A Serious Point facilities Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   the auld son 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Dumbarton
is there anyone out there agrees with me that --yes its great that the commonwealth games are coming to glasgow
but
would it not have been better to invest in training facilities for all sports first rather than spend 248 million on the games
I dont know of any good football or athletic or swimming facitities in west dunbarton
dont be too surprised if our main medal winners train abroad rather than in scotland
I know that this is not strictly football but I would be interested to know where teams in 3rd div train as well
How long before someone says I am tedious

User is offline   Mel Hutchwright 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Arbroath
Wouldn't disagree with any of your points. Can't say I'm enthused in the slightest about the games coming to Glasgow.

Think I'm right in saying that we train some of the time at McDiarmid Pk in Perth and the rest of the time in Arbroath, although I'm not exactly sure where. I'm sure th locally based Lichties will be more clued in than myself.
It's a lot like playing the violin, you cannot start off and be Yehudi Menuhin

User is offline   faither 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:East Fife
I think the whole CG thing is a complete absurdity designed to massage the egos of politicians and sport legislators.

When we started the Young Fifers at Bayview a few years back the main problem was finding places the kids could train. Six years later and there has not been any increase in the facilities in the area and they now have 4 times the number of members.

When you add in the fact that local authorities are busy flogging off what playing fields they can to the nearest property developer you can se where their priorities lie.

Spend the money on sport by all means but on local community facilities throughout Scotland, not on grandiose schemes.
Yes, of course we can.

User is offline   FORDY 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:East Stirlingshire
Totally agree with the above posts. Give more kids the chance of some success and a start in life. They should spend the cash on replacing lost sports fields and improving the facilities for all schools.

User is offline   Links_Park_Dynamo 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Montrose

View PostMel Hutchwright, on Nov 13 2007, 14:47, said:

Wouldn't disagree with any of your points. Can't say I'm enthused in the slightest about the games coming to Glasgow.

Think I'm right in saying that we train some of the time at McDiarmid Pk in Perth and the rest of the time in Arbroath, although I'm not exactly sure where. I'm sure th locally based Lichties will be more clued in than myself.

Have seen Arbroath training on the park next to Tutties on a few occasions.
One man pitch invasion

User is offline   manic miner 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postfaither, on Nov 13 2007, 15:18, said:

I think the whole CG thing is a complete absurdity designed to massage the egos of politicians and sport legislators.

When we started the Young Fifers at Bayview a few years back the main problem was finding places the kids could train. Six years later and there has not been any increase in the facilities in the area and they now have 4 times the number of members.

When you add in the fact that local authorities are busy flogging off what playing fields they can to the nearest property developer you can se where their priorities lie.

Spend the money on sport by all means but on local community facilities throughout Scotland, not on grandiose schemes.

Personally not terribly fussed either way TBH about the CG, but Faither is correct, there is a chronic lack of facilities particularly in Levenmouth.

In an area with maybe 35,000 residents I think there is one Astro pitch and it is one of the really old ones which are basically crap.

My U13s at this time of year get a third of said pitch one night a week, we have no indoor facilities available to us at all at this time of year which makes training very difficult.

Glasgow can be really tarted up with this money, but to be frank it isnt going to have a hugely positive effect for 12 year olds in Fife (unless they happen to be really good runners or something)

User is offline   Yoss 

• broon sauce virgin
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
It's a false binary, bringing the Games provides an opportunity to build extra sporting facilities that, given limited resources, probably wouldn't otherwise have been built.
twohundredpercent
The award-winning football blog.

• First Division Regular

View PostLinks_Park_Dynamo, on Nov 13 2007, 15:34, said:

Have seen Arbroath training on the park next to Tutties on a few occasions.

Thanks. Knew they trained there when I still lived in the town but wasn't sure if it was still the case.

User is offline   GoTeamGaz 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:GoTeamGaz

View Postmanic miner, on Nov 13 2007, 15:34, said:

Glasgow can be really tarted up with this money, but to be frank it isnt going to have a hugely positive effect for 12 year olds in Fife (unless they happen to be really good runners or something)

to be honest I doubt many Glaswiegan kids will see a diffrence

It'll be used to tart up centres where tabitha & christian can go to their extra curricular pole vaulting classes

• First Division Regular

View PostGoTeamGaz, on Nov 13 2007, 16:30, said:

The kids in the East End will at long last have a velodrome they can be proud of.

User is offline   the auld son 

• Third Division Regular

It'll be used to tart up centres where tabitha & christian can go to their extra curricular pole vaulting classes

jesus and I thought I was cynical
from one so young too
what the f**k are you going to be like if you get to my age :lol:
How long before someone says I am tedious

User is offline   Bring Back Paddy Flannery 

• SPL Sub

View PostMel Hutchwright, on Nov 13 2007, 17:07, said:

The kids in the East End will at long last have a velodrome they can be proud of.

im sure they will have it personalised before too long.

all it's doing is putting up more targets for vandals.

what an over reaction to winning the diddy olympics. people were crying tears of joy and partying all day. how much will the glasgow council tax rise? and how much of a b*****d will it be trying to get into glasgow before and while the games are on?

User is offline   faither 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostYoss, on Nov 13 2007, 15:35, said:

It's a false binary, bringing the Games provides an opportunity to build extra sporting facilities that, given limited resources, probably wouldn't otherwise have been built.

And where do you think the money is coming from? There's not a magic Commonwealth Games Fairy - whatever is built will be paid for through our taxes. I would rather the money went on local community facilities.
Yes, of course we can.

User is offline   Katia 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

So Tabitha and Christian shouldn't get improved facilities because they have poncy names or because you don't think pole vaulting is a sport? (apologies to any pie and bovril members called tabitha and christian)

A lot of the comments made refer to football training facilities (or lack of) which is valid, but the commonwealth games isn't about one sport, it isn't even just about us here in scotland (shock, horror). It could be argued that football generates enough money in the uk for the sport to provide adequate facilities.

The core values of the commonwealth games federation are, humality, equality and destiny which should include tabitha, christian, mercedes-chardonnay and tyson equally in their chosen sport.

This post has been edited by Katia: 13 November 2007 - 23:17

most men have delusions of adequacy

User is offline   C'Way The Mo 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Montrose
I notice that Hampden will be the venue for track and field events - the capacity will be reduced to 48,000. Isn't it a bit small as it is?
Hopefully, as is being said on the Tartan Army forum, it will then be extended to a decent sized arena.

In my humble opinion - why was there all the cheering when Scotland were awarded the games? Its not like its the Olympics or the World Cup - we've hosted it twice before and Meadowbank Stadium, with a few temporary stands, did fine.

This post has been edited by C'Way The Mo: 14 November 2007 - 00:32

Guest_Tatty Boabie_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostC'Way The Mo, on Nov 14 2007, 00:14, said:

I notice that Hampden will be the venue for track and field events - the capacity will be reduced to 48,000. Isn't it a bit small as it is?Hopefully, as is being said on the Tartan Army forum, it will then be extended to a decent sized arena.

In my humble opinion - why was there all the cheering when Scotland were awarded the games? Its not like its the Olympics or the World Cup - we've hosted it twice before and Meadowbank Stadium, with a few temporary stands, did fine.

The city of Manchester stadium's capacity is 48000, that was ok for the Manchester Commonwealth games track and field.

I think Hampden would be excellent for the above purpose.

User is offline   Jimmy MCcabe 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Stranraer
I'm with most of you and totally against getting these games a total waste of money that will tart up one of the so called deprived areas of the city but what about afterwards. Glasgow district council cannot at the moment provide enough coaches to give many kids basic swimming lessons as many when trained move on to private health clubs /gyms etc because they pay better wages, they have also shut sports centres earlier to cut costs and keep pushing up the price to hire tennis courts and 5 aside pitches while failing to carry out basic general repairs to these areas.
These games are outdated and in the main unimportant in the larger scheme of sport, perhaps GDC and Sports Scotland bigwigs think they will gt thrown a few more scraps from the London Olympic games by having such facilities thus getting a few of them hobnobbing at the free junkets.

User is offline   Boghead Ben 

• Third Division Reserve

View PostKatia, on Nov 13 2007, 23:14, said:

So Tabitha and Christian shouldn't get improved facilities because they have poncy names or because you don't think pole vaulting is a sport? (apologies to any pie and bovril members called tabitha and christian)

A lot of the comments made refer to football training facilities (or lack of) which is valid, but the commonwealth games isn't about one sport, it isn't even just about us here in scotland (shock, horror). It could be argued that football generates enough money in the uk for the sport to provide adequate facilities.

The core values of the commonwealth games federation are, humality, equality and destiny which should include tabitha, christian, mercedes-chardonnay and tyson equally in their chosen sport.

Agree.

Football IS seriously underfunded at all levels, but that fact should not detract from the award of the Commonwealth Games for Scotland.

And so what if some funding comes from taxes? If it enriches the lives of some people who otherwise couldn't get the opportunity to get into sport, or if it regenerates a run down area, then carry on. What has happened to the collective and social responsibility gene that Scots were famous for?
The answer is yes, so, what is the question?

User is offline   GoTeamGaz 

• SPL Signing Target
  • Gamertag:GoTeamGaz

View Postthe auld son, on Nov 13 2007, 19:37, said:

jesus and I thought I was cynical
from one so young too
what the f**k are you going to be like if you get to my age :lol:

now ive tipped the mid-20s scale I feel like I can come out of me shell & wallow in my misery.

katia, the point I was making is that everyone in Scotland will be paying for these new stadiums, they (the government) will justify this by saying it will benefit the yoofs, but it wont, they'll still be hanging round on street corners cause they have nowhere to go while the kids privelidged enough to have awsum names and wealthy parents will benefit from spanking new facilities

User is offline   O'Kelly Isley III 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postthe auld son, on Nov 13 2007, 14:35, said:

is there anyone out there agrees with me that --yes its great that the commonwealth games are coming to glasgow
but
would it not have been better to invest in training facilities for all sports first rather than spend 248 million on the games
I dont know of any good football or athletic or swimming facitities in west dunbarton
dont be too surprised if our main medal winners train abroad rather than in scotland
I know that this is not strictly football but I would be interested to know where teams in 3rd div train as well

Did anyone else get the delicious irony of a Scottish Nationalist First Minister crowing over Glasgow/Scotland winning the staging of a sporting event which effectively celebrates and perpetuates a British Empire which he and his colleagues are presumably trying to extricate us from ? :blink:
Ah don't dae Facebook or Twitter, ah jist burn wid.....

Guest_Tatty Boabie_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostO'Kelly Isley III, on Nov 14 2007, 12:56, said:

Did anyone else get the delicious irony of a Scottish Nationalist First Minister crowing over Glasgow/Scotland winning the staging of a sporting event which effectively celebrates and perpetuates a British Empire which he and his colleagues are presumably trying to extricate us from ? :blink:

Yes, the irony is verging on vicious.

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Sub

View PostGoTeamGaz, on Nov 14 2007, 12:06, said:

katia, the point I was making is that everyone in Scotland will be paying for these new stadiums, they (the government) will justify this by saying it will benefit the yoofs, but it wont, they'll still be hanging round on street corners cause they have nowhere to go while the kids privelidged enough to have awsum names and wealthy parents will benefit from spanking new facilities

Not if said yoofs get off their shell-suited backsides and go and do something productive with their lives. There's plenty government (local & national) sponsored sports initiatives going on where, if they showed a smattering of talent, they'd get moved onto better places, regardless of name and background. Wasters like these just use lack of background as an excuse for the fact that they have no intention to do anything decent with their lives, they're happy nedding and that's it.

All neds should be culled, better that the money was spent on a scheme to make that happen. All that's going to happen is that they're going to breed with other neds, and produce even more generations of neds, all of whom will be no use to Society whatsoever. Spend a large sum eradicating them now, and use the future saving for people who deserve it, like supporting people who genuinely can't work or pensioners who have paid tax all their lives and still can't afford to heat their homes properly in winter.

Little bitta politcs there, I've been Ben Elton, g'night.

User is offline   Forest_Fifer 

• First Division Signing Target

View PostO'Kelly Isley III, on Nov 14 2007, 12:56, said:

I didn't realise that withdrwawal from the Commonwealth was an SNP policy. My bad.
In our racing stripes, we rejoice at being "connected"
Without touching, thank god for the internet
We stare at our screens, all our lives, what a waste of eyes
'Till the electrical storm blows our fuses
And we gaze, dumbfounded, at the rain

User is offline   Maitland Keaton 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostBoghead ranter, on Nov 14 2007, 15:05, said:

Not if said yoofs get off their shell-suited backsides and go and do something productive with their lives. There's plenty government (local & national) sponsored sports initiatives going on where, if they showed a smattering of talent, they'd get moved onto better places, regardless of name and background. Wasters like these just use lack of background as an excuse for the fact that they have no intention to do anything decent with their lives, they're happy nedding and that's it.

All neds should be culled, better that the money was spent on a scheme to make that happen. All that's going to happen is that they're going to breed with other neds, and produce even more generations of neds, all of whom will be no use to Society whatsoever. Spend a large sum eradicating them now, and use the future saving for people who deserve it, like supporting people who genuinely can't work or pensioners who have paid tax all their lives and still can't afford to heat their homes properly in winter.

Little bitta politcs there, I've been Ben Elton, g'night.

Ben Elton would distance himself from what was a ridiculous right wing rant.

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Sub

View PostMaitland Keaton, on Nov 14 2007, 15:26, said:

Ben Elton would distance himself from what was a ridiculous right wing rant.

ok, I've been Allan Moore then! ;)

• (2 Pages) +