• My Team:Ross County
  • Gamertag:GCarlos9

View PostLarsson., on Oct 30 2007, 11:26, said:

They may not leading the 2nd div but they are cert leading the way
when it comes to there youth set-up....good to see a club investing in youth
so a big well done to cowden... :)

Fair play to Cowdenbeath, but County have done more than them in recent seasons.
You will retire me, but Iniesta will retire us both.

User is offline   SteamingparBoz 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
As an honest question, how many players have Cowdenbeath brought through and sold onto a bigger team for money? I can think of Liam Buchanan and possibly Gomes, but I can't think of many more?
Same rules apply.

User is offline   rw89 

• Hasta luego Damian!
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Steam: RWeir2711

View PostSteamingparBoz, on Oct 30 2007, 11:44, said:

As an honest question, how many players have Cowdenbeath brought through and sold onto a bigger team for money? I can think of Liam Buchanan and possibly Gomes, but I can't think of many more?

Gomis was bought from a team in England. That said, Cowden do have a good youth set-up.
Sky Euro 2012 Fantasy Football League name: pieandbovril superleague entry pin code: 8007039My twitter

User is offline   Raving On 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
Gomis was with Cowdenbeath for 5 months, they hardly brought him through.

They do seem to have a whole load of guys waiting to make a breakthrough though, Kyle Allison being the one that springs to my mind.
The Greek!

User is offline   The Minertaur 

• Bring on the 1st Division
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
Kyle Allison is our back-up keeper. Last Saturday we brought on Matt Lynch who is our top scorer in the youths. Chris Hughes did he not come through our youth team? (I know he isnt hitting the heights that Buchanan has)
Blue Brazil Scorers 2011/12 - Marc McKenzie - 18 Lewis Coult - 15 Mark Ramsay - 8 Jon Robertson - 7 Greg Stewart - 7 Jordan Morton - 6 Scott Linton - 5 Joe Mbu - 2 Kal Naismith - 2 Kenny Adamson - 1 John Armstrong - 1 Colin Cameron - 1 Derek Lyle - 1 Thomas O'Brien - 1 Own Goal - 1
Cowdenbeath FC Twitter Cowdenbeath FC Facebook

User is offline   manic miner 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:East Fife
Their U13 recently took on the Fife Development Squad and were torched 7-1

User is offline   Cowden Cowboy 

• Third Division Sub
Stephen Husband - bought by Hearts at start of season for c£30k and only just turned 17. Gary Wood now of Berwick and once of Ross County/Queen of the South, Alan Combe at Killie, and Graeme Brown now at Alloa also brought in fees plus made a good 1st team contribution at Central Park.

Manic Miner - results at under-13 are not that relevant. It's developing players on field and often more importantly in their off field attitudes and general approach that is the essence. That's where Cowden try and operate and not just look at winning leagues and cups to gratify parents/coaches egos. At 13 all that happens is the bigger, more physically developed lads tend to dominate but later once they lose that advantage they tend to fall by the wayside. Dunfermline's youth set up seems particularly prone to that and seems to waste lots of talent.

• First Division Sub
Yer not kidding there! We haven't have anyone decent come through our youth system since McNamara ffs and he's what? 34 now? Says it all really.
Same rules apply.

User is offline   bleubrazil 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostSteamingparBoz, on Oct 30 2007, 12:39, said:

Yer not kidding there! We haven't have anyone decent come through our youth system since McNamara ffs and he's what? 34 now? Says it all really.

Whit aboot Colin Nish? You could do with him now!!

User is offline   manic miner 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:East Fife

View PostCowden Cowboy, on Oct 30 2007, 12:35, said:

Stephen Husband - bought by Hearts at start of season for c£30k and only just turned 17. Gary Wood now of Berwick and once of Ross County/Queen of the South, Alan Combe at Killie, and Graeme Brown now at Alloa also brought in fees plus made a good 1st team contribution at Central Park.

Manic Miner - results at under-13 are not that relevant. It's developing players on field and often more importantly in their off field attitudes and general approach that is the essence. That's where Cowden try and operate and not just look at winning leagues and cups to gratify parents/coaches egos. At 13 all that happens is the bigger, more physically developed lads tend to dominate but later once they lose that advantage they tend to fall by the wayside. Dunfermline's youth set up seems particularly prone to that and seems to waste lots of talent.

Dont worry, I know all about priorities at U13, I kid on some kids that I know what I am doing as their coach :rolleyes: at U13 level. Physical size is a big advantage, but at U13 you can still see the ones who are technically gifted and which ones are duffers

As for Dunfy, their enlightened approach recently was to dump half their U13 and coaches and bring in 6 from one boys club, along with their coaches.

User is offline   BerwickMad 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
Do Cowdenbeath FC fund all their youth teams? And are all of their players local?
Posted Image

User is offline   bleubrazil 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostBerwickMad, on Oct 30 2007, 12:54, said:

Do Cowdenbeath FC fund all their youth teams? And are all of their players local?

YES

NO - mostly from Edinburgh (16 miles away)

User is offline   Larsson. 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic

View PostBerwickMad, on Oct 30 2007, 12:54, said:

The club will part fund their youth set-up but most of the funds will come from S.F.A
grants.

This post has been edited by Larsson.: 30 October 2007 - 13:32

stennyhibee Posted Image
27 Nov 2007 - 14:43 I'm going to shit all over your breakfast

User is offline   rw89 

• Hasta luego Damian!
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Steam: RWeir2711

View PostSteamingparBoz, on Oct 30 2007, 12:39, said:

Craig Wilson is a very good player who we pinched from the pars last summer after playing fantastic last season.
Sky Euro 2012 Fantasy Football League name: pieandbovril superleague entry pin code: 8007039My twitter

Guest_Hansa_*

• Group: Surfer
I think ours will develop some excellent players in the years to come should we move back up a level and financially secure the system.

Offcourse, we need IMO to get the players involved in first team action to really see the benefits. However this may be difficult when the larger clubs demand kids join their own setups at a young age.

• First Division Sub
Craig Wilson was in my regi class at school, glad to hear he's doing well at Raith.

I should have maybe worded my post better, we haven't recieved a decent fee for anyone we have brought through the ranks since Jackie Mac!

Nish we released because he had Crawford and Brewster ahead of him at the time and he was greetin about not getting a game.
Same rules apply.

User is offline   Whistle Blower 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Euro 2012:Italy

View PostSteamingparBoz, on Oct 30 2007, 19:01, said:

Nish we released because he had Crawford and Brewster ahead of him at the time and he was greetin about not getting a game.

Thanks for releasing him and Sinky all those years ago
Here for a year, we're only here for a fourth year !!

User is offline   number one wasp 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Gamertag:ps3 - jordan19892009
alloa must have one of the best youth set ups aswell some good players starting to come through jamie stevenson and a lad called francis kelly to name two players
Posted Image

Guest_mn07_*

Ross County were leading the way in the 1st last year and are still leading the way in the 2nd when it comes to youth set-up. Cowdenbeath may have a very good set-up but I'm quite sure Ross County have a youth set-up of spl quality.

User is offline   Blueminer 

• Third Division Regular
Anyone know if the Cowden and Ross Co U19's have played each other this season?
Posted Image

User is offline   Blue Brazil Forever 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostBlueminer, on Oct 31 2007, 18:20, said:

Anyone know if the Cowden and Ross Co U19's have played each other this season?

19th August Ross won a home fixture 2 - 0.

User is offline   staggy4life 

• Highland League Reserve

View PostBlue Brazil Forever, on Oct 31 2007, 19:41, said:

19th August Ross won a home fixture 2 - 0.

cowden were actually the only team to beat county last season and they played really well that game so they must have a decent youth set-up.
Hello down there!

User is offline   Loki 

• Mathemagician
  • Gamertag:GCarlos9
Ross County play in the SPL development leagues up until U-17 level. We aren't allowed to play in the SPL U-19 league as the SFL insist we play in their setup. We won the SFL U-19 league last year and were defeated in the BP Youth Cup semi final by Rangers who went onto horse Celtic 5-1 in the final.

Staggy4Life: Wasn't that the game County had two or maybe three players sent off? El Capitano was sent off that game definately.
You will retire me, but Iniesta will retire us both.

Guest_fifesfinestkenny_*

Seen a number of different set ups over last few years after playing at that level.

Rovers was absolute terrible untill we got the new manager and now with his experience it is looking bright.

Alloa's is decent but i feel sorry for there under 17 team now as the new manager is a w**k and is part of the reason i don't play football now.

Cowdens is getting better and has been on the up since Levein was the manager at Cowden. Now having taken a number of full time youths on is looking good.

Ross county is one place i don't know much about but what i've heard it's very good and when i have played against them they always have very well organised teams.

Dunfermline is a terrible and don't even know what teams they have now. If i'm right on thnking they took one player from there 17s last year to go full time as thats all they could afford.

As for players coming from youth set ups. A number of teams are starting to do it, even Rovers with a good number been giving there chance over the last year or two.
Cowdenbeath have given a few young boys there chance aswell along with Alloa.

• (3 Pages) +