Disappointed with the result after being two goals up - just got to wait for folk to get back up the road and report on the goings on.
stockcar willie
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Cowdenbeath
Posted 11 August 2007 - 16:00
morrison, on Aug 11 2007, 16:53, said:
Disappointed with the result after being two goals up - just got to wait for folk to get back up the road and report on the goings on.
just in from the match,not pretty to watch but good result for us today.

the only thing that can cheat my wife out of the last word is an echo
CowdenLoyal
Posted 11 August 2007 - 16:20
Next, and I also hope both sets of supporters agree, the officials were diabolical...BY FAR the worst I have ever witnessed, particularly against the blue brazil. The terrace side linesman must have had a bout of the skits, otherwise he was just being a plain and utter arsehole by constantly scratching his rectum, basically saying "get it up you lot". How these imposters get away with this I will never know.
The red card. The highlight of the referee's game. Come on, he was surely having a laugh. Ball is in the air to be won, Howatt fairly goes up to challenge as do two county players. Result? Red card. Definitely one of "those ones" that looked worse than it was.
Finally (I can't be arsed going over everything) but not least. I am proud to say I'm a Cowdenbeath fan after that. The fightback was astonishing and really, we SHOULD have taken all 3 points with Dalziel and McOnalogue missing sitters (keeper pulled off some fantastic saves today especially the one from Mconalogue) when we were 2 down. I'm sure Dickhead Campbell knows his side were lucky. The effort from every single player today was outstanding, and barring the 10 minute self-destruct spell we had, the heads never went down. Well done.
Over and out.
Edited to add: Ross county number 9 - GIRFUY! Fud.
This post has been edited by CowdenLoyal: 11 August 2007 - 16:32
brazilnut
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:04
CowdenLoyal, on Aug 11 2007, 17:20, said:
Next, and I also hope both sets of supporters agree, the officials were diabolical...BY FAR the worst I have ever witnessed, particularly against the blue brazil. The terrace side linesman must have had a bout of the skits, otherwise he was just being a plain and utter arsehole by constantly scratching his rectum, basically saying "get it up you lot". How these imposters get away with this I will never know.
The red card. The highlight of the referee's game. Come on, he was surely having a laugh. Ball is in the air to be won, Howatt fairly goes up to challenge as do two county players. Result? Red card. Definitely one of "those ones" that looked worse than it was.
Finally (I can't be arsed going over everything) but not least. I am proud to say I'm a Cowdenbeath fan after that. The fightback was astonishing and really, we SHOULD have taken all 3 points with Dalziel and McOnalogue missing sitters (keeper pulled off some fantastic saves today especially the one from Mconalogue) when we were 2 down. I'm sure Dickhead Campbell knows his side were lucky. The effort from every single player today was outstanding, and barring the 10 minute self-destruct spell we had, the heads never went down. Well done.
Over and out.
Edited to add: Ross county number 9 - GIRFUY! Fud.
Brian Welsh should really report the referee to the SFA. This guy today was a total numpty!
Anyhow, roll on Peterhead next week!
morrison
- Team:Ross County
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:09
Seems we were rubbish and came away with a point all the same. Happy we're scoring goals at least, Barrowman is bang on form just now.
CowdenLoyal
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:15
morrison, on Aug 11 2007, 18:09, said:
Seems we were rubbish and came away with a point all the same. Happy we're scoring goals at least, Barrowman is bang on form just now.
The thing is, yous played really well IMO. However, it was the killer ball you, or us for that matter could not play. I was impressed at the way BOTH teams tried to play football, and to be perfectly honest, it was a joy to watch instead of long balls here and there. The difference in fitness levels were clear to see however the heart we put into it pretty much evened things up. Pity about the inept officiating.
Can any action be taken against the "referee's"? As in both clubs put in a complaint or what? Or is it a case of "it's only a 2nd division match, who cares?"
Loki
- SA 2010:Spain
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:15
morrison, on Aug 11 2007, 18:09, said:
From a winning position it's disappointing not to have closed the game down and gained three points. I would drop Keddie, move Golabek into the centre, drop Moore back, and take McKinlay in to play left wing. We certainly need to sort out our defence soon, as Elgin gave us alot of problems, the warnings were there to be seen.
We still got a point, so we can build on for next week. BUt what it did show was that there are no easy games in this league and we will need to have teh correct appetite and focus in every game if we want to win promotion.
Loki
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:17
CowdenLoyal, on Aug 11 2007, 18:15, said:
Can any action be taken against the "referee's"? As in both clubs put in a complaint or what? Or is it a case of "it's only a 2nd division match, who cares?"
You can make a complaint, but usually they come to nothing without clear evidence of the mistakes the referee has made.
centralparker
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:20
CowdenLoyal, on Aug 11 2007, 18:15, said:
Referee supervisors are regularly in attendance at 2nd Division matches. The theory that nobody cares about the standard of officiating in the lower leagues is ludicrous.
mikey
- Gamertag:PS3 M1k3yb12
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:26
man of the match was surely cowden's keeper davie hay - the cat put bullock's premier league keeper skills to shame.
a good game though, county's second goal was a cracker, one of those ones that you cant help but applaud. what was the ross county's view of our sending off? i was on the terracing and seen nowt wrong with it, maybe a view from the stand was clearer. a moment of madness from the ref i felt.
after the football drought in the summer its good to see a decent game of football.
Kierkegaard
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:34
Ross County are a decent side. When County went two up it wasn't a fair reflection on the even play, but the second goal from Adams was a contender for goal of the season. It just flew past Davie Hay, who had a great game. Tony Bullock made some fine saves at well, but he gave away our first goal. We never gave up, and Scott Dalziel's shot which came off the crossbar had Bullock well beaten. We could have won it in the end, but a draw was a fair result and the fans were well entertained.
Without our top three players, we played some great football and took the game to County. Chris Anton did well on his first start. The signing of Mick Galloway was ridiculed on this forum, but he's clealry got back his appetite for the game and was dominant in our midfield. John O'Neil rarely wasted a ball, and Steph McConalogue had some classy touches. He was unlucky not to have two goals.
Good to meet some of the Staggies, including three guys from Bolton who've given up on the Premiership and adopted Ross County as their team.
benthespaniel
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:38
Referee had a shocker - nothing new there for most observers of Scottish football, but where on earth do they dig these clowns up?
Both teams tried to play football on a very wet and fast pitch but as soon as they started to steal the referee's limelight, the whistle went, the cards came out and he tried to show that he was the star attraction again.
First goal came from an inexperienced Cowden defence not being able to physically match up to County, the second came straight after it and was due in my opinion to Mick Galloway falling asleep - great strike though it was.
Then (as a Dundee United fan - I've seen this before) Tony Bullock made a game of it. He made a total hash of a corner and flogged a goal, then not to be contented with that - didn't look too clever at the second either.
A review of the referee - 1st minute the Ross County No 9 did a forearm smash on the goalkeeper - talked to when it was an obvious booking. Galloway & Scullion were both booked for yapping at the referee, Welshie got sent to the stand for a chat with the linesman after the sending off. It appears that it is acceptable to use excessive physical force in the game - I don't want it to be a non-contact sport - but woe betide anyone who dares question the referee.
As for the sending off - the ref got it totally wrong, players going for the ball - if anything Golabek was at fault and he knew it so he hit the deck and stayed there. He conned the ref into thinking he had been nailed and Howat got a straight red - no input from the stand side linesman. golabek used his experience but was simply cheating. Not happy with this, he hit the deck a short time later and stayed down looking for his mate the ref to dish out another unmerited card.
In short - draw was a fair result, County will be more disappointed than Cowden but the game was turned into a farce by a referee who wanted to be the centre of attention.
I'd expect County to be there or there abouts when the trophies get handed out at the end of the season but Cowden gave a good account of themselves.
CowdenLoyal
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:42
cowdencracker
Posted 11 August 2007 - 17:56
Recre Rover
- Team:Raith Rovers
Posted 11 August 2007 - 18:23
20/12/06
cowdenbeath
Posted 11 August 2007 - 18:29
Recre Rover, on Aug 11 2007, 19:23, said:
Chris Boyle. God I hope we don't get him again anytime soon, bring back wee Hardie
Cowden Cowboy
Posted 11 August 2007 - 19:19
CooCoothenoo
Posted 11 August 2007 - 19:27
Shifty
- Gamertag:alog is the official language of XBL Phillippines
Posted 11 August 2007 - 19:51
silver
Posted 11 August 2007 - 20:04
With time still yet for us to bring players in then I think that those in charge are aware of any shortcomings in the team and will address those.
Fortunately the goals are going in and for once we seem to have for the first time in a few seasons a player who will possibly get 15+ goals in the league for us.No one has come close really to achieving that since Derek Adams so its long overdue.
I would also like to say its good to hear complimentary comments from supporters of the team we played.Its easy to snipe away at the opposition just for the sake of it but that does not seem to have been the case today.I have said it before but in the lower leagues you find far more friendly fans from opposing sides than you do when you are in the 'top' league.Long may it continue.
Loki
Posted 11 August 2007 - 20:14
silver, on Aug 11 2007, 21:04, said:
Steve Hislop, Alex Bone and Neil Tarrant have all scored more than 15 goals a season since Derek Adams left. Davie Winters was just shy of that mark finishing a couple of season on 13.
Sign In
Register
Help

MultiQuote