Balde May Play Tonight?

User is offline   Bloobell 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Rangers
Are Sellick really so thin on the ground they are considering this numpty for a game tonight?

They'll get murdered if they play him, especially if they also play the totally inept TRAITORBhoy McGeady

Big test of Strachan's tactical nouse tonight imo
Posted Image
Sellick's 2nd worst Manager in their history

User is offline   David W 

• The Chosen One
  • My Team:Clyde
Well, he's better than Caldwell and Pressley, two of the other options.

If Celtic realise that O'Dea and McManus are their best two defenders, then they might have a chance of winning an away game in Europe.
23 years but not forgotten.

Guest_Naka_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostDavid W, on Oct 24 2007, 12:13, said:

If Celtic realise that O'Dea and McManus are their best two defenders, then they might have a chance of winning an away game in Europe.

Agree, but if given a choice between Balde and Pressley at this moment in time, I would choose Pressley.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostDavid W, on Oct 24 2007, 12:13, said:

Don't know much about O'Dea but from what I saw of him on Saturday he ain't a full back, that's for sure
Posted Image

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostNaka, on Oct 24 2007, 12:17, said:

Agree, but if given a choice between Balde and Pressley at this moment in time, I would choose Pressley.

Strachan needs a strong spine tonight, which probably means he needs Hartley to be fit so he can play him just in front the the cetre halves

If he doesn't do this he runs the risk of being overrun like the opening spell in Ukraine
Posted Image

User is offline   JohnoftheJungle 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Celtic

View PostBloobell, on Oct 24 2007, 12:12, said:

Are Sellick really so thin on the ground they are considering this numpty for a game tonight?

They'll get murdered if they play him, especially if they also play the totally inept TRAITORBhoy McGeady

Big test of Strachan's tactical nouse tonight imo

Balde is the best centre half at the club.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostJohnoftheJungle, on Oct 24 2007, 12:30, said:

The game is all about opinions but in mine this guy is miles past his best and Lazybones giving him that 4 years deal was possibly the worst piece of football business I've ever seen

You could see during the UEFA Cup run he was lacking but still he couldn't bring himself to move him on, instead giving him a 4 year deal on far better pay and conditions.

No wonder Strachan can't get shot of him.

The devilish side of me wants Balde to play tonight ;)
Posted Image

User is offline   NEVERBELIEVER 

• Third Division Reserve

Easily . I reckon he has no chance of playing though , Strachan cant handle his players , why Balde , Jarosik Riordan and the loan Gravesen Have hung around so long defies believe . (IT CAN ONLY BE FOR THE MONEY) :rolleyes:
Scotland ? ................A 'jaikie filled, ned infested, bigoted hole of a country',

User is offline   StandFree03 

• Rosetta Stoned
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:StandFree03

View PostBloobell, on Oct 24 2007, 12:34, said:

The game is all about opinions but in mine this guy is miles past his best and Lazybones giving him that 4 years deal was possibly the worst piece of football business I've ever seen

You could see during the UEFA Cup run he was lacking but still he couldn't bring himself to move him on, instead giving him a 4 year deal on far better pay and conditions.

No wonder Strachan can't get shot of him.

The devilish side of me wants Balde to play tonight ;)

When was the last time he actually played a game? He is an absolute liability and if he plays tonight it'll be funny as f**k.

• Rosetta Stoned

View PostNEVERBELIEVER, on Oct 24 2007, 12:36, said:

Easily . I reckon he has no chance of playing though , Strachan cant handle his players , why Balde , Jarosik Riordan and the loan Gravesen Have hung around so long defies believe . (IT CAN ONLY BE FOR THE MONEY) :rolleyes:

Isn't that why eveyone goes to Celtic though? :unsure:

Guest_Naka_*

Sorry John. Wipe your chin, your slavering pish.

• Rosetta Stoned

View PostNaka, on Oct 24 2007, 12:38, said:

The voice of reason.

Balde will get torn a new arsehole tonight if he plays. You don't get away with his "style" of play in European games.

Guest_Naka_*

Big Bobo was the heartbeat of the side during the Martin O'Neil years of bullying teams (especially European) now times have changed and we are starting to actually play some decent football. Therefore he has no place in the team. When did he last play? Not bad for £25,000 a week <_<

User is offline   KnightswoodBear 

• DROKK!
  • Gamertag:Currencyb0y
He is the Chief Executive of Bobo Balde though. (Best quote from a footballer. Ever)

I could see the thinking behind playing Bobo tonight, but the guy has been out of the picture so long that if it goes wrong, it could go wrong big time.

This post has been edited by KnightswoodBear: 24 October 2007 - 11:49

Posted Image

• Third Division Reserve

View PostNaka, on Oct 24 2007, 12:38, said:

AYE I WOULD MUCH RATHER WATCH KENNEDY ( BETTER KNOWN AS WHITE MEN CANT JUMP ) :lol:
Scotland ? ................A 'jaikie filled, ned infested, bigoted hole of a country',

User is offline   Lordofthewing 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:XBL & Steam: VeryHungover

View PostStandFree03, on Oct 24 2007, 12:40, said:

The voice of reason.

Balde will get torn a new arsehole tonight if he plays. You don't get away with his "style" of play in European games.

PLEASE NO, DON'T PLAY BOBO BALDE FOR FUCKS SAKE!!!!

Reasons:
1) Total lack of match sharpness (ie he will get ripped a new arsehole)
2) Poor distribution (not the only one tho)
3) Prone to stupid errors (Seville and Lyon spring instantly to mind)

Ok, he can win high balls all day, but the other three factors, with the fact he's over 30 thrown into the mix ie slower than he was, marks him out as a bit of a liability now.

This post has been edited by Lordofthewing: 24 October 2007 - 11:58

You see a mouse trap
I see free cheese and a fucking challenge...

• Third Division Reserve

View PostNaka, on Oct 24 2007, 12:45, said:

Big Bobo was the heartbeat of the side during the Martin O'Neil years of bullying teams (especially European) now times have changed and we are starting to actually play some decent football. Therefore he has no place in the team. When did he last play? Not bad for £25,000 a week <_<

ARE YOU ACTUALLY TRYING TO SAY THIS CELTIC TEAM PLAY BETTER FOOTBALL THAN ONEILS ? :lol: THE CURRENT CELTIC TEAM ARE A POOR COMPARISION .... DONATI , HESSELINK , KILLEN ,WILSON , NAYLOR ARE PISS POOR AND WOULD NOT HAVE GOT NEAR ONEILS SQUAD .... :( :(

Guest_Naka_*

View PostNEVERBELIEVER, on Oct 24 2007, 13:00, said:

ARE YOU ACTUALLY TRYING TO SAY THIS CELTIC TEAM PLAY BETTER FOOTBALL THAN ONEILS ? :lol: THE CURRENT CELTIC TEAM ARE A POOR COMPARISION .... DONATI , HESSELINK , KILLEN ,WILSON , NAYLOR ARE PISS POOR AND WOULD NOT HAVE GOT NEAR ONEILS SQUAD .... :( :(

We play more football than we did under O'Neil. Whether we will be as successful or not will be a different matter. Saint Martins teams stuck to what we were best at and that was physically hammering teams. (which I was more than happy with at the time) But now GS has got us passing the ball and we are reiping the benefits of reaching the last 16 of the CL. Something that we never done under O'Neil.

User is offline   glasnost 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostBloobell, on Oct 24 2007, 12:34, said:

Are you talking about the UEFA Cup run where we got to the final? :rolleyes:

Balde was immense during that run and if it was not for him we would have been nowhere near the final. His performance in Vigo for example was the best I had seen from a Celtic defender in years.

In fact that season, he was so good that he was the club player of the year - ahead of Larsson and co.

There is no doubts in my mind that he deserves to be given a chance. A complete waste having him sit on the bench and he appears to be getting punished for signing a contract that the club were happy to offer him in the 1st place.

The chanting of his name in Lisbon the other night shows that he is still liked by a sizeable number of the support.

User is offline   glasnost 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostNaka, on Oct 24 2007, 13:08, said:

We play more football than we did under O'Neil. Whether we will be as successful or not will be a different matter. Saint Martins teams stuck to what we were best at and that was physically hammering teams. (which I was more than happy with at the time) But now GS has got us passing the ball and we are reiping the benefits of reaching the last 16 of the CL. Something that we never done under O'Neil.

I think that is highly revisionist. We played some tremendous football under Martin O'Neill. People seem to focus on his last season when we did play desperate football for large chunks and totally ignoring the years previous. Sure we could play physically when we needed to - something Strachans side are largely incapable of doing- but we turned it on on many occasion. Give me the football and performances under Martin O'Neill anyday of the week.

• Third Division Reserve

View Postglasnost, on Oct 26 2007, 11:08, said:

I think that is highly revisionist. We played some tremendous football under Martin O'Neill. People seem to focus on his last season when we did play desperate football for large chunks and totally ignoring the years previous. Sure we could play physically when we needed to - something Strachans side are largely incapable of doing- but we turned it on on many occasion. Give me the football and performances under Martin O'Neill anyday of the week.

EXACTLY ....WITH ONEIL YOU NEVER FEARED GOING TO IBROX EITHER ..LOOK AT THE STATE WE ARE IN NOW, V THE GERS . STRACHAN WILL LEAVE , THE SOONER THE BETTER .

User is offline   JohnoftheJungle 

• Third Division Sub

View PostNaka, on Oct 24 2007, 11:38, said:

Balde knows how to defend 1st and foremost. Imo we would be tighter at the back with him there.

This post has been edited by JohnoftheJungle: 29 October 2007 - 16:55

Guest_RichieMccoll_*

Baldes a Mistake Waiting Te Kick Off I Tel Theee :yucky

Page 1 of 1