LiviClyde
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Clyde
Posted 29 September 2007 - 16:15
Embarrassing!
Fair does to Livi, their forwards were far too fast for our ponderous, off form defence, and when is Hendry going to realise we're going nowhere playing McGowan alone up front. The poor boy tries but he's out of his depth!
Idealism is what precedes experience; cynicism is what follows [
Sao Paulo
- SA 2010:Nobody
- Team:Kilbirnie Ladeside
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:10
Livingston blew us open on the counter several times and were clinical in their finishing, our lack of pace at the back helping them on the way. Pesir & Craig always looked threatening. Clyde's arse fell out of it's trousers. SDA - you were right
All in all quite poor, I wouldn't blame the players, rather Hendry's poorly chosen tactics.
Psycho Grafter Qu'est-ce que c'est?
LiviClyde
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:10
cupcake, on Sep 29 2007, 17:36, said:
Aye, but I'm a Clyde supporter and I'm not allowed to complain about referees on P&B!
Sao Paulo
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:11
Toma_BullyWee
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:11
We should start with big "Shaun McKenna" up front next week. When he came on he looked pretty decent. Obvious threat in the air, had a little bit of that Christian Smith dodgy running with the ball feel about him. But we simply cant let a guy who is 6 foot 7 sit on the bench when he could be standing in the box waiting for a cross.
Referee had a fucking howler. Dont think the first penalty was a penalty, too far away to judge the second. As for ours... Haha.
Also a bit miffed at Christians sending off... He seemed to win the ball. Granted he went in at 100mph, but i've seen him get away with a LOT of tackles that were worse than that.
Mushroom
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:13
cupcake, on Sep 29 2007, 17:36, said:
Agreed.
MacLennan should never have been sent off, 1st Livi penalty was not a penalty, Craig should have been at least booked for persistent fouling and bawbaggery, Imrie should have been booked for diving on the edge of the box.
Unsure about your sending off, was looking at the ball at the time. I wasn't sure exactly what happened I think our penalty was good.
Smith's red was probably deserved, and no complaints with your 2nd penalty (which was ironically saved)
On the game, we were pretty poor before MacLennan walked and were an utter joke afterwards. First I've seen of Bestvina, and was not at all impressed the entire defence was an utter joke though, we should put M.McGowan in where Bestvina is and start praying (even the atheists) that Craigy will make a quick recovery.
Playing a 19 year old left winger who looked out of his depth even before he started playing as a lone striker is not the way to score goals. Imrie did really well to make sure there was no way McGowan could miss.
There were positives, for my money Imrie did really well, with the aforementioned goal and tucked the penalty away nicely. Aside from the wee bit of simulation I also mentioned, he did really well.
The new striker looked surprisingly skilful for someone who's 6ft7 and was quite unlucky not to score, must start ahead of Div next week.
and as for David Hutton. He is the new messiah B) . if it wasn't for him it WOULD have been 7 or 8.
ClydeNewcomer
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:14
Toma_BullyWee, on Sep 29 2007, 18:11, said:
We should start with big "Shaun McKenna" up front next week. When he came on he looked pretty decent. Obvious threat in the air, had a little bit of that Christian Smith dodgy running with the ball feel about him. But we simply cant let a guy who is 6 foot 7 sit on the bench when he could be standing in the box waiting for a cross.
Referee had a fucking howler. Dont think the first penalty was a penalty, too far away to judge the second. As for ours... Haha.
Also a bit miffed at Christians sending off... He seemed to win the ball. Granted he went in at 100mph, but i've seen him get away with a LOT of tackles that were worse than that.
I agree wae that mate. Theres no way we will go down this year. Just hope colin hendry learns the best way for Clyde to play and stop changin tactics.
I was ready to go to this game the day aswell but my pin number on my new card is still no activated!!
just as well i never went
Fast_Action
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:17
LiviClyde, on Sep 29 2007, 17:15, said:
Embarrassing!
Fair does to Livi, their forwards were far too fast for our ponderous, off form defence, and when is Hendry going to realise we're going nowhere playing McGowan alone up front. The poor boy tries but he's out of his depth!
I am glad that you got out of your sick bed to see that. Because you are the man that I look to for positive thinking and inspiration. From where I am sitting, we conceded two penalties, had two players sent off, shipped four goals - credit to Livi for giving us a sporting chance by missing a penalty, and can now look forward to a relegation dogfight against Stirling next Saturday.
Not taking anything away from Livi who looked a very decent side and were certainly very clinical. But two things bother me; that we can play as well as we did last week and as poorly as we did today. We started brightly, but the wheels came crashing off big time. And secondly, our discipline, or lack of it will be costing us big time. And very soon.
strathbrock
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:21
Pleased at the Livi performance. That's us unbeaten in 4 games and scored 12 goals. Can't be bad. We need to keep it up though because in spite of everything we are still only 3 points off the bottom. What a league!
Mushroom
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:25
strathbrock, on Sep 29 2007, 18:21, said:
Pleased at the Livi performance. That's us unbeaten in 4 games and scored 12 goals. Can't be bad. We need to keep it up though because in spite of everything we are still only 3 points off the bottom. What a league!
and to think we're the ones usually accused of talking out of our arses!
We were unhappy with the way we played and yes, a few incidents which we are disappointed in the conduct of our own players, but your lot were equally disgraceful, if not more so.
Craig was so unproffesional and it was unreal, constantly fouling people and giving them a bit of verbal too.
That report hasn't been done very well, Valentim and McKenna were both on the park, indeed Valentim actually got booked!
This post has been edited by ochil-clyde: 29 September 2007 - 17:26
LiviClyde
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:26
Fast_Action, on Sep 29 2007, 18:17, said:
Not taking anything away from Livi who looked a very decent side and were certainly very clinical. But two things bother me; that we can play as well as we did last week and as poorly as we did today. We started brightly, but the wheels came crashing off big time. And secondly, our discipline, or lack of it will be costing us big time. And very soon.
The only positives today were that our defence was positively rank! Stone me, F-A, they looked liked they'd never met before today's game! Can we organise some sprinting training for Kirkup and get Higgy to give up his escort side-line?
I do have to reluctantly say that Livi on today's showing are one of the best teams we've played so far and could do well this season.
Oh, and how old is Jose now?
Sao Paulo
*NB - We would have been well advised to have sat a wee bit deeper in today, and be a bit more 'cautious' maybe is the right word.
Really can't be bothered writing a report or the like, truly scunnering performance and result today.
Fast_Action
Many of us are embarrassed. Indeed so.
But self-righteousness can often be just as ugly.
SpursLivi
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:31
Thought we played really well again and Craig and Pesir were excellent up front. Referee was so card happy it was unreal, from what I saw he just seemed to adhere to the loudest shout from either team.
Clyde did look very poor, looked like they did not know how to deal with the Livingston breaks and counter attacks. Dougie Imrie never done any favours for himself either - acting like a complete fud.
Anyhow, i'm sure it was just a bad day in the office for Clyde - or I hope so anyway!
Hopefully we can continue the wee good run in form and leap up the table even more!
This post has been edited by SpursLivi: 29 September 2007 - 17:32
Sao Paulo
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:31
Downright cheating
Fast_Action
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:35
LiviClyde, on Sep 29 2007, 18:26, said:
I do have to reluctantly say that Livi on today's showing are one of the best teams we've played so far and could do well this season.
Oh, and how old is Jose now?
And just as we thouhgt it was safe to come out of the shower?
With this season's squad and circumstances, I am not looking for consistency. The only consistency we have is that we cannot score. But I did not expect that from the defence. That is the worst defending that I have seen since our last trip to Firhill, and I am just about ready to accept that there was an excuse for that.
So you need to try a wee bit harder than that Livi. I am still looking to you for words of wisdom and consolation.
strathbrock
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:37
Fast_Action, on Sep 29 2007, 18:26, said:
But self-righteousness can often be just as ugly.
You call it self-righteousness I call it spitting mad. There really is no justification for the actions of the number 5 to get a fellow player sent off. But he wasn't the only Clyde player "at it".
Steven Craig plays the man's game which football used to be and he gets penalised by referees more often than most forwards I see. What he doesn't do though is cheat.
Mushroom
Posted 29 September 2007 - 17:58
strathbrock, on Sep 29 2007, 18:37, said:
Steven Craig plays the man's game which football used to be and he gets penalised by referees more often than most forwards I see. What he doesn't do though is cheat.
Talk about irony
Sao Paulo
Posted 29 September 2007 - 18:02
scottp96, on Sep 29 2007, 18:59, said:
He's certainly making a name for himself.
Forza Livi
Posted 29 September 2007 - 18:29
Third game on the trot we have played well and looks like Proctors tactics and style of play are starting to pay dividends.
Next week St Johnstone. Im sure if we beat them we get to keep them
This post has been edited by Forza Livi: 29 September 2007 - 18:39
monthebullywee
Posted 29 September 2007 - 18:29
don't know what game you were watching snodgrass was rightly sent off hes a dirty cheating f**k yea id admit a few dives but the amount if dirty tackles you team were putting in was shocking livi number 2 shouldve been off in the first half hour your number 3 should go cry to his mum if he doesn't like a good tackle your number 5 shouldve been booked for two footed tackle steven craig is a cheat maclennans sending off was wrong as he got the ball christian smith first booking was for a header second for a good tackle which livi number 8 hit out didnt even get spoke toand we should have had 3 penalties today we got 1. ref was utter shit they get worse every week

Sign In
Register
Help

MultiQuote