User is offline   Swampy 

• Problem, Unionists?
  • Team:Greenock Morton

View PostCharles Darwin Esq, on Sep 15 2007, 17:26, said:

4-0: I'll take that. And so will Pearse Flynn :D

insert vague legal threat/misuse of the word "cliche" here
SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM

User is online   btb 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Team:St.Mirren

View PostThe Naitch, on Sep 15 2007, 10:47, said:

Difficult to see how this game will pan out after the international break.

Reckon we'll squeeze out 1-0 winners though.

All your internationalists must've been knackered! :lol:
I'd visit a sw**ky stadium in Sc**thorpe!

User is offline   snorkie 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • Team:Livingston

View Postsnorkie, on Sep 13 2007, 23:13, said:

Livi to win this one by 2 goals. ;) Save yerself from the embarresment of being the 1st team to lose to Livi this season :lol:

Dont say i did'nt warn ye ;)

Never 4 goals between the 2 teams.Morton were unlucky in front of goals missed a few good chances :lol: Livi took theirs.If the big fellae that came on in the 2nd half had started from the beggining it might have only been 2 goals in it :rolleyes:
Cmon the Livi

Guest_hendy08_*

• Group: Surfer

View Postsnorkie, on Sep 15 2007, 17:57, said:

Never 4 goals between the 2 teams.Morton were unlucky in front of goals missed a few good chances :lol: Livi took theirs.If the big fellae that came on in the 2nd half had started from the beggining it might have only been 2 goals in it :rolleyes:
Cmon the Livi

Well summed up!

This post has been edited by hendy08: 15 September 2007 - 17:20

User is offline   Stevie Aitken's Love Child 

• First Division Sub

View Postsnorkie, on Sep 15 2007, 17:57, said:

Cmon the Livi

Minus the smilies there i would say that summed up the game in a nutshell. Didn't think there was a whole lot between the teams, although i would say Livi deserved to win, just not by 4 goals. Snodgrass tormented us yet again, we just don't know how to deal with him, and the back 3 in the first half was at 6s and 7s and didn't seem to know who to pick up, perfectly displayed by the 2nd and 3rd goals.

2nd half we changed formation to the way we should have started the game and it almost immediately paid dividends when Templeman (cannie believe he didn't start) hit the post, and a few decent chances followed but when we hadn't scored within 10 minutes of the restart i knew it was game over. Naive tackle to win the pen, snodgrass again winning it, and our heads dropped and discipline went. The lack of passion in our side was a real let down, and Livi took advantage big time and could in all fairness have scored a few more. They have improved big style from the Challenge Cup game, and look set for a top half finish on that showing.

All in all a shocking day at the office for us, and if we dont wake up and realise we need to scrap for every ball then we're in for a tough season.

User is offline   MCL 

• Third Division Superstar
I suppose we shouldn't be surprised since Morton played their reserve team :P

Morton actually started both halves quite well and pushed Livi back but we were lethal in front of goal, combined with Mario having his usual two or three great saves. Morton also hit the post early in the second half which might have made a difference had it gone in.

Mark Proctor & Jim McInally post match audio
"I have always conducted my Trust work and my life in general with integrity and honesty" - LMFAO
The Pieman has gone, why don't you go home ? FTM

User is offline   Swampy 

• Problem, Unionists?
I don't care if we play like Brazil 1970, shipping four goals is unacceptable.

Still, it could be a hell of a lot worse. Roll on Tuesday!
SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM SHRIM

User is offline   GreenOak_Ton 

• Third Division Apprentice
I'm shellshocked.Livi go one up but after that it looks like only matter time before Morton equalised,then bang,bang we're dead and buried.Two goals in 30 seconds,unbelievable defending but two great crosses from the left right on top of keeper(yeah come to think of it..where was our keeper).i dont agree with lack of passion from Morton as i thought they showed a lot of passion,especially McAllister, in second half but never got a break in front of goal.
Ive been bad mouthing Livi since the cup game but they look an awful lot sharper now and some good slick passing moves so maybe i should change my mind about seeing them as relegation candidates.
Last wee rant.......Livi keeper is one of biggest fuds ive ever seen.He was telling the ballboys to take their time when his team are 4-0 up.So not only was he cheating the losing team but also his own supporters who were enjoying every single attack Livi were making.Every team tries to waste time but when 4-0 up...unbelievable!!!
Well played Livi.Some decent football played on the ground.

User is offline   AyrshireTon 

• The Buzzer
We've lost every game we've played at Livi I think. :unsure:
Mother played by Peter Beardsley, Father by John Cleese.

User is offline   Satans_Husband 

• First Division Sub
Good audio clips there. Bummer today but I'm still very confident we'll finish above Livingston this season who still don't look that great. Call me insane, call me Shirley, call me anything you want and feel free to quote me again come the end of the season but I don't actually feel that bad after today. These things happen and at least I got a great day out in Livingston. :blink:
Posted Image
“We knew the world would not be the same. A few people laughed, a few people cried, most people were silent…....
Now I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds.”

User is offline   MTJ 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Partick Thistle

View PostGreenOak_Ton, on Sep 15 2007, 18:46, said:

Livi keeper is one of biggest fuds ive ever seen.He was telling the ballboys to take their time when his team are 4-0 up

Like it or not it happens everywhere when the home team is winning.

When I was a ballboy at Thistle we were told by club 'officials' (I use that term loosely since they weren't directors or anything of the kind) to take our time getting the ball when we were winning near the end of the game.

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better

View PostSwampy, on Sep 15 2007, 17:21, said:

Anyone back from the game yet?

Were Morton as pish as they sounded online?

Probably worse. <_<
Absolutely f*cking dreadful defensive performance - no surprises there.
Looked threatening in attack, but we've went, what, 7 hours now without a league goal?
2nd division defence for what could be a 2nd division team again.
Livi still don't look particularly good - they didn't look better than QOS and are poorer than Hamilton and Dundee.

View Postweirdcal, on 01 August 2011 - 11:10, said:

when you think box office you think big and exciting

User is offline   GreenOak_Ton 

View PostMTJ, on Sep 15 2007, 19:02, said:

Like it or not it happens everywhere when the home team is winning.

When I was a ballboy at Thistle we were told by club 'officials' (I use that term loosely since they weren't directors or anything of the kind) to take our time getting the ball when we were winning near the end of the game.

Yeah i know but this was worst ever.No fans allowed behind the goal and when ball is stuck up in row 8 one of our players had to clamber over all the seats to get the ball back.this was at 3-0.

User is offline   DomDom 

• The Genius.
Not bad in the 2nd.

Infact, some players looked decent throughout IMO. Keenan had a good 1st, but gave the ball away far too much in the 2nd. McAllister looked decent through the game as did Gardyne. Jay Shields made some great challenges. Templeman was a right handful when he came on and was VERY unlucky not to get a goal. Russell was a pain in the ass too and forced a cracking save from the keeper.

However, 4-0 ?!?! They deserved it. The defence was shocking. The keeper couldn't communicate with them and that's what cost us. All credit for that first goal though. Can't wait to see if we get a replay, as it was a screamer.
BOOTS TO ASSES!!!

User is offline   LLD 

Great all round performance for us against a poor Morton team.

Before the game I didn't think we were anything like as bad as the league table suggested and I think that was proven.

Hopefully it's the result that will kick start our season.

Guest_strathbrock_*

View PostGreenOak_Ton, on Sep 15 2007, 19:25, said:

Yeah i know but this was worst ever.No fans allowed behind the goal and when ball is stuck up in row 8 one of our players had to clamber over all the seats to get the ball back.this was at 3-0.

Get over yourself! Yer player who scrambled over the seats had no need to. The ball boy was on his way. And there is not a goalie in the country who doesn't waste time when the team is winning.

As far as I'm concerned the better team won today - end of!

One comment I will make though is regarding the fragile nature of the Morton players. The slightest touch from a Livi player resulted in the Morton player hitting the deck. Even big Greacen seemed unable to stay on his feet when in a tussle with the much smaller Steven Craig. I'd get those players of yours doing double sessions in the gym.... Or maybe not I'm thnking! :whistle

View Poststrathbrock, on Sep 15 2007, 19:40, said:

Get over yourself! Yer player who scrambled over the seats had no need to. The ball boy was on his way. And there is not a goalie in the country who doesn't waste time when the team is winning.

As far as I'm concerned the better team won today - end of!

One comment I will make though is regarding the fragile nature of the Morton players. The slightest touch from a Livi player resulted in the Morton player hitting the deck. Even big Greacen seemed unable to stay on his feet when in a tussle with the much smaller Steven Craig. I'd get those players of yours doing double sessions in the gym.... Or maybe not I'm thnking! :whistle

Greacen's just a clumsy moron.
We're a light-weight team with a pea-brained manager.

Guest_LIVI_MALKY_*

Cracking performance from the lads!! Theres been a complete turnaround interms of taking the ball forward as in the seasons first 3 game we never looked like scoring now weve scored 6 in two games and it could have been more! Pesir can take some of the credit for this.

4-0 is a bit harsh on morton but couldnt realy care as weve finaly picked up our first league win.

User is offline   DomDom 

• The Genius.

Get over yourself! Yer player who scrambled over the seats had no need to. The ball boy was on his way.

There WAS a need to because time was against us. Nothing to do will ball boys or anything. He was just speeding up proceedings as you'd do if you were, you know, three goals down.
BOOTS TO ASSES!!!

User is offline   Ispolis 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostMCL, on Sep 15 2007, 18:30, said:

Was that Jim McI or Berti Vogts ?

If he thinks our effort was good enough today he can feck right off now.

Well done today Livingston you were by far the better team. You manager was right not to get carried away but at least you appear to be heading in the right direction.

Any Morton fan who sees a positive from today is having a laugh.

View PostIspolis, on Sep 15 2007, 19:46, said:

Was that Jim McI or Berti Vogts ?

If he thinks our effort was good enough today he can feck right off now.

Well done today Livingston you were by far the better team. You manager was right not to get carried away but at least you appear to be heading in the right direction.

I didn't hear it due to a speaker deficiency.
Basic jist of his excuses anyone? :unsure:

User is offline   LLD 

View PostvikingTON, on Sep 15 2007, 19:41, said:

Greacen's just a clumsy moron.
We're a light-weight team with a pea-brained manager.

You're better than Stirling IMHO.

At the end of the day it's down to expectation level. Morton purport to be a big club but you have done nothing but scrabble about the lower divisions for a big chunk of the last decade.

It should be about staying in the league for you this year with anything else a bonus.

View PostLLD, on Sep 15 2007, 19:49, said:

You're better than Stirling IMHO.

At the end of the day it's down to expectation level. Morton purport to be a big club but you have done nothing but scrabble about the lower divisions for a big chunk of the last decade.

It should be about staying in the league for you this year with anything else a bonus.

Which is why a solid defence and a half-decent manager wouldn't go amiss.
Stirling have picked up more points than us in our recent meetings.

User is online   Dunning1874 

• Golden Shoe Winner
To be honest, I thought both teams were absolutely terrible, just that we were 10 times worse than Livi.
Today confirmed what many have suspected for some time: Ryan Harding is not a footballer.
The 2nd and 3rd goals were an absolute disgrace from the whole defence.
For the 2nd, 2 men unmarked at the back post. 30 seconds later, they let the exact same fcuking happen again.
Why did we not sign a centre back in summer? There's no way Greacen or Harding are good enough for this league, they're 2nd Division players.
Jamie Stevenson didn't bother his arse today, he just wasn't interested at all.
Kevin Finlayson needs to learn to cross a ball, he's been playing as a winger for his whole career, he should have developed the skill by now.
3 defeats in a row; I've been patient and supported McInally, but today was a complete and utter disgrace. Time's running out Jim.

View PostNo8., on 01 May 2009 - 17:05, said:

Dunning is by far the most anti Rangers poster on P&B and i include Beyesmystic in that

User is offline   DomDom 

• The Genius.

View PostIspolis, on Sep 15 2007, 19:46, said:

I take no positives from the result. I think the effort from single players was good. Jay Shields and Jim McAllister were the two examples I can think of. Two from eleven. Not good. I'll take those positives though that we have guys who will dig in, win balls, take on players and pass the ball well.
BOOTS TO ASSES!!!

• (6 Pages) +
  • Last »