Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: What Should Celtic Get For The Ned Touching Dida? - The Pie Shop

• (7 Pages) +
  • Last »

What Should Celtic Get For The Ned Touching Dida?

User is offline   davidh1874 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

View PostEastFootball, on Oct 3 2007, 23:58, said:

I think it's unreasonable to expect a handful of stewards to be able to control a celebrating crowd AND try to stop someone running onto the pitch.

It's physically impossible.

Is that not their job?
Work in progress...

User is offline   1001001 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Edited. Drunk again. :lol:

This post has been edited by 1001001: 04 October 2007 - 02:26

User is offline   Lex 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
  • Gamertag:Lexatar
Thrown out this years competition and banned from playing European games at Parkhead for 5 years.

Fair's fair.

Scumbags.
http://www.kickitout.org/

' Reacher said nothing '

User is offline   Savage Henry 

• J'ai une ame solitaire.
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:Hang Out The Stars In Indiana
Celtic will get absolutely shafted for this. It was a wonderful result, and they won't be stripped of the points, but any pride Celtic fans can take from beating AC Milan must surely be wiped out by the actions of one of the "greatest fans in the world". I'd imagine they would have to play at least one game behind closed doors, possibly two, which would seriously dent any possible profit they make from the Champions League.

Blaming Dida is quite embarrassing really. Edited to add; even although he quite frankly made a fool of himself. The shame of his own actions is more than enough punishment for him.

This post has been edited by Jim Pansy: 04 October 2007 - 02:55

User is offline   RyanT 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
What is it with Brazilians and acting like this? Have they no shame? These are fully grown men we are talking about, it's pathetic.

This is becoming more and more common, this foolishness, and the governing bodies need to make some serious examples. It's beyond a joke if this type of behaviour is overlooked.

Celtic deserve a fine too, because it was at their ground, and it is their responsbility to police the crowds there. They failed in this matter and a fan not only got onto the pitch, but he made physical contact with a player. No harm this time, thank god, but he could just as easily have stabbed the player or something. Unacceptable.

A fine, or even a closed door match is in line for Celtic.

A 3 match ban and a hefty fine for Dida is in line. He didn't initiate the incident, but he acted dishonestly, wasted everyones time, and made a mockery of the sport we all love. He should have shrugged it off and acted professionally.

User is offline   SandyCromarty 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
Celtic will not lose the points but face hefty fines on two counts, one for the knob that ran onto the pitch and the second for the over exuberance/reaction from the players after the goal was scored, their running into the crowd played a part in inciting the idiot.

As for the fool, well his life as he knew it is over wherever he stays, as I'm sure that every Celtic fan and his dog will know who he is by the end of the week.

As for the total plank interviewing Strachan after the match you have to wonder why his second question was to do with the fan running onto the pitch, Strachan rightly told him that he was there to talk about the football and wouldn't be drawn into that crap, I'm no Celtic fan nor an admirer of Strachan but he is right as the team manager not to talk about fans actions, why after probably one of Celtics biggest european wins in a few years does this media studies scoop want to reduce the players achievement as an aside to the silly actions of a stupid fan.

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
Celtic deserve whatever is coming to them for this muppet fan of theirs.

But if UEFA don`t throw the book at that w**ker Dida then they obviosly don`t give a shit about the game of football. He should be thrown out the rest of the competiti
on for his blatant cheating.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   The Master 

• My name...is The Master
  • My Team:Dundee

View Postdavidh1874, on Oct 4 2007, 02:16, said:

Is that not their job?

What, going beyond the physical capabilities of humans?

View PostHibeeJibee, on 03 December 2010 - 14:20, said:

We need summer football and a sectional League Cup, no doubt, but we also need an 18-team SPL...

TheMaster@ThePub:~$ sudo apt-get install beer

User is offline   The Real Zippy 

• International Call Up

View PostStuart Dickson, on Oct 4 2007, 00:10, said:

UEFA tend to favour forcing clubs to play behind closed doors. They've done this on a number of occassions before and I think the clubs hit hardest to date have been from Italy. If UEFA take action in this instance that's what I suspect they will do.

As for the p***k of a supporter that's caused this I honestly hope he was arrested, will be charged and will be given a proper banning order forcing him to stay away from football grounds for the rest of his life. More and more these days we see supporters feeling the need to jump over walls to celebrate, it's time we clamped down on that before anyone really does get hurt. Make an example of this tit and make sure he doesn't get close to watching live football ever again. :angry:

I notice that you are slow in the uptake of not condemning Celtic for failing to control their fans yet you slaughtered Gilmour in March for failing to control a 'fan' who went onto the pitch at Tannadice celebrating a St Mirren goal?

Selective condemnation, Stuart? :rolleyes:
TIME FOR A GLASS OF SOMETHING CHILLED!!

User is offline   Jimmy Shaker 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Lossiemouth
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postseamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:45, said:

After that penalty decision LHH it worries me about Uefa's motives in this competition.

The wee teams are not supposed to beat the big teams.

:lol: Its been like that for years, chief. Celtic will get their pants pulled down for this one, especially as it was an Italian club they messed with. If they are lucky, UEFA wont force Celtic out of existence for it, but I wouldn't put too much faith in keeping the points.

User is offline   Slip Digby 

• Third Division Reserve
As in UEFA's eyes, Celtic are a "diddy" club in European terms, they will get shafted big time for this. Was it Inter Milan that had to play 2 or 3 games behind closed doors due to a breach of security a few years back? If that's the case Celtic will get at least this and a sizeable fine.

No excuses, the arsehole ran from the stands on to the park, made his gesture at Dida and ran off again without getting caught. That's not good enough security. Sure I can understand why a Fan(ny) can run on to the park, but he should have been caught at some point.

Oh, and Dida is an absolute joke. I heard this morning it wasn't the injury that caused him to be carted off, it was the shock, as it brought back the time when he was, ahem, hit with a flare. I know we may laugh at this but I think UEFA will lap this up and will accept his excuse for his remarkable behaviour.

All a bit of a shame really, as Scottish Football has been on a bit of a high over the past wee while. We have all been let down by this wee fud.

User is offline   seaside nipper 

• Third Division Apprentice

View Postseamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:45, said:

After that penalty decision LHH it worries me about Uefa's motives in this competition.

The wee teams are not supposed to beat the big teams.

Aye that's it !!

Lets look at it this way. Milan , UEFA champions , from Italy , home of World Champions. Domestic League , mired in corruption. UEFA and FIFA sanctions ....? bah , dont be silly, a couple of senior clubs demoted , or fined, now on their way back.

Ref last night , couldn't wait to award the most disgraceful non event of a penalty.

Makes you think , hmm , I wonder if any form of influence is brought on the referee ?

Italian football has for decades , assume probably even longer, exercised every possible means both directly and indirectly on the outcome of games for their teams domestic and national. They are a disgrace in terms of how unethically they go about their business in any context wrt the concept of fair play

Yet Uefa/Fifa continually seem to apply a different criteria on punishment when it comes to penalising the Latino minded , glamorous Euro select clubs from the diddy clubs. Flares, bonfires , mini riots and disorder in the crowd is considered a feature of games in Italy , yet over here , oh dear , a ban is coming. A huge double standard has always existed in the way the Governing authorities of Euro football exercise their punitive legislation.

Realistically Celtic should be fined , end of. The actual outcome may quite possibly be completely out of context to the actual events of last night. UEFA's motives are indeed dubious , we can only wait and see what the refs report , no doubt involving TV highlights will reveal , however we can expect some weasel words and peurile excuses for motives behind any punishment.

That fud of a fan that came on the park may just have handed a very useful angle of leverage to Uefa.....the moron. As a so called Celtic fan , well last night should be the guys last ever visit to the Dome. That twatting goalie should be fricken ashamed of himself ,yet, ultimately their football is about any possible thing to gain an advantage , so , perhaps he is quite pleased with himself.

I better prepare myself for a hit ! No eating out this weekend :ph34r: Thats enough paranoia on a Celtic topic for me , I'm outa here <_<

User is offline   Joe M 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Elgin City
The guy could have had a knife (more likely a broken Buckfast bottle) so it is serious. Playing the next home Champions League match behind closed doors would be a suitable punishment.

As for Dida, if he wasn't hurt he should be banned for the rest of the competition.

Let's hope we don't have a knee jerk reaction from UEFA making us put up high fences (like South America) around our pitches.

Great result for Celtic and Scottish Football though.

All a bit of a shame really, as Scottish Football has been on a bit of a high over the past wee while. We have all been let down by this wee fud.
Exactly

This post has been edited by Joe M: 04 October 2007 - 07:22

User is offline   The Real Zippy 

• International Call Up

View Postseaside nipper, on Oct 4 2007, 08:18, said:

Aye that's it !!

Lets look at it this way. Milan , UEFA champions , from Italy , home of World Champions. Domestic League , mired in corruption. UEFA and FIFA sanctions ....? bah , dont be silly, a couple of senior clubs demoted , or fined, now on their way back.

Ref last night , couldn't wait to award the most disgraceful non event of a penalty.

Makes you think , hmm , I wonder if any form of influence is brought on the referee ?

Italian football has for decades , assume probably even longer, exercised every possible means both directly and indirectly on the outcome of games for their teams domestic and national. They are a disgrace in terms of how unethically they go about their business in any context wrt the concept of fair play

Yet Uefa/Fifa continually seem to apply a different criteria on punishment when it comes to penalising the Latino minded , glamorous Euro select clubs from the diddy clubs. Flares, bonfires , mini riots and disorder in the crowd is considered a feature of games in Italy , yet over here , oh dear , a ban is coming. A huge double standard has always existed in the way the Governing authorities of Euro football exercise their punitive legislation.

Realistically Celtic should be fined , end of. The actual outcome may quite possibly be completely out of context to the actual events of last night. UEFA's motives are indeed dubious , we can only wait and see what the refs report , no doubt involving TV highlights will reveal , however we can expect some weasel words and peurile excuses for motives behind any punishment.

That fud of a fan that came on the park may just have handed a very useful angle of leverage to Uefa.....the moron. As a so called Celtic fan , well last night should be the guys last ever visit to the Dome. That twatting goalie should be fricken ashamed of himself ,yet, ultimately their football is about any possible thing to gain an advantage , so , perhaps he is quite pleased with himself.

I better prepare myself for a hit ! No eating out this weekend :ph34r: Thats enough paranoia on a Celtic topic for me , I'm outa here <_<

Good post.

Think someone mentioned on a previous thread, picture the scenario if Celtic were deducted the points and this was the difference between qualifying and not qualifying for the knockout stages, I'd strongly recommend that this clown purchase a one-way ticket to fucking Mars.
TIME FOR A GLASS OF SOMETHING CHILLED!!

User is offline   OneJamesMcCarthy 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
As i said on another thread,it is going to be dodgy in Milan for the next game for Celtic fans all because of that wee tit.Dont be surprised if the Milan ultras make attacks on them.
ACCIES/SUNDERLAND/GLENTORAN

User is offline   djn 

• Second Toughest In The Third Division
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Gamertag:Horace Goes Skiing
What was the fine when that Barcalona fan tried to present Thierry Henry with a Barca shirt a couple of years ago?

View PostBlack and Gold, on Dec 21 2009, 21:22, said:

We MUST get 3 points and get this horrible looking Berwick monkey off our backs.

Guest_captain sensible._*

• Group: Surfer
Celtic have a long long history of this sort of thing.

Back in the 1962 Scottish Cup Semi Final against St. Mirren at Ibrox, Celtic fans invaded the pitch en masse when their team went 3-0 down in an attempt to get the match abandoned. Thankfully, order was restored, the match continued and St. Mirren reached the Cup Final.

And who can forget the Cup Winners Cup tie with Rapid Vienna back in 1984. A bottle was thrown from the Celtic support which struuck the Rapid keeper which ended with UEFA ordering the game to be replayed 100 miles from Glasgow (Celtic had won the tie 4-3 on agg after being 3-1 down from the first leg).

Even in the replay (which Celtic lost) there was further crowdf trouble and Celtic were subsequently forced to play Euro ties the following season behind closed doors.

Back in the 70s and 80s there was a fence in front of the jungle to try and stop the animals attacking players - FFS even Gordon Strachan himself was attacked by a Celtic fan at Parkhead.

Its time to throw the book at Celtic and come down hard on them.

After Dida was struck by a firework in the Inter v AC Milan game a couple of years ago, UEFA threw Inter out the competition, made them play their next 4 Euro games behind closed doors and fined them £132,000.

I would hope that UEFA hand out a similar punishment to Celtic this time around.

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
There's no real parallel with what happened with the Denmark fan recently - it's nowhere near as severe. They should only really be being charged with the security issue, as opposed to the fan's behaviour as such, and on that basis it has to be taken into account that if someone's genuinely desperate to get onto the park, you'd need to have a steward for just about every square inch of touchline to stop him. Also, in recent years, Celtic's record's been pretty good - a fine at most, if common sense is being applied.
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

View PostMak HMFC, on Oct 4 2007, 07:38, said:

Also, in recent years, Celtic's record's been pretty good - a fine at most, if common sense is being applied.

:blink:

Its only last season that the scum were singing sectarian songs at Love Street.

Throw them out the competition - its what they deserve.

User is offline   Broccoli Dog 

• Bitches aint shit.
5 year european ban

make an example of the animals

User is offline   Berkshire Buddie 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postseamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:40, said:

Celtic are going to get hit with something from Uefa for this imbecile's actions.

Seriously what do the Celtic fans see as reasonable and any other fans see as a suitable penalty?

I would take a hefty fine or worst case scenario a closed door home game. I dont think we deserve to lose points over this but at the same time it should not have happened.

Going on past cases I fera the worst.

The little p***k should be publicly named and shamed and should be left to face the consequences of whatever happens to him.

He has completely ruined the greates few weeks Scottish Football has ever seen.

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
  • My Team:Queen of the South
  • Euro 2012:Germany
A great result, overshaddowed by a fuckwit. I am sure Celtic will ban him for life and remove his season ticket, if he had one. It's sad that he will cost Celtic, few thousand pounds though. If we look at previous incidents of this nature, Uefa deducted points off of Denmark after a fan attacked a referee in the European Qualifiers earlier this year. Also Roma & Inter had to play behind closed doors after fans caused problems in Champions league matches. It's not looking good for Celtic.

As for the keeper, yes he made a meal of it, but the 'fan' should not have been on the pitch in the first place. I think Celtic should sue the fucker for damages and lost earnings, if they are forced to play behind closed doors or away from Parkhead. That would teach him.

As I say, a good result spoiled by a brainless fuckwit.
Look at you. You're a slippery genius!

View Postqos_75, on Oct 4 2007, 08:59, said:

As I say, a good result spoiled by a brainless fuckwit.

On the contrary, it was a bad result turned into joy and happiness by a brainless fuckwit. :lol:

User is offline   Colin M 

• Bass Cadet
They should be forced to play Chris Killen from the start in the remainder of their fixtures.
"Well I've had enough of morons and half-wits, dolts, dunces, dullards and dumbbells, and you chowderhead yokel, you blithering hayseed, you've had enough of me?"

User is offline   Gowfer_Lichtie 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Arbroath

View PostLibero, on Oct 3 2007, 23:55, said:

exactly. it is the clubs responsibility not only to provide stewards but to provide stewards to do an adequate job in restraining pitch invaders if necessary, this was evidently not done so i think UEFA will come down hard to set an example

The stewards were mainly distracted by the horde of unwashed in the corner going crazy as McDonald and the rest of the Sellick players went over to celebrate. I wouldn't be surprised if UEFA try to ban all gestures and running towards fans to prevent stewards being distracted in this way! :unsure:

Dida is a tube, but he'll know that himself when he sees it on the news and in the papers. What must have been going through his head as he was stretchered off holding an ice pack against his head? Compare that to Carvalho at Chelsea playing on with a tennis ball on his forehead or Lewis Moody (England Rugby player) just gettin on with things having been almost KO'd on the pitch...twice!
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

"All of our affairs, since the union of crowns, have been managed by the advice of English ministers, and the principal offices of the kingdom filled with such men, as the court of England knew would be subservient to their designs: by which means they had so visible an influence upon our whole administration, that we have, from that time, appeared to the rest of the world more like a conquered province, than a free independent people." Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun

• (7 Pages) +
  • Last »