Celtic Vs. Milano the official topic
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:05
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Stirling Albion
It will never happen, celtic will be fined but nothing will happen to Dida.
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:07
- My Team:Stirling Albion
Fan should still be banned from football, no qualms.
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:09
- My Team:Stenhousemuir
- Gamertag:dubyasfc
(I haven't even seen the incident, don't care enough to be honest)
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:19
- My Team:Celtic
- Gamertag:seamuspb
Scott Macdonald was different class.He is Celtic class he has proved me wrong. The referre was pish as was the wee ned who ran on. If Celtic get deducted points it will tell so much about UEFA as an organisation.Especially after the team playing has bribed referees in the past . Which was evident tonight in the penalty decision.
Celtic have just beaten the current Euro Champions and World Champions. If we are deducted points it tells more about corruption than anything else. Come on the Hoops.
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:19
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Queen of the South
orlandoblue, on Oct 3 2007, 21:59, said:
What was he doing, trying to get the fan booked
If it involved a player then fine he could be accused of cheating, but only in this country would we have fans and pundits so short sighted as to not to be able to make the distinction.
I've not seen it but I'll trust the comments on here and go with the fact that the fan hardly touched him, but really, what does that matter.
It is largely irrelevent if the man went down or not. He stood to gain no advantage unless he is a quicker thinker than Carol Vorderman and could see the bigger picture.
Think about it Peter and Neil.
A supporter has advanced onto the field of play and made contact with a player. If he'd done a dead mans fall type dive to the other end of the pitch HE IS NOT CHEATING.
Seriously, you really shouldn't comment on thsi given it's obvious you haven't seen it.
Clearly Dida was at it and knew exactly what he was doing. This is the man bear in mind who got the Milan derby Champions League match abandoned a couple of years ago by going down injured after being hit with a flare (and yes, I know he WAS hit by a flare). He over-acted then and did so tonight well in the knowledge of the consequences last time.
NONE of which though should deflect from the fact that some moron has embarrassed Celtic big time. I'd think a fine is a certainty, a closed doors match a likelihood, a points deduction a possibility and even expulsion is an extreme possibility if it comes to it.
Dida is a disgraceful cheat but Celtic are for the high jump anyway and would have been anyway regardless of his reaction afterward.
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons
Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:23
orlandoblue, on Oct 3 2007, 22:16, said:
Simulation.
halfaperson, on Oct 3 2007, 22:17, said:
But I felt the ice pack and dazed look was taking the piss a bit
Was there not an incident in the 80s, perhaps involving Chile where a keeper feigned injury to try and get a game abandoned? What was the punishment then?
Yes there was. And he was sine died from football for it (though the circumstances were very different and he arranged to burst a fake blood capsule on himself. Very much more pre-planned than Dida's opportunistic cheating (which also nicely deflected from the frankly shocking goalkeeping on both goals by the way).
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:27
craigkillie, on Oct 3 2007, 22:37, said:
Just to be clear, this is the Chilean goalkeeper in 1989 I'm referring to - not Dida.
I don't think he actually caused himself injury. He faked it. There was definitely mention of a fake blood pack in the reports I read. Anyone confirm?
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:30
Swampy, on Oct 3 2007, 22:09, said:
I'd expect any other professional to do the same.
Do you really?
I'm not surprised, in the same way I'm not surprised every time I read of another footballer involved in a nightclub incident in London, but I don't expect it. It's a sad day if that's what we are expecting from our players and condoning. Did you really mean that?
The reaction of the Milan official post match was much more reasonable, albeit he probably had to say that.
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:36
orlandoblue, on Oct 3 2007, 22:41, said:
I've been half tongue in cheek with my posts on this thread but that wee mans refusal to show any form of dignity what so ever even when a supporter of his own club has hit an opposing player is beyond belief
I don't expect Strachan to make any comment straight after a game about a non footballing incident, he should just have said he did not see the incident like most managers would have done, the wee man was so happy at the win
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:49
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:52
- My Team:St.Mirren
Posted 03 October 2007 - 22:55
codfish, on Oct 3 2007, 23:52, said:
When ? Where? Same Circumstances?
Posted 03 October 2007 - 23:21
seamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:55, said:
Denmark v Sweden - fan invades pitch and tries to attack the match referee. I'd imagine it'll be viewed in a similar light, although Dida's attempt at winning an Oscar coupled with Milan saying that the result should stand no matter what may allow Celtic to keep the points.
Regarding the comments from some people that clubs can't possibly police 60,000 people, I think Mark McGhee got it spot on on Radio Scotland - they're expected to police the vast majority, but the deterrant of punishing the club itself is there in an attempt to police the minority.
If I had to guess an outcome, I'd expect Celtic to be forced to play a home game at a neutral venue or behind closed doors, a fine, and a 2 match ban for Dida. Shame though, as all the discussion should've been about how we're one result from the perfect week for Scottish clubs in European competition.
This post has been edited by codfish: 03 October 2007 - 23:21
Guest_Gallacticos_*
Posted 03 October 2007 - 23:45
- Group: Surfer
Pity this 14-year old muppet is going to ruin one of Celtic's best ever European results. This tops beating Manchester United and Juventus. We beat the World and European Champions!
Anything Rangers can do, we can do better!
Posted 03 October 2007 - 23:47
- My Team:Raith Rovers
- Euro 2012:Germany
Posted 03 October 2007 - 23:52
codfish, on Oct 4 2007, 00:21, said:
I think you are over-reacting a tad. In the Denmark game a fan went all out to attack the referee, here a slighty excited stupid wee boy decided to give Dida a cheeky wee slap.
Celtic will not get points deducted, and if they do it will be an absolute joke. The incident had no effect on the game whatsoever.
Posted 04 October 2007 - 07:47
Diamonds are Forever, on Oct 4 2007, 00:52, said:
Celtic will not get points deducted, and if they do it will be an absolute joke. The incident had no effect on the game whatsoever.
Remember it's UEFA that we're talking about - they either bottle it or over-react. Scotland are still pretty insignificant when it comes to their TV revenue and sponsorship income.
Posted 04 October 2007 - 08:00
seamus, on Oct 3 2007, 23:49, said:
Yes they have, and a brilliant job they did as well!
Great couple of nights for Scottish football.
Posted 04 October 2007 - 08:04
- My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
- Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL
Posted 04 October 2007 - 08:32
- My Team:Elgin City
What will happen is that C****c will be fined for poor stewarding of the match. Possibily play the rest of the games in the CL behind closed doors. After all the team did nothing and won the game fair and square.
After the UEFA panel reviews the incident and sees the "contact" and the reaction on Dida then hopefully common sense will come into play.
Guest_granthalliday_*
Posted 04 October 2007 - 08:36
As for the altercation between the Celtic fan and the Milan goalkeeper, Celtic should be fined for failing to control their fans and warned over future conduct but I don't see the need for anything more than that.
I'm hoping that Aberdeen can complete a great run for Scottish football in European and International football.
Guest_Vartex_*
Posted 04 October 2007 - 16:55
Posted 04 October 2007 - 21:25
- My Team:Falkirk
Gallacticos, on Oct 4 2007, 00:45, said:
He's actually 27
This post has been edited by kiddy: 04 October 2007 - 21:26
Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.
& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!
Guest_Gallacticos_*
Posted 04 October 2007 - 23:39
Delete Post
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 27 2012 01:45
Community Forum Software by IP.Board