Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Something To Cheer Ths Sons Up......... - The Pie Shop

Page 1 of 1

Something To Cheer Ths Sons Up......... Boghead stars in Robert Duvall film Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   lichtgilphead 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Arbroath
A Shot at Glory - tonight ITV4 11pm

It's so bad, it's fantastic...........

Listen to Bob Duvall's attempt at a Scottish accent!

Watch Ally Macoist as the Celtic player with the heart of gold!

See the cream of Divisions 2 & 3 kick lumps out of each other at Boghead, Palmerston, Rugby Park & Hampden!

Laugh as the same shot of the Rangers crowd celebrating is played over, and over, and over again!

NOT TO BE MISSED!!!!!!! !!!!!

PS - Any Sons fans willing to identify themselves in the crowd scenes at "Kilknockie Park"?

User is offline   GoTeamGaz 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dumbarton
  • Gamertag:GoTeamGaz
me! I was 15! The most shocking thing was that it was the busiest id ever seen it!

Actualy it wasnt long after this, my acting debut, that I took my starring role in take the high road

User is offline   the auld son 

• Third Division Regular
[quote name='lichtgilphead' date='Dec 11 2007, 21:13' post='2052767']

It's so bad, it's fantastic...........

Listen to Bob Duvall's attempt at a Scottish accent!

Watch Ally Macoist as the Celtic player with the heart of gold!

See the cream of Divisions 2 & 3 kick lumps out of each other at Boghead, Palmerston, Rugby Park & Hampden!

Laugh as the same shot of the Rangers crowd celebrating is played over, and over, and over again!

NOT TO BE MISSED!!!!!!! !!!!!

PS - Any Sons fans willing to identify themselves in the crowd scenes at "Kilknockie Park"?

I am a right sad b*****d I recorded
and saved it
B)
How long before someone says I am tedious

User is offline   ThirdrockfromtheSon 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?

View Postthe auld son, on Dec 11 2007, 21:40, said:

I am a right sad b*****d I recorded
and saved it
B)

Aye, and I've got a copy I got from Sky a while back - utter gash, but nostalgic.

I can identify one of the gate money collectors - he's a good friend of mine. The one with the moustache.
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................

User is offline   Bring Back Paddy Flannery 

• SPL Sub

View PostThirdrockfromtheSon, on Dec 11 2007, 21:56, said:

Aye, and I've got a copy I got from Sky a while back - utter gash, but nostalgic.

I can identify one of the gate money collectors - he's a good friend of mine. The one with the moustache.

you can always trust a man with a moustache. especially when it's one of those really thick ones, like tom selleck.

User is offline   ThirdrockfromtheSon 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?

View PostBring Back Paddy Flannery, on Dec 11 2007, 22:39, said:

you can always trust a man with a moustache. especially when it's one of those really thick ones, like tom selleck.

Or Cammy Bruce, former Steward and famous actor in A Shot at Glory!! :lol:
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................

User is offline   montrosefc 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Montrose
Can anyone name the real players who appeared in it?
Posted Image Posted Image

User is offline   microdave 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

I've got it on dvd!!!Got it on ebay about 18 months ago and I think p+p cost more than the dvd :lol:
Keep
Calm
We're
Going
Up

View Postmontrosefc, on Dec 12 2007, 00:21, said:

Can anyone name the real players who appeared in it?

There must be around 60 or 70 of them!

Lichties/Ex Lichties that I think I spotted included

Stevie Mallan
Paul Tosh
Steve Tosh
George Rowe
Jim Thomson

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
Horrid...I think I was 13/14!! Oh god nooo!!

User is offline   Howlin' Wilf 

• Third Division Apprentice

Is it this guy?

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!

View Postlichtgilphead, on Dec 11 2007, 21:13, said:

I was in it. And not in the crowd. I was part of the 'actors' for it. B)

R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

User is offline   rockson 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postlichtgilphead, on Dec 11 2007, 21:13, said:

Must confess I stayed up to watch this!!
Wasn't our white strip way cool?
Funny how life imitated this rubbish when Gretna got to the cup final a couple of years ago...

User is offline   Sons FC 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
Great film - probably because Kilnickie were really Dumbarton. I thought Duvall was superb - the accent tended to irish from time to time but he played the archytypal taciturn Scot perfectly.

I though McCoist was pretty good as well.

It was shame though that McCoist insisted on changing the final team to Rangers from Celtic which was in the original script as the film more naturally would have fitted a final against his old team.

Why was he presented in the film as an ex-Celtic player anyway?

Wouldn't it have made more sense and saved some money on the colour tints of the strips if he had been a Rangers player?

User is offline   Jeggburt 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:East Stirlingshire
  • Gamertag:Jeggburt

View Postlichtgilphead, on Dec 12 2007, 01:18, said:

There must be around 60 or 70 of them!

Lichties/Ex Lichties that I think I spotted included

Stevie Mallan
Paul Tosh
Steve Tosh
George Rowe
Jim Thomson

I thought he said "real" players. You can't call those 5 real players, can you? :P ;)
ESFC Fans Forum

Mungo! Mungo!
Mend Mungo's legs so he can score a goal!

View Postdubs, on Feb 27 2008, 18:39, said:

Mon the Shire!

View PostJeggburt, on Dec 13 2007, 11:41, said:

I thought he said "real" players. You can't call those 5 real players, can you? :P ;)

Did I mention that it's a boxing movie too? Joe Savage appears in the background of one of the car-park scenes :P

User is offline   sons for spl 

• Third Division Sub
Make my christmas and send me a copy..go on

The only one with any sense on here is sons for spl at least he answered the questions and didnt resort to namecalling no like some fucking stenny idiots i can name.

Please reduce size of image.

Jose Quitongo Interview

User is offline   Jeggburt 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Gamertag:Jeggburt

View Postlichtgilphead, on Dec 13 2007, 22:21, said:

Did I mention that it's a boxing movie too? Joe Savage appears in the background of one of the car-park scenes :P

Nice one :D
ESFC Fans Forum

Mungo! Mungo!
Mend Mungo's legs so he can score a goal!

View Postdubs, on Feb 27 2008, 18:39, said:

Mon the Shire!

User is offline   Mikewn 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostJeggburt, on Dec 14 2007, 10:09, said:

Nice one :D

This film was pulled out of the cinimas after about a week it was that bad.

Shamefully I own on both DVD and Video!
www.helplooseweight.co.uk
Great self employment opportunity!
Beat the credit crunch!

User is offline   Szamo's_Ammo 

• I don't make rash promises. What I say I'll do, I do.
  • My Team:Dundee Utd
Cast

Robert Duvall ... Gordon McLeod

Michael Keaton ... Peter Cameron
Ally McCoist ... Jackie McQuillan

Brian Cox ... Martin Smith

Kirsty Mitchell ... Kate McQuillan

Cole Hauser ... Kelsey O'Brian
Scott G. Anderson ... Alex
Morag Hood ... Irene

Libby Langdon ... Annie
rest of cast listed alphabetically:
Didier Agathe
Ian Constable ... Physiotherapist
Robert Cosgrove ... Rowdy football supporter
Owen Coyle
Elaine M. Ellis
Robert Findlay
Darren Fitzgerald
Peter Hetherston

Henrik Larsson ... Himself (picture on the wall)

Bill Little ... Angry football supporter
Ally Maxwell
John McVeigh
Claudio Reyna
Andy Smith
Steve Tosh ... Himself
Christopher Cummings ... Football Fan (uncredited)
Jim Stewart ... Meldrum (uncredited)

CELTIC FC- 91 (NINETY ONE) DOMESTIC TROPHIES AGAINST ALL ODDS

User is offline   Love_Machine 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Reifes Shire

View Postlichtgilphead, on Dec 13 2007, 22:21, said:

I had a chuckle at that, i really did.
The only way is up.........babyyyyyyyyy

Page 1 of 1