P&b Running Club Runners of all abilities welcome. Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Thundermonkey 

• Pre-Badger
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Falkirk
That's 3 confirmed and 8 maybes :) That's a better response than I'd hoped for.

I'll get a couple of easy challenges set up tonight (private so they are P&B exclusives) and post the details, sending out invites to the usernames that we have so far. I'll make the start date Sunday 17th of Feb (just over a week).

Feel free to set more challenging targets.

• Pre-Badger
Most Miles in a Month
P&B Sprint Star
OF vs The Diddies (I know there are some Rangers supporting Nike+ runners out there)

Invites out to Watty and Scottybarr. If you want to get involved get your Nike+ username posted or PM it to me.

Or throw down your own gauntlet and challenge other (My username is Thundrmonkey, feel free to add me).

User is offline   hazel1884 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
I don't have this Nike malark but went out running for the first time since August last year. By god, i've missed it!

Felt i could have just kept running for ages! Good for a change from the gym/class :D
Mon the Saints!

User is offline   ScottyB 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
  • Gamertag:scottybarr
Joined the challenges! Should motivate me to work a bit harder!

I think it'll still take me a few weeks to adapt back to running, set myself a few goals for pace and distance though.
Scott

Guest_Scofield_*

• Group: Surfer
Decided to save a few quid and get it from someone for my birthday. Could I join in a couple of weeks or does it have to be now for it to work?

• Pre-Badger

View PostScofield, on Feb 8 2008, 00:34, said:

Decided to save a few quid and get it from someone for my birthday. Could I join in a couple of weeks or does it have to be now for it to work?

Nah, I can add you to these challenges whenever. Just start your own when you're ready and I'm sure we'll all join in as well.

User is offline   bully wee dave 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde
Got my gear delivered this morning. I think I've added you Thundrmonkey but I'm not too sure, still got to familiarise myself. Just done 3k there to try it out, seems pretty decent. My nikename is davyashy, would you be able to add me to the challenges?
It's only a diddy cup anyway!

• Pre-Badger

View Postbully wee dave, on Feb 9 2008, 11:35, said:

Got my gear delivered this morning. I think I've added you Thundrmonkey but I'm not too sure, still got to familiarise myself. Just done 3k there to try it out, seems pretty decent. My nikename is davyashy, would you be able to add me to the challenges?

Added.

Up to 4 now.

User is offline   Watty 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:PSN: perthsaint
8.81 mile run today, sports massage yesterday worked v good, hamstrings now feeling alot less tight :) Eases off on the pace today also, 1 hour 15 mins, perfect morning for running, i smell spring!!!

User is offline   bully wee dave 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde
Thanks for the add TM, going for my first real run (since getting equipped) tomorrow.
It's only a diddy cup anyway!

• Pre-Badger
Off the top of my head I think Watty has the fastest mile so far and I may be in front for the most miles.

Even if there are only 4 folk signed up so far it's still a good motivational tool as I'm heading out for a fast run tonight ;)

User is offline   Captain_Sensible 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren
I have now ran 269 miles in the last 31 days since I returned to training from injury. I suspect that will dwarf what you have done Thundermonkey! :P

I did an 18 mile run on Sunday morning in just over 2 hrs and 6 mins, averaging 7.01 minute miles - and I felt comfortable.

I have ran a further 27 miles since then and managed to run from my work in Glasgow to Paisley Gilmour Street Station last night (7 miles exactly) in 49 mins and 14 secs (7 minute miles approx)..... and that was an 'easy' run.... and I'd ran the 7 miles into Glasgow in the morning!

The only single miles I have done have been part of an interval session. Last Tues I ran 4 one mile intervals with 60 secs rest between each. I did them all in under 6 minutes with the quickest being 5.50. Also ran 3 ten minute intervals at sub 6 minute mile pace last Thursday lunchtime...... this after running the 8.5 miles into work. Easy! I was back out for a double session on the Firday. B)

Target is now 2 hrs 50 mins for this year's Edinburgh Marathon. Going by last year's results, that may get me in the top 25 (out of about 3,500).

Catch me if you can. :D

This post has been edited by Captain_Sensible: 20 February 2008 - 13:04

Danny Lennon must go!

• Pre-Badger
I'm very pleased for you. Not as pleased as I was with my 9 mile run on Sunday but there you go :rolleyes:

Have you got the Nike+ stuff Sensible? If so then I'm more than happy to add you (then you can be the best at all the challenges ;) )

Guest_Second Coming_*

View PostCaptain_Sensible, on Feb 20 2008, 12:57, said:

I have now ran 269 miles in the last 31 days since I returned to training from injury. I suspect that will dwarf what you have done Thundermonkey! :P

I did an 18 mile run on Sunday morning in just over 2 hrs and 6 mins, averaging 7.01 minute miles - and I felt comfortable.

I have ran a further 27 miles since then and managed to run from my work in Glasgow to Paisley Gilmour Street Station last night (7 miles exactly) in 49 mins and 14 secs (7 minute miles approx)..... and that was an 'easy' run.... and I'd ran the 7 miles into Glasgow in the morning!

The only single miles I have done have been part of an interval session. Last Tues I ran 4 one mile intervals with 60 secs rest between each. I did them all in under 6 minutes with the quickest being 5.50. Also ran 3 ten minute intervals at sub 6 minute mile pace last Thursday lunchtime...... this after running the 8.5 miles into work. Easy! I was back out for a double session on the Firday. B)

Target is now 2 hrs 50 mins for this year's Edinburgh Marathon. Going by last year's results, that may get me in the top 25 (out of about 3,500).

Catch me if you can. :D

A marathon is the last thing you are needing ya skelf.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostThundermonkey, on Feb 20 2008, 13:12, said:

I'm very pleased for you. Not as pleased as I was with my 9 mile run on Sunday but there you go :rolleyes:

Have you got the Nike+ stuff Sensible? If so then I'm more than happy to add you (then you can be the best at all the challenges ;) )

Had a look today but my web access at work is backward and I don't have the flash player required. I may have a look at home tonight if I remember.
Danny Lennon must go!

• Pre-Badger

View PostCaptain_Sensible, on Feb 20 2008, 13:17, said:

Had a look today but my web access at work is backward and I don't have the flash player required. I may have a look at home tonight if I remember.

If you do you'll be able to join some more challenging events against folk all over the world.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostThundermonkey, on Feb 20 2008, 13:23, said:

If you do you'll be able to join some more challenging events against folk all over the world.

The only challenge I'm interested in is sub 3 hours at Edinburgh this year. I aim to demolish that target. :D

An easy 44 min 10k jog back to my mum & dad's tonight to get the car and pick up the kids before I put my feet up to enjoy Barcelona humping Celtic whilst I demolish a sweet & sour chicken carry out. :D
Danny Lennon must go!

Guest_Second Coming_*

Rookies. You obviously know nothing about the nutrition aspect of fitness.

• Pre-Badger

View PostSecond Coming, on Feb 20 2008, 13:39, said:

Rookies. You obviously know nothing about the nutrition aspect of fitness.

You tell us, Bad Uncle/Psycho FFC :rolleyes:

Guest_Second Coming_*

Who?

If you are geniunely interested I could take you to school on the nutrition aspect of fitness, its more important than the excercise itself!

• Pre-Badger

View PostSecond Coming, on Feb 20 2008, 13:43, said:

Who?

If you are geniunely interested I could take you to school on the nutrition aspect of fitness, its more important than the excercise itself!

Where the hell has this aggression come from? On the steroids?

User is offline   Jamie_Beatson 

• First Division Signing Target
My calf muscles are buggered. No matter how much stretching I do before/after/during a run they hurt like a b*****d.
We Are Perth Forum - Unofficial St Johnstone F.C. Fans forum
We Are Perth Fanzine - St Johnstone F.C. Fanzine online

Guest_Second Coming_*

View PostThundermonkey, on Feb 20 2008, 13:47, said:

Where the hell has this aggression come from? On the steroids?

:lol: Not at all, I'm what they call au natural. A mixture of passion and protein combined to form a fitness warrior.

Out of interest, are any of you taking supplements?

• Pre-Badger

View PostJamie_Beatson, on Feb 20 2008, 13:48, said:

My calf muscles are buggered. No matter how much stretching I do before/after/during a run they hurt like a b*****d.

I'm the same, my right calf is mostly like a brick.

I might need to get some one to pound it back into shape.

Guest_Second Coming_*

Creatine should sort those mothers out!

• (95 Pages) +
  • Last »