Albiondweeb
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:14
Was well pleased with the first half performance. On another day and with a less inspired goal keeping performance we could have been two goals up. Unfortunately it was not to be.
Raith had the better of the second and if they had scored when on top they could easily have won. Overall if you look at the shots on target etc we were worthy winners.
I hope we can keep this form right up till the end of the season and make Morton work for the title.
I must admit Snodgrass did take a dive in the box early in the second half. However the second penalty claim looked decent to me. The Raith player had a handful of his jersey from what I could see. Maybe the dive earlier on was held against Snoddy.
As for the sending off Snoddy was lying on the ground and the Raith boy fired the ball right off his cranium from about 3 yards away. It was a total cheap shot and the ref made the right call. The Raith fans must be wishing that there Strikers were as accurate as the man that perpetrated this evil deed.
Anyway I shall enjoy the rest of my weekend and look forward to the visit of the Champions Elect next week.
StewartyMac
- Group: Platinum Members
- SA 2010:Italy
- Team:Stirling Albion
- Gamertag:MacZidane
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:14
miketheheadlesschicken
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:15
Mon the Rovers
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Raith Rovers
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:17
miketheheadlesschicken,
on Mar 10 2007, 19:12, said:
The referee had been extremely lenient with him. He warned him after he had kicked the ball away for a 3rd time. Should have been booked then. He even got away with another one before finally being booked at the incident you mentioned.
That as it may be, he did kick the ball away a couple of times. But he then PASSED the ball to the Stirling player to take the free kick. He was then booked. Are you not allowed to give someone the ball?
RedWeb
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:17
miketheheadlesschicken,
on Mar 10 2007, 19:15, said:
Think it was...not totally sure though

StewartyMac
- SA 2010:Italy
- Gamertag:MacZidane
Mon the Rovers
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:20
Albiondweeb, on Mar 10 2007, 19:14, said:
Was well pleased with the first half performance. On another day and with a less inspired goal keeping performance we could have been two goals up. Unfortunately it was not to be.
Raith had the better of the second and if they had scored when on top they could easily have won. Overall if you look at the shots on target etc we were worthy winners.
I hope we can keep this form right up till the end of the season and make Morton work for the title.
I must admit Snodgrass did take a dive in the box early in the second half. However the second penalty claim looked decent to me. The Raith player had a handful of his jersey from what I could see. Maybe the dive earlier on was held against Snoddy.
As for the sending off Snoddy was lying on the ground and the Raith boy fired the ball right off his cranium from about 3 yards away. It was a total cheap shot and the ref made the right call. The Raith fans must be wishing that there Strikers were as accurate as the man that perpetrated this evil deed.
Anyway I shall enjoy the rest of my weekend and look forward to the visit of the Champions Elect next week.
1) Snodgrass dived the whole game, so all of that was held against him
2) Yes we do
I must admit I thought the sending off was harsh at first, but obviously the whiste sound takes longer to come to the stand than Davo thumping the ball of Snodgrass's puss. I must also admit I thought it hit his legs
miketheheadlesschicken
Mon the Rovers, on Mar 10 2007, 19:17, said:
Yeah, but suggesting he was unlucky to get booked isn't correct. Anyway, I don't think it matters as I think he was given a straight red card.
AberdeenRover

Mon the Rovers
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:22
StewartyMac, on Mar 10 2007, 19:19, said:
He had definitley been booked, but I din't see what card/cards were shown as I was too busy shouting at everyone around me to stop clapping off a player who had just been sent off. I don't think anyone who gets sent off deserves to be applauded of the pitch.
Angerfist
- SA 2010:Nobody
- Gamertag:PSN: LattoRaith92
Very disappointed not to come away with a point today.
Fahey - Kept us in it in the 1st half. Two brilliant saves.
Fotheringham - Wasn't at the races. Hid infield when we needed him to be getting the ball outwide. Pelosi has to start next week. Much more attack minded.
Wilson - A few good balls into the box. Apart from that, pretty inefectual for the most part though.
Campbell - Won the ball in the air and did as he is asked to do. Nothing special. Didn't see his substitution coming though. Did he take a knock or something? Or was it tactical?
Lumsden - Won the ball in the air and made a few good tackles.
Big Marv - Makes me nervous when he tries to skin players in his own half. Never did anything too daft though and kept it tight throughout the game.
Davidson - One of very few with any passion out there today. Shows it week in week out and was just a very frustrated lad today. You could see his sending off a mile away. Could have done without it. Big game against Brechin next week.
Bonar - I feel that he hides a lot of the time and that he has no purpose in the team. Just what is his job?
Carcary - Not as good as previous weeks but whenever he got the ball you felt as if he could create something. His turn and cross at the South Stand end where we went just wide was excellent. Torments defences with his pace. As said previously, would be much better suited out on the wing.
McManus - Another one that wasn't at the races today. Needs a goals to get his confidence up.
Hislop - If he was any slower he would be going backwards and thats about the end of it. Didn't hold the ball up at all today which is surely what he is there to do? Some arsehole giving him pelters after about 15 mins got me a bit pissed off aswell.
Subs:
Fairbairn - Before the backpass he looked like the Fairbairn of all, using his pace and skillt o take players on and get to the bye-line. One mistake cost us the game today and it was his. You saw him at full time. He was distraught and dejected. Good to see him applauded rather than booed.
Pelosi - Never got very long and i never really noticed that he was on the pitch.
McLaughlin - Another forward with very little pace. Another one that needs a goals aswell.
I never really had Stirling down as cheats but after today i'm in two minds. Snodgrass hit the deck every time he went up for an aerial challenge and the lad with the long hair that came on (is it Tomana?) i had to laugh at his attempt. The pools along the Prom pal. Dying swan.
I have no words for how awful, disgusting, dire, inconsistent and pish the officials were today. Two mins before Stirling scored the ball was slipped though by Carcary and McManus ran onto it from atleast a yard onside and ws pulled back for offside. 9 times out of 10, we score, game over, 3 points.
Never mind. There's always Brechin next week.
RedWeb

Mon the Rovers
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:23
miketheheadlesschicken,
on Mar 10 2007, 19:20, said:
He was unlucky to be booked for the 'offence' that he commited then
And you may be right. He is out for three games anyway
keyser_soze
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:23
suspensions can be a killer at this time of the season.
Albiondweeb
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:25
Mon the Rovers
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:26
RedWeb, on Mar 10 2007, 19:22, said:
I'll go back to what I said before- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS
RedWeb
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:27
Mon the Rovers, on Mar 10 2007, 19:26, said:
Quite possibly but if we're on our game then you've no chance

keyser_soze
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:27
StirlingScott
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:29

Do you watch and enjoy our Match Videos - If so please help us keep them free - Click here to help
RedWeb
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:29
keyser_soze, on Mar 10 2007, 19:27, said:
Aye....it was a decent game...seen better but not bad all the same B)

Lang Toun Lad
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:30
One of them came up to us at the start of the game and said that if we stood we would be chucked out. It looked like the Fife Finest lot were told the same as no-one stood for the rest of the half. That made the atmosphere to be crap even when people tried to bring it up with a song. It got better once everyone started standing toward the end but by then the game was dead and buried. I think the team may have played better with the fans behind them but it was impossible.
You don't think they found the threads here and on the Rover's board do you?
This post has been edited by Lang Toun Lad: 10 March 2007 - 19:31

Raith at Hampden? We seem to have taken a wrong turn, guys.
Mon the Rovers
Posted 10 March 2007 - 19:31
Sign In
Register
Help

MultiQuote