Cowden 1 Raith 4 Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Unknown Caller 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Scotland
Sounds like the great unwashed were outplayed and we were well worth our victory :D

Mon the Rovers B)

This post has been edited by Steven: 02 January 2008 - 17:40

User is offline   CooCoothenoo 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Cowdenbeath
Both teams were pretty average, especially the defences. The turning point was at 1-1 when Scullion got himself stupidly sent off for simulating a headbutt. p***k. Up to that point it could have gone either way.

User is offline   Monster 

• Live Forever
  • Team:Other
Templeton scored. I bet he was brilliant. :(
Gonna take that tiger outside for a ride

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMonster, on Jan 2 2008, 17:05, said:

Templeton scored. I bet he was brilliant. :(

Dosen't look like you need him judging by your score today :blink:

User is offline   The Blue Brasilion 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
What a performance from raith's new signing 'THE REFEREE'

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostCooCoothenoo, on Jan 2 2008, 17:00, said:

Both teams were pretty average, especially the defences. The turning point was at 1-1 when Scullion got himself stupidly sent off for simulating a headbutt. p***k. Up to that point it could have gone either way.

Tough titties ;)

View PostThe Blue Brasilion, on Jan 2 2008, 17:23, said:

:lol: :rolleyes:

User is offline   Bobby 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • Team:Raith Rovers
Dont know what happened with the sending off but the ref gave more dodgy decisions in cowdungs favour.
Still GIRFUY

User is offline   Michael W 

• Keeping it direct
I thought we were well worth the win today, Cowden never really had many chances and for me we were the better team, especially in the second half.

First half, We scored, hit the bar and templeton missed a good chance. Cowden scored with what may have been their first chance of the game. Unfortunately, Manson scored, something us Rovers fans just didn't see him do. After Cowden scored, I think the game got bogged down a little and was a midfield battle. Goodwillie came off for Hislop after half an hour so I'm assuming he was injured?

Second half we were much better although I will agree with the guy who said the red card was the turning point. After that we were the only team really in it. Hissy took his header well and Templeton fired in a cracking shot. I though Weir took his goal well too, but the Cowden defence really went to sleep for that one.

As far as performances go, I have to say I'm pleased with how most players played. Templeton looked like he has some ability and I was impressed with his performance. Wilson and Sloan were also outstanding and I though Winter played well too. Everyone else contributed well and Hissy was effective when he came on. I didn't think Weir played to well, although I'll give him credit for his goal.

Since we won, can I feel free to slag of Central Park without being accused of sour grapes?

A good win. Always great to put your rivals in their place :D .

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostBobby, on Jan 2 2008, 17:30, said:

Dont know what happened with the sending off but the ref gave more dodgy decisions in cowdungs favour.
Still GIRFUY

What game were you at

Weir (my name doesn't sound lithuanian to be a jambo) pulled more shirts than a fairy and got away with it countless times

Your two centre defenders had about 30 fouls between them with not one booking or talking too

The sending off reflected the score line not the Rovers play or little descisions, dodgy or not that Cowden got.

• Keeping it direct

View PostThe Blue Brasilion, on Jan 2 2008, 17:23, said:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

LOLERSKATES

What a load of pish. Cowden were on the recieiving end of most the bad decisions. Please explain exactly where you feel there has been injustice from the referee.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   Enigma 

• I am not in the condition to f**k!

View PostThe Blue Brasilion, on Jan 2 2008, 17:35, said:

What game were you at

Weir (my name doesn't sound lithuanian to be a jambo) pulled more shirts than a fairy and got away with it countless times

Your two centre defenders had about 30 fouls between them with not one booking or talking too

The sending off reflected the score line not the Rovers play or little descisions, dodgy or not that Cowden got.

Dry your eyes!
Posted Image

User is offline   Mon the Rovers 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostSteven, on Jan 2 2008, 16:55, said:

Mon the Rovers B)

You called? :P

Just wrote this on Fantalk, and :lol: at the bitter 'Blue Brasillian' guy.

We played fairly well today, my MOM would either be Craig Wilson or Stevie Hislop, who again played very well.

We started very brightly with Andy Tod hitting the bar before good play between Goodwillie and Templeton ended in a tap-in for Sloan. They hit us with a total sucker punch, although in fairness to Manson, it was a good header.

We responded with pretty much nothing aprt from Wilson forcing a save from the keeper and the second half started fairly poorly as well. The frustration in both sets of players was building before Scullion and Sloan had a wee scuffle. Sloan had his legs swiped from him, gave Scullion a wee nudge and they went head to head. They were pulled apart a wee bit before Scullion swung his head, and missed. A soft sending off but by the letter of the law he has to go. Bizarrely, Sloan was booked and Cowen got the free kick! :blink:

After that it was one-way for the next 30 minutes or so, Hislop scored a great header after good work by Sloan before Templeton smashed in an excellent solo effort a minute later.

The game petered out a wee bit but with Cowden still in their own half and Weir turned his man and found the top corner late on. We had a few wee chances to make it 5 towards the end, but all in all a good performance although the sending-off certainly contributed to the final scoreline.

Standouts for me today were Sloan, Hislop and most notbly Wilson, but in fairness no-one really had a bad game.

User is offline   Yoss 

• broon sauce virgin
Do you think it was be possible to call them "Cowdenbeath" rather than "Cowdung"?

Just 'cause otherwise, y'know, it makes Rovers fans look like a bunch of fannies.
twohundredpercent
The award-winning football blog.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMon the Rovers, on Jan 2 2008, 17:36, said:

:lol: ;)

And I became an Uncle for the first time today so it's been a fantastic day all around B)

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

good play between Goodwillie and Templeton ended in a tap-in for Sloan.

Goodwille put in a two footed takle on Gillfillan before the ball broke too Sloan, one of the many incidents the ref let away

• International Call Up

View PostThe Blue Brasilion, on Jan 2 2008, 17:39, said:

Goodwille put in a two footed takle on Gillfillan before the ball broke too Sloan, one of the many incidents the ref let away

:lol: :lol:

Keep it coming mate, I'm pissing myself laughing here... god, I thought our fans were bitter!

And congratulations Steven, the poor wee bugger doesn't know what he's in for :lol:

• Keeping it direct

View PostThe Blue Brasilion, on Jan 2 2008, 17:39, said:

You found your dummy yet?

User is offline   Only coo in the village 

• First Division Regular
Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club. Until his sending off Cowden were the better team and were troubling Raith with our pace. After numpty Scullion got his jotters it became one way traffic and Rovers took full advantage and could have scored more. The Raith fans who booed Gilfillan when he was injured and had to go off were pathetic. Anyone could see that he was genuinely hurt and he is the last player who would feign injury. Thanks for all the cash though and for lowering your personal standards and joining us at the Thunderdome.

User is offline   Bobby 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

What game were you at

Our two centre defenders "fouls" were for your players climbing all over them, weird weird refereeing decisions most of the time.
I agree about weir tugging shirts one or two times, but as i said, most of the decisions went in your favour.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostOnly coo in the village, on Jan 2 2008, 17:42, said:

Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club.

Heard in the club bar that Alloa are interested in signing Scullion
Gifted the game to Raith today

User is offline   Yoss 

• broon sauce virgin
Ah, thank you Steven, you're not a bad lad.

Anyway, no question the sending off turned the game today. I thought we were edging it and like to think we'd have won anyway, but you couldn't honestly say there was a lot in it up to that point, but it was one-way traffic thereafter.
twohundredpercent

• International Call Up

Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club. Until his sending off Cowden were the better team and were troubling Raith with our pace.

Erm, I don't want to get into any silly little arguments, but where did you get that one from? :blink: Cowden barely had a chance apart from the goal!

FWIW, I think the fans were booing the referee for giving a horrendous decision in Cowden's favour. Gilfillan jumped on Davidson's back and went over the top of him.

User is offline   Yoss 

• broon sauce virgin

He's right there, Weir is a cheaty wee shite that way, always on the ref's blind side.
twohundredpercent

• Keeping it direct

Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club. Until his sending off Cowden were the better team and were troubling Raith with our pace. After numpty Scullion got his jotters it became one way traffic and Rovers took full advantage and could have scored more. The Raith fans who booed Gilfillan when he was injured and had to go off were pathetic. Anyone could see that he was genuinely hurt and he is the last player who would feign injury. Thanks for all the cash though and for lowering your personal standards and joining us at the Thunderdome.

Most of us were actually shouting at the referee. Despite Gilfillan injuring himself (I think he's dislocated his shoulder) he put in a stupid challenge and we should have had a free kick.

As for your comments about Cowden being the better team - no chance.

This post has been edited by MW RRFC: 02 January 2008 - 17:47

User is offline   renton 

• Beetles know this, beetles are good doctors

Just wrote this on Fantalk, and :lol: at the bitter 'Blue Brasillian' guy.

We played fairly well today, my MOM would either be Craig Wilson or Stevie Hislop, who again played very well.

We started very brightly with Andy Tod hitting the bar before good play between Goodwillie and Templeton ended in a tap-in for Sloan. They hit us with a total sucker punch, although in fairness to Manson, it was a good header.

We responded with pretty much nothing aprt from Wilson forcing a save from the keeper and the second half started fairly poorly as well. The frustration in both sets of players was building before Scullion and Sloan had a wee scuffle. Sloan had his legs swiped from him, gave Scullion a wee nudge and they went head to head. They were pulled apart a wee bit before Scullion swung his head, and missed. A soft sending off but by the letter of the law he has to go. Bizarrely, Sloan was booked and Cowen got the free kick! :blink:

After that it was one-way for the next 30 minutes or so, Hislop scored a great header after good work by Sloan before Templeton smashed in an excellent solo effort a minute later.

The game petered out a wee bit but with Cowden still in their own half and Weir turned his man and found the top corner late on. We had a few wee chances to make it 5 towards the end, but all in all a good performance although the sending-off certainly contributed to the final scoreline.

Standouts for me today were Sloan, Hislop and most notbly Wilson, but in fairness no-one really had a bad game.

I'd agree with all of that, now that my hands have warmed up enough to allow typing.... I thought Cowden had a lot of the ball after they scored and could quite easily have gone 2-1 up but for some really poor decision making and shite finishing from the cowden frontline.

Cowden looked well up for it and I think that ultimately told against them with Scullion allowing his temper to get the better of him, you can't just attempt to stick the head in and expect to stay on the field...

For me the sucker punch was the third goal coming right on top of the second, at 2-1 their forwards could still cause problems, especially on the break and they could have sneaked back into the game but Tempelton's finish really took the wind out of them.

My stand outs were Hislop, Wilson and Sloan -I have a bit of hope for Templeton as well. Also, Cowden no10 (help me out here, I'm bad with opposition names) had a good busy game I thought
What does a scanner see? he asked himself. I mean, really see? Into the head? Down into the heart? Does a passive infrared scanner like they used to use or a cube-type holo-scanner like they use these days, the latest thing, see into me—into us—clearly or darkly? I hope it does, he thought, see clearly, because I can’t any longer these days see into myself. I see only murk. Murk outside; murk inside. I hope, for everyone’s sake, the scanners do better. Because, he thought, if the scanner sees only darkly, the way I myself do, then we are cursed, cursed again and like we have been continually, and we’ll wind up dead this way, knowing very little and getting that little fragment wrong too.

• (6 Pages) +
  • Last »