Bets You Knew You Should Have Placed Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

User is offline   Karl Fletcher 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Aberdeen
When Walter did the dirty you immediately got 6-1 for McLeish to be the new Scotland boss.

I was honestly going to whack £50 on it but bottled it :(

Aberdonians, and with some degree of purpose and right on their side, have absolute contempt for Glasgow. There is a side of Aberdonians who, let's be absolutely honest about this, feel so superior to Glasgow that you could measure it by the yard;

WE ARE SO FAMOUS!!

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
If you don't have the balls to put on a bet, you shouldn't be annoyed when it doesn't come up.

That's my motto

User is offline   arab_joe 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd
The one that sticks in my head was Nigeria playing Spain at World Cup 1998. Was only 13 at the time, but my mate was giving me odds of 20/1 if I put a tenner on... I was seriously tempted, but was going with my heart over my head. Oh well...
"It is more dangerous that even a guilty person should be punished without the forms of law than that he should escape..."
Thomas Jefferson

User is offline   Shawfield Stallion 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde

View Postarab_joe, on Feb 14 2007, 12:57, said:

The one that sticks in my head was Nigeria playing Spain at World Cup 1998. Was only 13 at the time, but my mate was giving me odds of 20/1 if I put a tenner on... I was seriously tempted, but was going with my heart over my head. Oh well...

What's even more tragic is that you thought that your 13 year old mate would be prepared to pay out £200 :lol:

As for me, I regret not backing every upset since I started gambling. Onwards and upwards though ;)
"This is a team with a great history and I want to play a lot for them"
- Filip Mentel

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc
I mind the season Palace were in the Prem, they played one of the other relegation candidates and drew 3-3. I said whilst in the bookies casually 'that'll end up 3-3 or something' and sure as hell, it did.

Also this season Stenny have been there for the taking to bet against but every time I don't bet against us, we lose, and vice versa (I've bet against us 4 times and lost money every time!)

User is offline   Monster 

• I'm all business
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine
I was in the bookies putting my midweek line on and the odds for Blackburns last Uefa cup group game were on. I can't remember the odds, but it was decent value for a 0-0. I bottled it though, with predictable results. :lol:
It's my solo party, it's my body, and if I choose to abuse it with my lifestyle and my music
What the f**k! I can't lose! It's my life! Why is it I can't keep you far enough away?

User is offline   rydo1982 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
Very rare for me to pick out a big priced effort that I regret not betting on.

Been a few times that short priced efforts have appealed and I've bottled out of putting a big bet on. Notable recent(ish) effort was Kauto Star in the King George on Boxing Day. If I could afford to lose big money then I would have been on it.
I lost my heart to a dancer.

User is offline   mid-table 

• Scotia L. Jackson
I mentioned this on another thread when it happened, but a couple of months ago Zaragoza were 1-0 up against Osasuna with 10 minutes to go, and some mug on Betfair offered 230/1 on Osasuna winning. By the time I'd logged in to Betfair, realised I had no funds, checked my bank balance online, gone back to Betfair and made the deposit, Osasuna had scored and the price has plummeted. Needless to say, Osasuna scored a winner in the last minute of injury time.

Some lucky punter managed to get £24 on at 230/1, would've been me though if I'd had funds in my Betfair account.

Double edit due to hazy memory; It was Zaragoza v Osasuna, not Sevilla v Zaragoza, and secondly it was 230/1, not 320/1. Still a bit of a pisser though.

This post has been edited by mid-table: 14 February 2007 - 20:52

View PostAd Lib, on 21 December 2011 - 17:31, said:

If they threatened to physically attack me, I would STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so. If they threatened to physically attack a young lady across the aisle I would VERY STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so and attempt to place myself between them.

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!
  • My Team:Dumbarton
Now that's a tough one. :(
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

User is offline   arab_joe 

• SPL Sub
  • My Team:Dundee Utd

View PostShawfield Stallion, on Feb 14 2007, 13:07, said:

What's even more tragic is that you thought that your 13 year old mate would be prepared to pay out £200 :lol:

As for me, I regret not backing every upset since I started gambling. Onwards and upwards though ;)

My mate was 16 or 17, so there was a small chance. Even so, it was the fact that he was so smug in offering 20/1- would have been all about the satisfaction.
"It is more dangerous that even a guilty person should be punished without the forms of law than that he should escape..."
Thomas Jefferson

User is offline   edinlichtie 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Arbroath
Ever since my bank balance declined beyond belief, i have closed all my online betting accounts, so every day i have a bet i would have put on that wins (and of course a bet i would have bet on that loses ;))

Recent one that sticks in the head was Arsenal v Wigan. Watchin it in a mates house, and pestering him constantly to put an Arsenal win on for me, from the minute Wigan scored, to the minute Arsenal equalised. ALMOST had him tempted, then Heskey hit the post and put him right off the idea :( Arse got as high as 9/1 too.

We all know the full time score.

View Postxbl, on Sep 1 2007, 11:12, said:

Im not feeling up to going to this one, so I shall be watching on sky sports.

Posted Image

User is offline   philpy 

• From here to eternity
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:harry ramp
Andrius skerla first scorer for dunfermline in the cup final vs celtic a few years back. He was 100-1 to score. I thought about putting a fiver on, only to think to myself "nah, it wont happen " <_<

User is offline   Wug 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

View Postsouthstander, on Feb 15 2007, 21:18, said:

Andrius skerla first scorer for dunfermline in the cup final vs celtic a few years back. He was 100-1 to score. I thought about putting a fiver on, only to think to myself "nah, it wont happen " <_<

I had a similar experience during the WC in the Argentina vs Germany game. I had a wee premonition that Argentina would take the lead from a corner with a centre-back scoring (all were at 50-1). For some reason I stuck a fiver on Coloccini and a fiver on... Burdisso! I'm not even sure he's a centre back ffs! Forgot all about Ayala, the most obvious one...

User is offline   Wug 

• International Call Up
Also, tonight I was absolutely certain of a Braga win but forgot all about putting it on (10/11 in Coral the other day)

User is offline   SaltyTON 

• Who you calling a jackass?!?
  • Gamertag:SaltyTON (360)
My mate was seriously considering Milan 3 Liverpool 3 @ 750/1

He was mighty pissed off after the game :lol:
Goal scorers 2011/12
Peter MacDonald 15; Andy Jackson 12; Paul di Giacomo, Archie Campbell & David O'Brien 8; Peter Weatherson 5; Michael Tidser 3; Darren McGeouch 2; Derek Young, Marc Smyth, Lewis Hawke & Fouad Bachirou 1

User is offline   shetlandbairn 

• SPL Signing Target

View PostSaltyTON, on Feb 17 2007, 09:55, said:

My mate was seriously considering Milan 3 Liverpool 3 @ 750/1

He was mighty pissed off after the game :lol:

Was that on Betfair?

I notice in most high street bookies the best odds you get on a correct score is 100/1.

User is offline   SaltyTON 

• Who you calling a jackass?!?
  • Gamertag:SaltyTON (360)

View Postshetlandbairn, on Feb 17 2007, 15:48, said:

Was that on Betfair?

I notice in most high street bookies the best odds you get on a correct score is 100/1.

No was at Ladbrokes, was a special.
Goal scorers 2011/12
Peter MacDonald 15; Andy Jackson 12; Paul di Giacomo, Archie Campbell & David O'Brien 8; Peter Weatherson 5; Michael Tidser 3; Darren McGeouch 2; Derek Young, Marc Smyth, Lewis Hawke & Fouad Bachirou 1

User is offline   mid-table 

• Scotia L. Jackson

View PostSaltyTON, on Feb 17 2007, 20:18, said:

No was at Ladbrokes, was a special.

No way Jose, Ladbrokes were not offering 750/1 on a 3-3 draw in the 2005 CL final.
On Betfair it touched around 500/1 in running when Milan went 3-0 up. Pre-match odds were either 50/1 or 66/1.

View PostAd Lib, on 21 December 2011 - 17:31, said:

If they threatened to physically attack me, I would STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so. If they threatened to physically attack a young lady across the aisle I would VERY STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so and attempt to place myself between them.

User is offline   edinlichtie 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Arbroath

View Postmid-table, on Feb 18 2007, 01:38, said:

No way Jose, Ladbrokes were not offering 750/1 on a 3-3 draw in the 2005 CL final.
On Betfair it touched around 500/1 in running when Milan went 3-0 up. Pre-match odds were either 50/1 or 66/1.

Definitely.

Agreed, no chance you would get NEAR 3 figures before the match for 3-3! Ladbrokes probably wouldn't even offer u 750/1 if u predicted all 6 goalscorers!

View Postxbl, on Sep 1 2007, 11:12, said:

Im not feeling up to going to this one, so I shall be watching on sky sports.

Posted Image

User is offline   fraser_smfc 

• SPL Regular
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
grand national couple of years back

for whatever reason i had a huge belief that amberliegh house was going to win, but didnt bet as im under 18.

he did. i nearly choked on my half time pie when they announced the result on the tannoy at the football

should have got my big cousin to put the line on for me
YAASSS! That's what e'hm talkn' aboot!

Guest_Spanky Rodriguez_*

• Group: Surfer
Celtic yesterday were evens in some bookies' eyes to beat Aberdeen which is buying money. My mate stuck on £100 and obviously made a £100 profit. Muggins here shat it and stuck on a tenner :(

Still, a tenner is better than f**k all.

User is offline   Wug 

• International Call Up

View PostSpanky Rodriguez, on Feb 18 2007, 16:53, said:

Celtic yesterday were evens in some bookies' eyes to beat Aberdeen which is buying money. My mate stuck on £100 and obviously made a £100 profit. Muggins here shat it and stuck on a tenner :(

Still, a tenner is better than f**k all.

I had them on a double with Zaragoza. £10 returned £34 but even after I put it on I was seriously considering going back in and puting a ton on. I've sacked the large bets for the now though as I've still got £600 invested in Laddy's waiting to be magically turned into a grand in time for my hols :D

User is offline   turboshandy 

• SPL Regular
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:Xbox: turboshandy1975
Not a bet I knew I should have put on as such, but I remember the 1994 Coca Cola Cup Final program having an advert for (I think) Ladbrokes in it which featured a betting slip with "Celtic 2 Raith Rovers 2" on it and I had said to my mate if I'd seen it before we'd gotten into the ground, I would have thrown a fiver at it.

Not exactly a hard luck story! <_<

User is offline   shetlandbairn 

• SPL Signing Target

View Postturboshandy, on Feb 21 2007, 16:23, said:

Not a bet I knew I should have put on as such, but I remember the 1994 Coca Cola Cup Final program having an advert for (I think) Ladbrokes in it which featured a betting slip with "Celtic 2 Raith Rovers 2" on it and I had said to my mate if I'd seen it before we'd gotten into the ground, I would have thrown a fiver at it.

Not exactly a hard luck story! <_<

That reminds me of being in Falkirk the day before the Cup Final and seeing in a bookies window the odds of Paul Wright to score first and Killie to win 1-0.

Not that I was ever going to put the bet on as I was only twelve, but it sticks in my mind.

Guest_God is a bairn_*

• Group: Surfer
was in the bookies month or so ago on tht day tht hendry was playing o sullivan in the snooker (when o sullivan walked off) seen a hendry white wash at 140/1 was tempted to stick a quid on it but couldny be arsed - still dont know if that would have paid out though as a white wash to hendry as o sullivan left - anyone??????

• (2 Pages) +