Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: What Should Celtic Get For The Ned Touching Dida? - The Pie Shop

• (7 Pages) +
  • Last »

What Should Celtic Get For The Ned Touching Dida?

User is offline   seamus 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Gamertag:seamuspb
Celtic are going to get hit with something from Uefa for this imbecile's actions.

Seriously what do the Celtic fans see as reasonable and any other fans see as a suitable penalty?

I would take a hefty fine or worst case scenario a closed door home game. I dont think we deserve to lose points over this but at the same time it should not have happened.
but then up stepped Albert Kidd

User is offline   The Master 

• My name...is The Master
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Dundee
They should recieve no punishment.

How the hell are Celtic, as a club, supposed to stop some nutter from running on the pitch?

UEFA should only get involved if Celtic don't ban him for life if/when he's traced.

View PostHibeeJibee, on 03 December 2010 - 14:20, said:

We need summer football and a sectional League Cup, no doubt, but we also need an 18-team SPL...

TheMaster@ThePub:~$ sudo apt-get install beer

User is offline   LordHawHaw 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postseamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:40, said:

Celtic are going to get hit with something from Uefa for this imbecile's actions.

Seriously what do the Celtic fans see as reasonable and any other fans see as a suitable penalty?

I would take a hefty fine or worst case scenario a closed door home game. I dont think we deserve to lose points over this but at the same time it should not have happened.

It's up to uefa and we are a diddy country so expect the worse, the only saving grace is the behaviour of the goalie, might take a bit of heat off.

however we do deserve to be hit hard, you think poeple would know not to do that, wee neds taht come in tanked up on booze or drugs
I agree, it's all the old firms fault

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostEastFootball, on Oct 3 2007, 23:42, said:

How the hell are Celtic, as a club, supposed to stop some nutter from running on the pitch?

UEFA should only get involved if Celtic don't ban him for life if/when he's traced.

The home team must be responsible for a reasonable duty of care in something like a football stadium, they might pass then onto the police but they are ultimately responsible I's suggest , otherwise it would be anarchy

User is online   Mr. Brightside 

• S.I.G.
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PSN - BabyFratelli
They should catch the c**t and get everyone who was at the game to chase him with paintball guns, shoot f**k out him then make him pay the fine, and refund everyone who was there.

Sounds fair to me and may stop w**kers like him in the future if punishments were that severe!
It's getting kind of hard to believe things are going to get better. I've been drowning too long to believe that the tide is going to turn. And I've been living too hard to believe things are going to get easier now. I'm still trying to shake off the pain from the lessons I've learned. And if I see Van Helsing, I swear to the lord I will slay him. AHA HA HA. He take you from me but I swear I won't let it be so. AHA HA HA. Blood, will run done his face, when he is decapitated AH! His head on my mantle is how I will let this world know...how much I love you.
Die, die, die....I can't

Posted Image

User is offline   seamus 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostLordHawHaw, on Oct 3 2007, 23:42, said:

It's up to uefa and we are a diddy country so expect the worse, the only saving grace is the behaviour of the goalie, might take a bit of heat off.

however we do deserve to be hit hard, you think poeple would know not to do that, wee neds taht come in tanked up on booze or drugs

After that penalty decision LHH it worries me about Uefa's motives in this competition.

The wee teams are not supposed to beat the big teams.

User is offline   ICTChris 

• Don't worry boss, I've got you covered. Quick and clean
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
They should have to swap Boruc for Dida.
The party goes on behind elevator doors
While the elevator plummets from the 69th floor

@chrislindsay33

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postseamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:45, said:

After that penalty decision LHH it worries me about Uefa's motives in this competition.

Regardless of what the goalie did or did not do, the fact remains one of our fans went onto the pitch and hit a opposition player, that's unacceptable, Uefa need to shaow that's unacceptable

View PostLordHawHaw, on Oct 3 2007, 23:44, said:

The home team must be responsible for a reasonable duty of care in something like a football stadium, they might pass then onto the police but they are ultimately responsible I's suggest , otherwise it would be anarchy

Celtic did all that was asked of them tonight - they provided stewards to UEFA's requirements.

Once the game was underway, there was nothing more they, as a club, could do.

I'm not normally one for sticking up for the Old Firm (my name and signature kind of show that), but I don't mind seeing Celtic do well in Europe.

We need summer football and a sectional League Cup, no doubt, but we also need an 18-team SPL...

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostEastFootball, on Oct 3 2007, 23:42, said:

Put a big fence up like they used to do in the olden days.

Celtic will be fined and probably docked points. UEFA rip the pish out of the countries not in the clique.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   Uncle Psychosis 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
I haven't seen it yet, but all reports suggest that there was absolutely nothing in it.

A hefty fine seems the most reasonable punishment.

Sam
http://www.eosjags.co.uk East of Scotland PTFC suppporters club

Posted Image

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostEastFootball, on Oct 3 2007, 23:49, said:

Celtic did all that was asked of them tonight - they provided stewards to UEFA's requirements.

Once the game was underway, there was nothing more they, as a club, could do.

I'm not normally one for sticking up for the Old Firm (my name and signature kind of show that), but I don't mind seeing Celtic do well in Europe.

Regardless it's still Celtic responsibility, it's their stadium, I'd like nothing better than Uefa to ignore this, i don't think they will nor should they, bottom line is you cannot have fans going onto pitches and getting physical with players

User is offline   Bobby_F 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View Postseamus, on Oct 3 2007, 22:45, said:

Will resist the obvious comment about changing 'UEFA' to 'SPL' in Seamus' post :rolleyes:

As to the question, I think it would be a crying shame if Celtic lost the points for this incident.

If the fan HAD actually attacked Dida, then that'd be different.

There needs to be some kind of punishment, if only to make fans think twice about doing such stuff, but I think a financial one should be enough.

One other point - imagine Celtic were to be deducted 3 points, and that stopped them qualifying for the knockout stage. That 'fan' had better think about leaving the country.

User is offline   seamus 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostLordHawHaw, on Oct 3 2007, 23:47, said:

Regardless of what the goalie did or did not do, the fact remains one of our fans went onto the pitch and hit a opposition player, that's unacceptable, Uefa need to shaow that's unacceptable

Players are worth a lot of money and should be protected too true.They are doing a job and should be afforded security.

It could have been a lot worse :( .

What do you expect the penalty to be? Remember Rapid Vienna?

User is online   DAFC 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Dunfermline
Next game closed doors or away fans only.
Dida banned for one game.

User is offline   Libero 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostLordHawHaw, on Oct 3 2007, 23:52, said:

Regardless it's still Celtic responsibility, it's their stadium, I'd like nothing better than Uefa to ignore this, i don't think they will nor should they, bottom line is you cannot have fans going onto pitches and getting physical with players

exactly. it is the clubs responsibility not only to provide stewards but to provide stewards to do an adequate job in restraining pitch invaders if necessary, this was evidently not done so i think UEFA will come down hard to set an example

User is offline   seamus 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostLibero, on Oct 3 2007, 23:55, said:

exactly. it is the clubs responsibility not only to provide stewards but to provide stewards to do an adequate job in restraining pitch invaders if necessary, this was evidently not done so i think UEFA will come down hard to set an example

Which will be?

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postseamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:53, said:

Players are worth a lot of money and should be protected too true.They are doing a job and should be afforded security.

It could have been a lot worse :( .

What do you expect the penalty to be? Remember Rapid Vienna?

Funnily enough I was in the Jungle at that game too, I never went into the jungle for normal game never mind euro games....I beleive that the bottle never landed anywhere near the player and their own backroom staff cut his eyebrow if i remember correctly...hundred of bottle thrown at the replayed game at Old Trafford, remeber celtic fans getting upset with the MU fans at the game as teh arabs were playing them at Tannadice teh same night I think :unsure:

User is offline   davidkennedyshand 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Whitletts Victoria
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
I think a fine and 3 points deduction is the way it's gonna go.

Can't see a closed door stadium being ordered although Denmark did have to move their home tie outside Copenhagen after the fan went for the ref so you never know.

I also wonder if Celtic being fined for bottle throwing in Milan recently will be taken into consideration.

View PostLibero, on Oct 3 2007, 23:55, said:

I think it's unreasonable to expect a handful of stewards to be able to control a celebrating crowd AND try to stop someone running onto the pitch.

It's physically impossible.

User is offline   The Old Northerner 

• Now bets on his own team. Fool!
  • My Team:Haddington Athletic

View PostBobby_F, on Oct 3 2007, 23:53, said:

If the fan HAD actually attacked Dida, then that'd be different.

If the fan had 'just' ran to the centre circle and jumped up and down until escorted off then that would have been different also.

User is online   10 CC ICT 

• First Division Sub
  • Gamertag:FTOF
Milan won't make Uefa protest

It's in UEFA's hands whether they pursue the matter, but probably a substantial fine and nothing else.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Dream no small dreams for they have no power to move the hearts of men.

User is offline   No8. 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Rangers
Firstly seamus it was a penalty and secondly the game should be awarded to Milan 3-0..The punishment has been set in other games and we are all crying out for consistency. BTW It was more than 1 fan on the pitch..there was plenty in the corner where the players were celebrating. It is not as if it is the 1st time a player or official has been assaulted at Parkhead is it? Btw Dida did look a bit of a tit with the ice pack and stretcher...that is the only thing that might save your points.
4 MEN HAD A DREAM. TO START A FOOTBALL TEAM,
THEY HAD NO MONEY,NO KITS NOT EVEN A BALL.
THEY STILL CARRIED ON, THE RANGERS WERE BORN,

AFTER 54 TITLES, WE'RE STILL GOING STRONG.

User is offline   RoversAl 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Albion Rovers
What a prize idiot, I'm sure Celtic will ban him for life but that won't stop UEFA throwing the book at them. That said I'd love to hear what "injuries" the 'keeper has received.

User is offline   Law Stud 

• It's a Vandetta !
  • My Team:Other
UEFA tend to favour forcing clubs to play behind closed doors. They've done this on a number of occassions before and I think the clubs hit hardest to date have been from Italy. If UEFA take action in this instance that's what I suspect they will do.

As for the p***k of a supporter that's caused this I honestly hope he was arrested, will be charged and will be given a proper banning order forcing him to stay away from football grounds for the rest of his life. More and more these days we see supporters feeling the need to jump over walls to celebrate, it's time we clamped down on that before anyone really does get hurt. Make an example of this tit and make sure he doesn't get close to watching live football ever again. :angry:

• (7 Pages) +
  • Last »