2 nil the fifers fuc k this piss
BERTIE IS A SONS FAN

User is offline   Mon_The_Fife 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Team:East Fife
Who needs Jonny Smart?

Dumbarton set up their formation to stop any play coming from our midfield and created 1 good chance all game.

We started well and took the lead through a Greig McDonald header but after that we took the foot off the gas a bit and let Dumbarton back into it but they were really poor and apart from 1 good chance Scott Fox was rarely threatned as shots were coming from outside the box.

Crawford made a few good saves for Dumbarton but other than that 1-0 was probably about right at half time. 2nd half wasn't the best of games and again Crawford denied Linn with a good few saves and the game was killed off at the end with McGowne scored with a free header.

Both of our centre halfs scored and gives Baikie a bit of thinking to do for next week with Tweed and Smart both available.

Thanks to Forfar and Stenny. 12 points clear :D
(Enter funny and sarcastic signature here)

User is offline   the_russian 

• felchmiester
Well done lads, I was a bit nervy about this but they've done the job again (although I see some loon is attacking Baikie on AFTN!!!!), thanks to Stenny, Albion and Forfar too for helping us to gain another 500 miles on the rest.
how did bobby barr get on?

User is offline   Angusfifer 

• Third Division Regular
  • Gamertag:Used to have a ZX81

View Postthe_russian, on Dec 15 2007, 19:11, said:

Well done lads, I was a bit nervy about this but they've done the job again (although I see some loon is attacking Baikie on AFTN!!!!), thanks to Stenny, Albion and Forfar too for helping us to gain another 500 miles on the rest.

Another game another professional performance, and most importantly another three points.
Okay, there were spells today that we weren't stringing the passes together but the boys worked their socks off and fully merited the victory.
Dumbarton are certainly not the worst team to visit New Bayview this season and gave us more of a game than Montrose two weeks ago.
I'd also like to thank Stenhousemuir for their generous contribution towards the EFFC championship campaign this season. Can you keep this going for another week at least please?
The score remains 4-1 and counting...

Posted Image

User is offline   Boghead Ben 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Dumbarton
East Fife didn't have to do much to win today and the fact that the goals came from second string players sums Dumbarton's performance up for me.

Playing 4-5-1 is never an option for me and that decision by Clark - who surely has his job application binned - was compounded by using a player who until last week hadn't kicked a ball for months.

And why no Andy Geggan? Why was McPhee left cooling his heels on the bench? And the body language from the Bee said a lot.

To the game, I thought Linn and McManus were a real handful all day and whilst the tactic was get the ball to them any which way bit loose, it's certainly effective. David Crawford's excellent positioning saved Sons from a hiding as did Bobby Linn's poor finishing.

Great hospitality shown to Sons fans from the East Fife officials (and supporters) before and after the game where officials mixed freely with the hoi polloi in the two bars creating a good atmosphere.
The answer is yes, so, what is the question?

User is offline   super son smiddy 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
the sons have been poor all season this is the least talented team i've seen in dumbarton colours and i don't see how it's going to improve. any decent side would thrash us by at least 4 goals... the third division is not as good as it used to be i've not been impresed by anyone this season
Tha gaol agam air Alba

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Definitely not our best performance of the season but it's good to keep the juggernaut going. Dumbarton set up very defensively and the early goal was a bit of a kick in the balls but they certainly didn't look as bad as I thought they would be. A few horrendous defensive mistakes leading to the first goal and a total lack of cutting edge up front let them down.

I thought Fotheringham was immense today, he won so many tackles in the middle of the park. What a shitty wee scumbag Nial Henderson is too, Paul Stewart did very well not to react to that.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   super son smiddy 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
i've noticed east fife fans have a strange idea they played well today... dont think so we we're just worse than they were
Tha gaol agam air Alba

User is offline   Angusfifer 

• Third Division Regular
  • Gamertag:Used to have a ZX81

View Postsuper son smiddy, on Dec 15 2007, 22:44, said:

i've noticed east fife fans have a strange idea they played well today... dont think so we we're just worse than they were

Who said we played well? I would describe our performance as competent...
The score remains 4-1 and counting...

Posted Image

User is offline   Tam EF 

• Third Division Apprentice

Eh?? Tell me where I can find the post that said that? As Angus said,we put in a competent performance which was enough to give as 3 points and a our 8th league game in a row without conceding a goal (pretty good eh?)
If our strikers had converted some of the numerous chance they had,we would have won by 4 or 5, but I suppose they are saving themselves for when we play agaisnt a better side than Dumbarton, which shouldn`t be difficult IMO.

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner

Winning 2-0 is only a mediocre result for us these days, four 2-0s in a row is quite dissapointing.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   Katia 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostBoghead Ben, on Dec 15 2007, 21:07, said:

Playing 4-5-1 is never an option for me and that decision by Clark - who surely has his job application binned - was compounded by using a player who until last week hadn't kicked a ball for months.

Having read this comment by Clark after last week's game, I'd seriously hope his application was shredded.

"I shouldn't have to try and lift the players ahead of the East Fife game next week - they should be able to do that themselves. If you have any ambitions in football you should be able to do that. I think that's been part of the trouble - players looking for other people to motivate them.
most men have delusions of adequacy

User is offline   Stevo Fife 

• First Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:Lino Whore Finder General
Dumbarton weren't the worse team i've seen us play against this season. Far from it. In spells they looked ok but lacked any conviction in the final 3rd and never looked like scoring.
We never really got out of 3rd gear today but done just enough.
Good to see a decent support from Dumbarton and quite vocal too, although they were outsung by the Methil Schoolkids at times :P .
Damn sight better than the pathetic Montrose support a couple of weeks back consisting of 12 + sheepdog B)

User is offline   Stevo Fife 

• First Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:Lino Whore Finder General
ps

for all Montrose fans talk the talk on here the away support against the league leaders was fackin embarrassing.

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostStevo Fife, on Dec 16 2007, 00:27, said:

Dumbarton weren't the worse team i've seen us play against this season. Far from it. In spells they looked ok but lacked any conviction in the final 3rd and never looked like scoring.
We never really got out of 3rd gear today but done just enough.
Good to see a decent support from Dumbarton and quite vocal too, although they were outsung by the Methil Schoolkids at times :P .
Damn sight better than the pathetic Montrose support a couple of weeks back consisting of 12 + sheepdog B)

HAHAH!!! We knew we were going to get beaten so to ease the pain we sang! Well done to the East Fife fans for the hospitality before and after the game....ye's are good sports! Didnt rub it in too much!

User is online   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Reserve

View PostBoghead Ben, on Dec 15 2007, 21:07, said:

And why no Andy Geggan? Why was McPhee left cooling his heels on the bench? And the body language from the Bee said a lot.

Re someone who hasn't played for months - maybe trying different options, seeing as previous teams/formations put out haven't worked? At least he tried something, albeit results were no better! "if you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you're always got".

On the other hand, leaving one of the few players who has been getting pass marks on anything like a regular basis out, doesn't make any sense, you're right there.

User is offline   Boghead Ben 

• Third Division Reserve

View PostBoghead ranter, on Dec 16 2007, 10:54, said:

Re someone who hasn't played for months - maybe trying different options, seeing as previous teams/formations put out haven't worked? At least he tried something, albeit results were no better! "if you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you're always got".

On the other hand, leaving one of the few players who has been getting pass marks on anything like a regular basis out, doesn't make any sense, you're right there.

Fair point, but you won't get the desired effect with a players obviously not match fit.

And playing 4-5-1? C'mon. That was a tactic that got McCabe his jotters.
The answer is yes, so, what is the question?

• Third Division Reserve

View PostBoghead Ben, on Dec 16 2007, 11:14, said:

Fair point, but you won't get the desired effect with a players obviously not match fit.

And playing 4-5-1? C'mon. That was a tactic that got McCabe his jotters.

yup, true. Wasn't trying to disagree with you, just trying to think of a reason for shuffling the pack is all.

4-5-1 is working for us one way, despite being 2nd bottom (and sinking) we've got something like the 3rd lowest amount of goals conceded in the league. Unfortunately we have the lowest goals for, and 4-5-1 is unlikely to change that.

Maybe we should go out prepared to lose 1 or 2, in the hope of scoring 2 or 3? At least the games might be more entertaining. And even if we don't get much better, it would look like we're trying.

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
To score 2 or 3 we need quality strikers and we don't have any

• Third Division Reserve

View Postthe snudge, on Dec 16 2007, 11:24, said:

yeah, but if you put more bodies in the box, you might get some lucky breaks? Even if a clearance cannons off someone's arse and into the goal :lol: . 1 person in the box isn't going to get much change out of 2, 3 or 4 defenders.

User is offline   Bring Back Paddy Flannery 

• SPL Signing Target

View Postthe snudge, on Dec 16 2007, 11:24, said:

to score two or three we need a decent squad.

i have seen man a person on here claim that they have the abillity and just need a manager to get them playing. i strongly disagree.

i believe a new manager may get the best from them but i think the best would still be dreadful. our midfield in non-existant at times and our strikers just aren't good enough. there is no end product from david mcfarlane and brian mcphee is nearing pensioner status. we don't have a half decent right winger in the squad and campbell is perhaps one of the only players in the whole team i'd like to keep. niall henderson is a dirty we b*****d and we could do without the likes of him getting sent off and i do believe we could find a far better central midfielder. fergus tiernan started off well and i'd perhaps keep him due to the fact we have seen what he is capable of. andy geggan has been rotten this season, mick o'byrne is just straight up jobby, chris potter only started playing when i lost interest in concentrating on who was playing well, mark canning has been decent, david crawford has been decent aswell although i do feel he is slightly overated. his kick outs are atrocious and he is prone to daft mistakes, saying that id still say he's the best keeper were going to get.

we really are in a right old state.

i also expect to see a nobody appointed as manager later this week.

User is offline   sonsanorak 

• Third Division Signing Target
from todays sunday mail;

Dumbarton's stand-in boss Jim Clark was fuming at his side's defending, specially youngster Michael O'Byrne.

Clark said: "The first goal came from a straight ball down the park.

"We let two crosses into the box and gave away free headers which have cost us both goals.

"Some of the players at the back are young and are making mistakes. O'Byrne is one of them.

"He's got to learn but at the moment he's not doing that."

Aye, well drop him and play John Yule, dont come out in the press and slate him!
Celtic, Falkirk, Dumbarton, Alloa. You heard it here first!

User is offline   sons for spl 

• Third Division Sub

View PostKatia, on Dec 15 2007, 23:18, said:

Having read this comment by Clark after last week's game, I'd seriously hope his application was shredded.

"I shouldn't have to try and lift the players ahead of the East Fife game next week - they should be able to do that themselves. If you have any ambitions in football you should be able to do that. I think that's been part of the trouble - players looking for other people to motivate them.

First time i deliberatly missed a sons game in a long time, very glad i did though!

We are pathetic can you imagine us when Nial Henderson and Robert Campbell leave ?!

The sons are in a right mess :(

The only one with any sense on here is sons for spl at least he answered the questions and didnt resort to namecalling no like some fucking stenny idiots i can name.

Please reduce size of image.

Jose Quitongo Interview

User is offline   sons for spl 

• Third Division Sub

View Postsonsanorak, on Dec 16 2007, 11:53, said:

from todays sunday mail;

Dumbarton's stand-in boss Jim Clark was fuming at his side's defending, specially youngster Michael O'Byrne.

Clark said: "The first goal came from a straight ball down the park.

"We let two crosses into the box and gave away free headers which have cost us both goals.

"Some of the players at the back are young and are making mistakes. O'Byrne is one of them.

"He's got to learn but at the moment he's not doing that."

Aye, well drop him and play John Yule, dont come out in the press and slate him!

Clark is an arsehole fare point about bringing in Yule but see if the forwards would score some goals there would be less pressure at the back! Surely anyone with half a brain can see this !!!

The only one with any sense on here is sons for spl at least he answered the questions and didnt resort to namecalling no like some fucking stenny idiots i can name.

Please reduce size of image.

Jose Quitongo Interview

• (2 Pages) +