Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Brechin City 2 Alloa Athletic 0 - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Brechin City 2 Alloa Athletic 0 Candidates for 'Goal of the Season' Rate Topic: -----

Guest_cityred_*

• Group: Surfer
You will go a long way to see two better goals than those scored by Stuart Callaghan and Richard Walker at Glebe Park today.

Callaghan's 30 yard volley was an absoloute screamer described by Allan Maitland as the "best goal I've seen anywhere this season". While Richard Walker cleverly lobbed the ball over goalkeeper Allan Creer from fully 40 yards.

Alloa made Brechin work very hard for the victory and I doubt they will be in the bottom two at the end of the season. Chris Geddes, who on another day could have had four goals, hit the woodworrk for City and Creer made three excellent saves in the first half.

The only sour note was a two-footed tackle by Alloa defender, Fraser Forrest, that led to Geddes having to go off with a bruised shin. The player had already been booked and then having got away with a two-footed lunge on Geddes, brough Ritchie Walker down and again escaped unpunished. Apart from those incidents, Referee Crawford Allan tried to let the game flow.

All credit to Alloa, they made a contribution to what was an open game of football. But Brechin always seemed that wee bit ahead in terms of imagination.

Attached File(s)

User is offline   Mon the Rovers 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

View Postcityred, on Sep 9 2006, 22:00, said:

You will go a long way to see two better goals than those scored by Stuart Callaghan and Richard Walker at Glebe Park today.

Callaghan's 30 yard volley was an absoloute screamer described by Allan Maitland as the "best goal I've seen anywhere this season". While Richard Walker cleverly lobbed the ball over goalkeeper Allan Creer from fully 40 yards.

Alloa made Brechin work very hard for the victory and I doubt they will be in the bottom two at the end of the season. Chris Geddes, who on another day could have had four goals, hit the woodworrk for City and Creer made three excellent saves in the first half.

The only sour note was a two-footed tackle by Alloa defender, Fraser Forrest, that led to Geddes having to go off with a bruised shin. The player had already been booked and then having got away with a two-footed lunge on Geddes, brough Ritchie Walker down and again escaped unpunished. Apart from those incidents, Referee Crawford Allan tried to let the game flow.

All credit to Alloa, they made a contribution to what was an open game of football. But Brechin always seemed that wee bit ahead in terms of imagination.

Make the most of your glee while it lasts, I've got a good feeling about the mighty Rovers next week ;) :D

Guest_cityred_*

"Make the most of your glee while it lasts, I've got a good feeling about the mighty Rovers next week"

You might will win the game and I'm sure there will be a lot of hype with Levein's first game in charge. But I'm more concerned that we are getting players back into our squad after horrendous injury problems. Scott Walker was back today and Davie White was for the umpteenth time this season outstanding.

If the Rovers are serious challengers then you have to beat us at home. Personally, I think we will be in the play-off places come the business end of the season. But my point was about the quality of goals we scored worth the admission money alone.

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • My Team:Brechin City
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc
Personally thought we were quite slack today, however, we scored the two all important goals and created a barrowload of chances so I can't really complain. We hit the post, had a header and a shot cleared off the line and Creer made a few outstanding saves in the Alloa goal, some from point-blank range.

Agree with Cityred has said but I think Alloa will have to work hard if they are to avoid relegation this season. They didn't look too bad going forward but defensively they were an absolute shambles and we really should have exploited that more with a few more goals.

We currently have a lot of players out with injury so that makes the result even more impressive.

Both goals were absolute screamers, both ironically scored by ex Alloa players.

This post has been edited by 'Steve: 09 September 2006 - 22:08

Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   loon 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Forfar Athletic
Oh dear cityred does Mr Birse know you've slipped your leash. :lol:
Forfar Athletic Booting their way up since 2008

User is offline   RedWeb 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Stirling Albion

View Postcityred, on Sep 9 2006, 22:00, said:

Callaghan's 30 yard volley was an absoloute screamer described by Allan Maitland as the "best goal I've seen anywhere this season".

Poor Allan....he's seen a few classics end up in the Wasps net this season :lol:

Guest_cityred_*

Oh dear cityred does Mr Birse know you've slipped your leash.

You missed the Y off the end of your name Loon and unlike your girlfriend I've never been on a "leash".

User is offline   loon 

View Postcityred, on Sep 10 2006, 09:58, said:

You missed the Y off the end of your name Loon and unlike your girlfriend I've never been on a "leash".

OH No another lie from cityred or is it redblood today. :o

User is offline   cowdenbeath 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath

View PostRedWeb, on Sep 9 2006, 23:32, said:

Poor Allan....he's seen a few classics end up in the Wasps net this season :lol:

He was poor against us, Alloa fans seem to love the guy though :o shows how bad McGlynn was :lol:
The Blue Mbu

Guest_cityred_*

I know who I am mr loon or is it Mr Craik today? Kettle, pot and black eh?

User is offline   loon 

View Postcityred, on Sep 10 2006, 11:16, said:

I know who I am mr loon or is it Mr Craik today? Kettle, pot and black eh?

Thats it everyday, I ve never hidden behind anything or told any lies unlike you Mr Mitchell, have you been given into trouble by the commitee this season :lol:

This post has been edited by loon: 10 September 2006 - 12:22

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View Postcowdenbeath, on Sep 10 2006, 11:01, said:

He was poor against us, Alloa fans seem to love the guy though :o shows how bad McGlynn was :lol:

Eh if you read the posts from the Brechin fans on this thread they are saying Creer made a number of great saves and was only beaten by two wonder strikes (by ex Wasps :( ). He's a very good keeper and at 19 time is on his side to get better.

Couldnt get to the game yesterday but a disappointing result, felt beforehand we were in with a decent chance at Glebe Park. Need to start picking up points in the next few games to prevent us losing touch with the pack.

Guest_cityred_*

One - You clearly have a case of mistaken identity. I have had the same identity on P &B since its very early days and greatly value it as a good forum for the lower divisions.

Two - I haven't got a clue what you're on about

Three - I opened a topic about two great individual bits of skill by players in the team I support and the contribution the opposition made to the game.

Four _ I have never got into trouble "from the committee" which ever committee your havering about.

I suggest Loon you'd be better off going to talk to someone whose interested in your team and leave the debate about this end of the table to the teams involved.

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular
Match Report is now online:- HERE for anyone that's interested.

And Loon:- You really are a grade A fud. Why don't you just focus on your own match on Saturday instead of bombarding this thread with your usual pish.

This post has been edited by 'Steve: 10 September 2006 - 13:07

Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   Captain Kerthorse 

• Interview Whore

View Post'Steve, on Sep 10 2006, 14:06, said:

And Loon:- You really are a grade A fud. Why don't you just focus on your own match on Saturday instead of bombarding this thread with your usual pish.

That's rich - Your the first to but your nose into other peoples discussions....

You might find this useful :lol:

This post has been edited by Big Loon: 10 September 2006 - 13:14

He is the Loons' supersub.....
Posted Image
Do Do Do Doo,
Sean Kilgannon!!!!

• Interview Whore
.. and sending abuse on MSN isn't very nice either. :lol:

This post has been edited by Big Loon: 10 September 2006 - 13:19

Posted Image
Do Do Do Doo,
Sean Kilgannon!!!!

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular

View PostBig Loon, on Sep 10 2006, 14:18, said:

.. and sending abuse on MSN isn't very nice either. :lol:

"Abuse" :lol: Do you think anyone actually cares on here about your msn conversations?
Oooooh Garry Brady....

• Interview Whore

View Post'Steve, on Sep 10 2006, 14:24, said:

"Abuse" :lol: Do you think anyone actually cares on here about your msn conversations?

Would appear that at least one person does :lol: :lol: :lol:
Posted Image
Do Do Do Doo,
Sean Kilgannon!!!!

User is offline   loon 

View Postcityred, on Sep 10 2006, 13:34, said:

One - You clearly have a case of mistaken identity. I have had the same identity on P &B since its very early days and greatly value it as a good forum for the lower divisions.

Two - I haven't got a clue what you're on about

Three - I opened a topic about two great individual bits of skill by players in the team I support and the contribution the opposition made to the game.

Four _ I have never got into trouble "from the committee" which ever committee your havering about.
I suggest Loon you'd be better off going to talk to someone whose interested in your team and leave the debate about this end of the table to the teams involved.

Oh dear once a journo always a liar. :ph34r:

Never said it was anything to do with your ID on P+B and yes its an excellent forum.
The forum I was referring to was probably the same forum where you got my name.

Tell Mr Birse I was asking for him the next time he has you over his knee. :lol:

If you look at the league table I think you'll find Alloa beside us your only six in front and six off the top so dont think you have anything to dabate about the top end of the table. :ph34r:

User is offline   loon 

View Post'Steve, on Sep 10 2006, 14:06, said:

Hey wee man wind your neck in. B)

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular

View Postloon, on Sep 10 2006, 14:50, said:

Hey wee man wind your neck in. B)

Wee man? Don't make me laugh. :lol:

Match pictures from the game is now online:- HERE
Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   loon 

View Post'Steve, on Sep 10 2006, 15:07, said:

Wee man? Don't make me laugh. :lol:

Ok silly little schoolboy then ;)

User is offline   Brechin City FC 

• First Division Superstar
Some great photos there Steve. Looks like the players were really up for the game.
Posted Image

User is offline   Brechin City FC 

• First Division Superstar

View Postloon, on Sep 10 2006, 15:17, said:

Ok silly little schoolboy then ;)

Give it a rest you utter tube.
Posted Image

User is offline   loon