at the club.

As for Chris Robertson, another one that should be shown the door. Absolutely idiotic kick-out, especially after Lowing did it on Saturday. He came up and sat with his parents in the second half, and when we scored he showed absolutely no reaction whatsoever. Sums it up really.

Anyway, onto the positives, and there were definately some to be taken from the game. The work rate and effort was much improved on Saturday, and on another night we might have won the game. The players worked their socks off, and special mentions to Neil McGowan, Dean Keenan and JV, who all put in a hell of a shift.

Every player (who stayed on the park for 90 minutes) should be proud of themselves tonight. More performances like that, and we wouldnt be in the position we're in. Unfortunately, our season has been full of inconsistancy, so who knows what will happen on Saturday.....

User is offline   Bri RCFC 

• Third Division Regular
  • Team:Ross County
CHAMPIO.......... nah better not ;)
Doo doo de doo doo McMenamin doo doo de doo

User is offline   Somerset 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostAyrClaire, on Feb 27 2008, 22:35, said:

Cracking game tonight spoilt only by yet another card happy ref. Great to see some determination from Ayr for a change.
Didn't get a good look at the Robbo sending off, but if AUTV caught it we will soon see if he did kick out at the guy. I dread to think how much of a fine we're going to end up with if the disciplinary problems continue though. Even Reid was sent to the stand tonight.
First Ayr game I've really enjoyed for a while.

I wouldn't worry too much about the fine. The minimum fine for a club that has been warned and has a 'suspended sanction' hanging over them is £1000. Historically, most fines have been around that mark in Division 2. Even if we were really bad boys, like Forfar were last season, it would probably only amount to £2000, which would get you about 15% of David Lowing in the transfer market...

What pleased me tonight was the effort and commitment shown. Airdrie were poor and failed miserably to capitalise on the man advantage, but much of that was down to some excellent defending and the fact that we kept 2 men up and hassled them constantly.

What I didn't like was some of the dangerous challenges we put in (Wardlaw) and stupid bookings we picked up (Williams and Stevenson).

User is offline   andymac 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
A point for the Jekyll and Hyde team and we deserved all 3. Where were we on Saturday when we can turn in that sort of display only days later. Okay Stevenson and Forrest coming back made a difference but really the whole team attitude was light years away. Cannae explain it. As for the officials, well I'm afraid they're one of the reasons Scottish football is so poor. That and our pitch.

PS Heard the Gr£tna score in the car going home. Straight to the hospital to get my sides sown up. :lol: :lol: :lol:

• Live Forever
I've only seen Keenan twice (Boxing Day at Hampden and tonight) but I am really impressed with him. He never stops running, challenges well and seems to know how to defend and pass the ball to a player on his own team.

User is offline   Jeff Venom 

• Third Division Sub
Definately deserved at least a point from that tonight, if not all 3 and who nows had we not been down to ten AGAIN we may have won.
I didnt properly see it but the boys around me said Robbo stamped on the airdrie guy. Got what he deserved.

I disagree with the guy earlier who said Airdrie scored against the run of play, i thought for the last 15mins of the first half they really started to take a hold of the game and i was particularly impressed with the number 10. He was excellent. But after that I thought only one team looked like winning.

Given all the (mostly petty) yellows we got (and Williams's was NEVER a foul, he was fully entitled to go for the ball and Keeper did brialliantly to get him booked), how Marc Smyth stayed on the park is a mystery

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMonster, on Feb 27 2008, 23:01, said:

I've only seen Keenan twice (Boxing Day at Hampden and tonight) but I am really impressed with him. He never stops running, challenges well and seems to know how to defend and pass the ball to a player on his own team.

He made an excellent run back to cover for the defense in the second half at 1-0, and made a superb last ditch tackle, just small things like that, are what we need from all our players. He's definetely a welcome addition to the squad, just a shame were gonna lose him next month, but hopefully, we sign him in the summer, as he's a player who id like to see alot more of.

User is offline   Tonsilitis 

• SPL Sub
  • Team:Greenock Morton

View PostMonster, on Feb 27 2008, 23:01, said:

He better not be too good! We might want him back and I am one of the Morton fans who thought we should never have let him go!
I plan on living forever! So far, so good!

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostTonsilitis, on Feb 27 2008, 23:13, said:

He better not be too good! We might want him back and I am one of the Morton fans who thought we should never have let him go!

Na, he's shite, lazy b*****d, cannae pass the ball. Dont know why wee keep playing him :unsure:

• (8 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »