East Fife V Dumbarton Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Boghead Ben 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Dumbarton

View Postsonsanorak, on Dec 16 2007, 11:53, said:

from todays sunday mail;

Dumbarton's stand-in boss Jim Clark was fuming at his side's defending, specially youngster Michael O'Byrne.

Clark said: "The first goal came from a straight ball down the park.

"We let two crosses into the box and gave away free headers which have cost us both goals.

"Some of the players at the back are young and are making mistakes. O'Byrne is one of them.

"He's got to learn but at the moment he's not doing that."

Aye, well drop him and play John Yule, dont come out in the press and slate him!

Agree. That said, young Michael has been abysmal of late and yesterday he was way out of his comfort zone. At fault for both goals imo. Can't jump, mis-times tackles and has no positioning. Time for a rest.
The answer is yes, so, what is the question?

User is offline   ThirdrockfromtheSon 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?

View Postsonsanorak, on Dec 16 2007, 11:53, said:

from todays sunday mail;

Dumbarton's stand-in boss Jim Clark was fuming at his side's defending, specially youngster Michael O'Byrne.

Clark said: "The first goal came from a straight ball down the park.

"We let two crosses into the box and gave away free headers which have cost us both goals.

"Some of the players at the back are young and are making mistakes. O'Byrne is one of them.

"He's got to learn but at the moment he's not doing that."

Aye, well drop him and play John Yule, dont come out in the press and slate him!

Slating players in the Press is not the best way to enhance your job application or prospects. That'll be us down to a shortlist of 20, then. Hopefully Clark's application was sifted out first anyway, but this comment should nail it.
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................

Guest_Dumbarton-Mad_*

• Group: Surfer
O'byrne is too prone to making unforgiveable mistakes, we can't keep playing him. We should certainly be giving Yule a shot as he can't be any worse. As for the game i thought we wern't too bad apart from some criminal defending from O'byrne and our obvious problems upfront. Campbell had a good game and was certainly one of the positives in a few nice passing moves that just had no end product. East Fife didn't need to get out of first or second gear for most of the game.

They had a couple of nice moves but usually resorted to playing the long ball. We probabaly had most of the ball but just didn't do enough with it. I still think the team isn't that bad and with a decent manager and one or two signings i.e a centre half and centre forward we could at least challenge for play-offs. However as it looks just now we will be bottom of the league after we play Forfar.

edited to add: From what i have heard all 20 applicants the club has recieved are useless in terms of any experience in management. Mostly made up of ex-sons players, junior managers and a former Irish international.

This post has been edited by Dumbarton-Mad: 16 December 2007 - 15:06

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Whos the former Irish international?? Please do not let it be tony cascarino

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Reserve
Tommy Coyne senior?

Guest_Dumbarton-Mad_*

View PostBoghead ranter, on Dec 16 2007, 15:12, said:

Tommy Coyne senior?

Correct.

• SPL Signing Target
Oh shit. Does that mean jnr will start every week???

User is offline   the_russian 

• felchmiester
  • Team:East Fife

View Postthe snudge, on Dec 16 2007, 15:16, said:

Oh shit. Does that mean jnr will start every week???

Remember he had a talking knee?
how did bobby barr get on?

Guest_Dumbarton-Mad_*

I doubt TC Senior will get the job but he might be better than some of the other applicants.

Nice sig Russian :lol: B)

This post has been edited by Dumbarton-Mad: 16 December 2007 - 15:24

User is offline   lionel wickson 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Slagging O'Byrne in public is a cheap shot by Clark. He's a young lad who is toiling and yet both Clark and McCabe before him, keep picking him week in week out. What does that say about their judgement? As Ben says, he needs to be rested.

The midfield yesterday had plenty of possession, but apart from Campbell's miss in the first half, rarely threatened to do anything incisive with it. Mind you, playing one up front has got to limit their options. East Fife I think were quite content to let us have the ball for lengthy spells, after their quick start to the game, as they could see that we were not going to cause too many problems for them in the final third of the pitch. They really didn't have to exert themselves too hard and won with plenty left in the tank.

East Fife were without their normal central defensive pairing and surely we could have at least been a bit more positive with our own team selection? After all, there's not much further us to fall before we hit the basement spot in senior football.

User is offline   lionel wickson 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Just read Clark's post match comments on the website. The man is clearly several sandwiches short of a picnic.

• SPL Signing Target
We're shite at being shite...id rather be bottom

User is offline   Angusfifer 

• Third Division Regular
  • Gamertag:Used to have a ZX81

View Postlionel wickson, on Dec 16 2007, 20:16, said:

Just read Clark's post match comments on the website. The man is clearly several sandwiches short of a picnic.

I've got to say Jim Clark has hit rock bottom (no pun intended) if he is going to slag off a youngster in the National press. Have a go at him in the dressing room by all means. If it had been a senior player he might have had a case but then he would have had to face him afterwards.
Smacks of a caretaker boss who hasn't a hope in hell's chance of getting the vacancy, turning on a laddie who is a convenient scapegoat...
The score remains 4-1 and counting...

Posted Image

User is offline   Sons FC 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View Postthe snudge, on Dec 16 2007, 23:47, said:

We're shite at being shite...id rather be bottom

Not long to wait now.

User is offline   Maitland Keaton 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostAngusfifer, on Dec 17 2007, 00:02, said:

I've got to say Jim Clark has hit rock bottom (no pun intended) if he is going to slag off a youngster in the National press. Have a go at him in the dressing room by all means. If it had been a senior player he might have had a case but then he would have had to face him afterwards.
Smacks of a caretaker boss who hasn't a hope in hell's chance of getting the vacancy, turning on a laddie who is a convenient scapegoat...

Clark is a tosser and should be booted out of dumbarton now. I heard him on the radio before the game on saturday and he came across as a right wee hitler. He had a go at those who thought the shire game should not have been moved contrary to what his employers were trying to do. Sorry Ben, but it certainly sounded like the switch was orchestrated by dfc via Jim Clark.

User is offline   endieinreekie 

• First Division Regular
  • Team:Montrose
In order to bring some relief to Dumbarton fans and for the fans of other teams on this forum who have to listen to their moaning day-in, day-out, I think Montrose should let the Sons win this Saturday, although tbh I am not sure how much letting we will need to do cos we are mince at the moment. Would anyone else be grateful for the respite?

I've punched before.

• SPL Signing Target
Nah we'll find sumthing else to moan about. Dont stick yer beak into a Dumbarton topic if u know we're only going to be bitterly complaining!!

User is offline   Stevo Fife 

• First Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:Lino Whore Finder General

View Postendieinreekie, on Dec 17 2007, 15:27, said:

In order to bring some relief to Dumbarton fans and for the fans of other teams on this forum who have to listen to their moaning day-in, day-out, I think Montrose should let the Sons win this Saturday, although tbh I am not sure how much letting we will need to do cos we are mince at the moment. Would anyone else be grateful for the respite?

Nah, the Dumbarton fans are sound. They might be going through a shitty spell but at least they have a travelling support, unlike some teams i could mention.. but i wont :rolleyes: .
Bloody freezing at Bayview on Saturday and even though they were 1 down and looking pants they were still vocal. At times the gave the EF munchkins (kids) a run for their money :D

User is offline   endieinreekie 

• First Division Regular
  • Team:Montrose

View PostStevo Fife, on Dec 17 2007, 16:13, said:

Nah, the Dumbarton fans are sound. They might be going through a shitty spell but at least they have a travelling support, unlike some teams i could mention.. but i wont :rolleyes: .
Bloody freezing at Bayview on Saturday and even though they were 1 down and looking pants they were still vocal. At times the gave the EF munchkins (kids) a run for their money :D

:lol: I must admit when we visited Bayview a couple of weeks back it was good to see so many youngsters at a 3rd division match (despite the annoyingly squeeky nature of their chants-their rendition of 'top of the league and you're no' was superb!!!!). The Dumbarton fans are indeed top notch, I have always had a lot of time for them, had a lot of banter in that pub next to Dumbarton East station (can't remember the name) with them.

I've punched before.

• SPL Signing Target
We went through with that attitude that we were gona be up against it so we might as well have made a day of it!

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!
We really were very poor on Saturday, and deserved, (again), nothing from the game. :(

East Fife were decent. Nothing better, but they didn't need to be. They did their job extremely competently without so much as a fluster.

We really aren't good enough, in all areas of the team, and for that, many people are answerable.

After decisions and comments made, you have to wonder, how much does Jim Clark actually want the job?!?! He drops our usually reliable right-back, drops a uber-reliable left-back and fans favourite in Craig Brittain, and even a blind man can see that McPhee is our best striker. Yet he is left on the bench! :blink: :angry:

The hospitality in the bar afterwards was superb, and had a long chat before and after the game with an East Fife fan who was not in the slightest gloating, and was a great laugh. :D

We have lots to sort out, otherwise, we are fast going to be known as the worst team in Scotland. :( :angry:
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

User is offline   Ladyfan 

• Third Division Regular

View PostShakehandsTom - DFC, on Dec 17 2007, 17:56, said:

We really aren't good enough, in all areas of the team, and for that, many people are answerable.

I thought your keeper was very good. Could've been alot worse for Dumbarton.
PROGRAMMES, GET YER OFFISHAL MATCHDAY PROGRAMMES HEEE-YER!!

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!

View PostLadyfan, on Dec 17 2007, 20:38, said:

I thought your keeper was very good. Could've been alot worse for Dumbarton.

Aye Davie Crawford was decent, but it's the rest of the defence, the midfield and forwards that's the problem.... :ph34r: <_<
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

Guest_Dumbarton-Mad_*

View PostShakehandsTom - DFC, on Dec 17 2007, 20:48, said:

Aye Davie Crawford was decent, but it's the rest of the defence, the midfield and forwards that's the problem.... :ph34r: <_<

A new manager,a centre half,a striker,a creative midfielder and we would be a lot higher up the league shakey. The problems are certainly fixable.

This post has been edited by Dumbarton-Mad: 17 December 2007 - 21:26

• (2 Pages) +