Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Raith Rovers V. Ayr United - The Pie Shop

• (13 Pages) +
  • Last »

Raith Rovers V. Ayr United the usual slaughter at Starks Rate Topic: -----

Poll: Who will win? (107 member(s) have cast votes)

Who will win the league game at Starks this Saturday?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

User is offline   Mon the Rovers 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Raith Rovers

View PostWhistle Blower, on Sep 20 2007, 12:05, said:

John McGlynn sounds confused

"We realise that this is another tricky game — Ayr are a big, strong, physical team," he explained.
"They are the type of team that will try to spoil the game and nick something from a set piece

How many goals have we scored from open play John ?

I see your point, as all we seem to do is score off set-pieces, but I'd be shocked if Ayr didn't play like every other team who comes to Starks and try, like John says, to ruin the game and nick a goal.

From reports on here, that seems to be what they've done all season :unsure: Perhaps minus the set-piece part.

User is offline   Unknown Caller 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Scotland

View PostWhistle Blower, on Sep 20 2007, 12:18, said:

I would like to think he would have spent Tuesday night in Ayr watching United first hand, instead of coming up with the usual, big strong team pish.

I'm more worried about how we play than Ayr to be honest :unsure:

If the Raith team that beat Clyde & played against St Johnstone show's up we will win!

User is offline   bring_back_the_twa_hoops 

• First Division Superstar

View PostWhistle Blower, on Sep 20 2007, 12:18, said:

I would like to think he would have spent Tuesday night in Ayr watching United first hand, instead of coming up with the usual, big strong team pish.

we're a big strong team wursels <_<
FYA

User is offline   Monster 

• Live Forever
  • Team:Other

View PostMon the Rovers, on Sep 20 2007, 13:11, said:

I see your point, as all we seem to do is score off set-pieces, but I'd be shocked if Ayr didn't play like every other team who comes to Starks and try, like John says, to ruin the game and nick a goal.

Who do you think your pishy wee club are, Brazil?
Gonna take that tiger outside for a ride

User is offline   King Kebab 

• Do not be alarmed! This is a kindness!
  • Location:The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
  • Team:East Fife
  • Gamertag:Goldeneye for the Xbox??? I think I just came!!!

View PostMonster, on Sep 20 2007, 16:58, said:

No, thats Cowdenbeath!!!
Posted Image

User is online   Andy C 

Why are folk complaining about scoring from set pieces?

If we were scoring all our goals from open play folk would be complaining that we werent dangerous at corners, free-kicks and the likes.

Ye cannae bloody win!

User is offline   Whistle Blower 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostAndyC27/11, on Sep 21 2007, 10:26, said:

Why are folk complaining about scoring from set pieces?

If we were scoring all our goals from open play folk would be complaining that we werent dangerous at corners, free-kicks and the likes.

Ye cannae bloody win!

Ok I admit it I like a moan.

However I just though McGlynns comments were a bit ironic, considering our own attributes.
Here for a year, we're only here for a third year

User is online   Andy C 

View PostWhistle Blower, on Sep 21 2007, 10:34, said:

Ok I admit it I like a moan.

However I just though McGlynns comments were a bit ironic, considering our own attributes.

I agree, we do have a similar sort of team to Ayr.

But we're top of the league just now with set pieces being a contributory factor.
If the big guys need to plough through folk at corners and free kicks to score goals and get us promoted then so be it.

;)

User is offline   Mon the Rovers 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostMonster, on Sep 20 2007, 16:58, said:

That's what your team do at home to Elgin :rolleyes: ;)

• Golden Shoe Winner
Looks like Sloan is out as well so I would like to see this team on Saturday :unsure:

Fahey

Davidson
Campbell
Andrews
Pelosi

Wilson
Winter
Silvestro
Carcary

Weir
Tod

or

Campbell
Andrews
Davidson

Wilson
Winter
Silvestro
Pelosi

Weir
Tod
Carcary

Not confident at all :(

User is offline   renton 

• Beetles know this, beetles are good doctors

View PostSteven, on Sep 21 2007, 16:46, said:

Looks like Sloan is out as well so I would like to see this team on Saturday :unsure:

Fahey

Davidson
Campbell
Andrews
Pelosi

Wilson
Winter
Silvestro
Carcary

Weir
Tod

or

Campbell
Andrews
Davidson

Wilson
Winter
Silvestro
Pelosi

Weir
Tod
Carcary

Not confident at all :(

Have'nt heard about Sloan being out - is that confirmed or is he merely 'doubtful' - not confident either. Doubt McG would have the confidence to go 3-4-3, probably would be more cautious and maybe stick one of the young lads (JJ Darling perhaps) into that other wide spot or simply revert to 3-5-2 and sacrafice most of his attacking options ( in my outspoken opinion anyway).

Either 0-0 or 2-0 Ayr :(
What does a scanner see? he asked himself. I mean, really see? Into the head? Down into the heart? Does a passive infrared scanner like they used to use or a cube-type holo-scanner like they use these days, the latest thing, see into me—into us—clearly or darkly? I hope it does, he thought, see clearly, because I can’t any longer these days see into myself. I see only murk. Murk outside; murk inside. I hope, for everyone’s sake, the scanners do better. Because, he thought, if the scanner sees only darkly, the way I myself do, then we are cursed, cursed again and like we have been continually, and we’ll wind up dead this way, knowing very little and getting that little fragment wrong too.

User is offline   Martin Nelson 

• Third Division Reserve
It was our lack of wide players that forced us into trying out our world beating 3-5-2 formation last season. I think we might well go down the same route tomorrow. Who knows, if we win we might end up keeping the formation for the rest of the season!

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMartin Nelson, on Sep 21 2007, 19:35, said:

It was our lack of wide players that forced us into trying out our world beating 3-5-2 formation last season. I think we might well go down the same route tomorrow. Who knows, if we win we might end up keeping the formation for the rest of the season!

Problem is how would we fit Borris & Carcary into that system? :unsure:

User is offline   Martin Nelson 

• Third Division Reserve
No idea! I'd be quite happy for us to play it tomorrow but once Borris and/or Sloan are fit I'd prefer to see us play the 4-4-2 system.

• Golden Shoe Winner
Confirms what I said earlier about Sloan being out :(

http://www.raithrove...ews.cgi?id=2405

User is offline   pub car king 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:PSN pubcarking
going by the pattern for the season so far i would expect a decent raith performance and will go for us to win this game. i just hope we can avoid any suspensions or injuries as we already have 4 players missing from the first team squad as it is

User is offline   Monster 

• Live Forever
  • Team:Other
Ayr shite, Rovers win, mother-in-law visit, ritual suicide.
Gonna take that tiger outside for a ride

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMonster, on Sep 21 2007, 21:06, said:

Ayr shite, Rovers win, mother-in-law visit, ritual suicide.

And afterwards lots of :guinness to numb the pain!

I think it will be a boring 0-0 draw with the ball in the air for the majority of the 90 minutes :(

User is online   Andy C 

Wonder what the odds are on more than one player being sent off?....

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostAndyC27/11, on Sep 21 2007, 22:29, said:

Wonder what the odds are on more than one player being sent off?....

Potential for a mass brawl tomorrow :unsure:

User is offline   lzreid 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Mass brawl? I don't think it'll be that exciting.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postlzreid, on Sep 21 2007, 22:42, said:

Mass brawl? I don't think it'll be that exciting.

We can always hope................. ;)

I might bring a sleeping bag with me :huh:

User is offline   lzreid 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Look on the bright side, if it gets really dull we can always play the old game of standing up long enough to drag the stewards up and then sitting down until they get to the bottom again.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postlzreid, on Sep 21 2007, 22:49, said:

Look on the bright side, if it gets really dull we can always play the old game of standing up long enough to drag the stewards up and then sitting down until they get to the bottom again.

Yep it's good fun :D :D

I wish they would f**k off and get a grip <_< and I wish we would get an answer as to why it's okay to stand before the game and at half-time but not during the bloody match <_<

Jobsworths :angry:

User is offline   onegaryteale 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Ayr United
Well having decided to make the 2nd of 3 trips in a month to Fife, I'm really hoping this one isn't as boring as we're all predicting.

If Watt just play with some width and try and get the ball down we might actually be worth going and watching.

My prediciton - 0-0

but what I'd really like is for a 9 goal thriller and a seagull not to shit on me on this visit to Starks (the past 2 times they have :lol: ), oh and a cheeky sending off wouldn't go a miss either.

• (13 Pages) +
  • Last »