number one wasp
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Alloa Athletic
Posted 06 October 2007 - 15:56
Steven
Posted 06 October 2007 - 15:57
number one wasp, on Oct 6 2007, 16:56, said:
I'm not surprised as you looked like one of the best teams we have played this season, you deserved at least a point at Starks if not all three.
This post has been edited by Steven: 06 October 2007 - 16:57
BerwickMad
- Team:Berwick Rangers
Posted 06 October 2007 - 16:03
And can I put myself forward for the left wing roll in the next game. My qualities include being able to look up when on the ball and at least get one cross in during the game. I feel that would be a massive improvement on todays performance from McMullen.
This post has been edited by BerwickMad: 06 October 2007 - 16:04

Waspie
Posted 06 October 2007 - 16:14
Two tough home games coming up after the international break but for the moment we can enjoy being 3rd in the league
marty_j
Posted 06 October 2007 - 16:19
But don't blame them, yeah, they learn by example.
Blame the folks who sold the future for the highest bid:
That's right, Thatcher f***** the kids"
bsd
Posted 06 October 2007 - 16:29
Cowans a Square Heed
Posted 06 October 2007 - 16:31
BerwickMad
Posted 06 October 2007 - 16:58
Cowans a Square Heed, on Oct 6 2007, 17:31, said:
Aye. My thoughts exactly. He has just been on the radio basically confirming he is leaving. I can't see how we would be able to bring in anyone anywhere near as good.

Cowans a Square Heed
Posted 06 October 2007 - 17:08
heedthebaa
Posted 06 October 2007 - 17:09
BerwickMad, on Oct 6 2007, 17:58, said:
your right mad but he's got a point what he said. players get used to the same voice. hope we get a right b**tard to give them the kick up the jinka the players need. good luck coff wherever u go
dreamteamer
Posted 06 October 2007 - 17:35
g-force1967
Posted 06 October 2007 - 17:44
He has juggled whats available to him and today was probably the final straw. I have to say that is the worst Berwick performance I have witnessed in a long time. We were totally flat. Apart from Danny Swanson's directness there was absolutely no creativity whatsoever. The first two goals were from poor defensive clearances. The third was a very well worked and well taken goal.
All season we have offered no threat at set pieces. We need to start at the back and get a settled defence. Lennox will never be a full back. He gives 100% every game and he is quick but his positional sense lets him down. I would put Bolo at right back simply because of his defensive ability. McMullen is beyond belief. Why he plays when we have Noble I don't know. Noble delivers some of the best left foot crosses and set pieces I have seen at this level. If everyone were fit then I don't think we would be too far off the other teams. But unless we start keeping clean sheets and offering some sort of goal threat, even if it is only from set pieces, we are doomed.
I don't want be involved in the play offs unless it's to go up.A quarter of the way through the season already and I think it's safe to say it's only going to be a one season stay in this division for us.
djn
- Gamertag:Horace Goes Skiing
Posted 06 October 2007 - 17:48
Cowans a Square Heed, on Oct 6 2007, 17:31, said:
Agreed.
Diack at least showed some consistancy today up front - he showed that his howler against Queen's Park wasn't a one off and that he's perfectly capable of being just as mince against Alloa. He must have covered about half a mile in the whole afternoon
I'd like to clutch at some straws (like "what if Greenhill had won a penalty for being fouled instead of being booked for diving" or "what if McLeish hadn't bust his ankle in the warm up" or "what is McMullen had been replaced by my Grannie"...), but the simple truth is we deserved nothing today. Like the Spiders last week, Alloa didn't do lots but they didn't need to, we looked a real mess.
Such a shame to end Cough's time with such a poor afternoon, he gave us a lot of good days, started on a real high at Methil, hope we can remember those times and not the farce that things have looked recently.
Still, I'm sure that the board will scour European Football for a replacement manager and everything'll be alright
Cowans a Square Heed
Posted 06 October 2007 - 17:57
Stewie Griffin
- Gamertag:Campaign For The Real Ron Burgundy
Posted 06 October 2007 - 19:13

Jimmy Waspy
Posted 06 October 2007 - 19:31
Very professional performance today from the team, didn't need to do a great deal to get past Berwick to be honest, which must be a real concern for them.
Only opportunity that Berwick created over 90 mins was the dive in the box, we were at the other end so couldn't get the best view of this, but there weren't many complaints at the decision on the park.
Alloa's first came from a great run at the heart of the defence by John Grant. Earlier in the season he looked like he was struggling but the last few games he is back on form and was my man of the match today. Thought we could have got a second before half time but it was not to be.
Into the second half and the second goal came from a rocket from Bomber which was diverted into the net by Joe, great effort. Icing on the cake was the training ground freekick which Dougie deservedly tucked away.
I like the way that Maitland is pulling this team together, great movement and width in the team. Both Wilson and Agnew are causing problems and Bomber is putting a good bite into the midfield. When you consider that we ended the game with our reserve reserve strikers it is great to see the goals still firing in. Credit also to the defence and Jelly they were commanding today.
If i have to find criticism it is that I am still not convinced with Fleming at left back. His set pieces are excellent but I am still concerned about his ability to defend at times.
Also would like to add that it was great to see Bolo on the park today. He probably suffered at the Recs from his ability to play in many positions and never was setled in one place, always was a trier and I was disappointed when he left.
All in all a great result into the break and we continue the great week of Scottish results in European Football. B)
Father Barrys Sign (Top Half)
Posted 06 October 2007 - 20:33
Took Berwick about an hour to manage a shot on goal, and although they had a wee spell in possesion in the second half never really threatened. I expected a bit more fight from them at least.
Very encouraged by our team at the moment. Perfect balance in midfield, 2 battlers, Ferguson and Grant, combined with 2 ball players, Wilson and Agnew. Jellema has also made a big difference in goals.
I heard this from a few fans, he definitely seems more of a left midfielder to me. As you say, his set pieces are great, and also his distribution from the back is top notch.
With Fairbairn getting a run, and a few still to come back from injury we have a far better squad this year, and hope we can maintain our decent run.
Finally, was well impressed with the Berwick fans who applauded their team at the final whistle, despite a poor performance.
berwick-the-unbeatable
- Gamertag:Dale BRFC
Posted 06 October 2007 - 21:40
Match report: (Bias for Berwick)
Kevin McLiesh was stretchered off, before the game started.
Alloa came out for kick off, but went back in, then came back out
Then Berwick came out. B)
Then the ball was passed a bit.
McMullen and Diack were pish.
The Alloa physio runs onto the pitch for a Berwick player
Alloa scored.
The team was pish, McMullen and Diack even pisher now.
Half time.
Berwick came out.
Alloa came out.
The team were pisher, McMullen and Dickhead so pish they might as well have not played.
Alloa scored.
Diack and McMullen subsitiuted
Alloa Scored
Game dragged on for a year...
Full time
Darren Gribben
- I love you.
dougster
Posted 06 October 2007 - 22:58
Not a good preparation for the game.
Meanwhile, Alloa warmed up loudly shouting for the ball, working hard, up for it and they deserved their victory.
Impressed with their team spirit and football, they should do well this season. Third goal was a peach. A better attack might stretch their ponderous defence though.
The end of a short era for Berwick. Who knows what will happen next, Jimmy Thomson anyone?
Attached File(s)
-
DSC_0008_copy.jpg (272.3K)
Number of downloads: 10
TerraceWasp
Posted 07 October 2007 - 09:51
Berwick are poor, expected them to be at least mid-table this year after their fantastic season last year but seems they are stuck in a big rut. Maybe a new manager can come in and solve it. I suggest Tom Hendrie B)
Well done the Wasps and roll on Peterhead and Raith. It's looking great right now. Best Alloa team for 4/5 years.
Part-time clubs need full-time fans.
gemz22
Posted 07 October 2007 - 12:02
he wil never be a singer either goin by lastnite anyway
This post has been edited by gemz22: 07 October 2007 - 12:03
Raith_Raver
- Team:Scotland
Posted 07 October 2007 - 14:12
dougster, on Oct 6 2007, 23:58, said:
Surely not THE Jimmy Thomson, the man who is to football what the Junta is to Bhuddism?
Sign In
Register
Help

MultiQuote