Raith 0-1 Stirling Beaten by a better team Rate Topic: ****- 4 Votes

User is online   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:MacZidane
I'm still trying to get over seeing Southstander with a full set of teeth. :lol:

User is offline   Unknown Caller 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Scotland

View Postraith for life, on Mar 10 2007, 18:37, said:

I thought the first half was stirlings by far but the second half was ours. Draw would have been a fair result. 1 other thing the way the stirling players were going down was terrible evrytime we tackled they went to ground a disgrace.

The game was always going to be decided by a single goal and a goal was always going to come via an error.

Always next week.............

User is offline   Recre Rover 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Team:Raith Rovers

View PostRedWeb, on Mar 10 2007, 18:29, said:

Thought we were in total charge on the opening 45 and should have been a couple ahead. Second half Raith started well but failed to really test Hogarth. Last 15 Raith ran out of ideas and we took over again. Thought we deserved the win and on the balance of possession and chances Rovers can't really complain about losing.

Have to say I was surprised at just how ineffectual Carcary was. Can only assume the early sparkle is fading because he might as well have been in the stand for all he contributed. If we meet again in the play offs I'd fancy us to go through but I'd never count Raith out with the big support behind them.

PaulC :huh:

To be fair he wasn't the only player by any means to have an off day. Agree with what is said about McManus - he just didn't hold up the ball in the first half which was the start of problems for us there. Hislop also did the exact opposite of what he did at Cowden, I thought he was very lazy today.
Real Madrid C.F 0-3 Recreativo de Huelva - Sinama, Uche, Viqueira
20/12/06

User is offline   keyser_soze 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 10 2007, 18:39, said:

I'm still trying to get over seeing Southstander with a full set of teeth. :lol:

Never recognised him 1st time I saw him as well :lol:

Take it you never found styx ;)
Keaton always said, "I don't believe in God, but I'm afraid of him." Well I believe in God, and the only thing that scares me is Keyser Soze.

• Stay Alive

View Postkeyser_soze, on Mar 10 2007, 18:45, said:

Take it you never found styx ;)

I had mentioned it on the bus, but was outvoted due to not really having a scooby where it is.

It was decided this would waste valuable drinking time, and I didnae have an argument against it. :lol:

User is offline   Mon the Rovers 

• International Call Up
To be honest I think a draw would have been fair. Stirling were the best team I have seen at Starks this season TBH, but the fact you needed an 85th minute blunder to do so tells you what you need to know.

Carcary would be much better served out on the wing, where he can beat players and use his pace to effect. I just hope John McGlynn realises this, as he seems keen to play him behind the front two.

Just one small thing I didn't appreciate from Stirling's performance- the behaviour and conduct of Robert Snodgrass. He dived all over the place, continually going down after losing headers etc and always had sneaky little pushes at our defenders as the ball went away and the referee wasn't looking. Didn't look like a penalty from where I was, but I was wearing blue tinted specs.

Overall, I'm glad the defeat came now rather than in the play-offs, and being away in front of a small crowd next week may even help the players. Thye always seem to be nervous in front of a bigger crowd. Well done to the choir at the back, didn't sit with you guys today, but at the end you would have thought the Rovers had won due to all the singing. Keep it up lads. And remember Stirling- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up

View PostMon the Rovers, on Mar 10 2007, 18:48, said:

And remember Stirling- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS

Aye...you can but hope :lol:

• Stay Alive

View PostMon the Rovers, on Mar 10 2007, 18:48, said:

And remember Stirling- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS

Playoffs?? Us??

Na, you're getting us mixed up with a stripey team from Greenock. ;)

• International Call Up

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 10 2007, 18:50, said:

Playoffs?? Us??

Just thought that was a nice song to sing as you're players walked off :lol:

User is offline   rw89 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:Steam: RW2711

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 10 2007, 18:50, said:

Playoffs?? Us??

Death or glory

Guest_itsbinos_*

• Group: Surfer
I thought that the albion just deserved the points today. The raith keeper pulled off a belter of a save when one of our players pinged a shot for the top corner midway through the first half

I thought it was allways going to be a 1 - 0 game and i commented this at half time.. if raith scored first I think stirling may have struggled - which they very nearly did through a ritchie (think it was) very well taken header that almost sneaked in over myles (it had me very worried) so did a cross also in the first (edit it was the second half too! - in raiths best spell of the game) half that was hit hard and low to the 6 yard box and a raith player got a foot on the ball but thank god it went wide.

Albion had 2 penalty claims and i would like to say something very clearly

The second penalty claim, where we were all incensed, was not a possible penalty, it was a stonewaller and i was yelling this for several minutes after the incident :lol: - the first would have been harsh on the rovers but we really should have had that second penalty

Raith lacked invention today but they had a right winger who could have done some damage had he been put in more

Also thought bingham has good ability but is lacking confidence and looks unfit but that will improve - his passing in good positions on a number of occasions were well below what you would expect

Feel a bit sorry for the raith lad who passed it to cramb for a very very calm finish but we did deserve it on the balance of the game :lol:

Remember all the negative - cramb - talk that has been mentioned on here? Well done coco cramb!! well taken goal today that could prove very crucial - i hope he stays. Quality player

I remember redweb saying somewhere that cramb will stay and score more goals for us when most binos were slating the guy telling him to F off! you should be ashamed of yourselfes! all going delirious like myselfe when we scored 5 mins from the end - who scored the goal again?

MON THE BINOS

This post has been edited by itsbinos: 10 March 2007 - 18:57

• International Call Up

View Postitsbinos, on Mar 10 2007, 18:56, said:

The second penalty claim, where we were all incensed, was not a possible penalty, it was a stonewaller and i was yelling this for several minutes after the incident :lol: - the first would have been harsh on the rovers but we really should have had that second penalty

Even if it was a foul, Snodgrass has himself to blame for rolling around the pitch at every available chance :angry:

What did the Bino boys make of the red card? Snodgrass was shot wasn't he :unsure:

User is offline   miketheheadlesschicken 

• Third Division Regular

View PostMon the Rovers, on Mar 10 2007, 19:00, said:

What did the Bino boys make of the red card? Snodgrass was shot wasn't he :unsure:

Snodgrass was lying on the ground and Davidson drilled the ball off his head. There's no real debate whether it was the right decision or not.

• Stay Alive

View Postitsbinos, on Mar 10 2007, 18:56, said:

I remember redweb saying somewhere that cramb will stay and score more goals for us when most binos were slating the guy telling him to F off! you should be ashamed of yourselfes! all going delirious like myselfe when we scored 5 mins from the end - who scored the goal again?

Of course we were going delirious, wtf were you expecting?

Maybe if you had half an understanding of the situation with Cramb, you might have been the same. ;)

• International Call Up

View Postmiketheheadlesschicken, on Mar 10 2007, 19:03, said:

Snodgrass was lying on the ground and Davidson drilled the ball off his head. There's no real debate whether it was the right decision or not.

I'm not so sure. I thought Davo kicked the ball at the same time as the referee blew his whistle for a foul to Stirling :unsure:

First booking was a joke, no doubt about that. He got booked for passing the ball to the Stirling boy :blink: :rolleyes:

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 10 2007, 19:03, said:

Maybe if you had half an understanding of the situation with Cramb, you might have been the same. ;)

To be fair to Cramb it was great to see him go into the stand at half-time and personally apologise to someone for hitting them with a shot. Not many players would have bothered and it's to Colin's credit that he did so...well done sir !!

• Stay Alive
There were some people who thought Paul Hay had been booked twice. Obviously not as no-one has mentioned it, but I did think at the time of his 2nd half booking, that he'd been showed the yellow card earlier.

User is offline   Andy C 

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 10 2007, 19:07, said:

There were some people who thought Paul Hay had been booked twice. Obviously not as no-one has mentioned it, but I did think at the time of his 2nd half booking, that he'd been showed the yellow card earlier.

Was that your right-back Stewarty?

I thought he had been booked twice too. :blink:

• Stay Alive

View PostRedWeb, on Mar 10 2007, 19:06, said:

To be fair to Cramb it was great to see him go into the stand at half-time and personally apologise to someone for hitting them with a shot. Not many players would have bothered and it's to Colin's credit that he did so...well done sir !!

Yip, his whole attitude seems to have changed. Hopefully this is the case. Thats down to the manager I reckon. Well done to both Moore and Cramb. It can only be a good thing to have Snoddy, Bingo, and Cramb all vying for a place in the team. That could give us the edge we need to win the league/playoffs.

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up

View PostStewartyMac, on Mar 10 2007, 19:07, said:

There were some people who thought Paul Hay had been booked twice.

Not according to my notes...Hislop was booked for a foul on Hay which may have confused you :huh:

• International Call Up

View PostRedWeb, on Mar 10 2007, 19:06, said:

And Rock Steady allowed it? :unsure: Full credit to Cramb however, the Rovers end would be full of players if they all done that :lol:

• Stay Alive

View Post27/11, on Mar 10 2007, 19:08, said:

Was that your right-back Stewarty?

I thought he had been booked twice too. :blink:

That's the one, aye.

• International Call Up
Hay definitley should have been booked for a foul on McManus (I think) but the ref just gave him a talikng to. An Albion centre half was booked about a minute later(again I think) for a foul on the wing as well, so there was big confusion in the Rovers end about that decision. Fairly sure he wasn't booked though

User is offline   miketheheadlesschicken 

• Third Division Regular

View PostMon the Rovers, on Mar 10 2007, 19:05, said:

I'm not so sure. I thought Davo kicked the ball at the same time as the referee blew his whistle for a foul to Stirling :unsure:

The free kick had already been given.

View PostMon the Rovers, on Mar 10 2007, 19:05, said:

First booking was a joke, no doubt about that. He got booked for passing the ball to the Stirling boy :blink: :rolleyes:

The referee had been extremely lenient with him. He warned him after he had kicked the ball away for a 3rd time. Should have been booked then. He even got away with another one before finally being booked at the incident you mentioned.

User is offline   west rover 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Team:Albion Rovers
:angry:

View Postraith for life, on Mar 10 2007, 18:37, said:

I thought the first half was stirlings by far but the second half was ours. Draw would have been a fair result. 1 other thing the way the stirling players were going down was terrible evrytime we tackled they went to ground a disgrace.

• (15 Pages) +
  • Last »