Raith 2 Cowdung 0 10,000th post special!!!!! Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   lzreid 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Raith Rovers

View Postonegaryteale, on Nov 3 2007, 20:23, said:

ah I see. Obviously not watching Raith every week I wouldn't know, but I had them on my coupon and was pretty confident they'd win today.

Derby day syndrome and all that. What I wasn't expecting was our right footed second choice left back to play a stormer, our much maligned striker to have another belter of a game and Borris to be excellent in his first start since injury.

I had Ayr on my coupon.

User is offline   MarvMarvSuperMarv 

• "17 year old Wayne Rooney"

Derby day syndrome and all that. What I wasn't expecting was our right footed second choice left back to play a stormer, our much maligned striker to have another belter of a game and Borris to be excellent in his first start since injury.

I agree i also thought Mark Campbell looked quite solid today! Anyone else?
I'm out and about, i'm in with a shout.

User is offline   lzreid 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMarvMarvSuperMarv, on Nov 3 2007, 20:35, said:

I agree i also thought Mark Campbell looked quite solid today! Anyone else?

Walker and Goodwillie were excellent as was Wilson, Fahey (when needed) Weir when he came on.

User is offline   cowdenbeath 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Cowdenbeath
Didn't really expect us to take anything from today as we are still missing Baxter and David Armstrong in our defence.
On the positive side it was good to see young Ramsay in the side today I thought he looked a bit of a prospect and should do ok for us in the future.
Steph McConalogue also seemed to have a bit more fight about him when he came on in the 2nd half perhaps getting dropped will give him a bit of a wake up call.
Agree with the Cowden Cowboy that I don't think that we can play the two 'auld heids' in the middle of the park one or the other, although the manager is restricted in that department as well with Doherty and Mackle still out.
The Blue Mbu

User is offline   staggy4life 

• Highland League Reserve
  • Team:Ross County
top of the league and you're no :P

This post has been edited by staggy4life: 03 November 2007 - 21:41

Hello down there!
Some Beer, some gin, he's on your wheelie bin it's Rocco Quinn, Rocco Quinn!
Some shots, some Grouse, he's breaking into your house, it's Rocco Quinn, Rocco Quinn!

User is offline   rw89 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:Steam: RW2711

View Poststaggy4life, on Nov 3 2007, 21:40, said:

top of the league and you're no :P

Fair play...county have been much more consistent than us so far. Hopefully this can change with the signings of Walker and Goodwillie until january. :lol:
Death or glory

User is offline   bring_back_the_twa_hoops 

• First Division Superstar

View Postonegaryteale, on Nov 3 2007, 20:12, said:

Must have been one exciting game with all the pictures of the crowd that were taken.

Did Raith fans really not expect to win?...I mean really.....

Good crowd of just under 2400, about 250 of whom were Coodung supporters. Naturally they were quite for most of the game :rolleyes:

I had no doubt we'd win but expressing it makes one somewhat unpopular, especially amongst some of the Rovers fannies who would rather they pretend we'd struggle so theyd look humble and objective. :unsure:

useless basturts ;)
FYA

User is offline   Robbo 

• First Division Signing Target

View PostBlooCoo, on Nov 3 2007, 20:28, said:

His smirk was soon removed after being asked about the challenge that resulted in Andy Howatt going to hospital.

And what was wrong with the challenge on Andy Howatt?

We scored 2 but really should have had a barrowload.C/beath,played some tidy football at times but no cutting edge.

User is offline   Growl3th 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Gamertag:Albanactus

View PostRobbo, on Nov 4 2007, 00:19, said:

Who is Andy Howatt and when did he go to hospital?

And why?

Gregory Tade:
It might be the time to show my swagg, and win the league, because hiding is not my style and, enough with: the hopefully,maybe, let's hope so and other. Let's be arrogant, and come out of the closet and say it proudly like a team who deserve it more than anybody else: We will win this league because we owe to fans and ourself. So thanks to all your support we'll deliver or try our hardest.

View PostRobbo, on Nov 4 2007, 00:19, said:

And why?

Gregory Tade:
It might be the time to show my swagg, and win the league, because hiding is not my style and, enough with: the hopefully,maybe, let's hope so and other. Let's be arrogant, and come out of the closet and say it proudly like a team who deserve it more than anybody else: We will win this league because we owe to fans and ourself. So thanks to all your support we'll deliver or try our hardest.

View PostGrowl3th, on Nov 3 2007, 23:27, said:

And why?

Never saw nothing. Never even knew who he was.
FYA

View Postbring_back_the_twa_hoops, on Nov 4 2007, 00:31, said:

Never saw nothing. Never even knew who he was.

Checked my team sheet and he was cowdung's number 14.

Can't really remember him though.

Gregory Tade:

View PostGrowl3th, on Nov 3 2007, 23:35, said:

Checked my team sheet and he was cowdung's number 14.

Can't really remember him though.

Marv goes for the ball and if an opponent gets in the way theyre liable to get flattened, which happens a lot. But I've never seen him make a dirty challenge.
FYA

User is offline   Raith_Raver 

• Team:Scotland

View PostMarvMarvSuperMarv, on Nov 3 2007, 20:23, said:

When we pass the ball around on the ground we could beat anyone.

Certainly a big improvement. Borris Walker and Sloan were a much more creative midfield. He axed Winter and moved Davidson further back. I hope he keeps it that way. Maybe McGlynn watches what we say on this forum :D

The forwards were good too, Hislop (MOM) and the new guy were very good I thought.
We saw a flash of what Carcary can do when he came on, but by that time we were starting to settle for what we had.

This post has been edited by Raith_Raver: 04 November 2007 - 00:09

User is offline   Yoss 

• broon sauce virgin
All this GIRFUY stuff is a bit embarrassing. It's all fine and well after you've beaten Celtic in a cup final or something, but for a home win over Cowdenbeath? Has it really come to that?

As for the game, very pleased with that given some of the last few home performances, and especially given the way we've been slow starters too often. Cowdenbeath looked a shadow of the side who caused us so many problems earlier in the season, bad day at the office for them but I think we're due some credit for getting after them from the off.

Liked the look of Goodwillie, I was confidently stating yesterday that he'd start on the bench, but an excellent decision from McGlynn to throw him straight in, and indeed to shake up the side more generally (five changes, I think). Shame we couldn't add to the score, and that the ref failed to acknowledge it when we did, but very pleased nonetheless.

Davidson - I was defending him as a player on another thread the other day and would continue to do so, but his discipline remains a worry, as someone else has mentioned there was a bad tackle in the first half and I wasn't particularly impressed with his antics in the second.

Pat Clarke - this scarcely need saying but I'll once again express my mystification as to why Dalziel played him so rarely and then let him go.
twohundredpercent
The award-winning football blog.

User is offline   Scary Bear 

• Golden Baws
  • Gamertag:Life begins at 40

View PostStevo Fife, on Nov 3 2007, 19:59, said:

Diddy team derby :whistle

3rd Division rubbish...3rd Division rubbish...Harry Ramp is the 3rd Div player of the year

???

User is offline   Yoss 

• broon sauce virgin

View Postbring_back_the_twa_hoops, on Nov 3 2007, 23:42, said:

Marv goes for the ball and if an opponent gets in the way theyre liable to get flattened, which happens a lot. But I've never seen him make a dirty challenge.

Not often, no, but that one in the play-offs last season was bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57XdESqh1pU
twohundredpercent
The award-winning football blog.

• Golden Baws

View PostYoss, on Nov 4 2007, 00:11, said:

All this GIRFUY stuff is a bit embarrassing. It's all fine and well after you've beaten Celtic in a cup final or something, but for a home win over Cowdenbeath? Has it really come to that?

As for the game, very pleased with that given some of the last few home performances, and especially given the way we've been slow starters too often. Cowdenbeath looked a shadow of the side who caused us so many problems earlier in the season, bad day at the office for them but I think we're due some credit for getting after them from the off.

Liked the look of Goodwillie, I was confidently stating yesterday that he'd start on the bench, but an excellent decision from McGlynn to throw him straight in, and indeed to shake up the side more generally (five changes, I think). Shame we couldn't add to the score, and that the ref failed to acknowledge it when we did, but very pleased nonetheless.

Davidson - I was defending him as a player on another thread the other day and would continue to do so, but his discipline remains a worry, as someone else has mentioned there was a bad tackle in the first half and I wasn't particularly impressed with his antics in the second.

Pat Clarke - this scarcely need saying but I'll once again express my mystification as to why Dalziel played him so rarely and then let him go.

Aye, it has. We're in the 2nd Division!

???

• Golden Baws

View PostYoss, on Nov 4 2007, 00:13, said:

Didn't see much wrong with that challenge.

???

User is offline   Raith_Raver 

View PostYoss, on Nov 4 2007, 00:11, said:

The story is that Clarke criticised Dalziel's tactics and was dropped, and eventually freed him.

As we all know it came back to haunt him because he went to score prolifically for Cowden while we could hardly buy a goal, and then he stuffed us single handedly at Stark's. It was Clarke it was who got Dalziel fired. Justice was never sweeter.

User is offline   Stevo Fife 

• Team:East Fife
  • Gamertag:Lino Whore Finder General

View PostScary Bear, on Nov 4 2007, 01:12, said:

3rd Division rubbish...3rd Division rubbish...Harry Ramp is the 3rd Div player of the year

;)

User is offline   Andy C 

• Group: Platinum Members

View PostRaith Born and Bred, on Nov 3 2007, 18:13, said:

Davo and that twat of a keeper was my moment of the game...what the hell was Davo actually doing? :lol: Hope its his new celebration, we should all start doing it if Davo scores!!!!

I'm sure he was doing the 'cigar' action as if to tell the 'keeper that it was easy.

View PostBlooCoo, on Nov 3 2007, 19:28, said:

Let's just say, Marv 'turned the other cheek'.

His smirk was soon removed after being asked about the challenge that resulted in Andy Howatt going to hospital.

Big Marv goes in hard but I never believe that he injures people intentionally.
If Andy Howatt had to go to hospital then I wish him all the best.

We were the better team today and I'd have had young Joe Dingwall as my MoM but it could've been a different game if the shot that hit the post had went in. Obviously it didnt though and I felt that we ran the midfield today, what a difference a couple of attacking players coming into the team makes. Hissy ran tirelessly, Goodwillie impressed me a lot and Chris Fahey was back to his safe handling best.
Probably the most enjoyable match I've watched this season.

User is offline   Stevo Fife 

• Team:East Fife
  • Gamertag:Lino Whore Finder General
I hate Cowdungbeath. I dislike Raith, but i fookin hate Cowdungbeath.

Thanks for listening.

User is offline   Unknown Caller 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostBlooCoo, on Nov 3 2007, 19:02, said:

Steven - you really need to take a close look at yourself. Remember all the boastful predictions last season and you were made to look a real fud - you're still looking like a fud with some of the postings here.

View PostCowden Cowboy, on Nov 3 2007, 19:14, said:

Steven shows up Raith again - the guys got no class and never learns.

Oh the fucking irony!!! :rolleyes:

User is offline   CooCoothenoo 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Cowdenbeath
No complaints about the result. Raith took their chances, we didn't, but Marv's behaviour after his challenge on Howatt was out of order, smiling and waving at the Cowden fans. I didn't think it was intended as a bad challenge but his reaction was ridiculous. Seems he met his match in Brian Welsh after the game though :lol:

Steven, you're a fud. You've always been a fud and it looks like you'll always be a fud but I'm sure you'll come to terms with it in time.

Fife's Finest :lol: Why were so many Rovers supporters walking up Pratt Street before the final whistle? :blink: Absolutely bizarre.

• (11 Pages) +
  • Last »