Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Pubs In Aberdeen - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Pubs In Aberdeen Where to watch the Dnipro game?

User is offline   Booker_d 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
Coming up to Aberdeen for the Enemy gig, wondering if theres any decent studenty pubs to watch the game in tomorrow night in or near the City centre?

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian

View PostBooker_d, on Oct 3 2007, 12:46, said:

...wondering if theres any decent studenty pubs...

No.
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

User is offline   DJP 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Scotland
  • Euro 2012:France

View PostBooker_d, on Oct 3 2007, 12:46, said:

Coming up to Aberdeen for the Enemy gig, wondering if theres any decent studenty pubs to watch the game in tomorrow night in or near the City centre?

Sports bar in the City Centre :cheers

Any pub that serves beer and shows football is a good bar!
Di Canio, what a Legend on JPT Final and Swindon "It is the best trophy I can win. Even in 10 years’ time when we win the Champions League I will remember this as the start of my career.”

Guest_mixu_*

• Group: Surfer
If your looking for a student bar wi football on your best bet is def triple kirks just off city centre ask someone for directions its relly easy to find.

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL

View Postmixu, on Oct 3 2007, 13:16, said:

If your looking for a student bar wi football on your best bet is def triple kirks just off city centre ask someone for directions its relly easy to find.

Triple Kirks is shit but then so are most of the student pubs. It's full of crappy decor now since they "refurnished" it.

I would say get stuck into The Illicit Still myself. It's on Broad Street and they have a web site as well - Google search Illicit Still.

View PostMr. Chisholm, on 28 March 2010 - 08:26, said:

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

Guest_mixu_*

View PostRiG, on Oct 3 2007, 13:26, said:

Triple Kirks is shit but then so are most of the student pubs. It's full of crappy decor now since they "refurnished" it.

I would say get stuck into The Illicit Still myself. It's on Broad Street and they have a web site as well - Google search Illicit Still.

Wouldnt drink in there myself just got the impression he was looking for a pub full of students.

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
Perhaps. That said by studenty maybe he meant cheap therefore I would say Archies :lol:

Five is quite nice as well.

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

User is offline   diamonds2002 

• Sunday League Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd

View Postmixu, on Oct 3 2007, 13:16, said:

I remember when the Triple Kirks used to be good
We hate Airdrie more than you

Guest_XaaronPrimus_*

The 'studenty' pubs in Aberdeen are all crap tbh. Crap Beer, crap decor, crap music, crap people. Combinations of the above plague them.

Only really studenty pub that will show the football is Triple Kirks, and that suffers from 3 of the 4, with the music dependent on who puts money in the juke box.

Ma's will be packed, as will Hog's Head. Illicit Still is expensive. Will Five have the sound on? Didn't have when we were in there for the Rugby. Not sure if Old Skool House shows football anymore. I know they don't have Sky anymore.

Archies would have shown it I would have thought, and it'll probably be busy too, despite the early kick-off. Cheap as well, but not frequented by students, mostly older peeps.

At the other end of town, Frankensteins and the college will show it, but expensive and Frankies has limited screen viewing due to it's layout.

User is offline   shetlandbairn 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
Go to the Kirkgate on School Hill, it's relatively cheap and should be a bit quieter. On the negative side though, that's probably where I'll be before the Enemy gig.

User is offline   Booker_d 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
By studenty I mean cheap and somewhere that the girls Im meeting up with arent gonny be taking the huff while Im watching the footy. Actual students are optional.

User is offline   shetlandbairn 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
Forget the Kirkgate then...

User is offline   chris123 

• First Division Sub
Are they not putting screens up in the RDS?

User is offline   Gogs Grog 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Montrose
Watched the rangers game in the Tilted Wig last night. Beers cheap with a large screen at the end.
Posted Image

User is offline   SandyCromarty 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Get yersel doon to Peep Peeps.

Guest_XaaronPrimus_*

View Postchris123, on Oct 3 2007, 18:44, said:

Are they not putting screens up in the RDS?

They only had 300 tickets on a first come first served basis.

User is offline   MiniCooler 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Aberdeen
I know a few Dandies are heading to The Priory! I am sure the lassies you are meeting shouldn't mind it in there. On Belmont Street, just off Union Street.
Target: 6
Actual: 7

User is offline   Gogs Grog 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Montrose

View PostSandyCromarty, on Oct 3 2007, 18:52, said:

Get yersel doon to Peep Peeps.

:lol: Well worth a visit to see big chris.

This post has been edited by Gogs Grog: 03 October 2007 - 18:04

Posted Image

User is offline   marshallschunkychicken 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian

View PostBooker_d, on Oct 3 2007, 14:16, said:

By studenty I mean cheap and somewhere that the girls Im meeting up with arent gonny be taking the huff while Im watching the footy. Actual students are optional.

Get your arse out of the centre then, and go to the bobbin, on King Street, or as said before, its sister bar Triplekirks.They're both baws though.

Guest_ryok21_*

street corner, guitar, wee paper cup n a can of super is a good night out in aberdeen

Guest_Hansa_*

The Moorings

User is online   10 CC ICT 

• First Division Sub
  • Gamertag:FTOF

View PostHansa, on Oct 3 2007, 21:12, said:

The Moorings

Off topic, I know. But what's up with the Jail Ender website?
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Dream no small dreams for they have no power to move the hearts of men.

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
I see the choice of bars hasn't improved in the last 5 years then.
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)

View Postricster, on Oct 4 2007, 08:59, said:

I see the choice of bars hasn't improved in the last 5 years then.

They are still exactly the same as when I arrived here 6 years ago.

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Can't think of my "local" when I was there. Probably the vodka bar (siberia, etc, and all the other silly names it's had) or the hogs head.

The priory is full of c**ts and as for espionage at the end of the road, OMG, would I tire of killing people waiting in line to go in? No I would not!

TK's is ok but can have some of the world's biggest arseholes as stewards.

In fact if you want to watch a game (rugby or football) and you want somewhere out of the way, not too busy, or fancy, the Howff is always a good shout.

They'll give you free soup or a pie during rugby internationals! :D

If the OP is meeting girrrrrrrls then could I recommend the Cul de Sac? Fairly chilled atmosphere and pretty girl friendly without being over the top girliness.
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

• (2 Pages) +