Stirling 1-3 Queens Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Stirling Albion

View PostSkyline Drifter, on Dec 15 2007, 22:29, said:

Hopefully it's starting to irritate you as much as it irritated us at the time. It certainly appears to be. :lol:

Aye...whatever peels yer onions :blink:

User is offline   Distant Doonhamer 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Team:Queen of the South

View PostRedWeb, on Dec 15 2007, 21:39, said:

Can someone please explain the relevance of 12 year old fanzine quote ? We have played QOS several times since then and it's not even remotely interesting or relevant any more to anyone except you. Time to give it a rest. You were a pub team in 1995/96...you're not now..I'm sure even big Steve would agree :angry:

As for the game...we were crap and I'm starting to get irritated losing to teams who are nothing special. Bring on the East Fife.

Progress indeed. From a pub team to one that is nothing special. Mind you, correct on both counts TBH

Guest_Twynholm_*

• Group: Surfer
Never made today and missed my 1st game for years due to lack of funds trully gutted. Heard we outclassed Stirling and desevred win delighted thoroughly bring on the pars. Tosh is a hero B)

User is offline   Palmerston_1919 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
a result which merely papers over the cracks. it was a good result and was desperately needed but a long hard season beckons

User is offline   Raving On 

• First Division Sub

View PostPalmerston_1919, on Dec 16 2007, 02:07, said:

a result which merely papers over the cracks. it was a good result and was desperately needed but a long hard season beckons

You're maybe not far wrong mate. We were absolutely horrific today although you did look better than the Clyde team that beat us.

SD, I have to say I thought the penalty we got was a stonewaller. The defender completely flattened Cramb, who never really got a chance to jump. I know he buys a lot of free-kicks that way but that seemed a very obvious penalty to me. Not entirely sure how he could have sustained ligament damage had he not left the ground. Not that it matters; as you say the better team won :(
The Greek!

User is offline   peteqos 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:Ricky Boaby

View PostTwynholm, on Dec 16 2007, 01:09, said:

Never made today and missed my 1st game for years due to lack of funds trully gutted. Heard we outclassed Stirling and desevred win delighted thoroughly bring on the pars. Tosh is a hero B)

Can you stay away for the rest of the season Twynholm please? :P Are you playing against Dunfermline supporters next week?
Posted Image

I love scotch. Scotchy, scotch, scotch. Here it goes down, down into my belly...

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostRaving On, on Dec 16 2007, 03:19, said:

SD, I have to say I thought the penalty we got was a stonewaller. The defender completely flattened Cramb, who never really got a chance to jump. I know he buys a lot of free-kicks that way but that seemed a very obvious penalty to me. Not entirely sure how he could have sustained ligament damage had he not left the ground. Not that it matters; as you say the better team won :(

I never said he didn't leave the ground. He did. He certainly didn't sustain ligament damage in the challenge either way. He got it in landing which has hee haw to do with whether or not it was a foul.

For me Harris wanted the ball more, climbed higher for it, headed it cleanly above Cramb with his arms by his sides. I thought it was unbelievably harsh at the time and still do. To be fair plenty of Queens fans on here have said they thought it WAS a penalty. I was at the wrong end of the stand to be honest to be right in front of it but I still thought I had a fairly good view. Fortunately in the end it doesn't really matter as you say except to Cramb who hopefully won't be out too long.

Harris ironically didn't get booked for it which was odd when you consider just about everyone else was for any other foul awarded. He will however miss the next two games through suspension anyway thanks to going over the points threshhold v Thistle last week so McQuilken will be back in for the Dunfermline and Dundee games.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is online   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Gamertag:MacZidane
Utter, utter pish yesterday.

I can sense Drifter's happiness from here, as he clearly hates Albion. Been wondering why for a while. But it's obvious he's still irked by a stupid comment made by a former player in another centrury. Sad really, from someone who comes across as pretty intelligent, but there you are.

Anyway, the game. Jeez. Our two worst performances this season have been yesterday and at home to Clyde. Unbelievable. We're gettting no breaks at all this year, and the lack of a midfield, the excellent Stevie Bell excepted, points to us going straight back down. :(

Oh, that, and McKenna's stopped scoring, and now looks like the awful player we saw in pre-season. And Cramb's out for at least 6 weeks. What a great day. :(

Guest_Twynholm_*

View Postpeteqos, on Dec 16 2007, 08:43, said:

Can you stay away for the rest of the season Twynholm please? :P Are you playing against Dunfermline supporters next week?

I would but i just couldnt face it, Yesterday was utter agony went shoppin with pals and all i did was talk on the fone getting updates or listen to radio although celebrating Dobbies goal in Tesco was sweet must have had the whole of Tesco looking at me :lol: No im not getting the 10am bus up big of a nightmare to get there for 7.30 bus im afraid and my footballing abilites are well questionable. Are you playing out of interest?

• The Numbers Man

View PostStewartyMac, on Dec 16 2007, 10:29, said:

I can sense Drifter's happiness from here, as he clearly hates Albion. Been wondering why for a while. But it's obvious he's still irked by a stupid comment made by a former player in another centrury. Sad really, from someone who comes across as pretty intelligent, but there you are.

:huh:

I'm happy we won, and deserved to. No more than that. I'm no happier than if we'd beaten Hamilton, Dundee, Morton, Partick, St Johnstone, Clyde, Dunfermline or Livingston and the bottom team had lost elsewhere, whoever they might have been.

It both amuses me and bemuses me constantly in equal measures as to what exactly it is that makes you and your alter ego Mr Clements think I have some issue with Stirling Albion. Apparently it stems from the use of a 12 year old quote from Steve McCormick (which isn't unique to me and I wasn't the first to use it this week. You admit you actively promoted it when it was made so don't come over all precious when it's thrown back at you, such is football banter), the fact that I described you as "pish" at Gretna in a 6-0 defeat a couple of years ago I took in as a "neutral" (though hoping you won actually but don't let that get in the way of your agenda) when in fact you were "pish" and the fact I wanted Airdrie to win the playoff last season, sat in the Airdrie end and had the temerity to criticise some of your players for diving and time-wasting when they were in fact diving and time wasting.

Presumably should we happen to beat Albion again in either of the next two meeting I should avoid posting as any suggestion of happiness would just add fuel to the Stewarty Mac / Paul C "SD hates Stirling Albion" campaign! :lol:

I can also no doubt expect a pile of "Get it right up you SD" posts if you beat us.

For what it's worth, whilst I thought the better team undeniably won the game and your penalty was harsh, I also thought Albion knocked the ball about quite well at times and aren't the worst side we've faced this season. Clearly there's a lack of genuine quality in the side that's only to be expected. You're the only part-time side in this division and don't have the funds to attract top standard players in division terms. There but for the grace of God go we. You can only hope to compete by working as a team and playing to your strengths. I think you do that. You grabbed a draw at palmerston doing it and if McKenna scores yesterday at 1-1 when he lobbed over from inside the six yard box who knows what happens? Or if Bell's shot goes in instead of hitting the post you probably get a draw. You don't look terribly likely to win a lot of games though and you need to find that ability from somewhere soon or the gap to the rest will be too big.

This post has been edited by Skyline Drifter: 16 December 2007 - 10:58

User is offline   Cargen Qos 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
Twynholm, yer footballing skills are not simply questionable...more non existant :D :P .
Davie Rae`s blue n white army!!

User is offline   peteqos 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:Ricky Boaby

View PostTwynholm, on Dec 16 2007, 11:36, said:

I would but i just couldnt face it, Yesterday was utter agony went shoppin with pals and all i did was talk on the fone getting updates or listen to radio although celebrating Dobbies goal in Tesco was sweet must have had the whole of Tesco looking at me :lol: No im not getting the 10am bus up big of a nightmare to get there for 7.30 bus im afraid and my footballing abilites are well questionable. Are you playing out of interest?

Yeah i'm playin, although i never played in the last game against eastriggs, so i might have to be content with a place on the bench and come on and run riot! B) Hopefully we can grab a double win, stay undefeated and have a fantastic day out! I'm going for a night out in glasgow after it so i can't wait! C'mon the Queens!
Posted Image

I love scotch. Scotchy, scotch, scotch. Here it goes down, down into my belly...

User is offline   The Phoenix 

• Vote for Cold Showers
  • Gamertag:XBL World Champion

View PostTwynholm, on Dec 16 2007, 10:36, said:

Life's a b*****d, isn't it - shite at football and turned down for Mastermind. ;)

The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.

Guest_Twynholm_*

View Postpeteqos, on Dec 16 2007, 11:39, said:

Yeah i'm playin, although i never played in the last game against eastriggs, so i might have to be content with a place on the bench and come on and run riot! B) Hopefully we can grab a double win, stay undefeated and have a fantastic day out! I'm going for a night out in glasgow after it so i can't wait! C'mon the Queens!

Nice i will be a good day out and hoping "we" can do the double B)

Twynholm, yer footballing skills are not simply questionable...more non existant .

Oh the irony :P

User is offline   Into The Valley 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Team:Alloa Athletic

View PostRedWeb, on Dec 15 2007, 21:39, said:

As for the game...we were crap and I'm starting to get irritated losing to teams who are nothing special. Bring on the East Fife.

Hats off to you mate. Good of you to start pre-planning and thinking about next season already.

Now, just to assist you, to East Fife you can add Peterhead, Cowdenbeath, Ayr, Airdrie etc. etc.

Hopefully that list will include the pishy Pars but not us!! ;)

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
Happy with the result, I am just going to comment on the talking points.

There penalty, I thought it was never a penalty as Harris just jumped higher and won a clean header from where I was.

Hogarth should have walked.

Tosh took his goal very well.

Good to see Johnjo back on pens, yes I know Dobbie had just went off but still good to see.

The ref seemed to miss about 6 handballs from either side, he was rotten.

Harris and Burns for men of the match, for youthful exuperance.
Queen of the South Football Club <3

User is online   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Gamertag:MacZidane

View PostFC_1919, on Dec 16 2007, 12:43, said:

Hogarth should have walked.

Why?

It was neither a clear goalscoring opportunity nor deliberate handball as he actively tried to get to get rid of it as soon as he knew he was outside the box, he was just a tad slow. In my opinion, it was obviously a free kick, but it didn't even merit a yellow card, never mind a red.

With McDonald as the ref though, anything could have happened.

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up

View PostSkyline Drifter, on Dec 16 2007, 10:57, said:

Stewarty Mac / Paul C "SD hates Stirling Albion" campaign!

What an ego you have Sir...please don't over inflate yer own irrelevance :lol:

User is offline   middleagedirtbag 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostSkyline Drifter, on Dec 16 2007, 09:57, said:

Harris ironically didn't get booked for it which was odd when you consider just about everyone else was for any other foul awarded. He will however miss the next two games through suspension anyway thanks to going over the points threshhold v Thistle last week so McQuilken will be back in for the Dunfermline and Dundee games.

Well spotted! Just as well I checked all the thread before coming on, as I was going to mention this.Nobody else appears to have picked up on it ("it" being something that generally merits a yellow card.)
Regarding the main talking points.Penalty was a joke ,NO WAY.You (SD) saw it the same as most and you were sitting not that far behind me.
Tosh....What a "belter", goal of the season so far.
Dobbies miss...Taking lessons from Sean?
Our penalty....Just a bit of clumsiness from the bino man,as Bingo was taking/had pushed the ball away from goal at the time.John O'Neill just icing the cake.
Stirling should have had a second half penalty as well.
Stirling were poor,we were better without needing to be great and we thoroughly deserved to win.
Smallest away league crowd for a while was the only wee disappointment.
Oh,and the referee was a tool!!
CATCH THIS AND PAINT IT BLUE!Posted Image

User is offline   kullibino 

• International Call Up
Was our potential 2nd half pen when Wee Nathan Taggart went down in the box and got booked?He falls over alot but isn't rea;;y much of a diver. The fact he kept ptostesting makes me think their might have been something in it, but I couldn't really say at the time.
"remember Bob, no fear, no envy, no meanness"

• The Numbers Man

View PostFC_1919, on Dec 16 2007, 12:43, said:

Good to see Johnjo back on pens, yes I know Dobbie had just went off but still good to see.

Tosh is now our penalty taker unless O'Neill is on the park. Dobbie isn't on them any more.

View PostStewartyMac, on Dec 16 2007, 12:46, said:

Why?

It was neither a clear goalscoring opportunity nor deliberate handball as he actively tried to get to get rid of it as soon as he knew he was outside the box, he was just a tad slow. In my opinion, it was obviously a free kick, but it didn't even merit a yellow card, never mind a red.

With McDonald as the ref though, anything could have happened.

All about opinions of course but I thought he knew fine well what he was doing when he caught it. He DID catch it in the box but he knew he couldn't stop without carrying it outside the box and did it anyway since O'Connor was bearing down on him. He could have opted to chest it or volley it away and didn't. I think he was very lucky. I've seen keepers sent off for less.

View PostRedWeb, on Dec 16 2007, 13:08, said:

What's the phrase again? Oh aye, "whatever peels yer onions" I think it was.

User is offline   Raving On 

• First Division Sub

View PostSkyline Drifter, on Dec 16 2007, 19:33, said:

All about opinions of course but I thought he knew fine well what he was doing when he caught it. He DID catch it in the box but he knew he couldn't stop without carrying it outside the box and did it anyway since O'Connor was bearing down on him. He could have opted to chest it or volley it away and didn't. I think he was very lucky. I've seen keepers sent off for less.

I didn't think it was a red card because there were two defenders there to potentially alleviate any further problems plus the ball was bouncing and would by no means have been a simple finish even if O'Connor, who I was impressed with in general, had got to the ball first. It was still rubbish goalkeeping.

On the Taggart penalty appeal, my first instinct was, when McDonald blew for the foul, it was a penalty. The two defenders seemed to sandwich the wee man and it seemed entirely plausable to me that his foot may have been tangled. We're never likely to get 2 penalties in one game though, particularly as the first was the variety you only see given 70% of the time (even if it was, in my eyes, a stick-on).
The Greek!

User is offline   QOSQOS 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Thought the Stirling penalty was harsh, but frankly without a replay I can't be sure..... Harris definitely got there first, and he didn't use his arms, but if he goes over the guy before the guy can jump, I can see why the ref would give a penalty.
I didn't expect the Stirling goalie would be sent off, it was obviously a foul but it was a bit short of a clearcut goalscoring opportunity.
I was very pleased with Burns today, slightly surprised he went off, maybe he wasn't wholly fit.
I was also pleased and surprised with some of Dobbie's movement in the second half, had he been injected with something at half time?
I thought we always looked the likelier to win, but nearing the end I was expecting a rerun of the 2-2 at Palmerston, complete with late Stirling equaliser as we sat too far back. However, we did try to go out and kill it, and for once successfully.
Very needed three points. We need at least a draw next week, and I'll begin to feel slightly more confident.

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...

Tosh is now our penalty taker unless O'Neill is on the park. Dobbie isn't on them any more.

Yes, thats the kind of thing I should know! :rolleyes:
Queen of the South Football Club <3

User is offline   KingfaetheSooth 

• Third Division Superstar

View PostRedWeb, on Dec 16 2007, 13:08, said:

What's the phrase again? Oh aye, "whatever peels yer onions" I think it was.

Get a room! :rolleyes:
Franchise Football...NEVER forget...NEVER forgive... © Grimbsy Town fans.

AFC Wimbledon - NEXT STOP THE FOOTBALL LEAGUE - THE RISE CONTINUES!

Glesga Rangers - Simply Depressed!

• (3 Pages) +