Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Best And Worst Player..., In Your Time Of Following Your Team? - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Best And Worst Player..., In Your Time Of Following Your Team? Pinched from 2nd Div Forum...............Again!!! Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   King Kebab 

• I am Loki, of Asgard. And I am burdened with glorious purpose.
  • Location:The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
  • My Team:East Fife
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Goldeneye for the Xbox??? I think I just came!!!
Best - Steve Archibald

Not just the best young manager in the League but was still the best player in the 1st Division when they sacked him.....Danskin you c**t!!!

Worst - Dougie (Phil) McCracken

Never in all my years have I seen a donkey to rate alongside this guy in the useless stakes!!!
Posted Image

User is offline   Lance Uppercut 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Dumbarton

View PostKing Kebab, on Oct 16 2007, 14:00, said:

Best - Steve Archibald

Not just the best young manager in the League but was still the best player in the 1st Division when they sacked him.....Danskin you c**t!!!

Worst - Dougie (Phil) McCracken

Never in all my years have I seen a donkey to rate alongside this guy in the useless stakes!!!

Best - Graham Sharp

Worst - Alan Foster
BOOM,SHAKA-LAKA-LAKA BUNS AND CAKES!!!

Isiah fought but was easily bested,
Burned his body for incuring my wrath...........

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc
Best - Colin Cramb

The first half of the season when we should've went up, his link-up with John Paul McBride (a close second) was a credit to behold. What a shame he couldn't keep it up for more than half a season.

Worst - Graeme Connell

A few contenders in the campbell Money reign (Andy Thomson/possibly every player he's signed except John Dempster) but Carwash Connell is by far the worst in my 3 years following the Warriors. I think Car Wreck is a more apt nickname for this utter mess.

User is offline   Rob 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Elgin City
Best: Russell Mackay from when we were in the Highland League and should have played a much higher level. Best from the sfl would probably Martin Johnston

Worst: This list is endless Connor Campbell and Steven Edwards spring to mind immediately though
EVERYONE'S A b*****d BUT ME (PRESENT COMPANY EXCLUDED, EXCEPT YOU JON IF YOU ARE READING THIS, YOU ARE MOST DEFINATELY A b*****d).

User is offline   Francesc Fabregas 

• Yes he does.
Best - Colin Cramb
He would have been playing in the SPL and would have had a few Scotland caps if he managed to keep the heed. Instead, we signed him after an acrimonious departure from Hamilton and for his first six months, he was fucking electric. Everytime he got the ball, you felt like he was going to score. He scored about 18 goals for us in "that season", including the best goal I've ever seen, when he scored a scissorkick volley against The Shire in the Cup. Notable mentions to John Dempster and JP McBride too.

Worst - David Murie
I've not been following Stenny that long, and like Dubs says, there's a few contenders (Mark Tyrell, Graeme Connell, Tam Murdoch and Tony Smith spring to mind), but this guy was fucking shite and a c**t to boot. Came to us along with four other Berwick players but looked as though he'd rather be covered in leeches than play for us. He did absolutely nothing right in his five months with us and during his last game against Albion Rovers, he deliberately got himself sent off.

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc
I actually totally forgot about Murie (or had I removed him from my mind as a protest?) but I have to say those Berwick signings were an absolute sham - Kevin McLeish, oh my word how did he ever reach this level what a girl.

This post has been edited by dubya: 16 October 2007 - 14:44

User is online   cityfan 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Elgin City
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:Rossco1893
Worst Player ever in an Elgin Shirt? Easy..Andy Goram. Waste of space, time and money.

User is offline   Gowfer_Lichtie 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Arbroath
Best -
George Rowe, could do with him at the back just now
Craig Hinchcliffe, won us many crucial points
Colin McGlashan, scored many goals, haven't had a poacher like him for years

Worst-
Barry Will, absolute gash in the midfield
Steve Scott, 1 goal in over 100 games for this goal-machine
Steven Cook, promises much but very rarely delivers
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

"All of our affairs, since the union of crowns, have been managed by the advice of English ministers, and the principal offices of the kingdom filled with such men, as the court of England knew would be subservient to their designs: by which means they had so visible an influence upon our whole administration, that we have, from that time, appeared to the rest of the world more like a conquered province, than a free independent people." Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun

Guest_WillieHague_*

• Group: Surfer
Best

Recent Players

Scott Chaplain - On occasions on of the best players in the league by a country mile, last season he ripped opposing midfields and defences to shreds.

Gordon Lennon - Although his first touch and passing skills left a whole lot to be desired, his last ditch tackles and heading ability won us many games.

Jamie McKenzie - In my opinion the player at the Rovers with the most desire, his set pieces can on occasions be pretty impressive and some silky touches can also be chucked in B)

Worst Players

Iain Chisolm - A player who really does blow hot and cold, has bags of pace but a dire first touch.

Jamie Doyle - Not up to it. No desire.

User is offline   berwick-the-unbeatable 

• Thommo would get it
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Gamertag:Dale BRFC

View Postdubya, on Oct 16 2007, 15:44, said:

I actually totally forgot about Murie (or had I removed him from my mind as a protest?) but I have to say those Berwick signings were an absolute sham - Kevin McLeish, oh my word how did he ever reach this level what a girl.

McLisesh is class now he's with us again :lol:
Officially Paul McKane's agent. Berwick Rangers FC Blog

User is offline   Gall09 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • My Team:Queen's Park

View PostFrancesc Fabregas, on Oct 16 2007, 15:41, said:

Best - Colin Cramb
He would have been playing in the SPL and would have had a few Scotland caps if he managed to keep the heed. Instead, we signed him after an acrimonious departure from Hamilton and for his first six months, he was fucking electric. Everytime he got the ball, you felt like he was going to score. He scored about 18 goals for us in "that season", including the best goal I've ever seen, when he scored a scissorkick volley against The Shire in the Cup. Notable mentions to John Dempster and JP McBride too.

Was that the "yous are goin oot" goal?

What actually was the story wi that?
Ludere Causa Ludendi

@Gall1985

User is offline   Neilly 

• Golden Shoe Winner
LOL it was not a "scissor kick" volley just your routine 100mph volley. We were down to 9 men and Yossef put in the best delivery you are likely to see and Coco banged it in on the volley. It was delicious right enough.

Best player we have had in my time supporting the Warriors is Jimmy Fisher. Hard as f**k and could play football. One of the best deliveries from a dead ball I have ever seen at this level. Special mentions to Coco, Simon Mensing, Kenny Miller, Greame Armstrong and Miller Mathieson.

Worst players David Milne, Paul Bonar and Andy Thompson. Waste of ruddy breathe.
This is my territory be on your way...

User is offline   kiwififer 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Gamertag:I'm far too old for all that shite...
Durie, Kirk or God (the Archibald variety, not King Kenny).

I remember when we played Falkirk in the first and we had Steve playing for us, and Falkirk had Chris Waddle. My granny could have ran faster than the two of them, but then they didn't need to run. I remember Waddle pinging inch perfect passes from the centre circle all over the park. Pity Falkirk couldn't get a shirt big enough to fit him though... Come to mention it, that was the famous 'They think it's all over' game as well!

Worst was Dougie 'Phil' McCracken. For the Fifers, remember him trying to fight one of the Tindals at Alloa?

Worst manager was Gavin Murray by a country mile. Yes, even worse than the lot we have had to put up with recently...
http://www.yesscotland.net/ - one great thing, to happen in my life....

• Yes he does.

View PostGall09, on Oct 17 2007, 22:00, said:

Was that the "yous are goin oot" goal?

What actually was the story wi that?

Yeah man, that's the goal.

Apparently, as he saw the cross coming in, he peeled away from his marker and screamed "OHYA FUCKER, YOOZ UR OOT!" before biffing it into the roof of the net.

Pretty sure he was off the ground when he hit it.

User is offline   Gall09 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • My Team:Queen's Park

View PostFrancesc Fabregas, on Oct 18 2007, 17:03, said:

Yeah man, that's the goal.

Apparently, as he saw the cross coming in, he peeled away from his marker and screamed "OHYA FUCKER, YOOZ UR OOT!" before biffing it into the roof of the net.

Pretty sure he was off the ground when he hit it.

That's class actually, woulda been a different story had he missed though :P

What happened to him anyway, in the second half of that season? Was he injured or just Marco Negri-esque?
Ludere Causa Ludendi

@Gall1985

• Yes he does.

View PostGall09, on Oct 18 2007, 17:11, said:

That's class actually, woulda been a different story had he missed though :P

What happened to him anyway, in the second half of that season? Was he injured or just Marco Negri-esque?

Haha, that's quite a good description!

He went in for surgery on his knee right before Christmas, and when he came back, he wasn't the same player. He scored less than half the goals he scored for us between January and April and just looked disinterested. He always seemed to have a "hamstring" injury and would pull up during crucial games.

The low point came against Berwick Rangers - he came off holding his hamstring after about ten minutes and instead of coming back to the stand to watch the game, he went to the nearby social club for a pint and to watch the Grand National (he says he went for some chocolate). He was told to stay away from the club thereafter and never played with us again.

Still doesn't take away from his first five months with us - he's the best Stenny player I've ever seen.

Guest_shiredownunder_*

Since I've been supporting Shire since 1967, there's a pretty long "short list", which could be longer but for the fact that I've been out here for 18 years so can't name anyone since 1989.....
Anyway, narrowed it down to;
Best; Gordon Simpson, Gordon Russell, Bobby McCulley, Charlie Kelly
Worst; George Adams (believe he's now Chief Executive or something at Ross Co?), Willie Feeney, Alan McGonigal, Roy McCormack

User is offline   the_russian 

• felchmiester

View Postshiredownunder, on Oct 19 2007, 15:22, said:

Since I've been supporting Shire since 1967, there's a pretty long "short list", which could be longer but for the fact that I've been out here for 18 years so can't name anyone since 1989.....
Anyway, narrowed it down to;
Best; Gordon Simpson, Gordon Russell, Bobby McCulley, Charlie Kelly
Worst; George Adams (believe he's now Chief Executive or something at Ross Co?), Willie Feeney, Alan McGonigal, Roy McCormack

Rusty = legend
how did bobby barr get on?

User is offline   ThirdrockfromtheSon 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?
Best: Loads to pick from; any one from...but not limited to......

Murdo McLeod
Kenny Wilson
Brian Heron
Martin Mooney
Paddy Flannery on his day
Hugh Ward
The McKinleys
The Coyles
Graham Sharp
The 70's teams were all good.

Worst....
James Allen
Paddy Flannery on his off days

Difficult to pin your team to a wall and shoot them, IMO......
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................

Guest_Screamin' Skull_*

James Allan????

Is that the same James Allan who played for East Fife about 6 years ago under Davie Clarke?
He scored one of the best goals I've ever seen at New Bayview, ironically enough in a 4- 1 win over Dumbarton.

User is offline   the_russian 

• felchmiester

View PostScreamin' Skull, on Oct 19 2007, 21:08, said:

James Allan????

Is that the same James Allan who played for East Fife about 6 years ago under Davie Clarke?
He scored one of the best goals I've ever seen at New Bayview, ironically enough in a 4- 1 win over Dumbarton.

He destroyed Dumbarton that day, if he had a bit of consistency he would have played at a high level.
how did bobby barr get on?

User is offline   Aloysius Snuffleupagus 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Albion Rovers
  • Euro 2012:Spain
Best
Kevin McAllister - 41 and the best player in the 3rd Division by a country mile. An absolute joy to watch. Pity about his managerial abilities though.

Scott Chaplain - the best attacking midfielder I've seen in the lower leagues. An absolute master at late runs into the box and 23 goals in one season proves that. A thoroughly decent guy as well.

Chris Fahey - The cat!. We've not had a goalkeeper since he left.

Worst
Steven McCormack - this guy must have had photos of John McVeigh in compromising positions. That's the only reason I can think for him getting a game every week.

Gordon Moffat - a man who can trap a ball further than I can kick it, and a non-trier to boot!

David Farrell - over the hill, and with a penchant for screaming at the young players around him, despite the fact he never pulled his own weight.

This post has been edited by Aloysius Snuffleupagus: 19 October 2007 - 20:17

User is offline   LondonFife 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
In my opinion

THE BEST

Paul Hunter (1st time round)

THE WORST

John Martin (not the one we have now) and Ken Thorpe

User is offline   beaver1 

• Third Division Apprentice
Best = JP McBride

Worst = where do you begin? David Milne was shocking, Mark Tyrell was god awful, Martin Harty could trap a ball further than he could kick it, but winner is...Paul Bonar, had forgotten him until I read about one of the earlier posts - an absolute imposter.

User is offline   ThirdrockfromtheSon 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?

View PostScreamin' Skull, on Oct 19 2007, 21:08, said:

James Allan????

Possibly. I'm not 100% sure. IIRC, he was dragged along from Queens Park by our last manager.
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................

• (2 Pages) +