East Fife - V - Stranraer Battle Of The Big 2 Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   rw89 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:Steam: RW2711
If Baikie fucks it up then he deserves to be shot. East Fife have spent money in trying to go up and i can't see any team strong enough to stop them. The fans have had so much shite with Brown, and i wish them all the best but i hope it doesn;t turn pear-shaped like it did with us under Gray.
Death or glory

User is offline   the_russian 

• felchmiester
  • Team:East Fife
Fucking yass, GIRUY Stranny shite, we are the kings and you are pish :lol: :lol: :lol:
how did bobby barr get on?

User is offline   Jimmy MCcabe 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Team:Stranraer
The old saying league tables don't lie applies EF are top because they win more games than the rest, people can argue till the cows come home about their style of play but at the end of the day they score goals and don't concede very many. Thousands upon thousands of people are scrambling around to get tickets to see Scotland play Italy will Scotland play with flair,guile and skill against the Italians?I think not but all would still take a win over losing pretty.

User is offline   Robbo 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Team:Raith Rovers

View Postrw89, on Nov 10 2007, 22:15, said:

If Baikie fucks it up then he deserves to be shot. East Fife have spent money in trying to go up and i can't see any team strong enough to stop them. The fans have had so much shite with Brown, and i wish them all the best but i hope it doesn;t turn pear-shaped like it did with us under Gray.

Yep,spent a lot of money but where/how are they going to recuperate it,certainly not on the crowds they get.There`s no dosh in the 2nd division.

User is offline   Mon_The_Fife 

View PostRobbo, on Nov 10 2007, 23:24, said:

Yep,spent a lot of money but where/how are they going to recuperate it,certainly not on the crowds they get.There`s no dosh in the 2nd division.

First of all f**k off.

Anyway, not long in from a cracking day out with the Venga crew in sunny/rainy Stranraer.

"East Fife aren't good to watch" awwww boohoo!! We pissed all over your lot today and the mighty Stranraer with their free flowing football forced Scott Fox into errmmm... possibly 1 save :unsure: Apart from Tade who is decent the rest of the team are pretty poor and even the home fans were having a go at your keeper.

Your keeper should have been sent off for handling the ball a yard or so outside his box but justice was done with McManus scoring from the free-kick. I didn't think McKinstry should have had a red card but the referee was maybe trying to even up his mistake. Stranraer did play a bit better the 2nd half but well done Craig O'Reilly who just couldn't buy a goal for killing the game with his 1st league goal of the season.

Plenty sing songs by the travelling support today and a few sore voices and heads tomorrow morning. 10 points clear! Fantastic!! :D
(Enter funny and sarcastic signature here)

User is offline   Stevo Fife 

• First Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:Lino Whore Finder General

View PostRobbo, on Nov 11 2007, 00:24, said:

We`ll just have to attract more support from the Kirkcaldy area through our exciting style of play, league dominance and cheap pies B) :lol:

Stranraer fans seem to forget they have a lousy record against East Fife. Last seasons play off's ring any bells or the last game at Bayview where you were very very average, or for want of a better word.......shite.
Sour grapes all round blues boys. Cheers to your good health :ph34r:

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Stenhousemuir
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc
Guess what guys, this ain't fucking La Liga, no one plays attractive football.

If my team played direct football which was as succesful as East Fife's I would be more than happy, and consider those tactics at this level to be 'good football' if succesful.

User is offline   Tam EF 

• Third Division Apprentice

View Postrw89, on Nov 10 2007, 22:15, said:

Nice one.

User is offline   tuckersloan 

• Team:Aberdeen
  • Gamertag:tuckersloan

View PostEdinburghBlue, on Nov 10 2007, 21:18, said:

The standard is so poor that the Blues probably will get into the play-offs, and if they happen to win will be in a relegation dogfight next year. Until Britton goes we are not going to have a good team. And we are just kidding ourselves that the recent undefeated run means that he is at last getting things right. He is lacking in leadership skills and has no charisma

Don't make all of the games due to other commitments but I totally agree. Good post IMO.

User is offline   the_russian 

• felchmiester
Looking on the Stranny forum, their fans fancy them as some sort of great football team. And we are crap apparently :lol:
how did bobby barr get on?

View Postthe_russian, on Nov 11 2007, 06:43, said:

Looking on the Stranny forum, their fans fancy them as some sort of great football team. And we are crap apparently :lol:

Of course, hence why we have been gubbed by them 3-1 and 2-0 this season... :(

User is offline   Angusfifer 

• Third Division Regular
  • Gamertag:Used to have a ZX81
On the subject of fans, it was good to see a decent number of kids supporting Stranraer.
But who were the three eejits who came rushing over after O'Reilly scored? One of them was brandishing an umbrella, while another, rather alarmingly looked like he was the product of an incestious relationship... :blink:

Great day out though, what a laugh...

Traffic Cone Megaphone

This post has been edited by Angusfifer: 11 November 2007 - 11:15

The score remains 4-1 and counting...

Posted Image

View PostAngusfifer, on Nov 11 2007, 11:01, said:

On the subject of fans, it was good to see a decent number of kids supporting Stranraer.
But who were the three eejits who came rushing over after O'Reilly scored? One of them was brandishing an umbrella, while another, rather alarmingly looked like he was the product of an incestious relationship... :blink:

Great day out though, what a laugh...

Traffic Cone Megaphone

The traffic cone in question is still outside Kirkcaldy train station. Went to pick up my car today and had a wee chuckle to myself. "Traffic Cone... Megaphone"

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Stenhousemuir
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc

View Postthe_russian, on Nov 11 2007, 07:43, said:

It's the biggest cop-out ever, 'we played well', 'they play boring football' who gives a f**k how you play it's results that matter folks. And East Fife are in danger of actually lapping themselves, they're that good.

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Some of the comments on the Stranrear forum are pathetic. In two games against us, they've shown nothing to suggest that they are a great football side or that they're capable of giving us a decent challenge for the league. Tade looks like a really good player and one of the very few in the 3rd who I wouldn't mind seeing in the black and gold. McLaughlin is also a good defender but not a patch on Smart or Tweed.

We're hardly Barcalona but we've been incredibley functional and pretty ruthless at times. We've scored far more goals than anybody else and we've conceded less. Montrose have been the only team who've outplayed us this season but they're clearly not a better team.League tables don't lie!

As for the sending off, I didn't see McKinstray's tackle but Black should have been sent off for handling outside his box so there's hardly much ground for complaints.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   Sanny's army 

To be fair, last time we were in the 3rd Stirling fans said the same to us as SFC are accusing EF of now, we humped other teams but for whatever reason were nothing special when we face Stirling. The table (and the wage bill) don't lie though, EF should romp it from here.

View PostMon_The_Fife, on Nov 11 2007, 00:32, said:

Anyway, not long in from a cracking day out with the Venga crew in sunny/rainy Stranraer.

The SFC venga bus last time out in the 3rd...oh the memories :guinness

Guest_Distalgesic_*

• Group: Surfer
One thing which came out of the game was East Fife actively condoning blatant cheating. Your #3 went down at one point like he'd been shot, spent a minute rolling around holding his leg as if it was broken and looking at the ref hoping to get a free kick or a yellow card for the Stranraer player, when he realised he was getting nothing he got up and ran away no worse the wear. Now, that is simulation pure and simple, just as bad as Dida at Celtic, and if the referee was any good he'd have booked him.

Still, what goes around, comes around.

Must admit though the EF fans are funny, a wee bit of success at the bottom of the footballing world and you'd think they were watching Barcelona, still when you live in Fife of all places then I suppose you would leap at any glimmer of light that comes into the bleankess of your life.

User is offline   Jimmy MCcabe 

• Third Division Superstar
There are some very nice places in Fife, just Methil is not one of them.

Guest_Tatty Boabie_*

View PostJimmy MCcabe, on Nov 13 2007, 08:34, said:

You can say that again.

View PostDistalgesic, on Nov 13 2007, 07:57, said:

One thing which came out of the game was East Fife actively condoning blatant cheating. Your #3 went down at one point like he'd been shot, spent a minute rolling around holding his leg as if it was broken and looking at the ref hoping to get a free kick or a yellow card for the Stranraer player, when he realised he was getting nothing he got up and ran away no worse the wear. Now, that is simulation pure and simple, just as bad as Dida at Celtic, and if the referee was any good he'd have booked him.

Must admit though the EF fans are funny, a wee bit of success at the bottom of the footballing world and you'd think they were watching Barcelona, still when you live in Fife of all places then I suppose you would leap at any glimmer of light that comes into the bleankess of your life.

:lol: awwwwwwwwwww! Have you had a wee cry? Poor wee soul. Don't worry your mum or dad will be along shortly to pick up your toys you have just launched out of your pram.

I thought the Arbroath fans were bitter folk but this Stranraer lot take the soggy biscuit.

User is offline   Faraday 

• Third Division Signing Target

Aye, only East Fife players do this, they are bad people.

We think we are watching Barcelona? I don't remember any East Fife fans harping on about being 'the best footballing team in the league'.

How are the grapes? :turtle
"We need a commercial manager. He would be a more important signing than another player. As for Baikie, he did a lot to drag Arbroath into modern footbal. Many of the improvements, ie Youth manager, Stand improvements etc. came indirectly from Baikie. This is not a slight on Brownlie, but Baikie made the club more professional and madde a big difference on all levels. Come to think of it, what happened to the young lichties club, and our mascot....."

User is offline   Ladyfan 

• Third Division Regular

View PostFaraday, on Nov 13 2007, 09:48, said:

Aye, only East Fife players do this, they are bad people.
We think we are watching Barcelona? I don't remember any East Fife fans harping on about being 'the best footballing team in the league'.

How are the grapes? :turtle

I think you've hit the nail on the head there sir! Never, ever, ever have I said that we are the Methil version of Barcelona!

We have however, pointed out on a few occasions that we are top of the league. I have enjoyed the football we have played so far and as long as we continue to do as well in the league, I will continue to enjoy it. Whether we play like Barca or Dunfermline, if we win it is pleasing.

The bitterness shown by some of the Stranraer fans is quite tedious although it is tradition that at least one set of fans in the third division have to bleat on a bit in defeat!
PROGRAMMES, GET YER OFFISHAL MATCHDAY PROGRAMMES HEEE-YER!!

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner

So what was McKinstray doing lying on the ground after he fouled Paul Walker?

I said the exact words "we're hardly Barcalona" in the previous post to your's you retard. This is the 3rd division board and in terms of the 3rd division we're like Brazil 1970 compared to the dross like Stranraer.

Exchange the words "Fife" and "Methil" for "Galloway" and "Stranraer" and you'd be just as correct. None of the football towns in Scotland tend to be very nice.

Stranraer are utterly mince and the sooner you accpet that the better.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

Guest_Liam_*

"The bitterness shown by some of the Stranraer fans is quite tedious although it is tradition that at least one set of fans in the third division have to bleat on a bit in defeat!"

Quite right LF that thought was going thru my head as I read the posts.
Every other team has been quite magnanimous in defeat this season. Montrose fans thought we were shite but they were entitled to say that cause we were! Dumbarton didn't think we were up to much but again (although I wasn't there) by all accounts we were rubbish that day too. Bottom line is you can only beat what's put in front of you & that's what we have done by & large so far this season.
The long ball jibe is a falacy this season, some of the football we have played has been nothing short of brilliant, at other times we've done as much as we needed to to win games. Will it continue? I certainly hope so but time will tell.

This post has been edited by Liam: 13 November 2007 - 13:47

User is offline   Faraday 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostLadyfan, on Nov 13 2007, 11:00, said:

I think you've hit the nail on the head there sir! Never, ever, ever have I said that we are the Methil version of Barcelona!

We have however, pointed out on a few occasions that we are top of the league. I have enjoyed the football we have played so far and as long as we continue to do as well in the league, I will continue to enjoy it. Whether we play like Barca or Dunfermline, if we win it is pleasing.

The bitterness shown by some of the Stranraer fans is quite tedious although it is tradition that at least one set of fans in the third division have to bleat on a bit in defeat!

The 'Methil Barca' just doesn't have the same ring as 'the Methil Milan' does it?

The Stranraer Stenny B)
"We need a commercial manager. He would be a more important signing than another player. As for Baikie, he did a lot to drag Arbroath into modern footbal. Many of the improvements, ie Youth manager, Stand improvements etc. came indirectly from Baikie. This is not a slight on Brownlie, but Baikie made the club more professional and madde a big difference on all levels. Come to think of it, what happened to the young lichties club, and our mascot....."

• (3 Pages) +