The Referee Last Night Espen Berntsen from Norway

User is offline   StandFree03 

• Rosetta Stoned
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:StandFree03
I thought he was excellent last night. Really hit home how poor the standard of refereeing is in this country.

Mr Bernsten was firm and looked really confident when dealing with players and decisions. He refused to be conned by anyone and was bold enough to book a player (allegedly injured) for rolling back onto the pitch and refusing to leave after several tellings.

If only we had officials capable of handling games so well in this country :(

User is offline   SandyCromarty 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
Did Ok for a codhead noggie.

User is offline   Lordofthewing 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Gamertag:XBL & Steam: VeryHungover

View PostStandFree03, on Sep 21 2007, 11:09, said:

I thought he was excellent last night. Really hit home how poor the standard of refereeing is in this country.

Mr Bernsten was firm and looked really confident when dealing with players and decisions. He refused to be conned by anyone and was bold enough to book a player (allegedly injured) for rolling back onto the pitch and refusing to leave after several tellings.

I was watching it in the house and thought he had quitee a good game as well, even letting a few more of the crunching tackles go, or only giving free kicks for them, whereas a more wussy ref would have been pulling the cards out left, right and centre. On the game you should have scored after creating a few decent chances.
You see a mouse trap
I see free cheese and a fucking challenge...

User is offline   the jambo-rocker 

• A bouncy...
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:England
i agree, he didnt hand out yellow cards like hotcakes unlike most refs back home, i mean i thought nicholson would have booked for his tackle outside the box
Gambling Season 2011: -£19.84 Gambling Year 2012:+£0.50

Ad Lib, on 23 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

The very notion of nationalism is backwards and I make no apology for that.

@robbiecoull89

User is offline   SteamingparBoz 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Best bit was the playeron the ground getting booked for rolling back on and staying there :lol:
Same rules apply.

Guest_XaaronPrimus_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostStandFree03, on Sep 21 2007, 11:09, said:

Totally agree. was a good performance by the ref with regard to the play acting. But why did Clangers try to get the Ref's attention to get the first one sorted? Should have just left the fecker to cry on the ground.

• Rosetta Stoned

View PostXaaronPrimus, on Sep 21 2007, 11:16, said:

Totally agree. was a good performance by the ref with regard to the play acting. But why did Clangers try to get the Ref's attention to get the first one sorted? Should have just left the fecker to cry on the ground.

Aye and the ref told him in no uncertain terms to jog on, and Langfield did straight away.

I noticed that nobody tried to crowd round him or influence him either.

Guest_Glasgowjag_*

good performance from him, he tried to keep the game flowing

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
And what's the reason you didn't post this in the thread about the game where several people have already commented on the ref?
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

Guest_XaaronPrimus_*

View Postricster, on Sep 21 2007, 13:17, said:

And what's the reason you didn't post this in the thread about the game where several people have already commented on the ref?

To highlight to others the comparison between the performance last night and how poor our referees are?

• Rosetta Stoned

View Postricster, on Sep 21 2007, 13:17, said:

I put it in SPL chatter to provoke discussion about refereeing methods in Scotland and other European countries. For some reason it was moved.

User is offline   shetlandbairn 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
Possibly just a coincidence but out of the two Norwegian league games I've been to, it struck me that the referees they had were actually good and knew what they were doing whereas the referees in Scotland almost seem like they are in that position because there's no-one else better than them.

This post has been edited by shetlandbairn: 21 September 2007 - 14:49

User is offline   Lordofthewing 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Gamertag:XBL & Steam: VeryHungover

View Postshetlandbairn, on Sep 21 2007, 15:49, said:

Possibly just a coincidence but out of the two Norwegian league games I've been to, it struck me that the referees they had were actually good and knew what they were doing whereas the referees in Scotland almost seem like they are in that position because there's no-one else better than them.

Maybe get some Norwegian ex-refs over to help coach our lot? If they are as capable as the one at Pittodrie last night then it might be a good shout.
You see a mouse trap
I see free cheese and a fucking challenge...

Guest_Glasgowjag_*

View PostLordofthewing, on Sep 21 2007, 16:14, said:

Maybe get some Norwegian ex-refs over to help coach our lot? If they are as capable as the one at Pittodrie last night then it might be a good shout.

one norwegian ref had one good game

fucks sake! doesnt mean the standard is any higher over there

its more about the difficuilty of the job, even refs at the highset level are not much better than our lot (ie they make plenty of ridiculous mistakes as well), its an impossible job

This post has been edited by Glasgowjag: 21 September 2007 - 15:41

• Rosetta Stoned

View PostGlasgowjag, on Sep 21 2007, 16:39, said:

one norwegian ref had one good game

fucks sake! doesnt mean the standard is any higher over there

its more about the difficuilty of the job, even refs at the highset level are not much better than our lot (ie they make plenty of ridiculous mistakes as well), its an impossible job

You're a bit special, aren't you....

User is offline   Leeds-Rover 

• Steven
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

View PostStandFree03, on Sep 21 2007, 22:21, said:

You're a bit special, aren't you....

They are a Partick fan so they would have to be ;)

Guest_Glasgowjag_*

all im saying is theres probably a norwegian football fan saying how great the standard is in scotland and that they should be brought over to coach their referees, its all just a load of grass is greener on the other side nonsense

The fact is it is an impossble job to do well on a consistent basis, mistakes will be made and if a decision be it right or wrong goes against you then the ref has had a bad game depending on the supporters you talk to, video technology need to be introduced, the coaching is perfectly fine.

its all fine and well saying thesee decisions even themselves out over a season or that they are good talking points but lets be honest when mikoliunas dived i know i certainly wasnt interested in talking points when our qualification was at stake

Guest_Hansa_*

Bernsten's performance at Pittodrie was immaculate, best refereeing performance i've seen in a while.

User is offline   North Stand Bairn 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Falkirk
Was it the same guy as last night? From what I saw of the game, he had a really good game.
Stick yer' 5% up yer erse

User is offline   MiniCooler 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostNorth Stand Bairn, on Oct 5 2007, 20:09, said:

Was it the same guy as last night? From what I saw of the game, he had a really good game.

[b]Ref:
Olivier Thual (France).

;)

This post has been edited by MiniCooler: 05 October 2007 - 21:30

Target: 6
Actual: 7

User is offline   David W 

• The Chosen One
  • My Team:Clyde

View PostNorth Stand Bairn, on Oct 5 2007, 20:09, said:

Agreed. Had a dodgy couple of minutes in the second half but in general was excellent.
23 years but not forgotten.

Page 1 of 1