Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Glasgow Vs Stuttgart - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Glasgow Vs Stuttgart Ve are sinking zat Glasgow are a vewy good side.....

User is offline   Garrowhillclyde 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde
Dont you just love it when non scottish teams come to Scotland in Euro ties and refer either half of the the old firm as 'Glasgow' :lol: I've heard this a few times now.

Really shows their standing. Was listening to a pre match report on the radio and an interview with a VFB player who was obviously having trouble remembering his opponents name and eventually refered to them as Glasgow. I think they should just amalgamate and be done with it.

User is offline   tonythetim 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Celtic

View PostGarrowhillclyde, on Sep 20 2007, 08:18, said:

Dont you just love it when non scottish teams come to Scotland in Euro ties and refer either half of the the old firm as 'Glasgow' :lol: I've heard this a few times now.

Really shows their standing. Was listening to a pre match report on the radio and an interview with a VFB player who was obviously having trouble remembering his opponents name and eventually refered to them as Glasgow. I think they should just amalgamate and be done with it.

Good call, i think it shows no respect.
Here endith the lesson so beat it!

Guest_The Chameleon_*

• Group: Surfer

He probably couldn't remember their name. What old firm fans fail to realise is that although they are big fish in a very small pond full of tiddlers in the SPL, they are far from household names outside the UK. It's a fact many of them fail to understand because their teams are all over the sports pages most days in Scotland but if you talk to football fans in mainland europe about Scottish football they generally know very little about any of the teams and consider the SPL a poor league.

User is offline   H_B 

• Vamos GB
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostThe Chameleon, on Sep 20 2007, 09:42, said:

they are far from household names outside the UK.

I dont think this is true. Both the OF are amongst the biggest supported World Clubs. Certainly in the top 10.

Guest_Borussia_*

View PostHieronymous_Bosch, on Sep 20 2007, 09:44, said:

I dont think this is true. Both the OF are amongst the biggest supported World Clubs. Certainly in the top 10.

Are their full names not Glasgow Rangers Football Club and Glasgow Celtic Football Club ?

Dont go mental if Im wrong....I dont pay that much attention to them to know the answer :rolleyes:

Dont think Barcelona would lose sleep watching either of those two sides last night

User is offline   Hughsie 

• First Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Poland

View PostBorussia, on Sep 20 2007, 09:47, said:

Are their full names not Glasgow Rangers Football Club and Glasgow Celtic Football Club ?

Dont go mental if Im wrong....I dont pay that much attention to them to know the answer :rolleyes:

Dont think Barcelona would lose sleep watching either of those two sides last night

Think it's Glasgow Rangers Football Club, but Celtic don't actually have Glasgow in their full title, just Celtic Football Club. Ask Tommy Burns.
No one likes him, we don't care.

Guest_51 titles_*

View PostBorussia, on Sep 20 2007, 09:47, said:

It is ... 'Rangers Football Club'

and I believe 'Celtic Football Club and athletic Coy.'

Think any team that saw Barca's display will be loosing sleep at the though of playing them !

;)

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Spain
It's "Rangers Football Club" and "The Celtic Football Club."

It's not really a big deal. People call them PSV Eindhoven and Inter Milan even though PSV don't even have Eindhoven in their name and Inter are hardly ever called Inter Milan in Italy.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

User is offline   TheBanter 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Other

View PostHughsie, on Sep 20 2007, 10:00, said:

Think it's Glasgow Rangers Football Club, but Celtic don't actually have Glasgow in their full title, just Celtic Football Club. Ask Tommy Burns.

Would Tam not tell us it was 'Selikfubaclub'?

User is offline   Lordofthewing 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:XBL & Steam: VeryHungover

View PostSwampy, on Sep 20 2007, 10:03, said:

It's "Rangers Football Club" and "The Celtic Football Club."

It's not really a big deal. People call them PSV Eindhoven and Inter Milan even though PSV don't even have Eindhoven in their name and Inter are hardly ever called Inter Milan in Italy.

Isn't Inter's full name Internazionale? Granted Inter Milan is probably easier for some folk to remember, but it's always good to know a club's full name, like Bayern Munchen, Kobenhavn etc. Also think it's the same thing with Sporting Lisbon.
You see a mouse trap
I see free cheese and a fucking challenge...

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View PostLordofthewing, on Sep 20 2007, 10:44, said:

Isn't Inter's full name Internazionale? Granted Inter Milan is probably easier for some folk to remember, but it's always good to know a club's full name, like Bayern Munchen, Kobenhavn etc. Also think it's the same thing with Sporting Lisbon.

Football Club Internazionale Milano, but they're almost invariably called Inter in Italy. The club's website, for example, is inter.it and it refers to them as Inter almost all the time.

Sporting Lisbon, again, don't have Lisbon in their name and are never called that in Portugal, but it's convenient for us to do that. Everyone outside Portugal calls them Sporting Lisbon/Sporting Lisboa - even in Spain. (If you say Sporting in Spain, people will often assume you're talking about Sporting Gijon, even though they've been shite for years.)
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostSwampy, on Sep 20 2007, 10:47, said:

Football Club Internazionale Milano, but they're almost invariably called Inter in Italy. The club's website, for example, is inter.it and it refers to them as Inter almost all the time.

Sporting Lisbon, again, don't have Lisbon in their name and are never called that in Portugal, but it's convenient for us to do that. Everyone outside Portugal calls them Sporting Lisbon/Sporting Lisboa - even in Spain. (If you say Sporting in Spain, people will often assume you're talking about Sporting Gijon, even though they've been shite for years.)

This could be a decent thread to start up in Misc Fitba Chat, but I cannae be arsed starting it as I actually have some work to do :( Fecking rarity!!
You see a mouse trap

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
Me too, but I'm a great multitasker :D

User is offline   Musketeer Gripweed 

• We're Safe Tonight
Some clubs are known as the same thing universally though thankfully, like Red Star Belgrade for instance....
Smiling with the mouth of the ocean

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostSwampy, on Sep 20 2007, 11:01, said:

Me too, but I'm a great multitasker :D

Same here, I'm just bloody lazy :D
You see a mouse trap

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
Remember when Gazza first signed for Rangers he called them "Glasgow" a few times, "Im delighted to have signed for Glasgow" etc :lol:

User is offline   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Camelon Juniors
  • Gamertag:Dont watch that, watch this!
Aye but he's a jaikie alki wife beater so you wouldn't expect him to have any sense.
P&B Dead Pool Winner 2008,2009&2011. Third Place in 2010 -
Beware the curse of drs in 2012!

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian

View Postbairnagain, on Sep 20 2007, 11:03, said:

Some clubs are known as the same thing universally though thankfully, like Red Star Belgrade for instance....

(Bites)
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

I've never heard anyone call Rangers or Celtic just "Glasgow". As a prefix, yes (ie: Glasgow Celtic or Glasgow Rangers) but never on it's own.

This could be a decent thread to start up in Misc Fitba Chat...

I agree... mods!
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

User is offline   chris123 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle

View PostMak HMFC, on Sep 20 2007, 13:32, said:

(Bites)

At the nou camp, there is a whole celtic section in the barcelona club shop.

I shit you not.

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostLordofthewing, on Sep 20 2007, 10:44, said:

Inter are never known as Inter Milan in Italy, only ever Internazionale. AC Milan are called Milan, not AC.
‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

User is offline   Beyemystic 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
In programs like 'champions league weekly' you often hear folk referring to 'Manchester' and 'Madrid' so if it can happen to those clubs I suppose it can happen to Celtic.

Reminds me of Sensible Soccer on the megadrive: wherein the huns were represented as 'Glasgow' and Celtic relegated to the very much secondary 'Glaswegian' <_<

This post has been edited by Beyemystic: 20 September 2007 - 12:46

User is offline   Savage Henry 

• J'ai une ame solitaire.
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Gamertag:Hang Out The Stars In Indiana

View PostBeyemystic, on Sep 20 2007, 13:45, said:

In programs like 'champions league weekly' you often hear folk referring to 'Manchester' and 'Madrid' so if it can happen to those clubs I suppose it can happen to Celtic.

Reminds me of Sensible Soccer on the megadrive: wherein the huns were represented as 'Glasgow' and Celtic relegated to the very much secondary 'Glaswegian' <_<

In what possible sense is Glaswegian lesser than Glasgow? And presumably it should have been the other way round, as Rangers "are the people" (sic).

User is offline   Mak 

• Very Serious Poster
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian

View PostBeyemystic, on Sep 20 2007, 13:45, said:

Yep, just another example of the rampant anti Catholicism within these Japanese computer games companies :angry:
Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMak HMFC, on Sep 20 2007, 13:50, said:

Yep, just another example of the rampant anti Catholicism within these Japanese computer games companies :angry:

:lol: Nae sarcasm there then Mak? :rolleyes:
You see a mouse trap

• (2 Pages) +