City Breaks 2008 Recommendations required... Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Queen of the South
  • Euro 2012:Germany
Whilst travelling back from Dumfries yesterday in the gloom of the rain, thoughts turned to a mini break. Something around the 5 days to a week mark. I fancy Croatia or Serbia, I heard Split & Dubrovnik were nice and have decent weather about the end of May. I also heard Belgrade was quiet nice as well. Poland might also be a consideration.

Has anyone been to the aforementioned places and would they recommend them? Alternatively, recommendations for any other destination outwith the UK will be welcomed as well.

Obviously Vartex will be the man in the know for Croatia. ;)

Sorry, that should now be Vintex.

This post has been edited by qos_75: 14 January 2008 - 15:53

Look at you. You're a slippery genius!

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain
Was in Budapest last month with my girlfriend and thought it was excellent.

I can't recommend Barcelona enough, however.

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!

View PostGaz, on Jan 14 2008, 15:39, said:

Was in Budapest last month with my girlfriend and thought it was excellent.

I can't recommend Barcelona enough, however.

Yeah both these places are nice. I visited Barcelona two years ago, and Budapest the year before. Both great places and they might come into contention.

User is offline   H Wragg 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
I'm going to Krakow a week on Friday.

I'll report back.

User is offline   FFCinthearea 

• First Division Regular
Try Den Haag. It's a beautiful city and it's only a short distance from Amsterdam.

User is offline   Mr X 

• I'm Mr. "X"! Gimme, gimme!
  • Group: Global Moderators
A fairly obvious one, but Rome is superb :)
All my posts are bullplop. Bullplop!

User is online   pub car king 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:PSN pubcarking
YOU CAN GET TO NEW YORK FAIRLY CHEAP THESE DAYS

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
Good suggestions so far. Krakow, is certainly in the mix. My neighbour is from Poland and was telling me that it is beautiful. I look forward to your report mate.

User is offline   Watty 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
  • Gamertag:PSN: perthsaint
Icelandair usually do some good flight and accom deals from Glasgow to Rekyavik thru their website, Blue Lagoon meant to be good, a wee bit different from mainland Europe, fancied it myself for a while but not managed to get yet.

User is offline   Mak QOSFC 

• First Division Superstar
Naples is a wonderful safe city.

User is offline   Mr. Brightside 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Gamertag:PSN - BabyFratelli

View Postqos_75, on Jan 14 2008, 15:35, said:

Whilst travelling back from Dumfries yesterday in the gloom of the rain, thoughts turned to a mini break. Something around the 5 days to a week mark. I fancy Croatia or Serbia, I heard Split & Dubrovnik were nice and have decent weather about the end of May. I also heard Belgrade was quiet nice as well. Poland might also be a consideration.

Has anyone been to the aforementioned places and would they recommend them? Alternatively, recommendations for any other destination outwith the UK will be welcomed as well.

If you are looking for something more central, I would recommend Berlin, I went in December and had a brilliant time, its worth a look, there is so much to see and do!
It's getting kind of hard to believe things are going to get better. I've been drowning too long to believe that the tide is going to turn. And I've been living too hard to believe things are going to get easier now. I'm still trying to shake off the pain from the lessons I've learned. And if I see Van Helsing, I swear to the lord I will slay him. AHA HA HA. He take you from me but I swear I won't let it be so. AHA HA HA. Blood, will run done his face, when he is decapitated AH! His head on my mantle is how I will let this world know...how much I love you.
Die, die, die....I can't

Posted Image

User is offline   McMuffin 

• My Team:Ross County

View PostMak QOSFC, on Jan 14 2008, 17:33, said:

Naples is a wonderful safe city.

You'll get there right cheap these days too, and you'll come back with a mild suntan, cheap duty free and cholera.
Posted Image

View PostMcMuffin, on Jan 14 2008, 18:51, said:

You'll get there right cheap these days too, and you'll come back with a mild suntan, cheap duty free and cholera.

Slash wounds, no wallet and a permanent stench.

User is offline   The Phoenix 

• Vote for Cold Showers
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:XBL World Champion
Depends what you're looking for? Relaxing or action packed?

If it's action you're after, Baghdad's got to be on the shortlist.

The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
Okay then, so that's Naples of the list. :)

View Postqos_75, on Jan 14 2008, 19:16, said:

Okay then, so that's Naples of the list. :)

Hey it's not all bad the views are incredible and you can always take in a Napoli game. :)

Attached File  Napoli_2.jpg (517.34K)
Number of downloads: 3
Attached File  Stadio_San_Paolo_3.jpg (187.91K)
Number of downloads: 4

User is offline   marty_j 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View Postqos_75, on Jan 14 2008, 15:35, said:

Krakow is excellent. Beautiful city. Nice and compact and loads of great places to eat and drink. You can get there for pennies from Scotland nowadays.

I went 4 years ago and still my favourite city break.

Cheap too (or it was)
"So all the kids are b*****ds,

But don't blame them, yeah, they learn by example.

Blame the folks who sold the future for the highest bid:

That's right, Thatcher f***** the kids"

User is offline   Lordofthewing 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Gamertag:XBL & Steam: VeryHungover

View PostMak QOSFC, on Jan 14 2008, 18:53, said:

Slash wounds, no wallet and a permanent stench.

Dumfries isn't that bad, surely?

:P
You see a mouse trap
I see free cheese and a fucking challenge...

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!

View Postmarty_j, on Jan 16 2008, 15:42, said:

Krakow is excellent. Beautiful city. Nice and compact and loads of great places to eat and drink. You can get there for pennies from Scotland nowadays.

I went 4 years ago and still my favourite city break.

Cheap too (or it was)

That's sounding good, I shall investigate further. I think you can fly from Edinburgh as well, which would be handy.

My GF has been doing some digging and we can rent an apartment in Vienna (During the European Championships) for £300 for a week. This is on her work intranet. That sounds not too bad. Vienna is supposed to be a bit pricey though. That said, I am sure it is a beautiful city, so it is an option.

User is offline   Colin M 

• Bass Cadet
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View Postandycqos, on Jan 14 2008, 16:23, said:

A fairly obvious one, but Rome is superb :)

Having just returned from a weekend there, I agree wholeheartedly. You will come away desperate to go back. The Sistine Chapel and St Peter's are completely overwhelming.
"Well I've had enough of morons and half-wits, dolts, dunces, dullards and dumbbells, and you chowderhead yokel, you blithering hayseed, you've had enough of me?"

User is offline   Mr X 

• I'm Mr. "X"! Gimme, gimme!
  • Group: Global Moderators

View PostColin M, on Jan 16 2008, 16:05, said:

Having just returned from a weekend there, I agree wholeheartedly. You will come away desperate to go back. The Sistine Chapel and St Peter's are completely overwhelming.

Get the old thread dug out and tell us all about it then ;)
All my posts are bullplop. Bullplop!

• Third Division Sub

View Postqos_75, on Jan 16 2008, 15:55, said:

That's sounding good, I shall investigate further. I think you can fly from Edinburgh as well, which would be handy.

My GF has been doing some digging and we can rent an apartment in Vienna (During the European Championships) for £300 for a week. This is on her work intranet. That sounds not too bad. Vienna is supposed to be a bit pricey though. That said, I am sure it is a beautiful city, so it is an option.

Good cheap apartments in Krakow about £50 a night

http://www.krakow-apartments.biz/

Sleazy Jet fly there from Edinburgh now

User is online   young_bairn 

• Third Division Sub
Oslo was pretty sweet.

Falkirk are chasing 6th in the SPL, which I believe would be their best ever finish

Falkirk FC breaking the rules once more........According to Bloobell-End

User is offline   lichtgilphead 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Arbroath

View Postmarty_j, on Jan 16 2008, 22:39, said:

Good cheap apartments in Krakow about £50 a night

http://www.krakow-apartments.biz/

Sleazy Jet fly there from Edinburgh now

I would suggest at least a week to "do" Krakow properly. There's no way you can do the "must-sees" in a weekend.

Takes a day to visit Auschwitz properly, and another full day to do the Salt Mine.

Within the city, it'll take another 2-3 days just to do the main attractions.

Riga's not bad for a weekend if you're doing the "couple" thing - they're cracking down on stag do's though

• Third Division Sub

View Postlichtgilphead, on Jan 16 2008, 22:57, said:

I would suggest at least a week to "do" Krakow properly. There's no way you can do the "must-sees" in a weekend.

Takes a day to visit Auschwitz properly, and another full day to do the Salt Mine.

Within the city, it'll take another 2-3 days just to do the main attractions.

Riga's not bad for a weekend if you're doing the "couple" thing - they're cracking down on stag do's though

agreed, we didn't 'do' Auschwitz but travelled up to Chenstewova and down to Zakopane on Slovakian border. Zakopane is stunning, it's in Tatra mountains and you can take cable car up mountain and cross border into Slovakia.

• (2 Pages) +