Steve Banks Absolute legend Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   ferryjambo 

• Third Division Regular
  • Team:Heart of Midlothian
First time I have ever seen a goalkeeper start swinging on the bar during a game :lol:

User is offline   smithers-jones 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Team:Airdrie Utd

View Postferryjambo, on Nov 11 2007, 17:57, said:

First time I have ever seen a goalkeeper start swinging on the bar during a game :lol:

Johnny Martin swung on the bar during nearly every Airdrieonians game that he played in.
Here we go again, its Monday at last..

User is offline   deeks23 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Hibernian
budgie was always swinging from the bar at hibs,and he would throw in a few cartwheels for extra effect ;)

User is online   Jimmy Shaker 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Lossiemouth
I'm sure one of the Inverness clubs (prior to the birth of Franchise North) had a keeper who once SAT on the crossbar during a game as he was so bored. :lol:

User is offline   Dosser91 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Motherwell
Hugh "El Loco" Sproat swung on the bar a few times for the Well.

User is offline   keithgy 

• The Good Die Young
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • Team:Falkirk
Old news,George Watson did it all the time.
Super Bald

Guest_shepz_*

• Group: Surfer
Bar swinging is barry and should be compulsary.

User is offline   RayBees 

• SPL Sub
  • Team:Caledonian FC
  • Gamertag:RayBees1

View PostJimmy Shaker, on Nov 11 2007, 18:14, said:

I'm sure one of the Inverness clubs (prior to the birth of Franchise North) had a keeper who once SAT on the crossbar during a game as he was so bored. :lol:

That was fat Jim Calder (in his pre-fat days i presume) for the j*ggies.
Do the milkshake.

User is offline   Rory89 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Hibernian

View Postdeeks23, on Nov 11 2007, 18:01, said:

budgie was always swinging from the bar at hibs,and he would throw in a few cartwheels for extra effect ;)

Too young to have ever seen this guy but did you see that programme about Hibs league cup win in 91, when Budgie said he often said to opposition strikers "come't my box lad i'll break your back" :lol: :lol: :lol: . We could do with a nutter between the sticks who's afraid of nothing instead of this series of intimidated, overwhelmed, unconfident little girls in the goals (although I still like Maka for some reason).

He also turned up for training in a cold winter morning completely naked and stood their between the sticks shouting at his team-mates :lol: :lol: :lol: .
The future's green, not orange.

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
Banksy was legendary today. Absolutely legendary.

Loved the way that his bar swinging shenanigans obviously made him lose concentration a bit and he nearly fucked up very badly with Steve Lovell, then recovered :lol: Legend.

On another note, I would've cried tears of joy (and not just from my eyes) if Beniusis had scored that chance.
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

User is offline   Beyemystic 

• SPL Sub
  • Team:Celtic

View PostRayBees, on Nov 11 2007, 19:38, said:

That was fat Jim Calder (in his pre-fat days i presume) for the j*ggies.

Thought he used to play outfield for them? Implausible as that might seem now.

Anyway, what happened to Basso? Looked good in the diddy cup tie v. Celtic the other day.

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
Banks has been first choice all season, and for me he's a lot more reliable than Basso. Basso's done well enough when he filled in, but Banks just fills you with far more confidence. I was glad to see him back in the team today.
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

User is offline   marshallschunkychicken 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View PostMakoliunas, on Nov 11 2007, 21:58, said:

Banks has been first choice all season, and for me he's a lot more reliable than Basso. Basso's done well enough when he filled in, but Banks just fills you with far more confidence. I was glad to see him back in the team today.
Plus he swings from the bar on demand...

User is offline   craigkillie 

• There's only one Deano
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Kilmarnock

View PostBeyemystic, on Nov 11 2007, 21:56, said:

Anyway, what happened to Basso? Looked good in the diddy cup tie v. Celtic the other day.

He was crap against us, and crap against St Mirren in the two games I've seen him play. It must have been a one-off against Celtic.

Maybe it's a big conspiracy ;)

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
  • Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL

View PostJimmy Shaker, on Nov 11 2007, 18:14, said:

Jimmy Calder :D

View PostMr. Chisholm, on 28 March 2010 - 08:26, said:

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

User is offline   Ned Nederlander 

• Golden Shower Winner
Swinging on the crossbar is old hat ..... standing on the crossbar is all the rage nowadays :

Posted Image

:rolleyes:
Scottish Football Fans - Sent to Coventry by Doncaster.

User is offline   thorogood's destroyers 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
Jimmy Calder did indeed play as a striker at one time for Inverness Thistle. In fact he played against Celtic at Parkhead as a second half substitute in the Scottish cup, no fairytale though, Jags lost 6-0..............although he enjoyed his return to Parkhead as he was the keeper for ICT when they famously knocked Celtic out of the cup 1-3 and the phrase supercaleygoballisticcelticareatrocious, he had a tremendous game that night and I suppose was instrumental in removing John Barnes from Celtic, so not all bad then.
Me, I'm bad to the bone

User is offline   yogisbairns 

• Third Division Apprentice
Dont know about swinging on the bar but he should concentrate on clearing pass backs from his defenders. What was he thinking about at the end of the game with that pass back? :lol:

User is offline   H_B 

• Sung-Bong Choi is my hero
Quality goalkeeping from his predecessor for Sunderland as well :lol:

Terrible stuff from Gordon.

User is offline   flogelsleftpeg 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:PS3: flogelsleftpeg

View PostMakoliunas, on Nov 11 2007, 21:42, said:

Banksy was legendary today. Absolutely legendary.

Loved the way that his bar swinging shenanigans obviously made him lose concentration a bit and he nearly fucked up very badly with Steve Lovell, then recovered :lol: Legend.

On another note, I would've cried tears of joy (and not just from my eyes) if Beniusis had scored that chance.

He actually made a really good run and was unlucky that Langfield made a good save. Thats the sort of game he should have been blooded in, 4-1 and cruising, he put himself about and showed that he has a wee bit of potential.
"Souness is a jambo"

Lily Allen rocks my world

Page 1 of 1