Albion Rovers V Dumbarton
Rate Topic:

3 Votes
Posted 11 November 2007 - 13:43
Posted 11 November 2007 - 14:03
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Dumbarton
There were one or two individuals giving PM a bit of stick, absolutely no need in it, if you're going to have a go at a manager Gerry should be the one.
Posted 11 November 2007 - 14:05
East-Coast-
Son, on Nov 11 2007, 14:03, said:
There were one or two individuals giving PM a bit of stick, absolutely no need in it, if you're going to have a go at a manager Gerry should be the one.
your avatar is absolutely fanatstic
tell me when you're next at a game because you deserve a pint for that.
Posted 11 November 2007 - 14:24
- Team:Albion Rovers
Dumbarton-
Mad, on Nov 11 2007, 11:27, said:
That's as stupid a post as I've read for some time. On a website full of fannies and wind-up merchants, that's quite an achievement!
As many of your own fans have said, the guy you should really be venting your spleen at is Gerry McCabe. The fact that the current Dumbarton team is 'playing shit' is his responsibility, not that of Paul Martin.
As for Paul, he's doing very well in a role he's probably better suited to - Assistant Manager to a far more experienced guy. He's moved on, so should you.
Posted 11 November 2007 - 14:36
Dumbarton-
Mad, on Nov 11 2007, 15:30, said:
Still doesn't justify it, just because we absolutely gash atm gives us no right to vent our frustrations at PM.
Guest_Dumbarton-Mad_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 14:42
- Group: Surfer
East-Coast-
Son, on Nov 11 2007, 14:36, said:
As i've said i myself don't care too much about PM but after everything he said about the DFC players and supporters before he left a few frustrated fans will shout stuff at him.
Guest_the young son_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 14:50
Dumbarton-
Mad, on Nov 11 2007, 14:42, said:
Couldnt give a toss what PM does, found him an okay guy if a tad arrogant and not changing the system got us relegated.
What does annoy me is that Gerry has had better resources than PM and the squad is complete gash, but he is another number in the long list of failures we have had at DFC.
Last successful managers Tom Carson who got us promoted, Brian Fairley who got us within a point of Division 1, long time since they have dissappeared.
Anyway time for the current board to go and Gerry right at their back, so the two stooges or executives as you like to be known can you please bugger off or if you are not willing to do this bring in a manager with a decent track record and get us the hell out of this division.
Rant over, BTW John Gemmill's tackle on crawford was x rated and how the ref never sent him off for that I will never know and to add insult to injury he gave a passback, another one to add to his long list of f cuk ups during the game. The two bookings henderson got were a joke big bambi at his best shame he couldnt do that when he was at DFC.
Anyway great strike for the opening goal from Roddy Hunter and maybe through the dissappointment we should maybe be please as surely that be the final nail in Gerry's coffin.
Guest_Dumbarton-Mad_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 14:55
the young son, on Nov 11 2007, 14:50, said:
He has had 100k+ sitting in the bank since the Celtic game which he has not even asked to use any of. I just cannot understand that at all. The excuses about a striker are just pathetic. Montrose got Baird, Stranraer got Mullen and Keogh and Albion Rovers got Wright and Hunter. There's plenty players he could have signed and didn't.
Guest_spindlingdude_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 15:52
Guest_the young son_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 17:21
spindlingdude, on Nov 11 2007, 15:52, said:
Dont think so, the first one was a 50/50 and Donald lost his footing like Bambi as usual to make it like a foul, then the next one when henderson had his back turned walking away from the free kick Donald blasted it off him so how is that a booking??
The ref had a howler, how the beast was still on the park after the tackle on Crawford I will never know and I was level with it so had a better view than anyone else
Guest_WillieHague_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 18:13
It was a complete 50/50 and it was a clear pass back!
I think it's time that Dumbarton started to realise that they are no longer a big club
3rd Rock from the Sun (3rd team from the bottom
Posted 11 November 2007 - 20:12
We lacked anything going forward, and at times, even before the sending-off, our midfield was invisible.
The sending-off wasn't one imo. Henderson's first booking was harsh to say the least, and his second one was a joke! He was moving out of the way to allow Albion to take the free-kick, but got booked for impeding the flight of the ball... after Gemmell pushed him into its path!
The referee was abomnible man! Gemmell's two-footed lunge on Crawford was a straight-red in itself, but he had already been booked! Then, the ref gave a free-kick for a pass-back! Fuxake!
Our performance was terrible, and Rovers fully deserved their victory. They were the better team, and took their chances. On a side-note for both sides, how any team can be expected to play 'good football' at Cliftonhill, I'll never know. The playing surface was a disgrace tbh.
McCormack gauged the situation of the game well, keeping Gemmell in the dressing room for the second-half, as he would have been undoubtedly sent-off.
All-in-all, a terrible performance, and Rovers fully deserved the win tbh.
1983 - 2009
Posted 11 November 2007 - 20:37
WillieHague, on Nov 11 2007, 18:13, said:
I think it's time that Dumbarton started to realise that they are no longer a big club
Sorry WH, but Gemmell's tackle on Crawford was a shocker. Yes, it was a passback and Gemmell followed thru. Red mist and all that. Good decision to remove him at half-time by McCormack, otherwise he would have been red carded.
Posted 11 November 2007 - 21:36
Boghead Ben, on Nov 11 2007, 21:37, said:
Worth this assessment
It was a pass back,keeper picked it up so foul may be correct.
Gemmells challange at least a yellow.
If defense to Gemmell is ball was their to be won then keeper couldnt have had it in his hand so no fould by goalkeeper.
If ref claim that keeper had ball in had as judged by foul surely Gemmell is not allowed to touch said keeper
All the decisions trigger off each other
For what its worth Hendersons first booking was a joke decision,his second soft by referree no common sense by referree but technically correct
I believe Henderson foolishly but himself in the position where a bit of gamesmanship got him into trouble and the ref fell for it
Guest_Shit_Squeak_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 21:47
every1 was at the tunnel to voice there opinion at the shitty refereeing on show at the game
Posted 11 November 2007 - 22:16
WillieHague, on Nov 11 2007, 18:13, said:
Please reduce size of image.
Jose Quitongo Interview
Guest_spindlingdude_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 22:30
Guest_the young son_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 22:32
spindlingdude, on Nov 11 2007, 22:30, said:
Aye possibly as good as the one on display yesterday.
It makes me laugh when SPL fans bleat about referees the guys we have to put up are the worst ever.
And IMO the ref definately got both decisions wrong. Gemmils was also GBH
Guest_spindlingdude_*
Posted 11 November 2007 - 22:37
lol boh decisions were very harsh but yellow cards, we had this ref against east fife a month or so ago he had a shocker that day too btw
This post has been edited by spindlingdude: 11 November 2007 - 22:42
Posted 12 November 2007 - 09:30
the young son, on Nov 11 2007, 14:50, said:
What does annoy me is that Gerry has had better resources than PM and the squad is complete gash, but he is another number in the long list of failures we have had at DFC.
Last successful managers Tom Carson who got us promoted, Brian Fairley who got us within a point of Division 1, long time since they have dissappeared.
Anyway time for the current board to go and Gerry right at their back, so the two stooges or executives as you like to be known can you please bugger off or if you are not willing to do this bring in a manager with a decent track record and get us the hell out of this division.
Rant over, BTW John Gemmill's tackle on crawford was x rated and how the ref never sent him off for that I will never know and to add insult to injury he gave a passback, another one to add to his long list of f cuk ups during the game. The two bookings henderson got were a joke big bambi at his best shame he couldnt do that when he was at DFC.
Anyway great strike for the opening goal from Roddy Hunter and maybe through the dissappointment we should maybe be please as surely that be the final nail in Gerry's coffin.
calm doon son
Posted 12 November 2007 - 13:03
Aloysius Snuffleupagus, on Nov 11 2007, 14:24, said:
As many of your own fans have said, the guy you should really be venting your spleen at is Gerry McCabe. The fact that the current Dumbarton team is 'playing shit' is his responsibility, not that of Paul Martin.
As for Paul, he's doing very well in a role he's probably better suited to - Assistant Manager to a far more experienced guy. He's moved on, so should you.
Paul Martin will gain experience where he is and long term move on to become a very good manager, I wish him the best of luck in the future and would welcome him back as manager in years to come.
As for the stupid wee boys who run over to the tunnel to give him abuse they have totally embarassed themselves and the rest of us Dumbarton fans, they should also remember Dumbarton is a family club and their choice language leaves alot to be desired.
Posted 12 November 2007 - 13:28
Laurie Williams Loyal, on Nov 12 2007, 13:03, said:
As for the stupid wee boys who run over to the tunnel to give him abuse they have totally embarassed themselves and the rest of us Dumbarton fans, they should also remember Dumbarton is a family club and their choice language leaves alot to be desired.
I can assure you I am not a stupid wee boy. Paul Martin knew himself he should have walked away from the Sons job. Instead he was to arrogant and pig-headed, stuck to his guns as we were relegated. He deserves everything he gets. Incidently, it was the referee and Gemmill who got most of the abuse. The red card was the softest I have ever seen and his overall performance was a complete joke. Gemmill isnt even worth debating.
I paid my money into Cliftonhill and reserve the right to voice my opinion. Next time i'll ask for your permission.
Guest_spindlingdude_*
Posted 12 November 2007 - 13:52
Delete Post
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: Feb 09 2012 10:13
Community Forum Software by IP.Board