Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Ground Improvements........... - The Pie Shop

• (3 Pages) +

Ground Improvements........... Are South teams really interested?

User is offline   Queensthroughandthrough 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Queen of the South
What a great ground Annan Athletic have built over the years at Galabank. The grandstand is excellent for a team playing at non league level.

As for the rest of the South of Scotland sides, why has there been no investment what so ever? Or am I wrong and Jamie just forgot to cover it on his web site!!

Surely someone on club committees could apply for grants. I'm sure more people would go to the local games if they had some decent shelter from the weather :huh:

This post has been edited by Queensthroughandthrough: 27 July 2007 - 08:52

[font=Impact][size=5]

Queens always, Queens for ever and Queens through and through.

User is offline   Stu 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren
Can't get the South page on Jamie's site to work :unsure:

View PostStu, on Jul 27 2007, 21:16, said:

Can't get the South page on Jamie's site to work :unsure:

Jamie, Jamie???????????????

Where are we when we need you :lol:
[font=Impact][size=5]

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok

View PostQueensthroughandthrough, on Jul 27 2007, 22:47, said:

Jamie, Jamie???????????????
Where are we when we need you :lol:

It's gone offline (hopefully only for the timebeing) as I was being caned for bandwidth usage (and extra £9 a month in May and June after exceeding my allowance).

The priority is the actual Lok website - I can't really justify buying a new domain and related hosting for the directory just now.

All the pics are still up - I just took down the actual pages of content.

http://www.pollokfc.co.uk/directory/southo. ..t/southgrounds/

This post has been edited by cmontheloknow: 28 July 2007 - 08:56

User is offline   tuckersloan 

• My Team:Aberdeen
  • Gamertag:tuckersloan

View Postcmontheloknow, on Jul 28 2007, 09:54, said:

The priority is the actual Lok website - I can't really justify buying a new domain and related hosting for the directory just now.

Heard a rumour you got a well paid job in the pipeline - dig deep and shell out the cash you stingy git! ;) :lol:

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Posttuckersloan, on Jul 28 2007, 21:28, said:

Heard a rumour you got a well paid job in the pipeline - dig deep and shell out the cash you stingy git! ;) :lol:

Hehe that'll teach me to plead poverty in the wrong company!

Tuckersloan

What was the last improvement your club, made to your ground?

I suppose it is hard to raise money with the population of the area being so low.

Have the Eastern guys not moved out there yet?

Tucker, please keep the results coming through, even the Scottish Sunday Mail doesn't bother these days :(
[font=Impact][size=5]

User is offline   tuckersloan 

• My Team:Aberdeen
  • Gamertag:tuckersloan

View PostQueensthroughandthrough, on Jul 31 2007, 21:10, said:

What was the last improvement your club, made to your ground?

We painted the dressing rooms in 1992 :lol: Our ground is a bit run down to be honest. Plans are in place for major improvements to be made. Just a case of the grants being signed and sealed. We are also soon to get a lease on ground which will make things a lot easier.

User is offline   Clayhole Blue 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Stranraer

View PostQueensthroughandthrough, on Jul 31 2007, 21:10, said:

Tucker, please keep the results coming through, even the Scottish Sunday Mail doesn't bother these days :(

I think the results were in the Mail, only listed under Junior Friendlies for some reason! And it seems to be beyond them to differentiate between Stranraer and Stranraer Athletic!

User is offline   Genesis 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other
thats where the £10,000 is supposed to go is it not! so as far as the sfa is concerned there should be improvements on the select few facilities where pay outs where recieved!

doubt that will happen!

Guest_saintslad_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostGenesis, on Feb 11 2008, 19:54, said:

thats where the £10,000 is supposed to go is it not! so as far as the sfa is concerned there should be improvements on the select few facilities where pay outs where recieved!

doubt that will happen!

There are a few teams in the league whos grounds are very poor but the £10,000 given to the member clubs wasnt for ground improvements but for however they want to spend it. To be fair though the member clubs grounds are ok each one has shelter for supporters apart from Newton Stewart.

The Saints are building a bar onto their clubhouse and Threave are extending their changing rooms so clubs are making an effort where as a lot arent and should be in my opinion.

Guest_gregoray-tade-1870_*

When do Annan fill that stand though. Don't get me wrong its superb for a non-league side but just seems a bit big.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postgregoray-tade- 1870, on Feb 12 2008, 14:27, said:

When do Annan fill that stand though. Don't get me wrong its superb for a non-league side but just seems a bit big.

I think long term they see maybe their future lying in the SFL. The opportunity to build the stand came along and they took it.

User is offline   man in the know 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
I may be wrong but at the moment only the league clubs are liciensed. All the non league sfa afflilaited clubs will in the not to distant future require to be licensed. This is the next logiical step for the SFA. This will require clubs to attain predetermined standards. Annan it would appear are ahead of the game . The prospect facing some clubs is that if they do not have their ground up to the criteria could lose their sfa membership, the criteria for third division clubs is to have a 500 seater stand it could be that annan are looking to the day when they could be considered for a step up.

User is offline   Galabankie 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Annan Athletic

View Postman in the know, on Feb 12 2008, 22:38, said:

I may be wrong but at the moment only the league clubs are liciensed. All the non league sfa afflilaited clubs will in the not to distant future require to be licensed. This is the next logiical step for the SFA. This will require clubs to attain predetermined standards. Annan it would appear are ahead of the game . The prospect facing some clubs is that if they do not have their ground up to the criteria could lose their sfa membership, the criteria for third division clubs is to have a 500 seater stand it could be that annan are looking to the day when they could be considered for a step up.

The next step at Annan is to provide floodlights that will meet the specification for SFL 1. Whether we ever aspire to the heady heights of the SFL remains to be seen. We will however continue with our long term plan to build a ground that will meet the licencing criterion set by the SFA.
Granted we don't fill our stand at most games but I will say that our regulars and most visiting fans appreciate the fact that they can watch the game from the dry environment within the stand.
Season 2011-12 Last Man Standing (didn't need to pick OF)

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostGalabankie, on Feb 12 2008, 23:13, said:

The next step at Annan is to provide floodlights that will meet the specification for SFL 1. Whether we ever aspire to the heady heights of the SFL remains to be seen. We will however continue with our long term plan to build a ground that will meet the licencing criterion set by the SFA.
Granted we don't fill our stand at most games but I will say that our regulars and most visiting fans appreciate the fact that they can watch the game from the dry environment within the stand.

Out of interest, what sort of crowds are typical at Galabank?

User is offline   P.A.F.C 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostQueensthroughandthrough, on Jul 27 2007, 08:05, said:

What a great ground Annan Athletic have built over the years at Galabank. The grandstand is excellent for a team playing at non league level.

As for the rest of the South of Scotland sides, why has there been no investment what so ever? Or am I wrong and Jamie just forgot to cover it on his web site!!

Surely someone on club committees could apply for grants. I'm sure more people would go to the local games if they had some decent shelter from the weather :huh:

Agree totally.I,m sure every south team would like a Galabank,good club house,decent stand,astroturf for training at top end and playing surface on park is not bad either .Miles ahead of others in south(only my opinion).Dressing rooms could be updated though.

This post has been edited by P.A.F.C: 13 February 2008 - 12:33

User is offline   Jimmy MCcabe 

• Third Division Superstar

View Postgregoray-tade- 1870, on Feb 12 2008, 14:27, said:

Same could be said for most league teams our own very much included, the way things are going a bus shelter would suffice instead of a stand

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostJimmy MCcabe, on Feb 13 2008, 13:37, said:

Same could be said for most league teams our own very much included, the way things are going a bus shelter would suffice instead of a stand

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :D GOOD REPLY JIMMY

User is offline   the gub 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostP.A.F.C, on Feb 13 2008, 12:30, said:

Agree totally.I,m sure every south team would like a Galabank,good club house,decent stand,astroturf for training at top end and playing surface on park is not bad either .Miles ahead of others in south(only my opinion).Dressing rooms could be updated though.

Had my first visit to Galabank last Saturday with the reserves and thought it was a great wee set up.The facilities are very good and the folk friendly,the dressing rooms could be better but I'm sure they'll do it sometime when funds are available.
Posted Image

Guest_saintslad_*

View PostP.A.F.C, on Feb 13 2008, 12:30, said:

Werent Annan given quite a bit of money as a gift from someone? Not disrespecting them in anyway it is a great place to go.

Saints have a decent size stand not as fancy as Annans mind but it is safe and big and we have been praised by refs for our facilities also.

But there are many in the SOS that facilities are very poor that need seriously updated.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postsaintslad, on Feb 13 2008, 15:34, said:

Werent Annan given quite a bit of money as a gift from someone? Not disrespecting them in anyway it is a great place to go.

Saints have a decent size stand not as fancy as Annans mind but it is safe and big and we have been praised by refs for our facilities also.

But there are many in the SOS that facilities are very poor that need seriously updated.

I BELIEVE WHEN MONEY HANDED OUT BY S.F.A TO AID YOUTH STRUCTURE ANNAN USUALLY GET TOP PAYMENT AS THEY HAVE A VERY GOOD YOUTH SET UP FROM TODDLERS ALL THE WAY UP TO UNDER19 AND (CORRECT ME IF I.M WRONG SOMEONE FROM ANNAN)AT ONE TIME I BELIEVE THIS TO BE 30 GRAND.

Guest_gregoray-tade-1870_*

View PostJimmy MCcabe, on Feb 13 2008, 13:37, said:

would agree, often said that it was built to big to what we need and obviously crowd numbers show that.

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...

View PostP.A.F.C, on Feb 13 2008, 16:41, said:

I BELIEVE WHEN MONEY HANDED OUT BY S.F.A TO AID YOUTH STRUCTURE ANNAN USUALLY GET TOP PAYMENT AS THEY HAVE A VERY GOOD YOUTH SET UP FROM TODDLERS ALL THE WAY UP TO UNDER19 AND (CORRECT ME IF I.M WRONG SOMEONE FROM ANNAN)AT ONE TIME I BELIEVE THIS TO BE 30 GRAND.

Yeah its between 20 and 30k, I think. Queens got it last year I think.
Woooooooof

Guest_twoleftfeet_*

View PostGalabankie, on Feb 13 2008, 00:13, said:

The next step at Annan is to provide floodlights that will meet the specification for SFL 1.

If you hurry up with the floodlights you might even get a certain Chief Executive fae the wee diddy team next to the M74 looking to groundshare next season. :P

• (3 Pages) +