Raith 2 Cowdung 0 10,000th post special!!!!! Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   vince sinclair 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Cowdenbeath

View PostBlueminer, on Nov 3 2007, 17:46, said:

Kind of glad I was at work stuck on the phone most of the day getting Scotland v Italy tickets for mates that were at the game! At least I was able to get 2, which was more than Cowden could achieve. Think you are both due me a pint if you read this ;)

Just got another 7 BM :D

Never really looked like scoring, Raith were the better side, would have been interesting if Clarke had scored or at least went down when one on one with that tosser Fahey.

User is offline   Somey 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View Postvince sinclair, on Nov 4 2007, 14:57, said:

Just got another 7 BM :D

Never really looked like scoring, Raith were the better side, would have been interesting if Clarke had scored or at least went down when one on one with that tosser Fahey.

was u at the game vince.

Hope Scotty G puts in a claim

User is offline   Cowden Cowboy 

• Third Division Sub

View Postcentralparker, on Nov 4 2007, 13:41, said:

No complaints about the result - the better team won. Cowden lifted themselves in the second half but the damage had already been done.

What annoyed me was the erses shouting for Welshy to resign. We are sitting mid-table in the second division, can Cowden really expect to be any higher up than that? I wasn't happy when Welsh was initially appointed but fair play to the big man, he's done a good job.

Completely agree some of them need to grow up. We don't want moaners and quitters like them. Welsh has done fine and we are doing OK - we need to battle to stay in the League and build a sound platform for the future. Not his fault he doesn't have the flair and ability of Buchanan, Paatelainen, and Gomis to call on now. With those guys we'd be at or near the top I feel but that aint the way of the football world for small clubs like Cowden.

User is offline   lzreid 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Raith Rovers

View PostCowden Cowboy, on Nov 4 2007, 14:50, said:

Ah'll get ma big brither tae ye! I can just see Welshy carefully thinking it out - 'look it's Marvyn I can belt him and he can't hit back because he's a Christian who'll turn the other cheek' - do me a favour.

And he never started on Davidson for the only actually bad challenge of the game because? I suspect its because he knew Davo would hit him back. It is also true that Welsh is a greeting wee bairn who might need to consider growing up a bit.

User is offline   cowdenbeath 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postlzreid, on Nov 4 2007, 16:24, said:

It is also true that Welsh is a greeting wee bairn who might need to consider growing up a bit.

Sounds like some of the Raith fans on here :rolleyes:
The Blue Mbu

User is offline   Raith_Raver 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Team:Scotland
If Marv had no religious convictions to restrain him and he was assaulted by Welsh I think Welsh would be lying in QMH right now.

Guest_Qwerty_*

• Group: Surfer
Raith were streets ahead, especially in the first half. Badcock will score a few this season with his pace and directness. Only Armstrong, Clarke, in patches Gilfillan and particularily Ramsay impressed me for Cowden. He could be real find and his inventivness might be the difference between us being mid table or being involved in a dog fight.

This post has been edited by Qwerty: 04 November 2007 - 16:28

User is offline   Cliche Guevara 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Ayr United

If Welsh hit Marv he is a fucking clown. You didn't see the same reaction from Allan Moore after the challenge on Stevie Bell

Allan Moore starting a fight with Marvyn Andrews? I'm pretty sure that's something you'll never see.

As for Andrews and whether he intends to injure people or not: I'm surprised he hasn't ended somebody's career by now, as he's one of the most reckless players I've ever seen. I think he relies on other players getting out of his way. Any player daft enough not to could easily end up on the scrap heap. In my opinion referees let him away with murder.
If you've got to be told by someone then it's got to be me

User is offline   R.R.FC 

• Third Division Signing Target

Well Marv looked like big Welshy sorted you out!

do u really think welsh could take marv??? :huh: :lol:

User is offline   Toddy 

View PostQwerty, on Nov 4 2007, 16:27, said:

Raith were streets ahead, especially in the first half. Badcock will score a few this season with his pace and directness. Only Armstrong, Clarke, in patches Gilfillan and particularily Ramsay impressed me for Cowden. He could be real find and his inventivness might be the difference between us being mid table or being involved in a dog fight.

Just wanted to pay respects to the Cowden fans who have been very gracious in defeat ( even if the big talking point just now is Marv and Welsh scrapping :lol: ).I`d still have Pat Clarke back in my team..... young, pacy,knows where the goals are and isn`t afraid to have a dig.
No 5 yesterday was Gilfillan but who was no 11?? The pair of them are stupid.....less than 5 mins to go and a decision goes against them, 1 gets a card for throwing the ball away and the other gets a card for mouthing off !! The game was over, should have just got on with it and shut up. With Cowdens injury list the last thing you need is for players to be suspended because of stupid bookings.

User is offline   lzreid 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostR.R.FC, on Nov 4 2007, 17:10, said:

do u really think welsh could take marv??? :huh: :lol:

Off course he could, didn't you know despite not being smart enough to hire any strong players Welsh is really really tough and Marv would have been shiting himself if he wasn't surrounded by big boys who were his pals.

User is offline   Hank Scorpio 

• Strike
In actual fact he's a fat, pish manager who's getting the sack! :P
Posted Image

Guest_Raith Born and Bred_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostToddy, on Nov 4 2007, 18:33, said:

Just wanted to pay respects to the Cowden fans who have been very gracious in defeat ( even if the big talking point just now is Marv and Welsh scrapping :lol: ).I`d still have Pat Clarke back in my team..... young, pacy,knows where the goals are and isn`t afraid to have a dig.
No 5 yesterday was Gilfillan but who was no 11?? The pair of them are stupid.....less than 5 mins to go and a decision goes against them, 1 gets a card for throwing the ball away and the other gets a card for mouthing off !! The game was over, should have just got on with it and shut up. With Cowdens injury list the last thing you need is for players to be suspended because of stupid bookings.

The number 5 was mouthing off alot to Steven Hislop during the game I noticed. Remember when he took a shot to the back of the head? He got up and went down again and Hissy ran over to check on him and ushered for there Physio to come on (I thought it was a good gesture) then when he was back up on his feet Hissy checked he was ok and put out his hand which the guy snubbed and soon after they were exchanging words :blink:

The number 11 looked a decent player.

This post has been edited by Raith Born and Bred: 04 November 2007 - 18:38

User is offline   Only coo in the village 

• First Division Regular

View PostStevo Fife, on Nov 4 2007, 02:00, said:

I hate Cowdungbeath. I dislike Raith, but i fookin hate Cowdungbeath.

Thanks for listening.

Is that cause we are a better team than you and avoid having paedophiles involved with our club :lol: ?.

User is offline   Hank Scorpio 

• Strike

View PostPacman83, on Nov 4 2007, 19:34, said:

Glad to hear Goodie scored and played well for you, hope his loan spell is successful and helps him develop as a player, should score goals in that division. Good luck to Rovers as well, hope you get promoted this season.

Cheers, mate.

Reckon there'll be any chance of us getting him till the end of the season?
Posted Image

User is online   CALDERON 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Very pleased indeed.

Almost all of the previous week's shortfalls were adressed yesterday. The ball was played on the deck, the team attacked as a unit, our strikers looked like strikers and also, the passing game was encouraged right from the start, ie, Fahey has started rolling the ball out! :D

The whole team played well, but special mention must go to Hislop and Goodwillie. Im so pleased to see Hislop finally get the goal he deserved so much, and Goodwillie looked a real threat and could prove to be a valuable player in games to come. Also encouraging was that both goals came from open play, and were scored by forwards.

Cowden werent bad as such, but were never really in the match. Any chances they did have stemmed from individual errors on our part, and i feel that we were well worth the 3 points in the end.

Bring on Queens Park.
Long ball (often colloquially referred to as 'hoofball') is the term used in association football to describe an attempt, often speculative, to distribute the ball a long distance down the field via a cross, without the intention to pass it to the feet of the receiving player.

It is a technique that can be especially effective for a team with either fast or tall strikers. The long ball technique is also a through pass from distance in an effort to get the ball by the defensive line and create a foot race between striker and defender.[1] While often derided as either boring or primitive,[2] it can prove effective where players or weather conditions suit this style; in particular, it is an effective counter-attacking style of play in which some defenders can be caught off-guard.
- Wikipedia

Ronnie Coyle - #4

User is online   CALDERON 

• International Captain

View PostSteven, on Nov 3 2007, 17:08, said:

Oh and a message for Bleubrazil & Blue Brazil Forever....................

GIRFUY :P :lol: B)

Hmmm

Real Mature.
Long ball (often colloquially referred to as 'hoofball') is the term used in association football to describe an attempt, often speculative, to distribute the ball a long distance down the field via a cross, without the intention to pass it to the feet of the receiving player.

It is a technique that can be especially effective for a team with either fast or tall strikers. The long ball technique is also a through pass from distance in an effort to get the ball by the defensive line and create a foot race between striker and defender.[1] While often derided as either boring or primitive,[2] it can prove effective where players or weather conditions suit this style; in particular, it is an effective counter-attacking style of play in which some defenders can be caught off-guard.
- Wikipedia

Ronnie Coyle - #4

User is offline   Raith_Raver 

View PostCALDERON, on Nov 4 2007, 22:13, said:

Very pleased indeed.

Almost all of the previous week's shortfalls were adressed yesterday. The ball was played on the deck, the team attacked as a unit, our strikers looked like strikers and also, the passing game was encouraged right from the start, ie, Fahey has started rolling the ball out! :D ....

...Cowden werent bad as such, but were never really in the match. Any chances they did have stemmed from individual errors on our part, and i feel that we were well worth the 3 points in the end.

Bring on Queens Park.

Yes, McGlynn must have read that we've been saying we need to get some activity into the midfield and get into the match from the kick off. :rolleyes:

After saying Fahey was poor at Alloa I thought he was good on Saturday and his distribution was a big improvement.

We'll need the same commitment and attitude against Queen's Park - they'll be out to put that 2-5 result straight, just as we we're fired up against Cowden for that earlier defeat.

This post has been edited by Raith_Raver: 04 November 2007 - 22:21

User is offline   Yoss 

• broon sauce virgin

View PostCALDERON, on Nov 4 2007, 22:13, said:

Almost all of the previous week's shortfalls were adressed yesterday. The ball was played on the deck, the team attacked as a unit, our strikers looked like strikers and also, the passing game was encouraged right from the start, ie, Fahey has started rolling the ball out! :D

The whole team played well, but special mention must go to Hislop and Goodwillie. Im so pleased to see Hislop finally get the goal he deserved so much, and Goodwillie looked a real threat and could prove to be a valuable player in games to come. Also encouraging was that both goals came from open play, and were scored by forwards.

All good points.
twohundredpercent
The award-winning football blog.

User is offline   Unknown Caller 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostCALDERON, on Nov 4 2007, 22:20, said:

Hmmm

Real Mature.

It's called Irony :rolleyes:

Funny how they seemed to all think it was funny when they were giving the childish pish out, I notice Blue Brazil Forever hasn't even logged in since Friday night either.

I can't say I'm shocked, quick enough to dish it out but "not man" enough (in his words) to take it back.

User is offline   socrates2 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostCowden Cowboy, on Nov 4 2007, 16:18, said:

Completely agree some of them need to grow up. We don't want moaners and quitters like them. Welsh has done fine and we are doing OK - we need to battle to stay in the League and build a sound platform for the future. Not his fault he doesn't have the flair and ability of Buchanan, Paatelainen, and Gomis to call on now. With those guys we'd be at or near the top I feel but that aint the way of the football world for small clubs like Cowden.
Don't understand the mentality of shouting abuse at your own team, pointless. Rovers deserved 3 points though 2nd half was more even. Going to be a struggle unless we can start scoring some goals!
Blue Brazil CHAMPIONEES 2005/6!

"...Socrates played with an elegance that could have been groomed nowhere other than (the Blue) Brazil"

Cowden Trust

User is offline   St. Starko 

• International Regular

View PostCALDERON, on Nov 4 2007, 22:20, said:

Hmmm

Real Mature.

lighten up ;)
THE ESSENTIALS
Here

User is offline   Kierkegaard 

• Third Division Regular

View PostToddy, on Nov 4 2007, 18:33, said:

Good point, Toddy. I wasn't at the game, but will be down for Saturday's game v Brechin. From what the Cowden fans were saying, Raith deserved to win and we can have no complaints. I think we have a good squad and we should stay up again, but we've been decimated by injuries, with some of our best players out. From what I've both seen and heard, we need more energy and pace in our midfield. We're playing decent football, but lacking the killer ball to the strikers.
Raith should be there or thereabouts at the end of the season. Still, I hope we give you a right good humping at Central Park. :rolleyes:
The Blue Brazil for ever

User is offline   NELLY 

• Third Division Reserve
cowden deserved sweet FA from the game. Welshy i thought got his first 11 wrong. Dalziel shouldnt start games now he has been given his chance.

i still think welshy is doing a good job and he will improve our results.
steven = fud

User is offline   Unknown Caller 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostNELLY, on Nov 5 2007, 08:30, said:

steven = fud

Just fud? no Lino licker or tink comment :huh:

• (11 Pages) +
  • « First