St Johnstone 0-0 Ayr United

User is offline   Radford 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • Team:St.Johnstone

View PostReynard, on Jan 16 2007, 23:20, said:

I`ll probably have to go to this game.

St.Johnstone will win 3-1 and quite comfortably. Ayr are rubbish. They tend to sit in a bit much and try and hit on the break but they don`t have good enough players to do it. Their only good player is Jerome K Jerome and he`s out.

St.Johnstone should be too good for them. Hopefully it will be a good game though but I doubt it.

I will get in the boys gate as usual.

3-0 Ayr.

We've been building up to a poor result for weeks. We need to get it out of our system.
Fascists against Beatson.

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
  • Team:St.Mirren

View PostRadford, on Jan 17 2007, 15:31, said:

3-0 Ayr.

We've been building up to a poor result for weeks. We need to get it out of our system.

Haven`t decided whether to go or not yet. It`s cold and I`m a petal.

3-0 to Ayr would be quite funny,but I can`t see it.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   keithgy 

• The Good Die Young
  • Team:Falkirk
Ayr Utd 0-1 St Johnstone (Scotland)
Super Bald

User is offline   Steak & Barley 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Team:Greenock Morton
1-1 Mon the Honestmen.
Why you laughing at me?

User is offline   chico 

• Dry.

View PostSteak & Barley, on Jan 17 2007, 21:06, said:

1-1 Mon the Honestmen.

yup. 'mon the ayr.

enjoying the commentary on radio scotland. can hear the wind in the background. Was it the ex-fermer that scored for ayr?
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

View Postchico, on Jan 17 2007, 21:13, said:

yup. 'mon the ayr.

enjoying the commentary on radio scotland. can hear the wind in the background. Was it the ex-fermer that scored for ayr?

Aye although I thinks he's gratuated from cattle to spuds now.
Why you laughing at me?

bollox.
Why you laughing at me?

User is offline   Vince the loveable stoner 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
i have found a new love.....peaso

This post has been edited by Vince the loveable stoner: 17 January 2007 - 22:10

Im your biggest fan I'll follow you until you love me,
Gavin, Gavin Swankie

• wholesome and lovely
Was quite a good cup tie really in spite of or maybe because of the wind. It was a howling gale tonight and it was penning either side in or near their own penalty area when they played against it.

Ayr huffed and puffed and chased hard all night and caused Sainteees a fair bit of bother without really looking in much danger of scoring. Until they scored :lol:

Ayr raised their game for this one quite significantly but they just didnt relly have enough quality to do the damage. St.Johnstone were there for the taking as well. Have Saintees fans stopped following their team away or something? Mind you I don`t blame them for staying in on a night like this. They shouldn`t allow games to go ahead in weather like that. You really can`t play football in it. :thumbsdown

It was not a bad game though, I quite enjoyed it.

This post has been edited by Reynard: 17 January 2007 - 22:32

Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   SaintSam 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Even a referee hell bent on giving Ayr United every decision couldn't help the poor second division outfit beat us tonight. This game was very much like the original match, I think Ayr could have pushed us all night and not scored (again). Some decent moves, but no real end product. Must be terrible to watch on domestic duty.

As for us, I appreciate that Kevin James has good leadership qualities and cannot argue with the pure facts that recently, when he has played, we have picked up more points than when he hasn't but his form has dipped so low he's almost a hindrance to the team at times, made no better by the donkey beside him in McManus. Nevermind the lack of mobility in our midfield, I lost count of the number of times Ayr managed to exploit our defence. James was clearly unfit and I'll be utterly raging if I have to watch him play like that against Airdrie United when there's a fit and excellent Steven Anderson sitting on the bench.

I think our biggest problem other than that was there was nobody in midfield to win any loose balls. Every ball that came out into midfield was picked up by an Ayr player. Things, for me, improved with the introduction of the pacey youngsters McLaren on the left and Jackson on the right. Ayr were beginning to tire by this point and so they were much better options than Sheerin and Hardie.

Credit to Kevin Cuthbert and indeed the Ayr keeper for keeping the match interesting with some good goalkeeping for the large part, especially from the Ayr man towards the end of E/T, who did well to keep his side level as we pushed relentlessly to avoid a penalty shoot out. Our quality and fitness showed through in the end, as it should have done in the first match. Credit to Ayr United for a tough challenge though.

I think it's harsh to judge anybody for not turning out to watch that tonight, Reynard. The two hour trek in wintry conditions and then having to stand out in that wind was just awful. I've never been so cold in all my life.

This post has been edited by SaintSam: 18 January 2007 - 00:24

• Golden Shoe Winner
Well, I'm not sure what the radio said but I thought we throughly deserved that.

We opened well and took a deserved lead when Jason fired a free-kick under the wall and past a stationary McGeown. How the referee never booked their player for the challenge on Lombardo in the build up, I'll never know.

The wind was with Ayr (no pun intended!) in the first-half and they used it to their advantage. KC dealt with everything superbly though. His handling was top notch. The referee booked Lawrie for his first challenge then James and Stanic were booked for dissent as the homer in charge gave us nothing, including blowing for a free-kick when advantage would have seen Peaso in on goal.

With the wind at our backs in the second-half I was happy but then remembered Saturday although we started well and forced some early corners after winning none in the first half.

KC had to look sharp to beat Varielle (why was he playing?) to the ball but could do nothing about their equaliser, which Hollywood couldn't have scripted better. A hopeful cross holds up in the wind (as did nearly every pass) and Stevo takes a touch to lift it over James before volley low past KC from 20 yards. Cracking strike to be fair to him. KC honestly had nothing to do for the rest of the half but Saints only really clicked when McLaren was introduced for Sheerin.

As the game wore on McGeown began to shine, saving Ayr on numerous occasions.

The first period of extra-time saw Ayr creep slightly back into things with the wind advantage but Saints still looked in control. It was in the second period though that it looked like we were up against a possessed man as time-and-time again McGeown denied Saints the winner they deserved.

With the clocking ticking down, Peaso picked the ball up 25 yards from goal and turned his man before catching the ball sweetly to fire it straight down the middle to deceive McGeown and set Saints up for Falkirk.

Positives were the effort from all the players and several good performances, notably from McInnes, the two strikers, Cuthbert and the two subs. Mensing looked so much more comfortable in the middle when Jacko came on. I think OC seriously needs to look at the midfield still though as we looked much better when we had the pace of McLaren and Jackson out wide, although Ayr were tiring to be fair.

Well worth the trip.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostReynard, on Jan 17 2007, 22:30, said:

Have Saintees fans stopped following their team away or something? Mind you I don`t blame them for staying in on a night like this. They shouldn`t allow games to go ahead in weather like that. You really can`t play football in it. :thumbsdown

Yeah, disappointing turnout but hardly that surprising. I'd guess maybe 150 Saints fans?

The defence is it's mid-January, snowy and cold and Ayr is 90-odd miles away and it meant crossing the Kingston Bridge during rush hour. We also watched the same two sides serve up a dire 0-0 draw last week and have had an expensive month following Saints with the semi coming up.

No doubt all the die-hards will crawl out of the woodwork for the game at Tynecastle though. :rolleyes:

Guest_ali_le_point_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostThe Ger, on Jan 7 2007, 15:24, said:

I was at the game and I have to say it was one of the worst I've been at ...

Tall order for a Gers fan this season he said, inviting a smart reply. :rolleyes: :lol:

• Golden Shoe Winner
Jason's goal from the Saints end, courtesy of poster Real Madrid and his YouTube account...

Clicky

User is offline   codfish 

• He put the ball in the Redshite net!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostRadford, on Jan 18 2007, 00:46, said:

No doubt all the die-hards will crawl out of the woodwork for the game at Tynecastle though. :rolleyes:

Yup! :lol: :D

Guest_maxwell5_*

• Group: Surfer
couldn't believe when peaso scored, he usually plays crap when he starts, more of a player who comes off the bench with 25 mins to go and scores vital goals. A couple against Hibs wouldn't go a miss.

• wholesome and lovely

View PostSaintSam, on Jan 18 2007, 00:24, said:

I think it's harsh to judge anybody for not turning out to watch that tonight, Reynard. The two hour trek in wintry conditions and then having to stand out in that wind was just awful. I've never been so cold in all my life.

That`s probably why I said I don`t blame anyone for not turning up in that weather...

You are right about James though. When he is not playing well he sticks out like a sore thumb even worse than normal. He`s dreadful BTW.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostReynard, on Jan 18 2007, 08:05, said:

You are right about James though. When he is not playing well he sticks out like a sore thumb even worse than normal. He`s dreadful BTW.

He's patently not fit but the conditions were always going to present problems for him in particular. The people criticising him have very short memories though as generally he's been outstanding for us since his arrival. You can count his bad games (and yesterday was one of them) on one hand. It was only a month ago he was the saviour after coming in against Dundee and holding us together.

People, myself included to be honest, like Steven Anderson but you can't get away from the fact we aren't collecting points regularly enough when he's in the side. Ando will be a quality player for Saints but at this moment in time, we need our captain on the pitch as often as possible.

User is online   H_B 

• Sung-Bong Choi is my hero

View PostRadford, on Jan 18 2007, 00:39, said:

Well, I'm not sure what the radio said but I thought we throughly deserved that.

They said Ayr were the better side in the first half and St Johnstone did nothing of note after they scored. Sounded completely bereft of goalmouth action until extra time when Ayr's walking wounded were absolutely knackered and it turned into shooty-in.

Decent crowd from Ayr given the conditions and their pishness. Fair play to them.

User is offline   SaintSam 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostRadford, on Jan 18 2007, 08:33, said:

He's patently not fit but the conditions were always going to present problems for him in particular. The people criticising him have very short memories though as generally he's been outstanding for us since his arrival. You can count his bad games (and yesterday was one of them) on one hand. It was only a month ago he was the saviour after coming in against Dundee and holding us together.

People, myself included to be honest, like Steven Anderson but you can't get away from the fact we aren't collecting points regularly enough when he's in the side. Ando will be a quality player for Saints but at this moment in time, we need our captain on the pitch as often as possible.

Drop McManus then.

If we play McManus and James together in the centre against Gretna, we will ship goals galore.

User is offline   A Broggie for me 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Crap : game, weather, stadium, food, toilets.

Apart from the first 10 minutes and the second period of extra-time I thought we were awful.

I hate watching from behind the goal when your team is attacking the other end, especially on 'flat' terracing like that - I couldn't make out what was going on and even missed the winner as I was daydreaming of being back in the nice, warm car.

Saw the goals on Sky Sports News this morning - it was a good one from Peaso and saw myself jumping up when Jason scored!

Big improvement required if the cup double is to be achieved.
St.Johnstone FC - The Saints - not to be confused with inferior (Weegie) imitations.

The Harlem Globetrotters of Scottish football.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostHieronymous_Bosch, on Jan 18 2007, 09:53, said:

They said Ayr were the better side in the first half and St Johnstone did nothing of note after they scored. Sounded completely bereft of goalmouth action until extra time when Ayr's walking wounded were absolutely knackered and it turned into shooty-in.

Decent crowd from Ayr given the conditions and their pishness. Fair play to them.

In the first-half, Ayr had the wind and put us under a lot of pressure, forcing a lot of corners which Cuthbert dealt with superbly. We didn't force one corner.

In the second-half, we had the wind and put Ayr under a lot of pressure, forcing a lot of corners which were generally pish. Unlike Ayr in the first half though we did create chances with Mensing blazing over and McGeown beginning to "step up to the plate". Ayr didn't force one corner.

Extra-time we dominated, especially the second period where McGeown was a man possessed until being deceived by MacDonald's shot.

Couldn't believe the stuff I was hearing from "Gus" on the radio when we got back to the car. Cuthbert only had to deal with crosses, I can't remember them having a shot on target apart from Stevo's wonderstrike... the b'stard!

View PostSaintSam, on Jan 18 2007, 10:41, said:

Drop McManus then.

If we play McManus and James together in the centre against Gretna, we will ship goals galore.

You don't know that any more than I think we won't! It was you that produced the stats on We Are Perth a few weeks ago about the points with James in the side compared to Anderson. It doesn't matter what we think they look like when they are defending, we pick up more points with James in there. Look at the form up to when James got injured compared to after.

FWIW, I think he'll play a back three against Gretna as Graham in particular runs the channels so would drag a centre back out of position. We played a back three in the second half down there in December (should've gone! :P) and coped better with them so I think Coyle will stick with that.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostA Broggie for me, on Jan 18 2007, 11:44, said:

I hate watching from behind the goal when your team is attacking the other end, especially on 'flat' terracing like that - I couldn't make out what was going on and even missed the winner as I was daydreaming of being back in the nice, warm car.

I reckon the reason football always seemed better when I was younger is that often you were behind the goal and things that aren't even close (and you'd realise that in a seat in the Main Stand) look close! Hope that makes sense! :lol:

User is online   H_B 

• Sung-Bong Choi is my hero

View PostRadford, on Jan 18 2007, 11:54, said:

Couldn't believe the stuff I was hearing from "Gus" on the radio when we got back to the car. Cuthbert only had to deal with crosses, I can't remember them having a shot on target apart from Stevo's wonderstrike... the b'stard!

I thin as Leckie was commentating they were in full "plucky wee team" mode.

• wholesome and lovely

View PostA Broggie for me, on Jan 18 2007, 11:44, said:

Crap :toilets.

the toilets are the highlight of going to Somerset Park. The away end trough style urinal had a fag packet in it since about 1979 and it used to be fun pishing it from one end to the other.

• (3 Pages) +