Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Queen Of The South V Dundee - The Pie Shop

• (13 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »

Queen Of The South V Dundee Scottish Cup Quarter-Final..............

User is offline   MB 

• First Division Sub
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Queen of the South

View Postbonniedundee, on Feb 20 2008, 17:17, said:

I live in Asia so i wont be there whether it's at Palmerston, Dens or Hampden. Like the vast majority of football fans, i would generally only go to the home games anyway but for cup games i would travel. Most clubs only take less than 10% of their home support to away games in the league. An away game in Dumfries probably means leaving Dundee at 10am to get to Dumfries for around 1? Get something to eat then head to the match. Probably get home at again at 8 or 9pm. I would simply not spend 11 hours of my weekend to watch a run of the mill league game against anybody.

I understand where you're coming from, but everyone's different. I live near Liverpool and it takes me almost 3 hours to drive to Dumfries and obviously much longer to get to away games. I sometimes have work commitments at weekends, but desperately try to get to as many games as possible. The Dundee fixture will probably be around my 12th home game of the season and I've been to five away games as well. It helps that my parents live in Dumfries, so I can stay overnight if necessary. I just don't see any fixture involving Queens as 'a run of the mill league game against nobody', however.
Winner of the Pie and Bovril 1st Division Prediction League for 2011

User is offline   Dee4Life1893 

• First Division Regular
  • Team:Dundee
  • Gamertag:PSN: Dee4Life1893

View PostDoctor Who, on Feb 20 2008, 17:56, said:

If Queens make it to the semi-final or even better the final itself how many of these so-called Gretna fans will suddenly claim to be lifelong Queens fans. :1eye

How many so called Queens fans swelled the Gretna semi final crowd against us 2 years ago. And indeed the even larger final crowd.

2011/12 P&B NFL Fantasy & Prediction Champion

User is offline   Flash 

• First Division Sub

View PostDee4Life1893, on Feb 20 2008, 17:28, said:

Surely there would be justification if Queens don't sell out and we could have :unsure:

I'm only kidding. Purely for segregation issues this could never happen, could it?

Do away teams ever get to use part of the terracing??

Gretna "fans" used part of the terracing at the other end of the ground (normally closed) when they brought 1,500 "fans" to the first game last season. Strangely, they had more "fans" for that away game than they had for their home games.
Most of them were home for 5pm after staying to the end of the match.

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
  • Team:Heart of Midlothian
Queens 9-0 Dundee. MacFarlane to score nine.
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

User is offline   kristov 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
What's a Hearts fan doing in the cup forums?

:P
"Dundee was the best, it was my second home," Nemsadze said. "I loved it very much. Georgians and Scots both have the same kind of character. They are all very warm people. Scotland will always be my second home. I was there for three-and-a-half years. For me, my best moment was the chip I scored* in the derby against Dundee United."

"Lee is now at Dundee United?" an incredulous Nemsadze asked. "Ah ... he is a bad boy. He has crossed the street."

*Georgian Magic

Jocky Scott,
Super-star,
How many goals have you scored so far?

User is offline   The Master 

• My name...is The Master

View PostMakoliunas, on Feb 21 2008, 13:16, said:

Queens 9-0 Dundee. MacFarlane to score nine.

ALBERT KIDD, ALBERT KIDD, ALBERT KIDD

View PostHibeeJibee, on 03 December 2010 - 14:20, said:

We need summer football and a sectional League Cup, no doubt, but we also need an 18-team SPL...

TheMaster@ThePub:~$ sudo apt-get install beer

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!

View PostDee4Life1893, on Feb 20 2008, 20:04, said:

How many so called Queens fans swelled the Gretna semi final crowd against us 2 years ago. And indeed the even larger final crowd.

Probably less than the Dee fans that swelled United's last cup final support. :P

And their European Runs of the 80's.

This post has been edited by qos_75: 21 February 2008 - 21:51

Look at you. You're a slippery genius!

Guest_FTDabs_*

• Group: Surfer

View Postqos_75, on Feb 21 2008, 21:49, said:

Probably less than the Dee fans that swelled United's last cup final support. :P

And their European Runs of the 80's.

More truth in that than you realise, we did win them the fair play stand after all.

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
  • Team:Heart of Midlothian

View Postkristov, on Feb 21 2008, 17:22, said:

What's a Hearts fan doing in the cup forums?

:P

Following big Nelly Mac, obviously. :D

View PostEastFootball, on Feb 21 2008, 18:06, said:

ALBERT KIDD, ALBERT KIDD, ALBERT KIDD

I wasn't born in 1986.

Neither were you.
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

View PostMakoliunas, on Feb 22 2008, 13:57, said:

I wasn't born in 1986.

Neither were you.

Bovvered.

We need summer football and a sectional League Cup, no doubt, but we also need an 18-team SPL...

Guest_Insight_*

View PostMakoliunas, on Feb 22 2008, 13:57, said:

I wasn't born in 1986.

Neither were you.

I was and i was at the game - never seen so many grown men crying whilst us dundee fans were pishing ourselves :lol:

User is online   dundeebarry 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostInsight, on Feb 22 2008, 19:39, said:

I was and i was at the game - never seen so many grown men crying whilst us dundee fans were pishing ourselves :lol:

I was there too. I was 8 years old at the time, but I still managed to see the funny side of seeing so many grown men in stone wash jeans crying like wee lassies.

Albert Kidd butt-fucked the Jambos good and proper that day. No foreplay, no lube, just a big cock up the arse of their title challenge.
KEN AYE.

User is offline   Mak QOSFC 

• First Division Superstar
Got my ticket this morning. B)

User is offline   Doctor Who 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View Postdancing queen, on Feb 20 2008, 16:05, said:

Dundee have been allocated 2200 tickets of which there are only 300 or so left at the time of sending this. Queens could easily sell more than that to their home support. I imagine a few ex Gretna fans will be tempted to come given the current state of affairs at Raydale Park. I for one do not mind paying £18 for a ticket. If we get through to the semis it will be well worth it. :rolleyes:

Just a warning for any Queens fans going to buy a ticket for the Dundee game -

The club are charging an extra pound for anyone using a debit or credit card. :angry:

User is offline   Mak QOSFC 

• First Division Superstar

View PostDoctor Who, on Feb 24 2008, 13:55, said:

The club are charging an extra pound for anyone using a debit or credit card. :angry:

:o BOYCOTT!!!!!!

User is offline   Doctor Who 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View PostMak QOSFC, on Feb 24 2008, 14:15, said:

:o BOYCOTT!!!!!!

I've never known the club to do anything like this before (correct me if I'm wrong), but I was only trying to be helpful, Im not trying to stop people going. The extra pound might be a lot to some people, especially those on such poor wages such as myself. :rolleyes:

Just for the record I paid cash. :rolleyes:

User is offline   Juan Sara 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Oh christ not a whole pound surley :o
I was born under a Union Jack

User is offline   MB 

• First Division Sub

We were warned about this on 14th February. From the OS:

"There will be a £1 charge on each ticket purchased by credit/debit card to cover the commission charged by the Credit Card Companies. Postage, where required, will be free."
Winner of the Pie and Bovril 1st Division Prediction League for 2011

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man

View PostDoctor Who, on Feb 24 2008, 15:20, said:

I've never known the club to do anything like this before (correct me if I'm wrong), but I was only trying to be helpful, Im not trying to stop people going. The extra pound might be a lot to some people, especially those on such poor wages such as myself. :rolleyes:

Just for the record I paid cash. :rolleyes:

Thanks to MB for pointing out already that this was forward announced.

We HAVE charged it before but only for away match tickets where we had no actual gain on them. We added a credit card charge on Gretna away tickets last season since all the money raised from those was directly passed to Gretna so we'd have made a loss to sell them on cards on their behalf.

For the Hibs game and the New Year Gretna game last year, the only two previous ticketed matches since we actually got credit card facilities, the club took the loss on match tickets bought using plastic but so many are now using that method that it was starting to become a significant cost and of course we have to give a percentage of the gate to Dundee so effectively we'd be subsidising their share.

I'd think most football clubs charge a fee to use credit cards do they not? I know when I've bought tickets for games elsewhere I've been asked for it.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

Dundee don't.

User is offline   dodgydi 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
With the end of our winning run, the injury to Bob Harris (one of our best performers in recent weeks), JT being sent off and not getting a game next week and the fact that Dundee seem to be hitting a good run of form and scoring for fun, do folk think that this puts Dundee in the position of being favourites to win the quarter final?

My head says that Dundee might just be a wee bit too strong for us but I am still hopefull that with a wee bit of luck we can still pull it off, i would just love to go to hampden with the queens. It would be the best moment of my 28 years supporting the queens. I was there when we lifted the challenge cup, and have had mixed emotions over the years as we have gone up and down the leagues, but this would be special. "We know our manners" belting out at hampden, magic!!

But, I'll survive if we dont win, Im used to waking up on the morning after after defeat and thinking, "next week, we will win next week", and eventually it comes true.
One of these seasons we will get to hampden in the cup, one year we will be challenging for the title. We will get our chance. :D

The Challenge Cup Final has never been played at Hampden :blink: (It theoretically could, with it being an SFL ground and all, but the chances of it happening are slim-to-nil.)

This post has been edited by EastFootball: 25 February 2008 - 00:50

Guest_Donnerkebab_*

Good luck to QOTS, knock these chunts out.

User is offline   dodgydi 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
just meant i was there when they won it, not that they won it at hampden.

why not just answer the question instead of picking up on my obvious poor literation.

View Postdodgydi, on Feb 25 2008, 09:19, said:

just meant i was there when they won it, not that they won it at hampden.

why not just answer the question instead of picking up on my obvious poor literation.

Wow, take a chill pill.

• (13 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »